PAP is threatened by the internet

The worse enemy of Singaporeans are the PAP maggots cockroaches and all in their fucking gang including their paper generals.
They are the enemy that all true Singaporeans will fight against.

Not the make believe false enemy the PAP tried to conjure for us as smoke and mirrors to hide their own exploitation and destruction of the real Singapore and Singaporeans.

We will destroy that PAP provided that they do not destroy themselves first when smear of shit on sole of shoe LKY start to eat joss sticks and candle wax

talk so much signifying nothing like your cbcheewawawaism.....waste of time and waste of space...cheeewawawau!!!

I don't see the point of talking about the so called 'Total Defence' when they are opening the flood gate for fifth column.

NEH should have also addressed the issue on matters that his MIW wants to keep secret but kena exposed through the internet. What if such disclosures are gospel truths and malu the MIW? Is that the real reason why he spoke on this new threat?

S'poreans are not silly. There are many who can ascertain if news on the internet is credible or not. In the event of the latter, that individual's credibilty will dive south. But there will always be cases of honest mistakes. I personally do not see the threat coming from the internet if one has nothing to hide. If SL and QKS can cope with the internet, surely the govt can. They have all the time, manpower and resources.

I personally do not see the threat coming from the internet if one has nothing to hide.

Exactly. They have plenty of things to hide, and the mainstream media can no longer shape the narrative.

Hence the public branding of the Internet as an evil, unreliable source of lies.

If SL and QKS can cope with the internet, surely the govt can. They have all the time, manpower and resources.

They have the resources but it's a huge waste of time constantly having to set the record straight. The same resources could be put to far more productive use if the internet wasn't around.

The best solution would be for Singapore to sever itself from the internet and build its own intranet. Access would be via logging on with your IC number as your ID using a government issued password. Sinkies would no longer dare to post blatant lies and slanderous accusations and the country would be far more secure and far better off.

They have the resources but it's a huge waste of time constantly having to set the record straight. The same resources could be put to far more productive use if the internet wasn't around.

The best solution would be for Singapore to sever itself from the internet and build its own intranet. Access would be via logging on with your IC number as your ID using a government issued password. Sinkies would no longer dare to post blatant lies and slanderous accusations and the country would be far more secure and far better off.

Problem is the other way around.

Sinkies tell the truth and the PAP did nothing but tell blatant lies that they want sinkies to believe as the truth.
It is the PAP that are the congenital liars. And unreperent thieves as well with one Minister so proud that he stole toothpicks.

How to censor those PAP from the children and younger people so as not to corrupt those young minds?
Get all those PAP to stick their fucking heads below waterline of public toilet bowls to recite 1000 times the pledge there?

Exactly. They have plenty of things to hide, and the mainstream media can no longer shape the narrative.

I agree that they have plenty to hide. But the astonishing thing is that the online community has been thoroughly useless so far in exposing anything. I have said the same to the TS in an earlier thread. Look at the absolute disconnect -- there are tens of thousands of anti-PAP elements online everyday but virtually all are useless as they have yet to expose anything of substance that would constitute a scandal.

The best solution would be for Singapore to sever itself from the internet and build its own intranet. Access would be via logging on with your IC number as your ID using a government issued password. Sinkies would no longer dare to post blatant lies and slanderous accusations and the country would be far more secure and far better off

On the contrary, there are many chobolans in the civil service waiting to do things meaningful. With perceived threats from the internet, they can finally be put to good use to justify their market rate salaries.

Wrt your second para, I am sure some wise chaps in the civil service would have made such a proposal or something similar. The govt must have rejected that idea coz the costs far outweighs the benefits. It is not a silly government we are dealing with.

This is an excellent idea. Or get your SingPass to log in. Then we will not have CRANE or ESCHER or PHUAcb types of forummers to disrupt and spew garbages and profanities. Excellent idea - brilliant. My gut feeling is this: the government might just impose this!!!

I agree that they have plenty to hide. But the astonishing thing is that the online community has been thoroughly useless so far in exposing anything. I have said the same to the TS in an earlier thread. Look at the absolute disconnect -- there are tens of thousands of anti-PAP elements online everyday but virtually all are useless as they have yet to expose anything of substance that would constitute a scandal.
There are countless truths and untruths on the Internet about the pap. Problem is who can verify and who can testify? Who is willing to risk it all and be the whistle blower? Thus far very few are. Palmer gate is one rare example.

