Chitchat PAP Has Created Many Jobs For Singaporeans

or when there's no kopi kaki to drink with, sinkie uncle goes to geylang to look for chicken.

image.jpg

Which other country reserves the low paying jobs for its own citizens and bring in foreigners to take the middle and high management jobs?

The Daddy created wealth for the Cuntry and its Shittyzens, the Son took away the wealth for his own Familee and his Cronies. Waiting to see what happens when all is dried up.

You forgot to mention that these jobs don't need a degree and the peasants need not take out huge loans for their useless degrees.

That's true. But most singaporeans nowadays have at least a Diploma from SG Poly, Ngee Ann Poly, Temasek Poly, Nanyang Poly, or degree from NUS, Nanyang TU or SMU.

A few years ago, there was a security guard working in my condo who had aNUS degree and spoke excellent English.

Do you remember a Singapore taxi driver with a PHD? Dr Cai Ming Jie?

That's true. But most singaporeans nowadays have at least a Diploma from SG Poly, Ngee Ann Poly, Temasek Poly, Nanyang Poly, or degree from NUS, Nanyang TU or SMU.

A few years ago, there was a security guard working in my condo who had aNUS degree and spoke excellent English.

Do you remember a Singapore taxi driver with a PHD? Dr Cai Ming Jie?

Probably the only taxi driver in this world with a PhD from Stanford and a proven track record of scientific accomplishments, I have been forced out of my research job at the height of my scientific career, and unable to find another one, for reasons I can only describe as something "uniquely Singapore". As a result, I am driving taxi to make a living and writing these real life stories just to make the dull job a little more interesting. I hope that these stories are interesting to you too.
Introduction: Probably the only taxi driver in this world with a PhD from Stanford and a proven track record of scientific accomplishments, I have been forced out of my research job at the height of my scientific career, and unable to find another one, for reasons I can only describe as something "uniquely Singapore". As a result, I am driving taxi to make a living and writing these real life stories just to make the dull job a little more interesting. I hope that these stories are interesting to you too.
COULD this be Singapore's most well qualified taxi driver?

Dr Cai Ming Jie became an SMRT cabby last November after spending 16 years as a researcher at the Institute of Molecular and Cell Biology (IMCB) of the Agency for Science, Technology and Research (A*Star).

His career switch has become a talking point online after he started a blog earlier this year. Alongside his experiences as a cabby, he takes issue with the circumstances of his departure from IMCB last May.

An SMRT spokesman confirmed that the former researcher is a driver with SMRT Taxis, but Dr Cai declined to add more beyond this: 'All that needs to be said is on the blog online...It should be IMCB that needs to be asked questions, if any.'

The China-born Dr Cai, who became a Singapore citizen, obtained a PhD in molecular biology from Stanford University in 1990. The Straits Times learnt that he did a two-year postdoctoral fellowship after leaving Stanford at the University of Washington, under famed genetist Professor Lee Hartwell, who won a 2001 Nobel Prize in physiology.

He joined IMCB two years later and worked as a principal investigator in the field of cell genetics up till his departure.

A spokesman for A*Star, meanwhile, said renewal of all its researchers' contracts is based on a number of factors, including the time taken to train PhD students, their performance and their contributions to the research institutes and the agency in general.

Dr Cai's work, like that of all A*Star researchers, was assessed by an external Scientific Advisory Board (SAB), which recommended his contract be terminated.

Still, in spite of the submission of countless curriculum vitaes and applications to universities, government agencies and companies since he was told he would be let go in 2007, Dr Cai failed to get a successful response.

The former researcher now drives a four-year -old Toyota Crown. 'At a time like this, the taxi business is probably the only business in Singapore that still actively recruits people,' he said.

Statistically speaking, 70% of these chaps here voted for the PAP! Only 30% you see here are opposition supporters :D:D:D

I think the man who covered his nose is a PAP IB or ISD agent

cannot be. 69.86% are busy hiding in air-con rooms and currying favors they don't have time to sweat it out in outdoor kopitiam or hawker center.

They were out selling koyoks to the heartlanders

The Daddy created wealth for the Cuntry and its Shittyzens, the Son took away the wealth for his own Familee and his Cronies. Waiting to see what happens when all is dried up.

you dont have to wait too long....most things are drying up under LHL

Yup, this chap was from IMCB previously.

Uniquely Singapore,

I know of two Singaporean Senior Bank Managers, NUS MBA holders, who resorted to taxi driving.

Now we have a Stanford PHD holder who took up taxi driving too.

Sorry state of affairs

cannot be. 69.86% are busy hiding in air-con rooms and currying favors they don't have time to sweat it out in outdoor kopitiam or hawker center.

Nabeh... the 30% got brains to hide in shopping malls and McDs for free air con ok?

Singaporeans,

The next time you take a taxi, be conscious that your driver maybe a NUS MBA holder or Stanford Doctorate Holder

Singaporeans,

The next time you take a taxi, be conscious that your driver maybe a NUS MBA holder or Stanford Doctorate Holder
Most likely sinkies will not believe if the taxi uncle say he has a MBA :D

No need for the passenger to believe because he cant do anything. But the thought of NUS MBA holders and NUS graduates driving taxi for a living is offensive. Shouldn't the govt be indignant abt such a situation?

Singaporeans,

this just shows Sinkieland produces three things in mass quantities,useless scholars,useless politicians and useless graduates.without sucking on the governments titties and begging for a iron rice bowl job,the best they can hope to be is a taxi driver......these people produce zero value in the real world.even 10,000 PHDs in singapore cannot hope to produce a talent like elon musk who has degrees in physics and economics and went on to produce 3 different multi billion dollar companies.

Not the graduates' fault.

The root cause is the pap who cant create good jobs for the citizens.

The graduates did their part and gained their degrees from NUS. But there are no jobs for SG graduates. Read Post#1 and #2

Yup, this chap was from IMCB previously.

Stanford Doctorate graduate also cant get a job in Singapore. The reason is perhaps he is a singaporean. Uniquely Singapore.

Just as the pap is baffled that its pap MP was burnt at Yio Chu Kang, the pap ought to be baffled that a Singaporean with Stanford PHD cant get a job in Singapore.

LHL and PAP ought to do some soul searching and dont just blame Singaporeans for being too choosy and dont want to work. These are their lies

Stanford Doctorate graduate also cant get a job in Singapore. The reason is perhaps he is a singaporean. Uniquely Singapore.

Just as the pap is baffled that its pap was burnt at Yio Chu Kang, the pap ought to be baffled that a Singaporean with Stanford PHD cant get a job in Singapore

Prof Cai has a job- as a cabbie