• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Next White Paper protest set for May 1: organiser

peppertail

http://sg.news.yahoo.com/next-white-paper-protest-set-for-may-1--organiser-042505052.html

The stage is set for a sequel to Singapore’s groundbreaking Population White Paper protest last month.

Event organiser Gilbert Goh of transitioning.org told Yahoo! Singapore on Tuesday that he has successfully applied for a Speakers’ Corner permit on Wednesday 1st May, which falls on Labour Day, a public holiday.

The event is being staged as a follow-up to the initial White Paper protest held on February 16, which was also organized by transitioning.org, a support site for the unemployed. On that day, almost 4,000 people braved the rain to listen to a panel of speakers address concerns over the White Paper on Population.

This time, Goh said the May 1st event will again focus on the “6.9 million population figure and other matters”.

“The ‘6.9 million’ figure still bothers a lot of Singaporeans,” said Goh in a phone interview.

“There is still a lack of priority given to local workers, who have to struggle with foreign talent for jobs.”

Goh also plans to cover “issues like CPF, minimum wage, retirement policies etc” during the upcoming event.

The confirmed speakers for the day include human rights lawyer M Ravi and Maruah Singapore’s Braema Mathi. Transitioning.org is also in the process of “gathering more civic societies to come on board.”

A statement from Goh read: “We hope that Singaporeans who are passionate about the issues that affect their everyday living will come out again in full force... They don’t have to complain behind their keyboards or wait for election rallies every five years, to gather peacefully as a united force against policies that they dislike.”

This Gilbert really desperate for attention. Now organising the 2nd one.

Other people organise, he say dun go because scared this and scared that. Then he rally all to go for his.

This Gilbert really desperate for attention. Now organising the 2nd one.

Other people organise, he say dun go because scared this and scared that. Then he rally all to go for his.

Regardless who organises the rally, go support if you agree with the topic. dont go if you dont agree

The organizer is xenophobic and he is a loser in real life (a quitter who went to OZ, couldn't survive there, and came back with tail between his legs just in time to stand for GE2011).

I would much prefer someone else organizes the event.

The organizer is xenophobic and he is a loser in real life (a quitter who went to OZ, couldn't survive there, and came back with tail between his legs just in time to stand for GE2011).

I would much prefer someone else organizes the event.

why dun you go and organise one since you talk so much.

1. :D:D:D
2. me definitely go there, standing tall hoh:p

It will definately be interesting to see how many people turn up. A public holiday and hopefully better weather should make for bigger numbers. Add the publicity from the first protest and the place should be bursting at it's seams. What happens if the protest spills on the streets nearby? Don't think the park can accomodate many more people.

If it doesn't, all this hype about change was just hot air afterall.

Those that don't agree can't go?? Why censor them?

Not censor lah. Simple common sense crowd control. Even in places where protests are allowed, the police will take care to ensure that the pro-whatever protestors and the anti-whatever protestors don't mix. 'Cos if they do, there is an increased chance that tempers will flare, shout at each other, throw stones, punch, kick, and all hell break loose.

This rally is called 'cos the organisers are against the White Paper. So go if you are of the same mind.

Nothing to stop those who support the White Paper from organising their own rally. It will be quite embarrassing if the turnout is super low and some smart ass uploads a video of PAPzis ferrying uncles and aunties in chartered buses.

On the other hand, there is nothing to prevent the ISD from sending undercover agents there to observe. Like the SG consulate sent some to observe Bersih 3.0, but these should just watch, take notes and report back. If these ISD goons try to carry placards or shout slogans in support of the White Paper, then it must be because they think their colleagues in blue are very free, give them something to do. Either that or they are dumb asses like this Fat Thing from CPIB.

What irony that a failed quitter returns to his country and tell others to be anti-foreigners when he was a foreigner who didn't make it in Australia.

If he really cares, he wouldn't leave in the first place.

Showing others that you care is never a waste of time.

see if I can take leave from my work to come back.......the last rally was good, feeling good :D

Hitler also tak boleh tahan the White Paper ...

[video=youtube;UEYR3x3f7T0]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UEYR3x3f7T0[/video]

What irony that a failed quitter returns to his country and tell others to be anti-foreigners when he was a foreigner who didn't make it in Australia.

There are 1001 reasons why somebody would go to live or work overseas. That does not mean you don't care anymore.

I am going. I'll bring peanuts and beer along. Should be fun.

No lah, he UPGRADED and saw the light. Now he is returning to open the eyes of STAYERS who had been living in darkness for at least 40 years.

Indonesia last year May Day Peaceful Rally draw more than 161,000 people :D

http://www.thejakartaglobe.com/lawandorder/indonesias-may-day-rallies-draw-161000/515248

20120501172031923.jpg

There are 1001 reasons why somebody would go to live or work overseas. That does not mean you don't care anymore.

But he is a loser who came back when he couldn't make it overseas. Who is he to rally others? An event of such importance should be organized by someone who at least can stand on his own two feet and is not an outright xenophobe like Gilbert who goes around classifying foreigners by their bad habits!!