• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

ni hao, wo shi yi sheng

ruffles

"ni you shen me wen ti ma?"

Ah tiong doctors attending to you.. courtesy of 'Johor nursing home" Khaw!

I don't really understand why we can't produce 20 to 30 more local doctors each year??

There are so many straight-A biology students who are denied a place in the medical faculty.

or are they limiting the university places to bring in more foreigners?

==

Jun 29, 2010

MOH hires 16 medical graduates from China
Now in final year in top Beijing schools, they will start work next year

SIXTEEN graduates from two top medical schools in Beijing, China, will be working at public hospitals here from next March.

The hiring of the group - 14 from Peking Union Medical College and two from the Peking University Health Science Centre - is part of the Government's efforts to cope with the growing health-care demands of an ageing population.

They will be joining local medical graduates beginning their residency programmes next year.

This was the first time the Ministry of Health (MOH) had recruited final-year students from medical schools in China, Health Minister Khaw Boon Wan revealed in an interview with Lianhe Zaobao, published yesterday.

They will be paid the same as Singapore doctors of a similar level.

Singapore's need for doctors has been spurred by the growing population, the influx of foreign patients seeking treatment, and the desire to provide even better service.

But the current annual output of 250 medical graduates from the National University of Singapore (NUS) - even with the first batch of 25 from Duke-NUS Graduate Medical School expected to graduate next year - is unable to meet the escalating demand.

To cope with the need for doctors, MOH has made several changes, including expanding the list of accredited universities overseas to 160.

This year, there were 200 foreign doctors hired from Australia, India, Britain and Malaysia.

In the interview, Mr Khaw also revealed that he contemplated retirement and wanted to take life a bit more slowly following surgery to clear a blocked artery last month. He said the thought of retirement was sparked by a travel article in the papers about Yamagata in Japan.

The article reminded Mr Khaw of his personal trip to Japan four years ago, when he traced the footsteps of famed 16th-century Edo period poet Matsuo Basho.

He said: 'At that time, I was thinking, perhaps I can retire like that and use my remaining time to enjoy natural scenery. After such a major operation, this notion was definitely very appealing.

'But later, I asked myself, is this way of thinking correct? Heaven gave me a new lease of life - not for enjoyment, but to let me help more people.'

Mr Khaw also said during his recovery process, he re-read the Chinese prose anthology Gu Wen Guan Zhi and read about how men of virtue had done their best to serve the people.

Suitably inspired, he resolved to continue serving the community.

But some things did change after his surgery. Mr Khaw has switched to an oil-free, vegetarian diet.

He said that as a Buddhist, he had thought of becoming vegetarian in the past, but dismissed the idea as he thought it was impractical because of work. Now, his wife is in charge of his daily menu.

JUDITH TAN & ANG YI YING

来啊,护士小姐, 我们来玩医生看病。。。:p:D:D:D

It is not a case of us not producing enuf doctors but is that we are not able to retain them. Long hours and stress. This has been gong on for years and instead of improving their working conditions, they went the easy way of importing conmen.

Chinese doctors are peddlers for those medicine distributors and they have absolutely no morals. Every medicine in the hospital is tag to a particular doctor, who will get a rebate for every medicine that they sell. So you will be prescribe a whole plastic bag of absolutely useless medicine for a common cold.

And if you are going for an operation, you better make sure you give a big Ang Bao to the operating doctor or be prepared to have a scissor in your stiomach or a nasty scar.

There was a recent case that was being exposed where a bottle of medicine costing just RMB15.50, was sold by the manufacturer to the distributor, who marked it up by 100%. Guess what is the selling price at the hospital - RMB218!!!!!!!

This is an open secret in every hospital for donkey years. Just ask any PRC.

Every year, there are many brilliant aspiring-doctors-to-be being rejected by NUS, citing limited seats to get into Medical in Sinkapore. There students, at least those from rich families, went to overseas U and never return after graduating.

Another flawed implementation (didn't see it coming or caught off-guard, etc) by the MIWs just like the 2-is-enough policy, Speak Mandarin campaign, etc., that came back to haunt us after so many years ?

omg ah tiong doctor are the lowest of the low in china in grades, over here, top student become doctor, in china, only the worse, think of ite student type of results become doctor. now they come here to work. god save the people treated by them.

If Singapore closes its doors to Chinese/Indian labour, the government may find the doors to Chinese/Indian markets closed as well. Singapore has virtually nothing to offer except its labour market.

I differ. In the long term, the demand for singapore labour in these foreign markets will diminish.

Foreign students upon obtaining their desired qualifications here, will subsequently seek employment in singapore for a period of time. And if they choose to go home, they can claim they are trained and have worked in singapore. Therefore, they are in direct competition with the local sinkie for overseas opportunties.

