• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

'No food for a week'

xdecepticon

AN INDONESIAN maid at the centre of a sensational abuse trial testified yesterday that she was reduced to ferreting milk powder to quell her hunger pains.
Ms Susilawati Kusnata said she lost 15kg during her four months working for Stanley Kuah Kian Chong and his family because of meagre meals, a heavy workload and regular beatings.

Trio face 41 charges of maid abuse
BANK executive Stanley Kuah Kian Chong, 37, his wife, Loke Phooi Ling, 37, and her mother Teng Chen Lian, 67, deny abusing their Indonesian maid over a three-month period last year.

They say Ms Susilawati Kusnata's injuries were accidental or self-inflicted.
... more
She fled her employer's home in Pasir Ris by climbing out of a fifth-floor kitchen window on July 5 last year. She said she weighed just 38kg then.

The 26-year-old added that she was deprived of food and drank only tap water during the week before she fled.

'Ma'am, sir and auntie denied me food frequently. Initially, I was given three meals a day. After three weeks, twice - 2pm and 10pm,' she said.

Ms Susilawati was testifying during the third day of a trial in which Kuah, his wife Loke Phooi Ling, and mother-

in-law Teng Chen Lian are facing a total of 41 charges of causing hurt.

Speaking in Bahasa Indonesia through an interpreter, she told District Judge Jill Tan yesterday that she started working for the Malaysian family in March last year.

Her duties included cleaning the four-room flat and taking care of the couple's three daughters, aged one to seven.

Ms Susilawati said she was hit by Loke in late March last year, three weeks after she started working for the family.

The assaults continued for the next three months, and were too frequent to count, she added.

She said Loke once rubbed her lips with a steel-wool wok cleaner to keep her awake while washing the dishes.

She alleged that after her return from a family cruise in June last year, both husband and wife took turns spraying a stain remover on her hands. They had accused her of falling asleep while carrying the baby on board the ship, she said.

The abuse reached a climax on July 4, she said, when the elderly Teng, 67, caught her trying to take some milk powder. Teng reported the matter to her daughter, who passed it on to her husband. That morning, Ms Susilawati had also taken Kuah's toothpaste after she could not find hers.

When Kuah returned home, Ms Susilawati said the 37-year-old bank executive punched and slapped her.

Asked by Deputy Public Prosecutor Isaac Tan why she was not given any food in the week before she fled, Ms Susilawati said: 'They said my work performance was very poor.'

Asked about a bruise over her right eyebrow and a mark below her eye, she said it was due to Kuah's punches.

She also had, among other injuries, scratches on her nose, chin and cheek, swollen lips, and pinch marks on her back and thigh.

The bulk of the charges - 32 - fall on his wife, who allegedly used a variety of kitchen utensils to hit the maid, in addition to punching and slapping her. She is also said to have poured a strong stain remover over the victim's leg.

If convicted, the Malaysian trio could each be jailed for up to 18 months and/or fined up to $1,500 on each charge.

See how the 154th reluctantly mentioned the nationality of the FTrash only at the end of the Leeport.

troubledtimes

Who says foreigners are not intergrating? They are taking up all the wonderful traits of Singaporeans, such as maid bashing...

Yoshitei

If some independent body were to do a survey on abuses against domestic helpers, Singapore as always would rank at the very peak.

fanta

Speaking in Bahasa Indonesia through an interpreter, she told District Judge Jill Tan yesterday that she started working for the Malaysian family in March last year.

It's mentioned earlier.

pweesng

it was mentioned previously that the family was from Malaysia lah... the guy works for HSBC Private Bank if i am not wrong, he was previously suspended from duties, but now i heard he is back at work. The fine wouldn't be something he cannot handle... i'm sure.

heng ah the abuser is from malaysia..

otherwise some loser will put the blame on sinkie culture again..:biggrin:

but then again, the loser can now say the abuser from malaysia stayed here too long and thus absorb the sinkie culture..:biggrin:

shOUTloud

actually I am starting to doubt the maid. no food for a week?!

can someone be so mean? after all, beating and bashing are to be expected in fits of anger. but to deprive someone of food for a week. wat if the person died of hunger?

I have my doubts leh. This charge a bit fantastical.

pia

actually I am starting to doubt the maid. no food for a week?!

can someone be so mean? after all, beating and bashing are to be expected in fits of anger. but to deprive someone of food for a week. wat if the person died of hunger?

I have my doubts leh. This charge a bit fantastical.

Usually there are 2 sides of the coin which excerbate the situation.

Employees here milk the maids for all they are worth. Sometimes I think maids here need to be superhuman. I've seen maids who have to do housework, look after the elders, look after the children all at once and work 7days a week. Even in Indo, albeit lower wage, they are specialised.. a babysitter does just that and that alone, an elderly care-giver, a household chore maid etc.

On the other hand, there are maids who test your patience to the extreme with their stupidity or laziness. There are employers with low tlerance threshold who can't handle this, and they are prone to make mistakes.

Having a maid is like tikam... you hope you are lucky enough to have an average one.. don't wish for Miss Maid-Prefect. :biggrin:

On the other hand, there are maids who test your patience to the extreme with their stupidity or laziness. There are employers with low tlerance threshold who can't handle this, and they are prone to make mistakes.

Having a maid is like tikam... you hope you are lucky enough to have an average one.. don't wish for Miss Maid-Prefect. :biggrin:

If the maid was smart they wouldn't be in Spore working as a maid. :biggrin::biggrin:

In Indonesia work is simpler & don't have to multi-task. You often find households with more than 1 maid. In Spore the maid is expected to look after the young, the old, do household chores, walk the dog, wash the car,...:eek: