• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Netizens demand Alvin Tan pays back all his scholarship

[h=2]Netizens demand Alvin Tan pays back all his scholarship
fees[/h]

PostDateIcon.png
November 13th, 2012 |
PostAuthorIcon.png
Author: Editorial

16pix1-300x218.jpg
As reported by TR Emeritus (TRE), NUS has terminated the scholarship
of exhibitionist-cum-scholar, Malaysian Alvin Tan (‘Scholarship
of Malaysian exhibitionist-cum-scholar terminated by NUS
‘).

Although the sex blogger’s scholarship was terminated, he was not expelled
from the univeristy. He will need to pay full, unsubsidised fees as a foreign
student should he decide to conclude his final year of law studies at NUS.

It is understood that Alvin Tan will not be required to repay a single cent
to NUS and can complete his law course by just paying off his final year in law
school. He has even vowed not to return a single cent if asked to. He said,
“…what can they do to me?”

Netizens are furious that NUS did not get Alvin Tan to pay back all his
scholarship fees:

Eastman01: The ST headline is WRONG. Alvin Tan’s
scholarship was actually DISCONTINUED. If TERMINATED, you would usually have to
pay back scholarship cost plus interest. Certainly a very light
punishment.

foong’s d**k: Not just termination OK, I want him to
return Singaporeans all the money that was spent on his UNIVERSITY fees, since
he can afford to go back and start his business, he can jolly well paid us back
the money, talk until veri relazzz mah, so don’t be so thick skinned, lian bang
kia!

KSC: NUS is not PTE LTD company. It is funded by tax
payers’ money. It has to be transparent in this case as it involves public
interest. Not only it should inform public of its action, it should also explain
their action on this case. If they are not or cannot recover the scholarship
money from Alvin, then the terms and conditions of the scholarship are flawed
and need a serious review.

Rotten PAPayas: NUS and MOE has failed Singaporeans by
letting precious public funds go down the drain by sponsoring this ingrate for
so many donkey years. The least they could have done would have been to set him
a condition to repay all the subsidised money he has received to far (easily
more than a hundred thousand dollars or more) otherwise his further law studies
in NUS would be terminated with immediate effect. Shame on NUS and MOE! This
black mark that they have created upon themselves won’t be easily erased nor
forgotten by Singaporeans!

Fpap: Heng Swee Kiat pls give a satisfactory reply,is
this the kind of education system u hav?use taxpayer’s money feed a foreigner n
churn out a porn star and having enjoyed the scholarship terminated but not
expelled, n no need to pay a single cent. We want Heng Swee Kiat to step
down.

Neutral: Hmmm, he gets to complete his course in NUS at
full tuition fees… Why not make him cough up the last few years fees as well… in
order for him to resume his studies. Come to think of it, the reported porn
stuff aside, his subsequent interviews about Singapore/system here etc…
blatantly showed his disrespect to his host and wanting to complete his degree
showed he is ‘milking’ the very system he criticized. I don’t know about you but
as a Singaporean I feel extremely indignant that our government/NUS is allowing
this to happen as reported…

Stoopid Sinkie: At the minimum, he should be asked to
REPAY ALL or be sacked from NUS. This PAP government can on one hand prosecute a
civil servant on such a flimsy charge of sexual indiscretion, and on the other
hand gives a tiny slap on a foreigner of gross sexual deviance and sheer
arrogance. Ptui!

Old Singaporean: I think this porn star is holding
somethings to prevent NUS to sack him and fully refund all the taxpayer money!
This kind punishment will end up more foreign Students (especially scholarship
holders) dare to do FUNNY things as no need to repay anything as punishment! Why
NUS can be so lenient to foreigner when using taxpayer
money?

Others have expressed disgust in the way NUS/MOE are handling the Alvin Tan’s
case and vowed not to donate any more money to NUS:

Donor: I’m a regular donor to NUS. No more. Spineless
bastards!

Pui: We have stopped donating to NUS after we saw
thousands of free scholarships going to foreigners years ago. It is not a proud
alma mater anymore. It is now a business entity interested only in preserving
their jobs and giving free funds to foreign smilers.

