• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

No-porn Liu: Don't blame us but yourself

sinren67

What do you expect from a walkover mp?

Sep 27, 2010
Tuition focus: Who's pushing for it?
Lui Tuck Yew on school rankings and parents' education choices

TUITION teachers, some of whom reportedly earn up to a million dollars a year, became the unlikely catalyst for a wide-ranging discussion yesterday about whether schools instil the right values in students.

At an hour-long dialogue with Acting Minister for Information, Communications and the Arts Lui Tuck Yew, several Sembawang residents expressed concern that tuition had become the be-all and end-all of students' lives - with one citing yesterday's Sunday Times story on the earnings of top tuition teachers.

The resident lamented that this was a by-product of schools putting too many resources into chasing rankings and awards rather than into teaching. This left students with little choice but to engage tutors.

Mr Lui acknowledged the concern but put the ball back in the parents' courts, asking if their attitudes had a part to play in the trend.

Using the example of two schools - one not driven by awards, and another striving for them - he said he believed parents would choose the latter school: 'To be quite frank, I think it is easy for us parents to say the schools are not doing a good enough job and are distracted by other priorities. But sometimes the way parents decide on schools and the push they make on the teachers also send certain messages.'

He was quick to add that 'in reaching for those awards, the school has to put in a lot of work to ensure that the quality of teaching and pedagogy supports it'.
[Wow..when did the parents is bigger than MOE? No-porn Liu now put all the blame to the parents instead]

Mr Lui, who was previously Minister of State (Education), said in his experience parents - not students - were often the ones pushing for tuition.

'It's one thing to say, 'Can you do better in the education system?' Certainly we'll strive to improve on it. But how hard you push your children, that's for parents themselves to look at, if it's necessary.'

This theme of self-reflection and taking the initiative was apparent in his responses to other questions, which ranged from the adequacy of civic education in schools to courtesy on public transport.

To a resident's suggestion that announcements be blared on trains and buses to remind people to give up their seats to those in need, he said he was 'not so pessimistic that people always need constant reminders and announcements'.

He suggested that fellow commuters could simply step in with a 'gentle pat on their shoulder to give up their seats'.

As for building moral character, he said: 'The school is only one place where children pick up values. They also pick up values from the community and family. Parents are partners with schools in instilling the right moral compass.'

The dialogue came at the end of the minister's visit to Sembawang GRC's Marsiling ward.

Marsiling Youth Executive Committee chairman Lu Qi Min, 27, related his own story of going from a bottom-ranked secondary school to polytechnic, and finally to university by dint of hard work: 'I am very fortunate that I was imparted with the right values about trying hard in school. My friends and I were not in the tuition era but still made it in life.'
[never see porn = righ values :D]

Mr Lui agreed and said that what was more important was to make sure there were second chances, especially for late bloomers.

Ending the dialogue on a light note, host MP Hawazi Daipi picked up on the thread of self-reliance.

Responding to a Marsiling Secondary School student who asked for a students-only bus service 913 so they would not be late for school, he said this would not be financially feasible.

'We take time to travel,' he said.

If you need to wake up early, you just have to wake up early. Just don't play so many video games late into the night.

He also noted in response to a request for an additional mosque in the area that the go-ahead had been given for a second mosque to be built in Woodlands.

How come he is so defensive? Every suggestion thrown up by the pple kanna shot down by him. He think he is a god who is dispensing favours?

But sometimes the way parents decide on schools and the push they make on the teachers also send certain messages.'

Who gives the awards? Should the Ministry sit down with the schools and parents to decide which awards are boh leow? I am very sure the awards are linked to the performance bonus of the teachers and principals. DOES HE KNOW WHAT HE IS TALKING ABOUT?

To a resident's suggestion that announcements be blared on trains and buses to remind people to give up their seats to those in need, he said he was 'not so pessimistic that people always need constant reminders and announcements'.

Why can't he just suggest that the feedback be given to LTA and then note that maybe it will be too noisy? WHY MUST HE JUST SHOOT DOWN THAT SUGGESTION? I THOUGHT HE MILITARY MAN? LIKE WITS AND USMS?

If you need to wake up early, you just have to wake up early. Just don't play so many video games late into the night.

What is so light-hearted about this at the end of the dialogue? He just accused someone immature of being lazy. Is that how he deals with his children? This is obviously his mentality in dealing with people. EVERYONE ELSE IS LAZY AND HELPING THEMSELVES. STOP BOTHERING THE GOVT.

