• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious PAP MPs Demand Parliament To Explain Why COE Prices Shoot To The Moon! Good Transport Minister Iswaran Sibei Stressed!

sya_7252.jpg

SINGAPORE: The recent rise in Certificate of Entitlement (COE) premiums will be in focus when parliament sits on Monday (May 8), with several Members of Parliament filing questions on the matter.

Transport Minister S Iswaran is also scheduled to deliver a ministerial statement on meeting the transport needs of Singaporeans.

Questions about the COE range from the factors driving up prices to whether the government is considering measures to rein in premiums.

MP Lim Wee Kiak (PAP-Sembawang) asked whether the rise in COE prices is triggered by factors such as an influx of foreign residents.

MP Melvin Yong (PAP-Radin Mas) asked whether there are plans to help those who rely on driving for their livelihoods but who have been "priced out" by high COE premiums.

MP Dennis Tan (WP-Hougang) submitted a question on the number of new cars registered by ride-hailing and car leasing companies each month, as a percentage of the total number of new cars registered.

On the issue of motorcycle COEs, MP Mariam Jaafar (PAP-Sembawang) asked whether the government will consider more stringent action on dealers who may be engaging in speculative bidding.

She also asked if authorities will consider "more decisive measures" to prevent private-hire companies from driving up COE prices.

COE premiums for cars, including smaller ones in Category A, have risen to record levels above the S$100,000 mark. Motorcycle premiums fell sharply in the latest tender after new rules were introduced that include requiring bidders to pay a higher deposit.

Other issues on parliament's agenda include concerns over the closure of several US banks due to uninsured depositor runs.

MP Saktiandi Supaat (PAP-Bishan-Toa Payoh) asked whether the Monetary Authority of Singapore will consider raising the S$75,000 per depositor per bank coverage limit insured by the Singapore Deposit Insurance Corporation.

Meanwhile, Non-Constituency Member of Parliament (NCMP) Leong Mun Wai submitted a question asking the Home Affairs Minister about the number of ultra-high net worth individuals and their families who have been granted Singapore citizenship since 2000.

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/sin...may-8-transport-ministerial-statement-3467096

Hypocrite-The

Make Coe pay as you bid...n why no MP is addressing the elephant in the room? If COE is 100k which is the lowest amongst the highest bid... What is the highest bid? 200k?

Cos the fucking cheebye Grab and Gojek and other private hire vehicles are fucking the roads up. Knn COE so high but roads still jammed up due to this. Minister for transport should go and suck cock!

in3deep

Sham queries. pAP MPs will ask question, Iswaran Thambi will give a smoke bomb and the PAP MPs will applaud him for for the wonderful answers.

SBFNews

PAP all wayang. End of day, they will tell you it's your fault for not being able to afford because you never upskill and reskill. Fuck PAP :FU:

ChinaCommunistSG

Simple question and answer: grab buys so many coe and new cars and obviously nowadays not many drivers want to take up this job and so I suspect that foreigners will be allowed to work as grab drivers

birdie69

PAP all wayang. End of day, they will tell you it's your fault for not being able to afford because you never upskill and reskill. Fuck PAP :FU:
he will simply reply that it is demand and supply, government adopts free market policy, not right to interfere the market.

Loofydralb

We all know that when PAP MPs question a minister on a common topic in a systematic coordinated way, it's all a planned wayang show.
They have no answers nor solutions to the problem.
It's all made to appear that they are concerned and will make people think they are doing something.
PAP's game is up.

congo9

COE is well and good. It goes with the idea of merits, fairness and equality. If you are not suitable, then it's good to stay at forest city.

If you really can't, another place will be Pahang or Tregganu

We all know that when PAP MPs question a minister on a common topic in a systematic coordinated way, it's all a planned wayang show.
They have no answers nor solutions to the problem.
It's all made to appear that they are concerned and will make people think they are doing something.
PAP's game is up.

As I've said time and again: the source of the problem cannot also be its solution.

They want to know what the problem is... they should look inside a mirror.

MP Lim Wee Kiak (PAP-Sembawang) asked whether the rise in COE prices is triggered by factors such as an influx of foreign residents.
This useless fuck is the typical useless shit who doesn’t use his brain. Foreigners are mainly divided into 3 main groups.

1) Low income earners - the Bangladesh construction workers, Malaysian hairdressers and China waitresses etc. U think they are buying cars?

2) Mid-income earners working in professional capacities. Probably earning $5-10k. I doubt they can afford cars.

3) Expats. The sky’s the limit with these. But… most expats don’t care for buying a car in Singapore. Unless… they marry a local Sinkie woman then it’s a different matter.

As with all matters, sure got exceptions la.