One impact of their stupid decision will be that any undergraduate can
now view porn on their laptops as the pornstar Alvin will now be hailed as a
porn hero who dares to challenge the establishment, and still got away free, and
don’t even have to pay a single cent back.

A thousand curses on you FTs who took away our NUS
pride.

Another netizen even sent a letter to the Dean of NUS Law Faculty, Professor
Simon Chesterman, who is the son-in-law of President Tony Tan [Link].
The netizen wrote to the Dean to express his displeasure on the decision made by
NUS with regard to Alvin Tan and to inform the Dean that he will not be giving
donations to NUS anymore:

To: [email protected]

Subject: My Formal Displeasure – Alvin Tan Case
Date: Mon, 12 Nov 2012
15:56:08 +0000

Professor Simon Chesterman (Dean, NUS Law Faculty),

I write to you and the Faculty of Law, NUS, to express my absolute
displeasure and disagreement on the decision upheld by NUS Board of Discipline
in regard to your law student Alvin Tan’s widely publicized unbecoming behaviour
as an Asean Scholar and a student of NUS.

By merely terminating his Asean Scholarship as the only punitive measure
taken against his prejudicial and pornographic act, it only encourages those
students, especially those from well to do families, who have intentions to
behave in similar unbecoming manner, to do so.

The amount of damage done onto NUS’ reputation and international standing
by this Alvin Tan is severe, in my opinion.

As a Singapore citizen and no less an NUS alumnus, I am appalled that all
Alvin Tan received was no more than a pat on his wrist. This surely, will not
deter others with rebellious intentions to bring shame and harm to my Alma
Mater.

With due respect, nevertheless, please formally register my utter disdain
for NUS’ and your office’s poor handling of this insidious affair.

As a consequence, I will no longer consider donations to NUS Alumni or
engage NUS further until I feel it is deserving of my money and time. Rest
assured also that this saga and more importantly, the mishandling of it will not
go unnoticed by all my NUS Alumni friends.

And finally, one creative minded netizen found a solution for scholars to
break their bonds without the need to pay back any money:

Suggestion: My suggestion to all scholars who do not
want to serve out their bond, make a sex video. You go away Scott free and do
not need to pay back your bond.

Join our TRE facebook page here: http://www.facebook.com/TREmeritus

Over and above that he should also be made to pay a fine for the visual assault on our eyes . His partner's pussy was just too ugly to describe.

ah come on, see free blue film already, still want money back. such a cruel world.

stupid sinkie, why need to punish? he has the right to post whatever he wanted, only sinkies make a hoo haa over this shit.

if sinkie got balls, then go and protest and throw out the govt they dislike instead of posting in the forum.

these are the stupid sinkie example:

Eastman01: The ST headline is WRONG. Alvin Tan’s
scholarship was actually DISCONTINUED. If TERMINATED, you would usually have to
pay back scholarship cost plus interest. Certainly a very light
punishment.

foong’s d**k: Not just termination OK, I want him to
return Singaporeans all the money that was spent on his UNIVERSITY fees, since
he can afford to go back and start his business, he can jolly well paid us back
the money, talk until veri relazzz mah, so don’t be so thick skinned, lian bang
kia!

KSC: NUS is not PTE LTD company. It is funded by tax
payers’ money. It has to be transparent in this case as it involves public
interest. Not only it should inform public of its action, it should also explain
their action on this case. If they are not or cannot recover the scholarship
money from Alvin, then the terms and conditions of the scholarship are flawed
and need a serious review.

Rotten PAPayas: NUS and MOE has failed Singaporeans by
letting precious public funds go down the drain by sponsoring this ingrate for
so many donkey years. The least they could have done would have been to set him
a condition to repay all the subsidised money he has received to far (easily
more than a hundred thousand dollars or more) otherwise his further law studies
in NUS would be terminated with immediate effect. Shame on NUS and MOE! This
black mark that they have created upon themselves won’t be easily erased nor
forgotten by Singaporeans!

