• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

New Hawaii 5-O

QXD

<object width="640" height="385"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/kKzrwOjwalA?fs=1&amp;hl=en_US"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/kKzrwOjwalA?fs=1&amp;hl=en_US" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="640" height="385"></embed></object>

woo...hoo...spectacular...when can we watch it here in sinkieland?;)

Available on AXN from 14 Nov.
On Cable TV only, unfortunately.

Chin Ho has become slim and handsome.
Kono has become a pretty woman. :)

Sadly, the last of the original cast,
James McArthur passed away on Thursday.
He was 72.
He played the sidekick of detective
Steve McGarrett, Danny Williams.
And the catchphrase: "Book 'em Danno".

The end credits in the original series inspired me to join Dragon Boat during my poly days...

Whenever they make these re-makes, it's usually turns out to be a disappontment :(

The remakes usually invokes memories of the original and there is where the comparisons starts .

Usually the remakes tends to target the current generations but most remakes cast lacks the charisma of the original cast and thus unable to connect with many. Somehow the flavour is no longer there.

Not all remakes are flops.

Battlestar Galactica was widely poo-pooed by so called "purists" and fans from the classical 70s show.

It didn't help too that Starbuck became a woman. Dirk Benedict aka "the Original Starbuck" even sent a letter to the producers to voice his displeasure.

Then, after 4 seasons and multiple awards later, Battlestar Galactica will from here on be remembered by a new generation not for the single-seasoned Starbuck, Apollo and Boomer, but for Kara Thrace, Lee Adama and Sharon Valeri.

Times change, you're probably not the significant target audience anymore.

The remakes usually invokes memories of the original and there is where the comparisons starts .

Usually the remakes tends to target the current generations but most remakes cast lacks the charisma of the original cast and thus unable to connect with many. Somehow the flavour is no longer there.

Back then any school band worth their salt would play this theme and usually for the finale piece in any performance :D

Heard that the budget for the newer Battlestar series was smaller, so they had to make sacrifices on the special effects.

The remake is darker, I think they are targeting an older crowd. I prefer the older version as it was more light hearted & as a kid I enjoyed the whizz bang of those laser battles. As for lasting 4 seasons, why drag a simple story to 4 seasons:eek:

Not all remakes are flops.

Battlestar Galactica was widely poo-pooed by so called "purists" and fans from the classical 70s show.

It didn't help too that Starbuck became a woman. Dirk Benedict aka "the Original Starbuck" even sent a letter to the producers to voice his displeasure.

Then, after 4 seasons and multiple awards later, Battlestar Galactica will from here on be remembered by a new generation not for the single-seasoned Starbuck, Apollo and Boomer, but for Kara Thrace, Lee Adama and Sharon Valeri.

True that not all remakes are crap. The new Battlestar Galactica is much better than the older one. More complex and tighter story.

Now even not so old series also kena remake liao..like the recent 'V'.

To be honest I didn't think that the original "V" was that good. So why bother with a remake :confused:

I wish they would remake the older series like "Time Tunnel" series because back then I was very young & couldn't understand some of the plots :rolleyes:

Heard that the budget for the newer Battlestar series was smaller, so they had to make sacrifices on the special effects.

The remake is darker, I think they are targeting an older crowd. I prefer the older version as it was more light hearted & as a kid I enjoyed the whizz bang of those laser battles. As for lasting 4 seasons, why drag a simple story to 4 seasons:eek:

I can't wait for a darker Hawaii Five-O. Maybe the cops are on dirty and anti-heros like in The Shield.

I think the problem with Hollywood is that most of the current stars are younger than the audience :eek:

Older baby boomers can't relate to these younger stars :)

In the Spore context uncles/aunties may prefer Zoe Tay to the newer batch of younger l mediacorp artitsts :D

I can't wait for a darker Hawaii Five-O. Maybe the cops are on dirty and anti-heros like in The Shield.

The purpose of using an old TV series name is to appeal to the original viewers. If they made it too dark it would only alienated the older fans of the original Hawaii Five-O .

If the purpose is to make a darker Hawaii Five-O they should be remaking the old TV series Miami Vice into Hawaii Vice :)

The actor that plays Steve McGarret in the new Hawaii Five-O played a cop on one season of The Shield.
He was brought in to head the Strike Team when Vic Mackie was suspended, but he left when Mackie came back. He was more famous for the "Chair sex scene" than for being a cop.

I remember these things from the old 5-O series:

1. They filmed one episode in Sg.

2. Sg gahmen ban full-face helmet in Sg because of one episde showed motorcylcist hold up bank. Er, maybe got other reason ohso.

3. BOOK HIM DANNY!

4. Some Ah Biang`s party (called function then) play 5-O theme song and Ah Lians dance to the groove. I loved that. Better than the Hustle.

why drag a simple story to 4 seasons:eek:

Because it was a formula that worked and made money for the financiers. Not that a simple person like you that enjoys ad nauseum replays of the same scene would appreciate anyway.

The purpose of using an old TV series name is to appeal to the original viewers. If they made it too dark it would only alienated the older fans of the original Hawaii Five-O .

If the purpose is to make a darker Hawaii Five-O they should be remaking the old TV series Miami Vice into Hawaii Vice :)

True but in comparison although maybe apple and orange, Battlestar Galactica went ahead and got new fans anyway by being darker. Hawaii Vice sounds like a good spin off!