• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Pay Singaporeans a decent wage and they will take on most jobs.

lifeafter41

Have noted that in countries such as Australia and Japan, for example, noticed that most of the workers are local. From their jobs, I would consider them as blue collars workers, working in constructions, manufacturing inductries. Have also asked them what is their pay like, using yardstick, while not on the direct numbers, but overall round figures, and you will be surprised that their pay if quite good.

I guess it boils down providing the workers with a good decent pay and if he is able to take good care of his family, I am sure most Singaporeans will be willing to take on the menial jobs, be it in constructions or manufacturing etc.

I am not even talking about minimum wages, but a decent wage to live the decent life in Singapore, is that too much to ask?.

providing the workers with a good decent pay and most Singaporeans will be willing to take on the menial jobs, be it in constructions or manufacturing etc.

pay me two million and I will take on ministerial job of any portfolio :cool:

Everybody's view of a decent pay is different, minister million$$ is decent only them, whereas Mrs Goh see TT Durai's salary as peanuts... So very hard to sextify everyone.

True, our local blue collars workers pay are really pathetic. That's the reasons why we ends up with a segments of "un-employable" with doggy attitude. Those with good attitude or aptitude for the jobs would be discourage from taking up or at the very least wants to be their own boss.

Nothing wrong with the later, however most of these bosses would ends up being hands off and in terms hire workers or simply subcontract out? If you ever give out a contract to renovate your house, you will feel annoy by the layers of "contractors", and most likely the dirty job to done by a Malaysian workers who are his own boss.

What I like to see is, we adopt the western more developed model. Where the boss is also the worker doing the dirty job. And collectively through their own network form a loosely define collection of expertise for a project. This will eventually lift the level of skills set and rewards and everybody would be happy, instead of the majority the dollar going to the "middlemen and their connections" who are fraud with greed. :rolleyes:

Have noted that in countries such as Australia and Japan, for example, noticed that most of the workers are local. From their jobs, I would consider them as blue collars workers, working in constructions, manufacturing inductries. Have also asked them what is their pay like, using yardstick, while not on the direct numbers, but overall round figures, and you will be surprised that their pay if quite good.

I guess it boils down providing the workers with a good decent pay and if he is able to take good care of his family, I am sure most Singaporeans will be willing to take on the menial jobs, be it in constructions or manufacturing etc.

I am not even talking about minimum wages, but a decent wage to live the decent life in Singapore, is that too much to ask?.

Have noted that in countries such as Australia and Japan, for example, noticed that most of the workers are local. From their jobs, I would consider them as blue collars workers, working in constructions, manufacturing inductries. Have also asked them what is their pay like, using yardstick, while not on the direct numbers, but overall round figures, and you will be surprised that their pay if quite good..

Our carpenter, plumber and electrician get about AUD $100k-150k per annum. Country growing and men happy...

SG is growing too but at the expense of its ppl.. Cheaper & faster ...

Without a Minimum wage guideline plus EMPLOY sinGAPOREANS FIRST policies; our labour force is being expolited & without protection, the unions are a joke; a F&B organization...

Agree.

I work 2 jobs 14hrs per day, monthly salary $1100 only !!!:mad:

The union chief is a comedian, what else you expect?

lidat stil got time n moni 3 surf sammyboy, ah? ... :eek:

Why cannot, during break time can surf what..... alamak .... now 5 minutes later have to go work second job as coffee shop assistant at 6the avenue .... siannnzzzz ....:(

With 300,000 Johor Ah Bengs and Ah Huays crossing the causeways and use cut throat prices against local Singaporeans biz people, LKY just loved to see Sinkies local businesses goes busted and bankrupt. These Ah Beng compete with local Sinkies in contruction and building industry with their cut throat wages and PAP did nothing to help Sinkies stay in this industry by controlling wages.

To make more profits for his PAP, he turned to Bangla workers from India and pay dirt cheap wages to them so he can build dirt cheap HDB and sell you market value. Using local Sinkie as construction workers will push up prices of constructions.

MOst contrution an dhousing projects are from PAP anyway and as the main property developer in Singapore the PAP did all they can to find cheap labours from India and across cayseways and discourage locals Sinkies to work in this industry by allwoing cut throat prices from the Johor Ah Bengs. These Ah Bengs no construction skills and qualfications and you see many of them die in construction sites ever year and get paid peanuts.

Our carpenter, plumber and electrician get about AUD $100k-150k per annum. Country growing and men happy...

SG is growing too but at the expense of its ppl.. Cheaper & faster ...

Bull shit, plumber can get $60k-80K a year is dam good. Carpenter $60K is dam good also. You talk cock sing song.

Its true. my friend who lives in Oz has told me plumbers are so much in demand that anywhere $100k-$150k/yr easy.

Ages ago, my good buddy, the one we used to play 'sand, catch spiders with studied at UWA, Australia moonligted as the U refuse collector, earned more than a manager in SINgapore..and that was many many many years ago...he worked illegally in Greek Resturant washing dishes, his weekly wages was many times more than the ah pek & ah soh working as cleaners today...

and we are trying to achive a SWISS STANDARD OF LIVING...more like a mumbai standard of living..SINgaporeans ought to be ashamed of themselves..to be suckered!:rolleyes:

Well, you can ask the forummers here.. nothing beats the skilled trades here..