• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

PAP Spin - No 6.9 million, no one to build HDB flats

Zero foreign worker inflow will hit new homes: Khaw

By Gwendolyn Ng
My Paper
Thursday, Feb 07, 2013

SINGAPORE - The Workers' Party's (WP's) proposal to freeze the foreign- worker population will "throw a spanner" in the Government's plans to build 200,000 new homes, said National Development Minister Khaw Boon Wan yesterday.

Last month, Mr Khaw had revealed in a blog post that some 200,000 housing units will be constructed - 80,000 private properties, 10,000 executive condominiums and about 110,000 public homes - by 2016.

Yesterday, he said in Parliament that in the next few years, new areas in Punggol North, Tampines and Bidadari would be available for public housing.

Giving his take on the Population White Paper, Mr Khaw said: "To complete the ramped-up construction programme, I do need more construction workers, more than currently available.

"That is why I was shocked by WP's recommendation yesterday: That we freeze the foreign- worker population, immediately and for eight years.

"I will not be able to deliver the new flats as promised to 200,000 families. On behalf of these families, I ask the WP to please rethink your idea."

Since the Population White Paper was released last week, a lot of public attention has been focused on the population projection of 6.9 million by 2030.

With Singapore's ageing population and shrinking labour force, Mr Khaw said the country will be facing a crisis in the next 10 to 15 years, "which is not far away" .

This will lead to fewer job opportunities for the young, he said, and not enough health-care workers to care for the old.

He said: "If we sweep the problem under the carpet and wish it away, it will not. It will only become more serious."

To avoid the current mismatch in infrastructure provision, Mr Khaw said: "That is why this time round, we have to plan infrastructure based on the stretched scenario of 6.9 million... For long- term planning, it is safer to prepare enough land and infrastructure for a larger number."

Mr Khaw also addressed concerns about the quality of living in the light of a higher population density in the projected future.

He said: "We will not let our quality of life go down. On the contrary, we want to continue to be able to raise our quality of life and we are confident we can achieve this."

For one thing, Mr Khaw said that the next generation of public homes will be even more comfortable and better designed.

Citing the example of the Punggol South neighbourhood, he said that the Government has carefully planned, designed and integrated greenery, open spaces and recreational facilities for the flats there.

For instance, there are gardens and gathering spaces on the rooftops of multi-storey carparks.

He said: "What is our future? It is not to be a concrete jungle. It is to be a city in a garden. It is to be Punggol - (and) multiply that many times."

"To complete the ramped-up construction programme, I do need more construction workers, more than currently available...."I will not be able to deliver the new flats as promised to 200,000 families

The same old PAP modus operandi ...if sinkees don't support the 6.9 million plan, no HDB flats for you. Khaw announced the HDB ramp-up before the 6.9 million plan. There was no condition placed then, why now?
For goodness sake, learn from the West lah ...they build alot more high rises and they don't import millions of foreigners to do the jobs. If the local contractors can't build without cheap labour, then invited foreign companies with expertise to build those flats. It is time to get out of the cheap workforce ...how many more decades of dependence on cheap labour must this economy continue to rely on? We are already 3 decades behind in building our capital stock!

Mr Khaw said the country will be facing a crisis in the next 10 to 15 years
There is NO crisis except for the one that is manufactured by the PAP because of the dependence on cheap labour. Why can't nurses be paid higher? After all, health care cost here is higher than most Asian countries. Likewise for cleaners. If the cleaners are capable of using more machines and thus raise productivity, wages can go up. The authorities just don't want to buy the equipment, prefering to hire cheap foreigners.
The cheap labour policy is the cause, not the solution.

"That is why this time round, we have to plan infrastructure based on the stretched scenario of 6.9 million.
The ministers are confused. You don't plan for 6.9 million. You either build or don't build. If they build, they will want to use it. So, the 6.9 million is a target, not an upper limit as claimed.

We will not let our quality of life go down. On the contrary, we want to continue to be able to raise our quality of life and we are confident we can achieve this.
We heard this before ...the promise of Swiss Standard of Living ...instead sinkees got the third world standard of living while the foreigners got the Swiss standard. Now, we have become servants of foreigners in our own land.

