• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Ng Eng Hen - primary school pupils enjoy foreign competition

†††††

Students 'say foreigners spur them to work harder'
By Jane Ng
ST_IMAGES_GEJNEDU03.jpg

SOME parents and students say they appreciate the competition from foreign students, despite concerns that these newcomers are pipping their Singaporean classmates.

Education Minister Ng Eng Hen said yesterday that when he asked pupils from a neighbourhood primary school what they thought of their foreign classmates, they replied: 'They study very hard.'

To his question about whether they were scared of the competition, the pupils kept quiet.

But when he pressed them, asking if they would rather not have the foreign pupils here, they said no, because these foreigners spur them to work harder.

'I think they're very smart. They're going to meet competition anyway,' said Dr Ng, who was fielding questions from reporters at the PAP headquarters yesterday.

He said he had a similarly pragmatic response in his meetings with parents of secondary school students. They told him that their children would face competition later on anyway, 'so let them compete'.

These responses represent a shift from concerns that Singaporean parents have expressed in the last few years about their children being crowded out of schools here by an influx of foreigners and permanent residents (PRs) who ace national examinations and win places in the top schools.

Dr Ng said yesterday that there is already a quota on the proportion of foreign students, and measures to help Singaporeans are in place.

Last July marked the first time Singaporeans were given an edge when balloting for Primary 1 places - they were given two slips, and PRs, only one.

Foreigners make up less than 10 per cent of the enrolment in primary and secondary schools, and about 20 per cent in universities, which he said benefit from foreigner inputs in research.

'There's a trade-off. We have to calibrate it,' Dr Ng said, adding that the Government will continue to heed parents' feedback.

'It's not fixed in stone. We ought to listen to what people want and need to be able to adjust when we can. But at the end of the day, we want to make sure it's a good system overall.'

To reporters who asked him whether his ministry would raise the target to get 30 per cent of each cohort into university by 2015, Dr Ng said this will be looked into, provided the quality of education is not compromised.

ivebert

To reporters who asked him whether his ministry would raise the target to get 30 per cent of each cohort into university by 2015, Dr Ng said this will be looked into, provided the quality of education is not compromised.

This is a bad idea

U got so many jobs for Uni Grads or not?

Taking into account the Service Industry has taken off, you need more cheaper and well-trained specialists rather than uni grads

Education Minister Ng Eng Hen said yesterday that when he asked pupils from a neighbourhood primary school what they thought of their foreign classmates, they replied: 'They study very hard.'

To his question about whether they were scared of the competition, the pupils kept quiet.

But when he pressed them, asking if they would rather not have the foreign pupils here, they said no, because these foreigners spur them to work harder. ...
even small kid students welcum competition ...

lemme ask u, ah hen, u scared of competition from opps anot? ... tink u wil oso kip ur blahdy mouth shut! ... :rolleyes:

mor opps shud spur ah loon n his jin gang 2 work harder ... if required, sink sharp spurs in their blahdy hides! ... :mad:

eQuipment

another joker farting from his mouth. our kids enjoy foreign competition? maybe we should bring these jokers to their knees and see if they enjoy competing for a < 1.2k monthly salary job with a foreign competitor, for as long as they shall live.

Frankiestine

So will Mr. Chicken let the children run the country? Of course not!!! These kids don't know the intricacies of politics and how they will be undermine in the future when they grow up and join the working force. Just like its not the PAP job to ensure the opposition grow strong and be a competitor, it is neither these children job to ensure that these foreigners has a place in their school.

denzuko1

This is thesame person who says opposition is bad for singapore. But look what is happening now? Minimum wage, they start to love you, they care...... i say vote in the opposition, let them compete!!!!!

Microsoft

Truly impressive how mother hen can twist his words...turning 1 of the mian concern of voters on the influx of ft at workplace and school..into something like "nowadays we not oni dun mind...we welcum em with open arm...we love competition"...now i understand y ur pay higher then Obama...:wink:

aangsc

He is right , competition is GOOD to bring up the standard, please introduce more competition into the coming election. May the best candidate wins. I am sure more competitions spur everyone to work harder if they want to remain relevant.

Students 'say foreigners spur them to work harder'
By Jane Ng
ST_IMAGES_GEJNEDU03.jpg

SOME parents and students say they appreciate the competition from foreign students, despite concerns that these newcomers are pipping their Singaporean classmates.

But when he pressed them, asking if they would rather not have the foreign pupils here, they said no, because these foreigners spur them to work harder.

'I think they're very smart. They're going to meet competition anyway,' said Dr Ng, who was fielding questions from reporters at the PAP headquarters yesterday.

He said he had a similarly pragmatic response in his meetings with parents of secondary school students. They told him that their children would face competition later on anyway, 'so let them compete'.

These responses represent a shift from concerns that Singaporean parents have expressed in the last few years about their children being crowded out of schools here by an influx of foreigners and permanent residents (PRs) who ace national examinations and win places in the top schools.

Dr Ng said yesterday that there is already a quota on the proportion of foreign students, and measures to help Singaporeans are in place.

Last July marked the first time Singaporeans were given an edge when balloting for Primary 1 places - they were given two slips, and PRs, only one.

Foreigners make up less than 10 per cent of the enrolment in primary and secondary schools, and about 20 per cent in universities, which he said benefit from foreigner inputs in research.

'There's a trade-off. We have to calibrate it,' Dr Ng said, adding that the Government will continue to heed parents' feedback.

'It's not fixed in stone. We ought to listen to what people want and need to be able to adjust when we can. But at the end of the day, we want to make sure it's a good system overall.'

Bargain Hen only has the guts to hold question and answer session with Primary school kids. How pathetic is that? If really competition is so enjoyable, than why his own party kpkb when other political parties want to compete for votes? Anyway, the last thing these kids need is more competition, primary school is already too high pressure. Just let these kids enjoy their childhood. Even that also cannot.

yellow_people

Bargain Hen only has the guts to hold question and answer session with Primary school kids. How pathetic is that? If really competition is so enjoyable, than why his own party kpkb when other political parties want to compete for votes? Anyway, the last thing these kids need is more competition, primary school is already too high pressure. Just let these kids enjoy their childhood. Even that also cannot.

Bargain Hen's own children will study in Ivy League universities most likely on state sponsored scholarships. When he talks about competition he meant 'foreign competition for Ah Beng's peasant child'. He wasn't talking about competition for himself or his kids. That is why he like the rest of the ministers hate the General Elections so much as it is a competition.

-

Bargain Hen's own children will study in Ivy League universities most likely on state sponsored scholarships. When he talks about competition he meant 'foreign competition for Ah Beng's peasant child'. He wasn't talking about competition for himself or his kids. That is why he like the rest of the ministers hate the General Elections so much as it is a competition.

-

That's right. Why don't bargain hen disclose what his children exam results are? Probably its so bad they cannot compete to enter NUS. Must go somewhere else and study.