• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Opposition and leadership after GE

I thought the conversations got a bit interesting here and thus went back to the original first post to see if a context can be found. That post asked for feedback via feelers on various scenarios post-2011. The question then is why the need to get opinions.

If Perspective is in the WP CEC (and for the purposes of this post, I will assume as such) and he is tasked to gather opinions on the post-election situation using the new media, then the feedback is likely to be for the purpose of scenario planning in the formulation of WP's approach to the other parties.

As the WP grapples with its new position, essentially sandwiched between the PAP and the other parties, it has to formulate responses to potential situations. The PAP will regard them as a friendly enemy, one who knows the limits of Parlimentary questionings. That territory is familiar ground. What is uncertain is how the opposition landscape will pan out and if a threat exist.

That the WP is undergoing an internal change is expected. Given its success in the GRC and the safety of its brand, it is likely to receive many new blood in its midst - professionals, businessmen and wealthy individuals - who can replace the old-timers anytime. Given that it is helmed by two experienced politicians, the current turmoil is manageable.

What is important then is how the exodus from WP to the other parties will affect their expansion plans come the next election. That the disgruntled will seek 'revenge' via other parties is a possibility and must be factored into the WP's political strategy.

However the WP will emerge from this hiccup with three major strengths, unmatched by the others:

(1) their branding with the voters
(2) the crystallization of their operations and logistics capabilities
(3) a deepened understanding of the factors that influence the voters

Even if the disgruntled join the other opposition parties, there is no threat because these parties will adopt the same approach as they did all these ineffectual years. Silence, focus on the wrong things, not cultivating the voters, no opportunity for branding. Come the next election, the talented in the other parties will continue to come out and speak, depending on the dissatisfaction to give them wings. The WP on the other hand, comes out as a team who have been there, done that and now their promises to look after the estate if elected, will carry significant weight.

In political planning terms, the situation to look out for is when the talented in the opposition come together to form a LLP, a limited partnership as it were, allowing different strengths to develop but functioning under a single brand. Think of a law firm, many partners but a single brand. However if one of the partners has a hidden agenda that is obvious to the public, then the WP need not be afraid of the competition because a little black will gray the entire white. But if it comprises all the pure in the opposition, then accommodation strategies need to be formulated.

The worst scenario for the WP is when the talented come up with their brand, set up branches in void decks in the targeted housing estates, organize talk shows, etc on a consistent basis from year 1. A single brand, multiple talents, great fluidity. Then the WP will be faced with a strong competitor and not a distant third.

Will the WP fail as a result of internal reorganization? Unlikely. The fresh inputs are many and people are becoming more vocal. Will the WP face opposition from the PAP? Unlikely. Will the WP face opposition from the rest of the opposition parties? Likely. If the degree of opposition is like the current oppositions, then there is less need to worry. But if a strong competitor emerges, then accommodation strategies are needed.

All in, the WP is in an enviable position to forge ahead. It will evolve into an organization, more structured than what it is now, yet with more talents joining its ranks. It will be the first party to break away from the unstructured methods of the current oppositions.

That is, unless there is a deliberate attempt by the talented to define themselves. Questionings of Tanjong Pagar expenditure, publicized 'you promised me!' are individual efforts which do not inspire the voters. The oppositions by continuing in this vein makes the future look good for the WP.

So how will the opposition pan out after the GE? Two ways: a redefining of themselves away from RP, SDA, SPP, NSP into a concerted brand with clear focus and continual marketing to keep the brand for five years or the current hotpot of independent actions by RP, SDA, SPP, NSP, actions that may confirm for the voters their immaturity. From the WP perspective of strategy formulation, either one of accommodation or non-action where you let them beat themselves up.

Will the leaders retain their identities? Yes. But the concern is if there is a strong leader who can gather all the talents under one umbrella.

Current opinion for now. Will revise accordingly.

IR123;751337 If Perspective is in the WP CEC (and for the purposes of this post said:
Bro, he is NOT lah.
I don't think he's even an ordinary member of the party anymore. But this I'm not sure.

Bro, he is NOT lah.
I don't think he's even an ordinary member of the party anymore. But this I'm not sure.

thanks....it was just a guess based on the inputs of the conversations....need to start somewhere

as he is not, then the context of his first post is still open....

Dear IR123,

You always surprise me with your insights. :)

It is a bit too optimistic on your part because as any politics, it is all about numbers.

Nevertheless, good insight. There will sure be a re-organization of opposition parties minus WP. How this will work out will depend a lot on many things.

Goh Meng Seng

Actually, perhaps you might want to clarify your views on WP post election.
I recalled you posting a comment which was not too flattering about LTK and Sylvia after the election results, but as I didn't agree with you, I ignored and forgot it! :o

Yes, was on Eric Tan, which I felt the two should have given a comment of thanks for his contribution, wish him well, rather than "let the people decide". Because if people decide they will vote out WP Aljunied, since no one thinks Eric was treated fairly. Only that the same people felt that the better man won, so there is no need to tell them to "decide". We know democracy doesn't produce fair result - that is written all over history.

It was said in another post and some people instead want me to fire WP or fire opposition + WP but no option to fire opposition - WP. WTF saying that this would be "honest", they are actually asking me to be more hypocritical. Either that or totally confused or principles all haywire.

For your benefit and request, I think LTK and the decision makers behind WP took a very big risk and made it. If not, there would have been in big trouble at all fronts.

