• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

PAPee Dogs scared, throwing last Ace card - "GST will not go up in next 5 years"

cooleo

GST will not go up in next 5 years: Finance Minister

400afp_tharman.jpg

Finance Minister Tharman Shanmugaratnam has dispelled rumours of a goods and services (GST) hike after the General Election on 7 May.

Speaking to reporters, he said, "We have got a solid Budget, we have got a disciplined Budget, and there is absolutely no reason why we should raise the GST."

The MP for Jurong GRC added that "at least for five years there is absolutely no reason to raise the GST" so "let's put that rumour to rest".

Introduced in 1994, the GST is a broad-based consumption tax which started out at 3 percent, and is now set at 7 percent.

It contributed S$7.9 billion, or about 17 percent of tax revenue for the 2010 financial year.

This is not the first time the issue has been raised in recent months.

On 12 April, Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong, responding to a TV forum viewer's concern that the GST will increase after the elections, said, "I very much doubt that. Unless we go wild on our spending plans, then of course we will run out of money, and then you will have to raise the GST."

Workers' Party chief Low Thia Khiang called for GST to be reduced to 5 percent in the Budget debate last month.

At that time, Mr Tharman called it a "wrong solution", and added that the tax helps the government to fund various bursaries and grants -- workfare bursaries, housing grants, subsidies -- to help the lower- and middle-income groups.

Lowering the GST may mean taking away these initiatives, he said.

Opposition parties have also been discussing the issue of a GST raise.

In a video released last week, Singapore Democratic Party (SDP) leader Chee Soon Juan gave a speech in Hokkien and said that in no uncertain terms that "GST will go up after the elections", The Straits Times reported.

The National Solidarity Party (NSP), which has confirmed its contest in Jurong GRC, also called for a GST reduction in its election manifesto.

Mr Tharman explained that the tax should be seen in the context of workfare and other bursaries and subsidies that Singaporeans get.

"When you add up what the lower-income group has received after we raised the GST from 5 percent to 7 percent, the low-income group received S$5 back for every extra dollar they paid in GST :rolleyes:," he said.

"So, the GST is actually a way in which we are helping the poor :rolleyes: and helping the middle-income group as well, to some extent. It is actually a very fair scheme," he added.

While GST by itself is regressive, GST plus, which is the motivation for the GST here, is a highly progressive scheme, he said.

"It's a redistribution scheme where we collect a very significant amount of revenue. It is a very efficient tax, from a large base with the bulk of it coming from the high-end companies and foreigners, and we use it to subsidise the poor and to some extent the middle-income group."

However, he did not rule out a GST hike in the long-term future.

"I don't think any Finance Minister worth his salt will say that 10 or 20 years from now, whoever is the Finance Minister should not raise some tax. That will be completely irresponsible," he said.

no_faith

very difficult to believe words that come out from an ah neh.:eek:

after GE, we raise GST, u peasants also lppl.:eek:

cooleo

No kidding. After Lim BOO Heng's U-turn from his crocodile tears, i have no doubt that PAPee dogs will screw peasants deep and hard after election.

crocodiletears.gif

1. bro, good one!
2. yes, now ah neh is some finance thing.
3. after the rain is over, some other sheep takes over.
4. now, the gst thing comes in mah!
5. believing this keling is suicidal.

dankos

when tharman says no GST increase for the next 5 years, what does it mean?? it means absolutely nothing. now is year 2011. what he is saying now can only be verified and confirmed in year 2016. if in 2016 the gst is still 7% then what he say now is correct. this can only be ascertain in year 2016, not now.

so what does it mean for now?? it means absolutely nothing.

Costanza

Speaking to reporters, he said, "We have got a solid Budget, we have got a disciplined Budget, and there is absolutely no reason why we should raise the GST."

he said absolutely no reason...surely reasons will be aplenty after 7 may

Muthukali

"Due to unforseen circumstances, we have to raise to 10%, I know its hard, BUT, lets move on".

cheekenpie

Casino levy confirm will go up after GE. They might announce it now and say they are reviewing first... then you will see mad rush to go casino during the rally time and no one go see Opp speak.

HTOLAS

To those who disparage Mr Tharman because of his race, let's be reminded of a certain Chinese minister who said that there would be no means-testing before the 2006 polls. And of course, there's the Malay minister who said that certain floods were once in 50 year occurrences.

So, it's not their race, it's the PAPzi urine and shit they drink and eat respectively that turns them into what they are.

eQuipment

the miw have more bunnies in the hat than u can ever imagine.

nevermind if they dont hike the GST, there are many other avenues to tax the living daylight out of sinkies. there's always ERP at their convenience, utility tariffs, public transport fares, taxi flagdown charges, increment in NS liability yrs from 40, shift to 45. they can also stretch the retirement age from 65, to 80!!

havent u read their new campaign slogan? "SECURING OUR FUTURE TOGETHER" - who does the "our" refer to? us or them?

One thing citizen forget is water bill. The 1st water agreement with Malaysia end this year.
So hope that peasant & opposition will ask this question. Will the water price increase in next 5 year?

i am waiting for that low life PAP sinkie ball licker to reply to this thread. why leh? dun dare to appear har.

Not good to called PAP supporter DOG.
That not gentlemen. Want to debate dont called name like dog/pig.......animal...
Can slam them but wiuth gentlemen and mature manner people will respect.

Not good to called PAP supporter DOG.
That not gentlemen. Want to debate dont called name like dog/pig.......animal...
Can slam them but wiuth gentlemen and mature manner people will respect.

Hey which part of my statement did the word "Dog" appear. If you want to teach people to behave, pls dun do it here. This is not the best place for your so called gentleman behavior.

Actually of all the pappy ministars, this botak is probably the only one I'm not totally pissed off with.

Yes. This Tharman is the best in PAP.
No TV/radio liciense and can direct comment no GST increase next 5 year. Even PM LHL bla bla................dont dare to said it.

garlic

There are 10 things he can increase, he just tell you one thing not gonna increase.. So, the other 9 will increase... that's all

Ah Neh Botak's intelligence is miles ahead of his colleagues such as WKS, KBW, LHK, YI etc. He remains one of the few likely to make it in the private sector. Good feedback of this ah neh from MOE staff. Was told TCH made a mess there.