Finally, I heard over the radio where he made one of the most cliche statements ever - something about"I do not know of any child who ask for tuition." Wah leow. It is like saying "I do not know of any pig that wants to be bacon. I do not know of any cow that wants to be a burger."

Based on a a survey, about 90% of the students have tuition. No-porn Liu has lost touch from the ground. That's it.

1. aiyoh! such standard from some sheep really holds no water.
2. there is simply no substance, solution or "help" at such mtg.
3. just some sheep meeting sheep.

What a load of crap from "No Porn Lui". Parents are only reacting to what the school is pushing out to the students. If you see your child struggling with the syllables, won't you as a parent want to do something to help ease the child burden.

When the schools cannot teach everything that is needed within the alloted school hours, such that students have to seek tuition outside of school hours, THAN SOMETHING IS WRONG WITH THE SYSTEM. If the students seek help in doing their homework at the tutoring centre, than it means a) the teacher did not do a good job explaining the concepts to the students, b) the scope of the school work is beyond the understanding of the average student, c) the amount of homework assigned is so great.

These are all the education system's problems. In the western school system in US, UK, Canada, etc. tuition is rare and very few students have it. Yet these same students who do not have the benefit of tuition are able to get into the the good unis there. Once there, they generally perform at the same level or higher than an international student from say S'pore. Does this mean that tuition in S'pore does not provide a student with distinct advantage over those of a non tuition western counterpart in a western uni? I think the asnwer is yes. Than tuition is OVERATED.

Our students seem to spend too much time on "immerse progs" in oversea, esp China.

Think of it, if teachers can spend more time on the subjects instead of those boliao and useless progs n administration works, we do not need to have so much FTs. I guess PAP purposely do it in order to generate the economyand create more jobs for FTs.

No wonder our productivity never goes up except the inflation and population..

Fuck pap

From the officers' mess to the ivory tower and back to his landed property, where he can always turn the other way if he sees a car stuck in the flood.
Please don't expect too much.

He is not being fair. The PAP government rewards people based on academic results, so of course parents want their children to have the best results.

Singapore education system has always been results and MORE results. His statements only hold true if our education system is like America, where everything is balanced and results are not overly emphasized.

What a load of crap from "No Porn Lui". Parents are only reacting to what the school is pushing out to the students. If you see your child struggling with the syllables, won't you as a parent want to do something to help ease the child burden.

If many children are struggling with the syllabus such that they have to seek tuition, than its not the kids that are at fault, but its the MOE and their syllabus.

Singapore education system has always been results and MORE results. His statements only hold true if our education system is like America, where everything is balanced and results are not overly emphasized.

But who is the one that allows it to be like this? Its the parents Its their fault. It takes 2 to play the game. The PAP and MOE set up the rules of the games, u don't have to play it, but parents in singapore are stupid, theyplay the game and so their kids suffer.

U think any school board in the US will try to pull the same shit that MOE pulls? If a school board in the US imposes such a syllabus that the kids have to seek tuition to keep afloat, parents will be rioting and marching down to the school district and lynch the school board. They don't put up with shit like this, but sinkies do.

But who is the one that allows it to be like this? Its the parents Its their fault. It takes 2 to play the game. The PAP and MOE set up the rules of the games, u don't have to play it, but parents in singapore are stupid, theyplay the game and so their kids suffer.

U think any school board in the US will try to pull the same shit that MOE pulls? If a school board in the US imposes such a syllabus that the kids have to seek tuition to keep afloat, parents will be rioting and marching down to the school district and lynch the school board. They don't put up with shit like this, but sinkies do.
I agree, the 66.6% screwed the island over and over again. In America, MOE might have already been burnt down.

Guaranteed!! U think american parents will alllow their kids to be "volunteered" for free YOG labour, made to stand in the rain for hours waiting for the torch relay, and than threatened with fines if they did not attend the YOG event they were forced to attend? LOL. The will not only burn the MOE, but line up all the ministers and other MOE chiak liao bee lackeys and shoot them for target practice.

LKY has succeeded in sowing fears among Singaporeans. As for YOG slavery, Americans can quote the first Amendment and the Minister of Education will have to face the wrath of the Second Amendment. :D

Why is he holding an hour-long dialogue with Sembawang residents instead of Tanjong Pajar residents when he is one of the TP GRC MPs? Same as Kwah Boon Wan? From TP GRC to Sembawang GRC?

Aiyah, he got lost mah. He thought he was in Tanjong Pagar, but ended up in Sembawang. He did not get tuition in geography when he was young. Anyway, Old Goat told him not to jeesiao his GRC that day. lOL. But a good question on your part.