To give credit, it has not been about division into dual or more fronts for a long time, something more obvious in SDP/NSP. The point of the thread. ET or anyone's support "base" whatever you call it would not make up the numbers more than a quarter and would be even less when it comes to drastic actions, such as mass resigning or throwing out the leaders. The people who opt for ET as NCMP probably did so because of using tenure as measure (as Eric himself did) and might be actually close to LTK leadership. The people are different kinds due to strict discipline - you get to decide nothing personally for yourselves - it's either you accept whatever decision made by others (not one person) or leave. In return your chances of winning are generally higher. The staying power ones in acceptance of teamwork stay, it is predictable that not many united splinters will be thrown.

I predict strain when Parliament starts as there will be some sparks as to what and how to bring up topics, but it will be growing pains any opp with more than 1 seat will have to grapple and live with.

Have to disagree. I think the vast majority felt that the CEC did the right thing and chose Gerald Giam. Picking someone for office has nothing to do with how long and how much he contributed but what exactly that he can do in the office.

This has been a landmark elections also for those who have been in opposition politics for many years have been admirably carrying the flag and keeping the fires burning. They have come to realise that better people do exist and its seems PAP's desire to assure 9 seats seem to worked. Now people were running around looking for parties to take them.

I already said it prior to the elections that there will lots of infighting, disappointments and sense of betrayal will occur among the party faithful. To the public, it carries no weight. They are looking for credible candidates. Even the PAP found that out.

Working the ground is insufficient, one needs appeal and appeal and Eric and many others are far form each other.

I have never heard of successful political party in any country that is known for its unity. There are factions and then they have party workers. I am sure those who have been associated with WP will realise they were essentially party workers even if they stood in elections in prior years. Notice how many veterans in the opposition camps performed poorly. Even Steve Chia performance was a surprise.

Trying to be nice to everyone just because they know who you are will never work in politics. It is question of how good you are.

Yes, was on Eric Tan, which I felt the two should have given a comment of thanks for his contribution, wish him well, rather than "let the people decide". Because if people decide they will vote out WP Aljunied, since no one thinks Eric was treated fairly..

Eric Tan public tantrum is a total disgrace to all opposition, comparable with taking naked photos of the maid :D. Please lah, you need to present a united front when you are dealin with the public. Fucking embarrassing but no doubt, GMS will agree with his stance since he is very into staying true to himself.

Sometimes I wonder if being TEEKEE is a pre-condition of being a real opposition member. IE actually standing out there to be exposed, examined and criticized. I guess it requires people who have very very strong opinions and refuse to bend. To all opposition representatives, I am grateful that you put yourself forward. I wish you can do better but am glad you are there in the first place.

Yes, was on Eric Tan, which I felt the two should have given a comment of thanks for his contribution, wish him well, rather than "let the people decide". Because if people decide they will vote out WP Aljunied, since no one thinks Eric was treated fairly. Only that the same people felt that the better man won, so there is no need to tell them to "decide". We know democracy doesn't produce fair result - that is written all over history.

Now I recall why I disagreed with your post and subsequently forgot the content.
I saw on TV an interview Eric gave to a reporter. When asked who would be the NCMP from his constituency, he said that it would probably be him. The moment he said that, I thought "Oops". At that time, I had no idea they would select Gerald.

Would it have been too difficult for him to say "Let the CEC decide", but secretly hope? At least, it would not have resulted in a loss of face later. This case in my view, was Eric's own doing, with all due respect. No plus or minus for LTK or Sylvia here.

As for the Aljunied victory, I've said that it was the "all eggs in one basket" strategy that clinched the victory for them. If LTK had gone to Moulmein or East Coast, they might not have captuted any grc. It was a risky political masterstroke.

There will sure be a re-organization of opposition parties minus WP. How this will work out will depend a lot on many things.

Goh Meng Seng

As a suggestion, keep the party as close to the middle as possible and adopt a position midway between the PAP and WP. Avoid all those talk about minimum wages and abolishment of death penalty. Keep to motherhood statements. Protest against the culling of cats. Give out ang pows to the needy. Kiss babies but do not gag. Do your equivalent of Meet the people by writing on their behalf letters to the government. A concerted branding. Most important stick as close to the WP as possible in terms of ideology so that both of you are indistinguishable to the public. In this way, it will become very hard for the voters to decide between you and the WP (although the WP has a significant advantage). At the same time, the PAP is left dancing on its own and if it fail, you may be the preferred choice if your positioning is midway the PAP and WP.

As for the CEC comprising the various leaders proposed by jw5, I have my doubts it is a sustainable option. It will be fragile. Far better to let them run by themselves within a single framework but heavily subjected (voluntarily) to a few ground rules. In this way, you do not step on each other's toes and there is scope to build your mini-kingdoms. You do not need everyone on the new party. Just the credible ones. Best to start small, start well and build a marvellous brand. Nicole would understand all these very well. Not only that, based on her performance, she can implement it marvellously. However her posb account should never be featured anymore.

Anyway just suggestions. If it is useful, consider it. If not, you know where to put it.

Goh Meng Seng Goh Meng Seng... remember me, the comet master? 6 years liao u still arguing with ppl in sammyboy... buay sian ah?

Anyway, i specially started an account here with a well meaning message for you. I know ur intentions are generally good and you have your own sense of justice, right and wrong etc......but really lah.... no need to keep arguing a point across online lah. State your points and beliefs than leave it at that.

Ultimately, you are using an account that carries a public persona. I understand your belief is that this are your opinions and you are just stating your position as Goh Meng Seng. But ppl will see that as the Sec Gen of NSP or ex WP A Team member or Nicole Seah Mentor or Comet Master.

That said, i know you will not listen and will still continue to hold your views and continue arguing with anonymous folks. I guess that level of stubbornness is required to be opposition politics.....