• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Please advise on my business ideas

Extremist

Bodies:

Nikon F4
Leica R7
Nikon D3
Nikon D4.
Olympus OMD-5
PhaseOne with IQ160 back.

Lenses
7mm to 14mm (for Olympus so x 2 for effective focal length)
24mm to 70mm zoom.
14mm to 24mm zoom
70mm to 300mm zoom
50mm prime.
85mm prime
80mm prime (for phase one)
150mm macro (for phase one)

Studio lighting
Profoto D1 Air x2
Interfit x 2

Eizo ColorEdge CG241W monitor

Epson 3800 A2 printer.

All sorts of other stuff accumulated over the years eg flash units, ring flash, sekonic exposure meters, soft boxes, reflectors, tripods, etc

Good stuff, how much can u earn for ur photography? And what type of photography are u specialise in?

My passion is studio photography but the money comes from event photography... eg covering dog shows, family events, sporting events eg cycling, triathlon, cross country, motor sports etc.

I'll shoot at least 2000 to 3000 images.. select the best 1000 and put them up for sale. NZD29.95 per full resolution image so if I get to sell 100 images, that's $2995.... not bad for a day's work.

I used to do weddings but it's too stressful and the hours are too long.

How bout boating, You bought the catamaran you once said you were jizzing for?

Boating is when I want some solitude and peace and quiet. It's also great for dirty weekends. :wink: The boat doesn't get used much. It's a big waste.

hawker

Hard to believe Boss even with his 10millions+ bank account still want to moonlight as wedding photographer.

Extremist

My passion is studio photography but the money comes from event photography... eg covering dog shows, family events, sporting events eg cycling, triathlon, cross country, motor sports etc.

I'll shoot at least 2000 to 3000 images.. select the best 1000 and put them up for sale. NZD29.95 per full resolution image so if I get to sell 100 images, that's $2995.... not bad for a day's work.

I used to do weddings but it's too stressful and the hours are too long.
do u shoot everything in raw?

use the 50k to buy gold

wrong advice..............if buying metals, silver or even copper is the way to go.............

if only i had listened to my own advice back in 2001 when i was telling people to buy silver.................i would have retired now liao lor...........

Television

Boating is when I want some solitude and peace and quiet. It's also great for dirty weekends. :wink: The boat doesn't get used much. It's a big waste.

It nice to get away from everything and just ponder about life. Btw how dirty does it get on the weekends?

50K is not a small amount. Unfortunately, neither is it a big amount.

To start a restaurant, it cannot be enough. Rental deposit and takeover fees? If don't have the latter, you need quite a sum to set-up the kitchen etc.

Internet cafe, imo, not doing well nowadays. Even if 24/7/365, got customers bo? I went to my friend's place last week. Empty! Used to be very crowded. Checked with him and was told jialak for the past few months.

If you have the connections, which I doubt, otherwise you won't be asking, opening an ah long stall maybe an option. 20-25k for a stall will be enough.

Why is it an option? Firstly, the licensed moneylenders' interest bo kia nang se. Take from them sure die or runroad. Secondly, 'jip thuan' ah long bo pun chan. Late 1 day, splash paint. No negotiations accommodated.

Resulting from the two scenarios above, market forces create a niche for you in the middle - between the licensed ah longs and the jip thuan.

Television

It gets dirty when they bicycle seat is removed :o

Oh my, You immediately made me think of this scene happening on his love boat.....

IMG_3907.JPG

Fook Seng

Dear fellow bros,

Lets say if yoiu have $50k, what business would you set up ?

Doesn't work that way. You should already have an idea of what you wanted to do because you know a lot about that business and you have a strong passion for it. Then you can ask around whether the money is good enough. If you just have the money and don't know what to do, just put your money in some portfolio investment and let others run those companies for you. Otherwise 19 times out of 20, your money will be all lost.

OverTheCounter

Leongsam used phui. He was spitting at those who curse Armstrong but themselves take drugs

50k hard to set up a buffet/steamboat business.

Internet shop possible but your location and niche must be there. Look at Geylang, so many Internet shops. Some are doing a roaring business 24/7 and some only can sit there to fan the mosquito.

start dessert stalls at hawker centre lor for food business..............maybe can open 2 stalls ?

as long as location quite good and doesn't taste terrible, should be ok............

open ''normal'' food stalls ,food must be really nice to have good business...........more difficult

Fishypie

Bro YR, you may want to try the idea of taking over smaLL aiLing Pubs/Food joints.DifficuLt part is, you have to have some contacts/networking to heLp you sniff out a good deaL.
Know of this Lady insurance agent who took over a smaLL ktv joint aLong Joo Chiat @$18k+ stocks; broke even by the 6th month and is now enjoying a profitabLe patronage nightLy..:wink:
You may caLL it Luck, we dont know.:cool:

roadrunner

Chinese New Year is coming, go buy spend your money buying up Abalone, Mushrooms, Scallops, Sharks fin, sea cucumber etc. & store in a refrigerated container. Many years ago i knew someone who cashed in all his investments to an amount of a few million & went to China & bought mushrooms, when Chinese New Year came, he made a killing & moved on. But you must know where to buy & which ones are best, if just anyhow buy sure kena swindled! Maybe better to find a good stock & supplier of 1 item & just buy that one, if you're not confident then spread your buys to include a variety of products, this way you can still sell some if the others are not selling well.

However having said all of the above, the big players in this trade already bought their stock for CNY 2013 a few months back:eek: