• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

PE - Hijacked !!

Its pretty obvious that Bock and TKL is a gone case.(Using my own mates as a gauge on whom they are voting for) Its left with TT and TJS... It has honestly come to Ruling vs Anti Ruling... TT is defiantly selling the We have good government crap and let them do their work and TJS is selling the F PAP and let me come in to stir some sh|t up, Cos when i come in, I will Police the Government.

But honestly Speaking, I guess we Singaporeans really need TJS in the house to get some drama going in Singapore politics (on policies) and get more Singaporeans interested is Domestic politics. It will also be a good one seeing TJS and His wife photo on all government buildings which will defiantly leave some people Sh|t faced.

Im just waiting for LKY to get into the Fray b4 Saturday.

Forgot about what he stands for and what he believes in. He might even have the best understanding of the position of President. The issue is he is completely unsuitable. Sorry to say this but he is a clown and an idiot. He is poor in articulation, language and demeanor. He cannot even follow a line of questioning without falling down.

Deep down I am sure you would have realised that he is not even suitable to be ADC to the President. You should have told him. Its got nothing to do with how sincere he is or how great he will be for the people. Image is important as he has to receive foreign heads of govt, diplomats presenting their credentials etc. It is not an executive office. The image of the President is important. During the TOC forum, I really felt sorry for him. His daughter should also have to told him. He should have stood for GE. MP's image is not as important.

TKL has always been at the centre, he doesn't sway and stood firm on his position. That's the good virtue of his principled ways. It was other candidates shifting in a very opportunistic way just to win votes. People start to "copy" his ideas of donating Presidential salary to charity, pledge to be the voice of the people etc.

For someone whose circle of friends and relatives I admit, are from the English-educated society, they will be with me in not being ready to accept an Ah Beng-type president. I know this is controversial and I expect to get bombarded for this. I am sorry but TKL personifies this more than the others and TJSi s not that far off too, but he can improve his image. As for TKL he is too far at the other end of the scale to be able to meet my standards.

@Windsor, I do agree with you.. Esp when it comes to minority votes, The last person they will vote for is someone who speaks in ah beng/ah pek tone.. We cant run from the fact that there will be a very large no. of minorities that will vote along this line.

PAP/WP racial lines arent drawn cos the party isnt seen as Chinese or Indian or Malay, Cos of its history and the men involved in the party during the good old days, But when it comes to standing as an Individual like for the President elections, You have to build and show that you are a CHINESE/INDIAN/MALAY/EURASIAN Guy, All in 1 and TKL did a bad job in this, Followed by TJS.. TT and TCB was alright. TJS will get minority votes only from those who are politically aware. We have to also take note of the high no. of new citizens from India whom are educated and come from a more robust political scene then we have here.

I just had to talk bout this, Cos im very interested in things like etc. Social engineering & state propaganda.

Beyond the theatre & farce,

Plowing through the various posts,

Consistent are the views that reflect the mindset of the few regulars I recognize:-

Scroobal: all-knowing (to his detractors like kukubird, all-boasting), larconic, hates hypocrisy, sees event with historical perspective

Kingrant: retiree with clear lucid mind pretty objective

Papsmearer / Chaopappypoodle: objective? that's a PAPPY word? will only be happy if PAP is zapped from the surface of the world... or include pappy supporters and add sympathizers as well Totally see no hope of redemption for a corrupt,assinine mafia, pap can do no good, if any good, it is just another cynical ploy...

Goh Meng Seng: his aspirations exceed his ability... sincere do gooder even patriot, in his own way, he is living his conviction in openly contesting, but he just don't get it sometimes, however hard he tries, his take on political nuances & undercurrents generally off the mark, so is his political reading of characters, still a civil & civic idealist in my book

Rogue Trader/jw5 : my type of middle of the road jerks who speak their minds, on/off throw in gems of observation, see good say good, see bad say bad, appreciate the good & bad of PAP, wish for better oppo, root for underdog .....

Alamaking / Cooleo / Ramseth / Equalization / Busno64 / PTader : spice up this forum with innane comments that adds character to the site.

I agree with a lot of the comments in this thread such as:-

(1) 2011 being the year coincidentally where both GE & PE are held, the latter being a farce from day one (OTC vs CKY).

(2) When a public office is open for election, the floodgates are thrown open : it is an outlet, and to all & sundry, let's use this outlet for all our purposes .... let the unhappiness, repressed frustration, intense venom whatever whatever let it all out !!!!

(3) The candidates:-

To the business community & most heartlanders, Tony Tan (all the other Patrick Tan revelations not withstanding) is a shoo-in.
At worst, he is still more presentable then fat Prataman. period.

Much as this statement is totally revulsive to this forum & forummers, a certain segment of Sporean voters have forever been sanitized and depoliticized by LKY over the years ... like my elder relatives.

To them, screw the issues. Politics is dirty. period.
Let's KPKB but end of day, concentrate on making a living or getting more business.
Politicians all like that. Give them what they want, and let's steer clear of politics as far as possible.

This segment of Singaporeans is shrinking by the day - but how substantial they still are is key to election outcomes.

- between total meltdown like in the Arab societies' upheaval & gradual transition to a pluralistic parliamentary democracy, it is still uncharted waters for all of us - from pinkie to uncle yap. even lky too, I suspect, his lens for viewing Spore is mouldy already - note his fossilized views on Malay community.

- new media is catalyst, a powerful enabler.
Our projections here will necessarily be skewed, given the character of our forum.

Out there in the hearts of every eligible voter, their decision making martrix - each has a different score to compute.

And that is not including conspiracy theories of blatant ballot-stuffing, blackouts & what-not seen only in tin-pot 'democracies' which if true is the most stupid & hypocritical thing to do given Spore's brand name & all the highfalutin public ethics leaders here espoused over the years.

In short, no one has a perfect crystal ball.

Only those with market intelligence or has a good pulse of the political undercurrent can make educated guesses & postulations.

To summarize, PE 2011 while farcical is a useful exercise to discover the truth of the voting Singaporean - how gutsy, how compliant, also how sophisticated as they process the various tactics & utterances of the political wayang being performed day by day (yeah, today Thursday last day to perform before that inane cooling off day)

Or to keep it simple & colloquial, FUCK IT ! DOWN WITH CBB TT, DOWN WITH JIAK LIAOBEE AH BOK (fucking MP all these years, now claim to be independent), DOWN with TKL (egoistic poseur / but very limited in stature, demeanour & bandwidth), ALL VOTE FOR TJS !!!! (fuck analysis, let's take it to the max, then sit back & watch Spore Politics find its new balance...)

meantime, EPL is back, F1 coming, mei-mei still at GL streetwalking, S-League still sinking, oh yeah, hopefully Malaysia Cup days circa 2012 will bring some excitement & distraction .... referee BUTOK !:oIo:

Too long - don't be afraid to take a punt, fill out the following

TT - %
TCB - %
TKL - %
TJS - %

Long stories are usually signs of evasive action, the inability to commit, to avoid making a judgement call, the fear of not getting it right.

Beyond the theatre & farce,

Plowing through the various posts,

Consistent are the views that reflect the mindset of the few regulars I recognize:-

Scroobal: all-knowing (to his detractors like kukubird, all-boasting), larconic, hates hypocrisy, sees event with historical perspective

Kingrant: retiree with clear lucid mind pretty objective

Papsmearer / Chaopappypoodle: objective? that's a PAPPY word? will only be happy if PAP is zapped from the surface of the world... or include pappy supporters and add sympathizers as well Totally see no hope of redemption for a corrupt,assinine mafia, pap can do no good, if any good, it is just another cynical ploy...

Goh Meng Seng: his aspirations exceed his ability... sincere do gooder even patriot, in his own way, he is living his conviction in openly contesting, but he just don't get it sometimes, however hard he tries, his take on political nuances & undercurrents generally off the mark, so is his political reading of characters, still a civil & civic idealist in my book

Rogue Trader/jw5 : my type of middle of the road jerks who speak their minds, on/off throw in gems of observation, see good say good, see bad say bad, appreciate the good & bad of PAP, wish for better oppo, root for underdog .....

Alamaking / Cooleo / Ramseth / Equalization / Busno64 / PTader : spice up this forum with innane comments that adds character to the site.

I agree with a lot of the comments in this thread such as:-

(1) 2011 being the year coincidentally where both GE & PE are held, the latter being a farce from day one (OTC vs CKY).

(2) When a public office is open for election, the floodgates are thrown open : it is an outlet, and to all & sundry, let's use this outlet for all our purposes .... let the unhappiness, repressed frustration, intense venom whatever whatever let it all out !!!!

(3) The candidates:-

To the business community & most heartlanders, Tony Tan (all the other Patrick Tan revelations not withstanding) is a shoo-in.
At worst, he is still more presentable then fat Prataman. period.

Much as this statement is totally revulsive to this forum & forummers, a certain segment of Sporean voters have forever been sanitized and depoliticized by LKY over the years ... like my elder relatives.

To them, screw the issues. Politics is dirty. period.
Let's KPKB but end of day, concentrate on making a living or getting more business.
Politicians all like that. Give them what they want, and let's steer clear of politics as far as possible.

This segment of Singaporeans is shrinking by the day - but how substantial they still are is key to election outcomes.

- between total meltdown like in the Arab societies' upheaval & gradual transition to a pluralistic parliamentary democracy, it is still uncharted waters for all of us - from pinkie to uncle yap. even lky too, I suspect, his lens for viewing Spore is mouldy already - note his fossilized views on Malay community.

- new media is catalyst, a powerful enabler.
Our projections here will necessarily be skewed, given the character of our forum.

Out there in the hearts of every eligible voter, their decision making martrix - each has a different score to compute.

And that is not including conspiracy theories of blatant ballot-stuffing, blackouts & what-not seen only in tin-pot 'democracies' which if true is the most stupid & hypocritical thing to do given Spore's brand name & all the highfalutin public ethics leaders here espoused over the years.

In short, no one has a perfect crystal ball.

Only those with market intelligence or has a good pulse of the political undercurrent can make educated guesses & postulations.

To summarize, PE 2011 while farcical is a useful exercise to discover the truth of the voting Singaporean - how gutsy, how compliant, also how sophisticated as they process the various tactics & utterances of the political wayang being performed day by day (yeah, today Thursday last day to perform before that inane cooling off day)

Or to keep it simple & colloquial, FUCK IT ! DOWN WITH CBB TT, DOWN WITH JIAK LIAOBEE AH BOK (fucking MP all these years, now claim to be independent), DOWN with TKL (egoistic poseur / but very limited in stature, demeanour & bandwidth), ALL VOTE FOR TJS !!!! (fuck analysis, let's take it to the max, then sit back & watch Spore Politics find its new balance...)

meantime, EPL is back, F1 coming, mei-mei still at GL streetwalking, S-League still sinking, oh yeah, hopefully Malaysia Cup days circa 2012 will bring some excitement & distraction .... referee BUTOK !:oIo:

Too long - don't be afraid to take a punt, fill out the following

TT - %
TCB - %
TKL - %
TJS - %

Long stories are usually signs of evasive action, the inability to commit, to avoid making a judgement call, the fear of not getting it right.

Your last sentence is the clincher, so challenging hor .. haha scroo, u da man !

But I seriously don't know....

My gut feel is : TT will win (by 10 votes also win, minority also bochap under 1st pass the post) - but that is what I hope will not happen
My wishlist is : TCB wins
going by your template:

TT: 32%
TCB: 30%
TJS: 29%
TKL: 9 %

swee bo, I never shirk a direct answer, though not all life's issues can be escapulated in one direct answer....

If TT loses, game over for the MIW as the momentum will push the opposition agenda forward to 2016. So please ensure a win for Singapore.
It depends, even if TJS wins, if TJS choose to be a rouge EP pushing all sorts opposing tricks, that will hurt the opposition come GE 2016.

I have addressed about Hainanese Clan "emotional baggage".

Your greater emotional baggage is the one you carry because you are one of the "many" who told TKL he has a good chance to win.

You sabo him in order to further your own aspirations.

