NUH magnanimously withdraws bankruptcy bid against former patient after finding out he is broke, disabled and bedridden in nursing home

I suspect you might have misunderstood the [legal] meaning of negligence. If the doctor was negligent, then he did not do in "on purpose". In other words, negligence and intention are mutually exclusive. As for accident, it's called blameless inadvertence. It's NOT even negligence.

The surgery left him with weakness and partial paralysis, but he did not sue for the surgery nor did he sue the doctor who performed the surgery. He sued NUH for his initial 4 visits to the A&E Department. His claim was that the doctors at the A&E Department failed to diagnose his medical condition and [failed to] refer him to the appropriate specialist for further investigations. Subsequently, It was the doctor at the polyclinic who referred him to the Neurology Department @ NUH and he put the blame squarely on the doctors @A&E Department for the delayed treatment which resulted in his current condition.
It is definitely not easy to sue loctor for negligence. Unless is a clear cut negligent.

I personally encountered a clear cut negligent case on hand. The junior fellow loctor did a poor physical action that inflicted further injury to my existing injury post ops. He should have been more careful and that wouldn't leesulted in the infliction.

In this uncle case, maybe
Nuh A&E loctor could have spotted something and lefered him to the leelavant specialist for investigation.
If the A&E loctor failed to detect that thing, and thus causing a delay in his treatment, it is a negligent on the part of the A&E loctor.
But it is not easy for the patient to proof it.

In fact it's the low SES subsidised patients that are the most demanding and troublesome. Come to the ward with ludicrous sense of entitlement and complain the shit out of everything. Drop of a hat want to call OYK and sue. Thank goodness I no longer have to deal with these.

High SES patients on the other hand tend to be more gracious and polite. Even when made to wait they will not complain. They are educated and ask all the pertinent questions. I have dealt with diplomats, CEOs and VIPs and they all behave themselves and never demand for anything outside the ordinary. Some would even bring little gifts for the ward staff to show their appreciation. Absolute class.

High SES folks have arrived in life and don't feel the need to beat down and belittle other people. It's the low SES type that would abuse healthcare professionals and staff because for once in their miserable lives they get to feel superior against defenceless people.
Oh like that.
It is easy to know low ses peasants like to kpkb and sue. But most of the time they say only but never leelee carry it out.

As for high ses ones, they probably will not even say, they just carry out as they have money to deal with it easily.

My thought is always becos of this, loctor will take special care and attention to them.

Hence unlikely what you see that happening to the low ses can happen to the high ses.

People who have reached your maturity do not normally aspire to be somebody, but regret for not being that somebody.

If a doctor spells doctor as loctor, I think I will avoid him at all costs. I have no confidence he will get the spelling of other medical terms right lor.
If there is a afterlife, uncle can have aspirations.
Now I always take it as we have a afterlife, to comfort myself.
Or else I will be very depress everyday.

From my personal experience
This is where the problems usually lies.

Nuh ntfgh alexandra hosp etc all belongs to nuhs.
All patients are all assigned to a consultant.
The problem is these consultations most of the time are invisible.

Patients are mostly taken care by junior loctors.

Even upto the operating theatre.
Senior surgeons are present.
But they let those junior ones perform the actual surgery. They oversee it.
This is unavoidable, or else how the junior going to learn. But same time this is a big problem.
Personally I see it as they can let junior learn. But not to those more critical surgery.
This is very different from pte one.

Even as a outpatient in nuhs
We see the Mo instead of seeing the actual consultant.

Uncle and aunties also know about this
Don't go nuh.. All lo koon kia

From my personal experience
This is where the problems usually lies.

Nuh ntfgh alexandra hosp etc all belongs to nuhs.
All patients are all assigned to a consultant.
The problem is these consultations most of the time are invisible.

Patients are mostly taken care by junior loctors.

Even upto the operating theatre.
Senior surgeons are present.
But they let those junior ones perform the actual surgery. They oversee it.
This is unavoidable, or else how the junior going to learn. But same time this is a big problem.
Personally I see it as they can let junior learn. But not to those more critical surgery.
This is very different from pte one.

Even as a outpatient in nuhs
We see the Mo instead of seeing the actual consultant.

Uncle and aunties also know about this
Don't go nuh.. All lo koon kia

you don't go to MacDonald's and expect a wine pairing degustation menu

The problem is

1. Pap says leave Noone behind.
2. Pap says sg has world class medical care
3. Even subsidized patient in sg are very costly.

