• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat Petty Minah Upset That Grassroots Leaders Used Her Wedding Photo As Raya Standee Celebration Prop!

1622301639650.png

A Singaporean couple was taken aback to find their wedding photo being used as part of the Hari Raya decorations at Tiong Bahru Orchid estate in Bukit Merah recently.

1622301666562.png

"I was honestly taken aback when I first saw it," said Sarah. "It’s one thing to have my photo used without my permission for a government-related 'celebration' and another to have our faces cut out for other people to put theirs through and take photographs of?"

"We definitely did not consent to our images being made into theatrical elements for clownery and amusement," Sarah added.

She then wrote about the incident on Instagram on May 28:

A few days ago, I discovered much to my dismay the use of my and my husband’s wedding photograph at Tiong Bahru Orchid (Jalan Bukit Merah) in celebration of Hari Raya Aidilfitri this year.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀
Using a wedding photo to depict Malays/Singaporean Muslims celebrating Hari Raya is inappropriate. Using my wedding photo without my consent is unwarranted. Using my wedding photo as a caricature of Malay people is unacceptable.

⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀
I have brought this matter to the attention of the relevant parties. Please swipe to read my letter and understand why this is wrong.

In the post, she elaborated that it is disturbing and unacceptable to see her wedding photo being used as "a caricature of Malay people".

She also highlighted the incongruity of using a photo of a traditional Malay outfit with wedding symbols to celebrate Hari Raya, as it was "a completely different cultural event."

Radin Mas MP, Radin Mas SMC and vendor apologised
Within 24 hours of Sarah's Instagram post, various parties apologised for the incident in comments on the post.

The standee was also taken down immediately, according to the comments.

The first was a user who identified himself as a representative of Warabi Enterprise (Art Studio), the vendor engaged to set up the decorations:

1622301833710.png

The Instagram account of Radin Mas Single Member Constituency also left an apology, and said that they were not aware that the vendor did not seek permission before using the photo.

They also said that they will ensure stricter reviews and checks to ensure such incidents will not repeat and acknowledged that it was "inappropriate" to have used a wedding photo for the festive occasion.

1622301854994.png

Meanwhile, Yong thanked Sarah for alerting him and said that he has asked for an investigation to be carried out.

Relevant agencies need to "internalise the gravity" of this error
Sarah shared with Mothership that Yong and the Chief Executive Director of the People's Association (PA), Lim Hock Yu, have apologised to her privately.

However, she hopes that the apology can be made in public as the gaffe was insensitive not just to her and her husband but also to the entire Malay/Muslim community.

She also feels it is important for PA, an agency that seeks to promote racial harmony and social cohesion, to acknowledge this error publicly and to highlight what are the steps taken to ensure such incidents will not happen again.

She said:

"I am glad and appreciate that the Chief ED of PA and MP Melvin Yong have apologised to me privately about the matter. However, there still needs to be a public explanation as to how the processes within PA failed them and allowed for this display of cultural ignorance."

Sarah adds that this incident shows the importance of having diverse voices in leadership position within organisations.

This is not the first time that such incidents have happened, she observed.

"As an ethnic minority living in Singapore, this also felt too familiar. This isn’t new – seeing others have a superficial understanding of my culture and then feeling like I have to explain why the incident is wrong on so many levels. It’s exhausting"

Therefore, she urges the relevant agencies to "internalise the gravity of this situation".

On May 29 afternoon, the PA and Yong have since made public posts on Facebook addressing the matter, with the PA's post saying that the association, and the Radin Mas Constituency Office, "take responsibility for this error as we have oversight of the matter."

It also said it would take action to guide its staff and external vendors to be "more culturally-attuned and sensitive."

Yong shared the PA's post, adding his own apologies, and saying that "there can be no excuse for the breach of copyright and the decorations should not have been allowed to be put up."

"Our internal review processes will need to be significantly strengthened and we are reviewing how we can do things better so that such issues do not happen again," said Yong.

https://mothership.sg/2021/05/wedding-photo-hari-raya-standee/

The grassroots leaders should have used the wedding photo of the extremely photogenic MP Melvin Yong instead. :rolleyes::eek::biggrin:

In civilized countries the person responsible would be sued till he is broke.
The grassroots leaders should have used the wedding photo of the extremely photogenic MP Melvin Yong instead. :rolleyes::eek::biggrin:

I really don't see why the minah is so upset. She would be happy that the cutout photo from her wedding is used for our grassroots event. My wife and I took photos with the standee and our residents had a great laugh. Now a happy event has turned sour thanks to this karen minah. I hope she's happy.

Shows how much lack of respect the minorities get here.

PAP has shown more respect to minorities than our neighbouring countries will ever respect minorities. I've never seen pious moslems respect minorities, or even minorities. Which moslem prayers or religious teachings doesn't insult other religions on a regular basis? PAP also doesn't have a caste system here, nor has PAP ever launch repeated pogroms of ethnic minorities like what has been done in Indonesia.

In February, a video of the imam reciting a prayer in Arabic that said “God help us against Jews and Christians”, among other things, was circulated online.

Last Friday, the imam apologised for his remarks. He clarified that the additional supplication he read was not from the Quran, but an old Arabic text originating from his village in India.

https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...-against-christians-and-jews-charged-in-court

In civilized countries the person responsible would be sued till he is broke.

For what? With the m&d faces removed, who can tell it's them? The grassroots leaders used their photo as a standee because the m&d bride looks pretty without the non-m&d hijab attire.

I am wondering... when National Day is looming every year, did they get the permission from those random Joes and Janes to use their (badly photoshopped) photos in giant Soviet-style billboards? :biggrin:

48391839897_9e1e6374c4_b.jpg
PdzCFvo.jpg

GtpH4Go.jpeg
GH0lTQj.jpg

melzp

I am wondering... when National Day is looming every year, did they get the permission from those random Joes and Janes to use their (badly photoshopped) photos in giant Soviet-style billboards? :biggrin:

48391839897_9e1e6374c4_b.jpg
PdzCFvo.jpg

GtpH4Go.jpeg
GH0lTQj.jpg
these 61 % gives them Blank Chqs yearly AND need we say more ?

KNN firstlee she never asked herself how the photo landed in the hands of PA KNN must be attention seeking and posted in fb KNN consider herself lucky her face was not cut out to paste on porn photos and used as masturbation piece KNN

mahjongking

nobody in this forum gives a fuck about PAP except to fuck them,
they should have weekly MMA matches between pap and oppies,

i suspect towkay john is a closet oppies supporter, kena tekan by his MP come here irritate the oppies to fuck pap. :biggrin:

Petty Minah Upset That Grassroots Leaders Used Her Wedding Photo As Raya Standee Celebration Prop!​

KNN my uncle think is attention seeking bitch rather than petty KNN who will know who's photo is that KNN knowing it she still want to continue to seek attention to self leesclose is her photo KNN fucking attention seeking bitch KNN

Cottonmouth

Fucked for what? I've looked through their portfolio and they appear to be a good company. I'll engage them to make decoration signboards for my business and other grassroots activities in future.

Ask them to design a Tenga with your mouth.

31IzZdyw12L.jpg

KNN my uncle think is attention seeking bitch rather than petty KNN who will know who's photo is that KNN knowing it she still want to continue to seek attention to self leesclose is her photo KNN fucking attention seeking bitch KNN
Imuho her actual intention is she felt flattered and would like to make known to the world that pap used her photos and use this kpkb tactics as a tool to further promote it KNN or else just stfu who would have known or care is her wedding photo KNN