• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Old Man slap u all awake and tell u PeeSai is not Disney World

cooleo

We are not living in Disney World: MM Lee

392afp_leekuanyew.jpg

In a statement issued just on Monday, two days before Nomination Day, Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew urged voters to look at the fundamentals and not rock the foundations where Singapore was built from scratch.

He reminded Singaporeans to "remember where Singapore came from, and how difficult it was that we got to where we are".

"The schools, hospitals, universities, police force, armed forces, the air force, we built all of them up from scratch, from ground zero," said the 87-year-old, who is leading the Tanjong Pagar GRC team in the elections.

MM Lee said that Singapore's success was never by chance. It was through careful planning and selection of men and women of integrity and quality by the People's Action Party (PAP) that got Singapore to where it is today.

He also added that PAP's 24 new candidates are individuals with a proven character of high calibre and with a track record of performance that shows they will not fail in taking on responsibilities.

"We combed Singapore to select those with the highest integrity and ability to chart the way forward for Singapore. We will never reach a point where it can be on auto-pilot, so that any team can just take over. We are not living in Disney World."

Sharing Singapore's achievements, MM Lee stressed that no country in the world has housed 85 per cent of its population in public housing of high quality, with the remaining 15 per cent able to afford to buy condominiums and landed properties.

He said: "We decided in 1965 that Singapore must become a property-owning democracy. So at the bottom of the market in 1965, when investors thought that Singapore would not survive after our separation from Malaysia, we acquired and bought up all vacant lands and all fire sites. I also removed the right of seaside owners for compensation for loss of their foreshores so that the government could reclaim land without the high cost of compensating the owners of seaside properties."

Turning his attention to housing, MM Lee said young couples are impatient waiting for their homes. "Nowhere else in the world can a couple getting married look forward to a home well below market price and, after five years of occupation, sell their homes at a significant premium. My team had planned for this."

He also emphasised how a house in Singapore is worth 10, 15, 20 times the price of that same house built in Indonesia, and 5 to 10 times that built in Malaysia.

MM Lee also touched on the Central Provident Fund. He said the CPF was expanded and has enabled people to buy their homes, co-pay for their medical and dental expenses, and still have an adequate balance for their retirement.

With Singaporeans going to the polls on May 7, he advised voters to not risk their assets, property values and job opportunities and vote for men and women of proven character and track records of high performance.

Bigfuck

He reminded Singaporeans to "remember where Singapore came from, and how difficult it was that we got to where we are".

I remember and we remember. And that is why we recognize the difference with the current PAP which has nothing to do with the PAP that got us from there. Voting the current members of PAP out and infusing in the right blood into PAP now is key for Singapore, if PAP is to be a potent party for the people.

Equalisation

I agree with MM's view that we must be realistic.

We Singaporeans have been turned into nervous wrecks, whole day craving for money, looking over our shoulders which FT is going to take away our jobs, jostling for spaces with FTs in mrt and buses, scratching our heads (mine abit bald already) as to how to service our loans of our pigeon holes, educational places taken by FT children, gradual disintegration and fragmention of the social fabric ........:mad:

Seriously, this is very real to say the least ...... :(

Old fart is saying bad about the West. Disneyland is an entertainment park for kids and Disney World is an organisation in charge of Disneyland entetainment park. So old fart oredi offended Disney Wolrd ogranisation, yeah!

So old fart is saying USA citizens are living in entertainment parks, Disney World.

Is living in America Disney World so bad but yet he still loved USA to death that he can bailed out Citibank America with Sinkies CPF monies.

What is living in Disney World like, or there is no such place only we know Disneyland Park exist?

We are not living in Disney World: MM Lee

392afp_leekuanyew.jpg

In a statement issued just on Monday, two days before Nomination Day, Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew urged voters to look at the fundamentals and not rock the foundations where Singapore was built from scratch.

"The schools, hospitals, universities, police force, armed forces, the air force, we built all of them up from scratch, from ground zero," said the 87-year-old, who is leading the Tanjong Pagar GRC team in the elections.

MM Lee said that Singapore's success was never by chance. It was through careful planning and selection of men and women of integrity and quality by the People's Action Party (PAP) that got Singapore to where it is today.

He also added that PAP's 24 new candidates are individuals with a proven character of high calibre and with a track record of performance that shows they will not fail in taking on responsibilities.

"We combed Singapore to select those with the highest integrity and ability to chart the way forward for Singapore. We will never reach a point where it can be on auto-pilot, so that any team can just take over. We are not living in Disney World."

Sharing Singapore's achievements, MM Lee stressed that no country in the world has housed 85 per cent of its population in public housing of high quality, with the remaining 15 per cent able to afford to buy condominiums and landed properties.

He said: "We decided in 1965 that Singapore must become a property-owning democracy. So at the bottom of the market in 1965, when investors thought that Singapore would not survive after our separation from Malaysia, we acquired and bought up all vacant lands and all fire sites. I also removed the right of seaside owners for compensation for loss of their foreshores so that the government could reclaim land without the high cost of compensating the owners of seaside properties."