I accept this if the loctors are getting a 3rd world salaries and the subsidized rates are leelee subsidized.
You deliver 3rd world service you should be getting 3rd world salary and patient should be paying a 3rd world fee for it.

The problem is

I accept this if the loctors are getting a 3rd world salaries and the subsidized rates are leelee subsidized.
You deliver 3rd world service you should be getting 3rd world salary and patient should be paying a 3rd world fee for it.
For now hospital leesources and attentions are dedicated to the non subsidized patient I.e pte.
Low ses sinkies are getting subsidy of average of 40-60%. It is still very costly when leeference to their salaries.
But receiving a 3rd world service.

This is not acceptable.

The problem is

Plenty of data from credible sources to contradict you

I don't tell untrue stuff here.
Pap is using their their first world medical services provided to the high ses and blanket the statement to the commoners.

Same time pap gives a % subsidiary of it to the peasants.
But the service is 3rd world kind.
Waiting for hospital beds, waiting for any services. When being question, the leeply is a standard one - you are a subsidized patient, wait.

I can wait but same time I expect the loctors and the medical workers to be paid a 3rd world salary.

so what would be acceptable to you ?

100% subsidy and free healthcare ?
The wealth distribution ratio of the rich and the poor in sg has always been a concern.
With this disproportionate, moh needs to be very careful in this subsidy area.
For example a mri scan cost $4-5k
How does a 40-60% subsidy going to make much difference?

A rich man paying $5k out of his say $100k per mth income is nothing compared to a peasant paying $2k after getting 60% subsidy from his $5k income.

Also as I said, since the hospital stand is that a subsidised patient is expected to wait. So why should the medical workers be paid a first world salary while the patient needs to pay the costly fee to them?

Well, actually I know why.
Becos the actual cost of the mri is $2k or less.
Pap marked up the price becos the rich doesn't feel a single pinch of it.
Pap then collect $2-3k from all the fakely subsidized patient, and pay the medical workers good salaries.

Hence it will lead back to the same question.
Why should the poor be paying the medical workers good salaries while ownself receiving a 3rd world medical service rendered?

You get 70% still kpkb?
With a false quoted orleeginal fee, even 80% is still costly for some services rendered.
Also when comes to drugs, not all are classified as a standard drug. I.e no subsidizes de woh.

I can be honest with you.
With my current financial situation, I have no worLee for other matters except medical cost.

With a false quoted orleeginal fee, even 80% is still costly for some services rendered.
Also when comes to drugs, not all are classified as a standard drug. I.e no subsidizes de woh.

I can be honest with you.
With my current financial situation, I have no worLee for other matters except medical cost.
You can withdraw money from Singapore Pools anytime if a need arises.

The need is already here.
I have been doing this. Withdrawing from sg pool and going for all my appointments and treatments.
Or else you think i can still afford to cbl at home now?
So you're a living example that when God closes one door He opens another for you.

I do feel it too when I Lee look at my life.
And I always been a believer that this is not a natural world, even I doesn't have any specific leeleegious beliefs.

The wealth distribution ratio of the rich and the poor in sg has always been a concern.
With this disproportionate, moh needs to be very careful in this subsidy area.
For example a mri scan cost $4-5k
How does a 40-60% subsidy going to make much difference?

A rich man paying $5k out of his say $100k per mth income is nothing compared to a peasant paying $2k after getting 60% subsidy from his $5k income.

Also as I said, since the hospital stand is that a subsidised patient is expected to wait. So why should the medical workers be paid a first world salary while the patient needs to pay the costly fee to them?

Well, actually I know why.
Becos the actual cost of the mri is $2k or less.
Pap marked up the price becos the rich doesn't feel a single pinch of it.
Pap then collect $2-3k from all the fakely subsidized patient, and pay the medical workers good salaries.

Hence it will lead back to the same question.
Why should the poor be paying the medical workers good salaries while ownself receiving a 3rd world medical service rendered?

So you want near 100% subsidy and punish doctors with low wages because you had to wait

Why stop there ?

Why not have a cultural revolution and purge all intellectuals to the farms ?

The need is already here.
I have been doing this. Withdrawing from sg pool and going for all my appointments and treatments.
Or else you think i can still afford to cbl at home now?

If you cbl at home why complain about waiting ?

You have somewhere else you need to be ?