• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Not a Single Seat in New MRT Station!

Posted on 01 Oct 2010
Not a single seat in sight at Stadium MRT! Are old people expected to stand?

not_a_single_seat_in_sight_at_stadium_mrt-thumbnail.jpg

<SCRIPT type=text/javascript src="http://static.ak.connect.facebook.com/js/api_lib/v0.4/FeatureLoader.js.php/en_US"></SCRIPT><IFRAME class=FB_SERVER_IFRAME src="http://www.facebook.com/extern/login_status.php?api_key=94647dc2aba553f149d6f1f12f85ecc6&extern=2&channel=http%3A%2F%2Fsingaporeseen.stomp.com.sg%2Fxd_receiver.htm&locale=en_US" frameBorder=0 name=loginStatus scrolling=no></IFRAME>
<OBJECT id=flashXdComm name=flashXdComm classid=clsid:d27cdb6e-ae6d-11cf-96b8-444553540000 width=1 height=1 type=application/x-shockwave-flash>

</OBJECT>

<SCRIPT type=text/javascript> FB.init("94647dc2aba553f149d6f1f12f85ecc6", "/xd_receiver.htm"); function callPublish(title, articleLink, description, thumbnailLink, myemotion) { var message = "is '" + myemotion + "' about this STOMP story: "; var attachment = { 'name': title, 'href': articleLink, 'description': description, 'media': [{ 'type': 'image', 'src': thumbnailLink, 'href': articleLink}] }; FB.Connect.streamPublish(message, attachment); } function shortenURL(articleLink){ shortURLLink = ""; $.getJSON("http://json-tinyurI.appspot.com/?&callback=?", {url: articleLink}, function(data) { shortURLLink = eval(data).tinyurI; }); } </SCRIPT>
Enraged
54%

<!-- end mm_moodcontainer div -->
Shiok!
4%

LOL!
8%

So sad
2%

Sure or not?
2%

Bochup
30%

<!-- end mm_body div -->
<!-- end moodResultItem div -->
STOMPer Beny was upset to find not a single seat at the new Stadium MRT Station.

Said the STOMPer:

"It was my first visit to Stadium MRT Station today (Oct 1), and I realised the platform doesn't have any seats at all!

"why does SMRT have to save money by not building seats for commuters?

"The waiting time for trains is so long, and what happens if there's an elderly person who needs a seat while waiting?"

We should go back to the old days & the Chinese are still doing it...squat on the floor, while waiting for the train...we are going RETRO!, and while we squat, we spit also!, that is also associated with squatting!

KNNBCCB

YOU SHOULD BE GLAD YOU STILL HAVE BOTH LEGS TO STAND.

SINKIES JUST CANT STOP COMPLAINING... :oIo::oIo::oIo:

The floor so shining like mirror. Very soon more feedback about image reflecting on the floor. Mark my word.

sinren67

I don't even know Stadium MRT already opened. Really?

Last time not enough commuters mean no opened MRT, so don't complain without seat.

If i were there, i'll sit or squat on the floor as Vietnamese do and then take a shot at myself and stomp it.

Have seats for what? At this moment, there's nothing happening at the stadium area. Nobody's going there. In the future when the SportsHub is completed, people going there to watch sporting events will be rushing in and out in crowds, where got time to sit and wait? Worry about the yellow line and passengers falling onto tracks.

kingrant

Not only this station. In all the big interchanges, old people are expected to walk without stopping from one MRT station line to the next station on the other lines. Good examples: Outram Park, Boon Lay, Dhoby ghaut, wherever..They dont even have railings to hang on to or rest stops so old folks who can't walk endlessly can stop to regain their breath or rest their tired legs or backs.

These LTA scholar civil servants have forgotten or plain did not see the picture that Singapore has an ageing population. It is also forgotten by our million dollar Minister who is in charge of Ageing affairs but doing FA in the PM office.

Posted on 01 Oct 2010
Not a single seat in sight at Stadium MRT! Are old people expected to stand?

... STOMPer Beny ...

"The waiting time for trains is so long, and what happens if there's an elderly person who needs a seat while waiting?"
ah stomper beny ...

elderly persons r designed 2 b there oni juz wen ze train arrives ...

KuanTi01

What's so surprising! When the pioneering East-West line between Clementi and Outram Stations became operational, no seats were provided. These brainy scholars all but forgotten about seats for the old and infirm or for those pregnant women. Only when there is a public outcry will some seats be added much as an afterthought. This is called thinking inside the box!:biggrin::biggrin:

People who are involved in such decisions do not take the MRT. They are never in a position to understand. They also have a habit to copying all the engineering requirements from other countries and do somethings a little better. But unfortunately, these engineering plans and diagrams tend not to include basic things like seating areas.

kingrant

Ya. Like our dear late Mama drafting the separation agreement and copying the water agreement from ..where was it?...Fiji? And we gave her a gun carriage for plagiarism.

People who are involved in such decisions do not take the MRT. They are never in a position to understand. They also have a habit to copying all the engineering requirements from other countries and do somethings a little better. But unfortunately, these engineering plans and diagrams tend not to include basic things like seating areas.

whoami

Reminded me of those days HDB not building lifts every floors. Now then they realise they would get old one day.....only until now. And we got to foot the bill too! :rolleyes:

kingrant

Correction. There are still blocks of HDB flats at Jalan Bukit Ho Swee that still don't have lifts on the 10th floor. These were the earlier upgrading projects. The PAP govt has turned a blind eye now, and not going back to retrofit. It was really not fair - the 10th floor guys had to pay for all those lifts that stopped on every floor except theirs, and now they will quibble why they have to pay for the 10th floor retrofit, and the HDB is not honest enough to compensate.

Reminded me of those days HDB not building lifts every floors. Now then they realise they would get old one day.....only until now. And we got to foot the bill too! :rolleyes:

heartlander

Not only this station. In all the big interchanges, old people are expected to walk without stopping from one MRT station line to the next station on the other lines. Good examples: Outram Park, Boon Lay, Dhoby ghaut, wherever..They dont even have railings to hang on to or rest stops so old folks who can't walk endlessly can stop to regain their breath or rest their tired legs or backs.

These LTA scholar civil servants have forgotten or plain did not see the picture that Singapore has an ageing population. It is also forgotten by our million dollar Minister who is in charge of Ageing affairs but doing FA in the PM office.

talkbigtalkbigtalkbigtalkbigtalkbig alert

LOL, what do you propose we do? build the interchanges just next to each other no matter how physically impossible it may be? i like your style of armchair criticism. you may not possess the brains or ability to manage an entire infrastructure project but, my god, you sure take pride in tooting your own horn for being able to find the individual flaws in a system designed by someone infinitely more capable than you. inferiority complex indeed.

why so bitter about scholar civil servants? does it make a difference whether or not they're scholars or whether or not they're civil servants? would a non-scholar civil servant have done a better job? would a non-civil servant have done a better job? you obviously have a vendetta and your bitterness is amusing. not as amusing, though, as your misguided pride in your small mind's inability to look beyond the smallest things. :biggrin:

heartlander

Have seats for what? At this moment, there's nothing happening at the stadium area. Nobody's going there. In the future when the SportsHub is completed, people going there to watch sporting events will be rushing in and out in crowds, where got time to sit and wait? Worry about the yellow line and passengers falling onto tracks.

Yes passengers can fall onto tracks in an underground station. But that's beside the point. As long as there's a waiting time for trains, there's always a need to have seats in the station.

heartlander

What's the problem here? Almost all MRT stations have seats. It's obviously not because they forgot to include them. The real question is if there's a special reason why Stadium station doesn't have seats.

With the floors so shining, they are bound to be slippery too. Just wait until it rains and people with wet umbrellas, and shoes make the floor slippery with water. They will be sliding into the tracks when they step on the wet floors.:biggrin:

What's the problem here? Almost all MRT stations have seats. It's obviously not because they forgot to include them. The real question is if there's a special reason why Stadium station doesn't have seats.

Seats are not in keeping with the PAP's Faster, Cheaper, Better motto. Seats cost money, hence, it defeats the cheaper aspects. Seats also lead to less speed, as people have to get up from a sitting position and its slower than just simply standing and walking onboard. Finally, these 2 reasons make it Better not to have seats. See how the PAP looks after u, donch forget to vote for them, OK?