Fpap: Heng Swee Kiat pls give a satisfactory reply,is
this the kind of education system u hav?use taxpayer’s money feed a foreigner n
churn out a porn star and having enjoyed the scholarship terminated but not
expelled, n no need to pay a single cent. We want Heng Swee Kiat to step
down.

Neutral: Hmmm, he gets to complete his course in NUS at
full tuition fees… Why not make him cough up the last few years fees as well… in
order for him to resume his studies. Come to think of it, the reported porn
stuff aside, his subsequent interviews about Singapore/system here etc…
blatantly showed his disrespect to his host and wanting to complete his degree
showed he is ‘milking’ the very system he criticized. I don’t know about you but
as a Singaporean I feel extremely indignant that our government/NUS is allowing
this to happen as reported…

Stoopid Sinkie: At the minimum, he should be asked to
REPAY ALL or be sacked from NUS. This PAP government can on one hand prosecute a
civil servant on such a flimsy charge of sexual indiscretion, and on the other
hand gives a tiny slap on a foreigner of gross sexual deviance and sheer
arrogance. Ptui!

Old Singaporean: I think this porn star is holding
somethings to prevent NUS to sack him and fully refund all the taxpayer money!
This kind punishment will end up more foreign Students (especially scholarship
holders) dare to do FUNNY things as no need to repay anything as punishment! Why
NUS can be so lenient to foreigner when using taxpayer
money?
Others have expressed disgust in the way NUS/MOE are handling the Alvin Tan’s
case and vowed not to donate any more money to NUS:

Donor: I’m a regular donor to NUS. No more. Spineless
bastards!

Pui: We have stopped donating to NUS after we saw
thousands of free scholarships going to foreigners years ago. It is not a proud
alma mater anymore. It is now a business entity interested only in preserving
their jobs and giving free funds to foreign smilers.

One impact of their stupid decision will be that any undergraduate can
now view porn on their laptops as the pornstar Alvin will now be hailed as a
porn hero who dares to challenge the establishment, and still got away free, and
don’t even have to pay a single cent back.

A thousand curses on you FTs who took away our NUS
pride.

stupid sinkie, why need to punish? he has the right to post whatever he wanted, only sinkies make a hoo haa over this shit.

if sinkie got balls, then go and protest and throw out the govt they dislike instead of posting in the forum.
these are the stupid sinkie example:

If the pussy had looked better I would have been willing to fight for him to retain his scholarship. At the very least I have to bill him for my conjunctivitis.

I have gone through this issue with many Singaporeans and MOST seem bent on him losing his scholarship, getting the sack or other punishments. As fas as I see it, this Alvin chap has not hurt anyone, has not posted any nude photos of some other unwilling soul, and is merely less inhibited than regular folk. WHY THEN THE HELL IS SOCIETY SO BENT ON PUNISHING HIM like he were some perverted threat to society???? And for those who surf for porn and then come across a regular next-door-kid who shows his genitals on the net, they get so taken-aback and horrified that they want him removed from society to set it straight, upright and righteous? What gives? Can anyone explain this to me?

if you want to know the answer, you cannot think like a logical human being,

if you turn your mind a little and think like a sinkie, then it all make sense.

if you want to know the answer, you cannot think like a logical human being,

if you turn your mind a little and think like a sinkie, then it all make sense.

Thanks Tony for putting things in their right place for me. I suppose I will drop this issue now and get back to work.

Cheers

When he applied for the ASEAN scholarship, if he told the interview panel that he had this exhibitionist fetish, do you think he would have secured the scholarship or even got a place in Law school?

Only certain liberal bloggers and a certain liberal oppo political party would support this perverse poster-boy because he advances their own agenda. That's the real issue of those who are fine with his actions.

Isn't producing porn film an offence? why police dun charge him for the criminal act?

That is because sinkies like to judge people from a higher moral ground.

Double standard is a human trait. Clean and green Singaporeans are not spared either.

Insult Singaporeans no problem nobody demanded for the scholarship back despite all the hype & now no sight no sound everybody forgotten!
Let you see fuck fuck scene & you buay song because you do not get to song and you cried foul & demanded for the scholarship to be paid back?

It is indeed magnumous on the part of the committee to come up with such a decision !:o