You refuse to back down now because of your own pride.

You punted wrongly, don't pretend to be putting the nation interest first when you know you are asking people to throw their votes away, to support a lost cause in order to cushion your loss of face.

Suppose TJS wins. We have then on the chessboard, as the black king, TJS and the people; and the white king, the govt, the civil service, and the CPA. Formidable alignment of white king forces, but on a chessboard which the black king will force the white to play openly, the game will not be easy, because the people are watching, as is the world.

I suppose the white king will play it to a stalemate over 4 years, dragging issues, using the CPA as a proxy out of the public eye, using the civil service to stonewall him a la OTC or do a Devan on him with real discovered skeletons or planted ones.

Wily indeed! The Old man will postpone his death to see this to the end.

I think they will live with the verdict as they know the constitution limits the power of President. Tactically it makes sense to allow the elected chap to blow hot air and ignore him completely. Anyway, nearly all those things that the President rejects can be overturned by 2/3rd of parliament such as key appointments. As to the reserve, I am sure they can live with not touching it. Its the people that will suffer as any needed relief cannot be released.

Its a wily govt. I don't think they too keen to make the Presidency look good if the elected one is not playing to their tune. If they were prepared to do it with Devan with the huge publicity, I am sure round 2 would be easy.

I really had a hilarious moment when TKL compared his emotional baggage with TJS's.

I ask forummers here:

When you said someone has a baggage, is someone who had carried it for a longer time better or worse off than someone who has carried it shorter?

I mean, are we even talking English and making sense??

I have addressed about Hainanese Clan "emotional baggage".

So in the event one candidate didn't meet the minimium percentage votes the $$$ deposit will be pocketed by the election department... So they can expect a bonus liao!

GMS you disappoint me sorely. TJS is not about radical change. Have you even read or listened to what he has said. Tell me one word in TJS that screams "radical".

I was shocked to see today's ST they painted - "REBEL"' with a cause , as main header to describe TJS. I listened to his rally and subscribe to what he said. I think he is advocating to be more involved and meticulous in scrutinising documents before signing and rubber-stamping. Whenever people is seeking for an independent president, they will portray that guy to be a rebel wanting to grind the country to a halt. This is the same analogy used during GE when we want more opposition to be in parliament, they say the co-driver will fight for steering wheel to crash the vehicle. I am amazed that people bought that idea. This guy is not some Tom, Dick or Harry we pulled from the streets. He worked in govt service with GKS and GCT, studied in oxford and was a scholar. He is one man with constitution to bind him, how destructive can he be. If that is the case, all other countries that saw a democratic change of govt every one or other terms must have been destroyed over many times already. This is ridiculous.

what else you want ST to write? Savior?

they still fondly remember their ex-chairman ok...

I'm amazed at those who thinks having more opposition MPs in Parliament or having TJS as President will "destabilised". We are not made of styrofoam for goodness sake.

There is no such thing as middle ground. To do good for the country, you need to push to change what is bad which means "against". If something good is in place no President is going to push for its removal, not even TJS. If that qualifies for "middle ground" then TJS is middle ground. Otherwise i cannot comprehend what middle ground could possibly means.

The fact is Temasek and GIC are splurging funds from the national coffers and those borrowed from CPF like loose change - this needs to be addressed. I would ask GMS then what would a "middle ground" TKL or TCB do in this instance??

Things can happen fast and furious. Look at the last five years, the haste of importing FTs and what nots. What will happen in the coming five years and then GE2016?:o I'd rather size the opportunity now.

It depends, even if TJS wins, if TJS choose to be a rouge EP pushing all sorts opposing tricks, that will hurt the opposition come GE 2016.

Exactly. ............................

My sentiments exactly too regarding GMS. Ok lets leave him alone and focus on the candidates now.

Your greater emotional baggage is the one you carry because you are one of the "many" who told TKL he has a good chance to win.

You sabo him in order to further your own aspirations.

You refuse to back down now because of your own pride.

You punted wrongly, don't pretend to be putting the nation interest first when you know you are asking people to throw their votes away, to support a lost cause in order to cushion your loss of face.