Turning his attention to housing, MM Lee said young couples are impatient waiting for their homes. "Nowhere else in the world can a couple getting married look forward to a home well below market price and, after five years of occupation, sell their homes at a significant premium. My team had planned for this."

He also emphasised how a house in Singapore is worth 10, 15, 20 times the price of that same house built in Indonesia, and 5 to 10 times that built in Malaysia.

MM Lee also touched on the Central Provident Fund. He said the CPF was expanded and has enabled people to buy their homes, co-pay for their medical and dental expenses, and still have an adequate balance for their retirement.

With Singaporeans going to the polls on May 7, he advised voters to not risk their assets, property values and job opportunities and vote for men and women of proven character and track records of high performance.

I wonder who really write comment for LKY. Never see he speak on TV/news by himself(so how can we confrirm the speach are really make by him). Must be some one from PAP script writer.
He must be too old too speak or face the TV/Media.

Patriot

MM:"The schools, hospitals, universities, police force, armed forces, the air force, we built all of them up from scratch, from ground zero," said the 87-year-old, who is leading the Tanjong Pagar GRC team in the elections."

Did Singapore not have schools,hospitals, universities,police force during British colonial times? :confused: :eek:

Yes, granted the present SAF & Air Force were started by the Government, after independence, to replace those of the British when they withdrew from Singapore.

>MM:"The schools, hospitals, universities, police force, armed forces, the air force, we built all of them up from scratch, from ground zero," said the 87-year-old, who is leading the Tanjong Pagar GRC team in the elections.">

The British had left us with a good infrastructure, examples, deep water wharves at Keppel & a dockyard in Sembawang etc.. airbases in Tengah, Seletar & Changi, Institution of learning like Raffes Institution, University of Singapore & other government built publis schools ,there were schools built by the Christian's & Catholics missioneries, schools built by the Chinese Clans & even an University, & schools also built by other races, hospitals like Tan Tock Seng , Changi Hospital, Alexandra Hospital & SGH andpolice force, armed forces...etc...

Ahhh! even public housing, if one can remember the municipal flats in Chinatown, Mosque Street, then came the SIT..Singapore Improvement Trust...Upper Pickering Street, Tion Bahru Estate, Bukit Ho Swee & where else...

We agreed that the PAP government had improved upon what had already been started & built more...but to say that, we start from scratch, is trying to write HIS STORY...many from the current generation, who had not lived through self-government, to Malaysia to SINgapore, will not know much..

Start from scratch...definitely no!

Disney land, definitely no!.... PAP land, yes!, with entertainment fascilities & ( long paying hotels) - HDB housing, YES!:biggrin:

MM:"The schools, hospitals, universities, police force, armed forces, the air force, we built all of them up from scratch, from ground zero," said the 87-year-old, who is leading the Tanjong Pagar GRC team in the elections."

Did Singapore not have schools,hospitals, universities,police force during British colonial times? :confused: :eek:

Yes, granted the present SAF & Air Force were started by the Government, after independence, to replace those of the British when they withdrew from Singapore.

1.bro, you are quick man!
2. bingo! during the colonial days, sheepishland did have system too.
3. schools, hospitals and things.
4. btw, the public housing scheme is some leasing scheme.
5. it is not some property purchased but leased items.

spotter542

Want to claim credit also must use some other methods mah :rolleyes:
Think he pissed with Disney people 'coz Hong Kong , Tokyo , Paris and The U S Of A all got theme park except sunny Singapore.

MM LKY still dreaming of Disney World. Very funny comment. Cannot make a different between Disney World and Universl Studio in Sentosa. Must be really sick also cannot face TV/media to give such comment.

Bigfuck

>MM:"The schools, hospitals, universities, police force, armed forces, the air force, we built all of them up from scratch, from ground zero," said the 87-year-old, who is leading the Tanjong Pagar GRC team in the elections.">

Start from scratch...definitely no!

Disney land, definitely no!.... PAP land, yes!, with entertainment fascilities & ( long paying hotels) - HDB housing, YES!:biggrin:

It must be his medication that allows him to live longer than he is supposed to. It was never scratch. Singapore had great potential - the Brits and Japs saw it. And so did all those who continued to use it. I do believe Singapore was having good shipping statistics in 1950s.

fukyuman

Singapore is the old man's and his wife vision of disneyworld. Except it is Disneyland with death penalty. Its her idea that the whole island is to be kept child safe. No bungee jumps, no bar top dancing [by getting the Chindian to say it], no exciting roller coaster rides before RWS (then its a mickey mouse Kallang roller coaster and haw par theme mark). Scouts cannot carry knives (last time can buy at Swee Lee). Fishing kakis not allowed fishing knives, divers no diving knives everytime they go through checkpoints at WTC, Tanah Merah or even Changi Point to take ferries.

If old man is serious he should commission renowned artists to draw a wall mural how he personally transform the island from a fishing village.