• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Penang: No. 1 street food haven

streetcry

Apart from its heritage, street food is where Penang’s real comparative advantage lies. Take a pinch of political will and a small cup of money (to spruce up our act) – and you could rustle up a little stimulus that would really spread the multiplier effect across a wide base of people.

<object width="640" height="385"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/1Rga7Gx5H2E?fs=1&amp;hl=en_US"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/1Rga7Gx5H2E?fs=1&amp;hl=en_US" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="640" height="385"></embed></object>

Streetfood - Penang - 10 June 08 - Part 2

<object width="640" height="385"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/odhNzKctM6w?fs=1&amp;hl=en_US"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/odhNzKctM6w?fs=1&amp;hl=en_US" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="640" height="385"></embed></object>

Penang Food Paradise - Lonely Planet Travel Video

<object width="480" height="385"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/9Xgmmy9tclE?fs=1&amp;hl=en_US"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/9Xgmmy9tclE?fs=1&amp;hl=en_US" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="480" height="385"></embed></object>

Those of us old enough to remember the big parking lot besides Specialist Centre and opposite Cold Storage, that turned into a hawker centre by night, will know the original Singapore Taste. Now, gone forever. Replaced by Communist China taste! Now, Char Kwey Teow is fried up by a Communist!

Thank God for Malaysia! Where the Original Singapore Spirit still lives on!!!

Those of us old enough to remember the big parking lot besides Specialist Centre and opposite Cold Storage, that turned into a hawker centre by night, will know the original Singapore Taste. Now, gone forever. Replaced by Communist China taste! Now, Char Kwey Teow is fried up by a Communist!

The Specialist Centre carpark night hawker centre is already second tier in terms of quality but ultra-tier in terms of rentals. An earlier experiment was done at Boon Tat Street next to Lau Pa Sat. Both failed as the hawkers decided slogging like hell to pay ultra-rents were not worthwhile.

More importantly, where to find good penang street food in SG? :p

The Or Luak there was the greatest.

The lot where the stalls were parked had lots of potholes and girls (hotpants was in then) with stilleto heels would trip trying to walk through the place. There was a "cowboy" guy at the Specialist Centre that we'd crack up when we see him.

More importantly, where to find good penang street food in SG? :p

Penang char kway teow is different from Singapore and I've never seen available in Singapore. Penang hay mee is also different, available in Singapore but getting rarer and rarer. Locke tried out a half-baked recipe at GMS flat, messed up the whole place and ended up with something borderline edible for those who were starving but nowhere near palatably sellable. Locke gave up on the project and GMS sold his flat. :p

Nothing compared to the variety and aesthetic value of street food in Osaka.

Penang char kway teow is different from Singapore and I've never seen available in Singapore. Penang hay mee is also different, available in Singapore but getting rarer and rarer. Locke tried out a half-baked recipe at GMS flat, messed up the whole place and ended up with something borderline edible for those who were starving but nowhere near palatably sellable. Locke gave up on the project and GMS sold his flat. :p

must be fumes from frying belachan. they permeate walls and paint and can never be removed.

If only there were good enough food spots closer to SG, i.e. in JB...

The Specialist Centre carpark night hawker centre is already second tier in terms of quality but ultra-tier in terms of rentals. An earlier experiment was done at Boon Tat Street next to Lau Pa Sat. Both failed as the hawkers decided slogging like hell to pay ultra-rents were not worthwhile.

That place was known as Orchard Road carpark. Specialist Centre wasn't there then, if I recall correctly. Opposite used to have a Magnolia Snack Bar and next to it was Cold Storage. Good makan also nearby - Koek Rd - my favourite Hong Kee beef noodle now at Telok Ayer.

Still remember the great teh tarik from Daud's stall at carpark. The teochew mee now at Lor 8 kpt next to hawker centre. Lim Kee goreng pisang now at Maxwell.

The Specialist Centre carpark night hawker centre is already second tier in terms of quality but ultra-tier in terms of rentals. An earlier experiment was done at Boon Tat Street next to Lau Pa Sat. .

hahaha...u r too young to remember/know the original Orchard road carpark nite market; i think it disappeared maybe in the seventies.

Streetfood - Penang - 10 June 08 - Part 2

<object width="640" height="385"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/odhNzKctM6w?fs=1&amp;hl=en_US"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/odhNzKctM6w?fs=1&amp;hl=en_US" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="640" height="385"></embed></object>

Life like that sucks. You work 12 hours a day, everyday. No freedom at all.

Yes, he owns a business but he is stuck there for the rest of his life and his future generation get stuck with him too.

That place was known as Orchard Road carpark. Specialist Centre wasn't there then, if I recall correctly. Opposite used to have a Magnolia Snack Bar and next to it was Cold Storage. Good makan also nearby - Koek Rd - my favourite Hong Kee beef noodle now at Telok Ayer.

Still remember the great teh tarik from Daud's stall at carpark. The teochew mee now at Lor 8 kpt next to hawker centre. Lim Kee goreng pisang now at Maxwell.

So... you are another sinkie old fart here.

How come so many old farts in this forum. All around 50+ senior years, complain so much, yet no balls to face the govt.

Hehehe, no wonder the Singapore gahment is so kind to want to build old folk's home in Malaysia - so that old folks like you can enjoy the taste of yesteryears food. You mean Malaysia has not moved on after so many years?

Ah, remind me of Air Hitam. The pothole in front of the coffee shop that I fell into 20 - 30 years ago as a kid, is still there.

We have moved on to more hygienic food court and 5-star hotel international food - eastern, western, southern and northern.

Anyway, since you craved for Malaysia food, there is no need to waste money on AirAsia to fly to Penang or brave the Causeway jam.

Penang hawker food fair has come to York Hotel. On till 2nd January next year.
Instead of $2 you now pay $25 ++. Don't complain hor!

http://www.yorkhotel.com.sg/promoFnB.html

hahaha...u r too young to remember/know the original Orchard road carpark nite market; i think it disappeared maybe in the seventies.

I do remember as a kid. There was no Specialist Centre yet. The most famous shop on that stretch of old shophouses was Orchard Hobby for those who remember Airfix, Matchbox, Hasegawa, Revell etc., relocated to Centrepoint, and now till there, for those who're still interested.

I mistaken it to mean the later hawker carpark since it was mentioned to be next to Specialist Centre. That's why I said it was second tier already.

The food served at LPS is a disgrace to the name of local food :mad::mad::mad:

So... you are another sinkie old fart here.

How come so many old farts in this forum. All around 50+ senior years, complain so much, yet no balls to face the govt.

No balls to face the government? The government knows me very, very well. Whether I choose to face them is not your business. Who knows, I may just stand one day -GE. Sylvia Lim is my very good friend. You can check with Ramseth.