Also, if they worked with big corps here, the company may feel comfortable with their service.

Sinkie big corporations will employ them (not necessary cheaper) for their foreign ventures, because these former PRs were already localized, familiar with their own countries and have the advantage of local network. Because their secondary shool or JC equivalent shoolmates in their country of origin would have also entered the work force and working in government agencies or companies relevant to the business.

Same applies for current foreigners in the singapore work force, if they plan to return to their countries.

What advantage will a born bred chinese, indian, malay sinkie student or worker have over them in their own country of origin i.e. PRC, India, Myanmar etc?

I am not talking about doing business, but the impact on the average sinkie worker and student in future.

IMO, the only diminishing resource we have which is labor will slowly get less marketable.

This surge in the influx of foreigners, PR etc. is fighting fire only, to help sustain the sinkie economy. But the long term impact?

We have gone down a road with no return.

Just my opinion, may not be right.:)

If Singapore closes its doors to Chinese/Indian labour, the government may find the doors to Chinese/Indian markets closed as well. Singapore has virtually nothing to offer except its labour market.

I differ. In the long term, the demand for singapore labour in these foreign markets will diminish.

You have misunderstood me. I meant that the only thing Singapore has to offer is to allow their jobless to come over to compete in our labour market, hence reducing the pressure on their governments to provide enough jobs. I am not saying that we can market our labour pool overseas.

omg ah tiong doctor are the lowest of the low in china in grades, over here, top student become doctor, in china, only the worse, think of ite student type of results become doctor. now they come here to work. god save the people treated by them.

they love to put patients on drips..
that's the only method they know

hydration is good for the body. i agree that drip are good. but i hate sinkies pap attitude that everything foreign is good.

Yep. Its senseless. They put you on drips for everything and not for just 1 day but a few days. So you basically needs to take time off everyday, bring your bootle of drip to the hospital and queue up for a seat. That's why I always self medicate and never go to their hosiptal.

There was once I was in Dalian and kenna lao sai after eating some street food. I forgot to bring my carbon tablets, the pharmacy dun sell it and the local mediacines dun work so lan lan has to go to their "best" hospital at night. I was shocked to see that the doctors were all seated in the common areas of a pretty run down hospital! I asked the doc to give me some carbon tablets but he has none. KNN just a common lao sai and he asked me to go check my blood and shit. I refused so he put me on drip immediately. It doesn't work. I had to go to the toilets 5 times a day for the next 3 days till I got hold of some carbon back home.

Aiyo, that's the biggest myth ever perpetuated by labour exploiters & (cheap) labour lobby groups. Most industralised Gahmen won't tell you that you, the common working man, are subsidising the corporations which operate factories over in those shit cuntries, like india & china. They produce goods at a small fraction of the price they sell back to citizens in the industralised nations. So, of course, Gahmen carry china & india's balls since the business group lobbyists will petition them. On 1 hand, their shitizens get to work in Singapore & remit money back, which means, increasing their tax base & the unemployment problem over there is solved. On the other hand, Spore-based companies get cheap & willing labour. Win-win, just not for common Singaporeans.

Common Singaporeans WON'T suffer any detriment directly from markets being "closed" in china & india BECAUSE THESE PLACES are f--king factories & nothing more. They CAN'T & DON'T buy anything from us that we produce.
Don't even get me started on us "providing" labour to these cuntries. At best, they'll learn & upskill their workforce from us, then show us the door.

Aiyo, that's the biggest myth ever perpetuated by labour exploiters & (cheap) labour lobby groups. Most industralised Gahmen won't tell you that you, the common working man, are subsidising the corporations which operate factories over in those shit cuntries, like india & china. They produce goods at a small fraction of the price they sell back to citizens in the industralised nations. So, of course, Gahmen carry china & india's balls since the business group lobbyists will petition them. On 1 hand, their shitizens get to work in Singapore & remit money back, which means, increasing their tax base & the unemployment problem over there is solved. On the other hand, Spore-based companies get cheap & willing labour. Win-win, just not for common Singaporeans.

Common Singaporeans WON'T suffer any detriment directly from markets being "closed" in china & india BECAUSE THESE PLACES are f--king factories & nothing more. They CAN'T & DON'T buy anything from us that we produce.
Don't even get me started on us "providing" labour to these cuntries. At best, they'll learn & upskill their workforce from us, then show us the door.

Sigh, looks like no one understands my message at all. Of course, having open markets will not really benefit the common peasant, it will only benefit the business owners who can exploit cheap labour and sell stuff more expensive elsewhere. Why do you think so many people are angry with globalisation? But the important point to note is that in Singapore, the common peasants do not hold any power at all over government policies. The government and businesses want access to the huge markets but what can they offer in return? The only thing they can do is to become prostitutes by opening the doors wide open to alleviate the unemployment problems in these countries.