A scandal has got nothing to do with PAP policies. Those faulty policies we have heard to death and few sane people will disagree with the critics. However, all that does affect the PAP. But a scandal would. What is a scandal relates to personal lives and is based on hard evidence, not hearsay. People can come online and curse the PAP till they get blue in the face but that changes NOTHING. Incidentally, the Palmer affair was revealed offline by the PAP itself, preempting an expose by TNP. There was ZERO about it online before that particular press conference with TCH and Palmer. This is the extent of the utter uselessness of the online community.

I don't see the point of talking about the so called 'Total Defence' when they are opening the flood gate for fifth column.

All this talk of Total Defense is rubbish when Sinkies are Totally Defenseless.

In it, Defence Minister Ng Eng Hen warned against… wait for it… DRUMS (Distortions, Rumours, Untruths, Misinformation and Smears).

Yes, they came up with an bloody ACRONYM for this.

Since gahmen came up with DRUMS, I wondered what other acronyms we could use to help them in their online fight against the demons of teh internets:

1. Fraudulent Activities, Rumours Threats and Sedition (FARTS)

2. Anyhowly Login Always Malign Accurate Knowledge (ALAMAK)

3. Threats Untruths Rumours Distortions and Smears (TURDS)

4. People Attacking People (PAP)

5. Fear-mongering, Antagonizing, Perpetuating Smears (FAPS)

6. Distortions Online Negating Good Situations (DONGS)

7. Disturbing Incriminations Crippling Knowledge Systems (DICKS)

I think if Defence Minister Ng Eng Hen used one of my suggestions, his quote from the news report would read:

http://www.mrbrown.com/blog/2013/08...ium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed:+mrbrown+(mrbrown)

you can be sure in a few years time that SAF Burmese SAFOS person will help Ng carry out his orders

SINGAPORE — There is a new threat on the horizon that could hamper Singapore’s Total Defence efforts: The distorted or false information, rumours and smears that emanate from the Internet.

Warning against these yesterday, Defence Minister Ng Eng Hen said such distortions could spread far and wide and even cause confusion and chaos, weakening the country’s resolve and causing disunity.

“You would think that in this day and age, where information could be sent out, it would be easier to communicate,” he said at the Total Defence Symposium. “It is actually the reverse.”

Identifying information management as one key area in Total Defence, he said the authorities must have a quick response plan, but at the same time, Singaporeans themselves must be more discerning about information on the Internet.

Dr Ng’s comments came after Communications and Information Minister Yaacob Ibrahim criticised blogger Ravi Philemon in Parliament last month for making a misinformed post about delivery of masks to the public during the haze crisis. In response, Mr Philemon said he was not asserting a fact, but only seeking more information on the haze as the Government’s assurances about the masks “did not tally with the situation on the ground”.

At the event yesterday, Dr Ng said the over four decades of peace enjoyed by Singapore also meant that the Republic has to manage the “complacency that can set in”.

Noting that Total Defence campaigns have been conducted “every year for many years”, he asked the over 900-strong audience — which consisted mainly of employers — how the effectiveness of the efforts and plans for Total Defence could be assessed.

Dr Ng highlighted two “minor battles” — the SARS outbreak in 2003 and the worst haze episode that hit in June — which tested Total Defence efforts. In both cases, people from all walks of life, from employers to grassroots volunteers, non-government organisations and individual Singaporeans, rallied to help one another, he said.

“Youth groups, for instance, bought masks and distributed them to the elderly and the needy in the society. Others willingly opened up their air-conditioned homes for strangers to take refuge from the haze,” Dr Ng added.

While Singapore can take “great assurance” that these efforts in Total Defence are “bearing fruit”, Dr Ng said one area needed to be improved on is in information management.

“In a tense and volatile situation, DRUMS (Distortions, Rumours, Untruths, Misinformation and Smears) can spread very far and wide and even cause confusion and chaos. Those who would do us harm will purposely start DRUMS to weaken our resolve and cause disunity,” he said.

“We have to learn how to respond to DRUMS, both as a Government and the people. The authorities must have a quick response plan. At the same time, the people themselves must be more discerning about the information that they read on the Internet. Singaporeans themselves can respond or counter and stop the spread of DRUMS.”

Another S.P.S.Y.

Say People Say Yourself