Mr Khaw said that the next generation of public homes will be even more comfortable and better designed
You can bet that the new flats will be smaller and you will still pay higher prices. That's the Pay And Pay way.

cheekenpie

You forget it is the WP SInGH that say slow down construction. You hear you not *smack face* meh?

The juvenile, childish and simplistic arguments used by Khaw, the other ministers and the PAP MPs are the real cause for my concern on why if they are allowed to carry on, we WILL be in a crisis.

BlueBrother

Talk cock. Look at all the buildings that are put up in Singapore. Who build them ? All the workers that build them died already ? If you can't bring in more workers, you can't build anymore HDB. If you bring in more workers now, more housing shortage.

ZombieFart

Can Khaw kick out the 1.6m (ie 6.9m less 5.3m) foreign workers in 2031 when all the construction projects have completed?

Prometheus888

In that case, if the whole PAP quits tomorrow, the whole government will fall into disarray right?

try it then..... and then call for fresh elections, you see who would be shown to the door.

Don't speak in absolute terms unless you want to play an "all in" game

griffin

Million dollar salaried-men are just talking cock to cover their inefficiency as well as past mistakes. Just confiscate the HDB flats of those who own private properties, make rules demanding that when PRs sell their flats they must sell it back to the HDB at the price they bought and impose capital gains tax. Then see the result.

Prometheus888

Million dollar salaried-men are just talking cock to cover their inefficiency as well as past mistakes. Just confiscate the HDB flats of those who own private properties, make rules demanding that when PRs sell their flats they must sell it back to the HDB at the price they bought and impose capital gains tax. Then see the result.

HDB only for citizens!!

Sale of foreign-owned properties only to Singaporeans

Capital gains tax of all foreign owner property transactions.

You see whether the housing prices will cool.

All these sad excuses for cooling measures being undertaken when the REAL solutions are staring at your face. These PAP chaps must be taken to task for their inefficiencies when in truth they are rolling in their "attempts" to curb the housing market.

HDB only for citizens!!

Sale of foreign-owned properties only to Singaporeans

Capital gains tax of all foreign owner property transactions.

You see whether the housing prices will cool.

All these sad excuses for cooling measures being undertaken when the REAL solutions are staring at your face. These PAP chaps must be taken to task for their inefficiencies when in truth they are rolling in their "attempts" to curb the housing market.

Cash poor asset rich gian png Sinkies, and the property-flipping, rent-seeking, PAP-voting, part-time property agents among them will not be happy. :wink:

Travellor

Cash poor asset rich gian png Sinkies, and the property-flipping, rent-seeking, PAP-voting, part-time property agents among them will not be happy. :wink:

FUCK THEM!!

who gives a shit when my country is getting overrun by motherfuckers who wanna exploit its people with overpriced shit like houses, cars and even groceries...wdf...

i think we deserve a better govt and a better quality of life man....

so what if we had no great growth?? i dont give a shit... these bastards with their multimillion dollar salaries only seek to enrich themselves more and the welfare of the people are the last things on their fucking mind!!!!

Bigfuck

Rubbish. With prefab techniques used in developed countries, it can be constructed at 1/3 of the usual time with 1/3 of the workers if not lesser. But what it will mean is less or no money to fuck mei mei and HFJ. That is the truth. The ones who are inefficient and expensive are the corrupt and incompetent local construction companies.

microdjsim

He needs LOTs of FTs to build the 200K flats. For me, i think he is a stupid minister. Everytime he speaks out, he always say the wrong thing. Is he catering most of the 200K flats to FTs and not mostly to Local citizens? If catered to local, why can't he just carry on and build flats for local? Mr Khaw needs to step down. We need someone who can actually Think before speaking out.

See this spooky language obfuscation? 'Zero foreign worker inflow'. What the hell does it mean?

Zero net addition of foreign workers (to construct the HDB flats). One worker quits, you hire only one to replace him.

Zero new hires of foreign workers?

The reduction of existing foreign workers?

VERY simple logic..

plan to build 200,000 new flats for 200,000 families
cut down the import of foreign workers
slow down the building of these homes
200,000 families are deprived of their homes
don't be so cruel - <choking with tears>- please don't do that WP!
have pity on these 200,000 families
blame the WP for your deprivation
don't blame the government with 20/20 foresight and hindsight
WP don't be so unkind and inconsiderate
your members want to build these 200,000 homes