• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

My observations on the recent deaths of a Lee and a Yong

I would put them in the top 5 richest families in Asia.

What if the truth got out that they are the 5 richest families IN THE WORLD?

Its one thing to reduce estate taxes but to completely obliterate it? It doesnt make any sense...reducing estate duties only favours the rich BUT removing it completely, only protects their secrets

:)

Perhaps then sinkies will never realise what a bunch of dumbass sinkie sheep slaves they've been......but without estate duties, all these secrets will literally go to the grave....

Its one thing to reduce estate taxes but to completely obliterate it? It doesnt make any sense...reducing estate duties only favours the rich BUT removing it completely, only protects their secrets

Perhaps then sinkies will never realise what a bunch of dumbass sinkie sheep slaves they've been......but without estate duties, all these secrets will literally go to the grave....

the truth will only emerge when a non-PAP government comes into power and conducts a full investigation into the affairs of past governments.

Dick Lee's family is also Emerald Hill gang and he is related to Goh.

No wonder: Friday, 4 July, 2003 Singapore eases gay ban

Singapore has begun employing homosexuals within the government, in a reversal of its previous policy, the prime minister has told an American magazine.

Gay people are now allowed to work in "certain positions in government", Prime Minister Goh Chok Tong said in an interview with Time magazine, excerpts of which were released by his office.

"In the past, if we know you're gay, we would not employ you but we just changed this quietly," he told the magazine.

However he said that homosexual acts would remain illegal in the country.

Mr Goh says gay people will have to declare their sexual orientation in job application forms.

He said the requirement was for the applicants' own protection.

"If you are working in a sensitive position and you're trying to hide your sexual preferences and instinct... if you're discovered by somebody else, then he can blackmail you," he said.

It is not clear when this new policy was introduced, and Mr Goh did not say what jobs homosexuals could take.

Mr Goh also said that, although the government had relaxed its stance with regard to government jobs, Singapore would still not consider decriminalising homosexuality.

He said this was due to pressure from religious groups, and from a majority of Singaporeans.

"The heartlanders are still conservative. You can call it double-standard," he said.

"And for the Muslims, it's religion, it's not the law. Islam openly says the religion is against gay practice."

'Relaxed attitude'

Gay rights groups have responded with cautious optimism to the announcement.

Russell Heng, a researcher and founding member of People Like Us, a gay support group, told Singapore's Straits Times newspaper he hoped for more dialogue with the government.

"We need to have less hang-ups about discussing this issue," he said.

Time magazine also said the Singapore Government was relaxing its attitudes towards gays in an attempt to attract foreign professionals, and to keep talented locals working in the state.

It also said that gay saunas and bars had also emerged in some of Singapore's neighbourhoods.

the truth will only emerge when a non-PAP government comes into power and conducts a full investigation into the affairs of past governments.

I hate to break your heart bro but even with a TOTAL change of govt, nothing substantial will really be recovered because the people in power are very good at covering their tracks..funds will be laudnered through layers and layers and layers of trusttees and proxies and cross holdings and walled out registeries where no information could ever be obtained..... people whose appointments within the government at that time who keep changing and changing..... so many people. .... so many pieces of the jigsaw....so many little bits of information.... so many forgotten memories...... people get paid off, soon the very people who are investigating wonder where the end will be ... people who are investigated all give their famous Pol Pot-esque cry :" But if I dont do what they say, then i will be in the line of fire and in jeopardy..."

What will happen in the end.... NOTHING... just like how the Marcos family made off with billions and still get to be in the ruling political elite of their country....

all that money will buy a lot of longevity in a small place like Singapore or heck...wtf they care...they just live in the lap of ultimate luxury in any country where our little useless country's laws will never reach them... which country is so free to help your little country's problems??

Just think about it........

Divide and Rule? But arent the people themselves responsible for this divide in the first place, Only peasants care about race and the Elites use this to their advantage.

Race was never the issue in the years before and after the Japanese Invasion.

The British NEVER used Race to their advantage as they truly wanted a multi-racial Singapore and Malaya.

The Maria Hertogh or Nadra Riots took place due to a misunderstanding that the British were against the Muslims.

The High Court should have been more careful about the sensitivity of placing the little Maria or Nadra in a convent.

The newspapers, especially the vernacular ones should not have blown the issue out of proportion.

Hence the death of many innocent people - from both sides.

If I am Not mistaken, LKY was acting as a novice lawyer for those facing murder trials connected with this case.

The perpetrators were hanged, including the owner of a very popular Nasi Briyani Restaurant close to the Sultan Mosque.

Besides this, excepting the Communist Insurgency, no major incidents took place during the early days and last days of the British-era.

Most incidents like the 1964 Kg Soopoo Riots, the Hock Lee Riots, The Singapore Harbour Board Riots and the 5/13 Riots took place when the PAP was ruling Singapore.

In fact right up to their withdrawal from Singapore, the British troops stationed here helped to maintain peace and harmony among the different people of Singapore by patrolling the riot-hit areas.

Glad to pick your reply. I got a friend in is sixties. Tells me a lot about old Singapore. Too bad he went barking mad. He thinks everyone who is a Christian is from CHC. Do you know much about Siglap area history? He tells me lots about his childhood there.

In fact right up to their withdrawal from Singapore, the British troops stationed here helped to maintain peace and harmony among the different people of Singapore by patrolling the riot-hit areas.

Glad to pick your reply. I got a friend in is sixties. Tells me a lot about old Singapore. Too bad he went barking mad. He thinks everyone who is a Christian is from CHC. Do you know much about Siglap area history? He tells me lots about his childhood there.

not far away was where the japs executed thousands of sinkie men during the sook ching massacre. victoria jc sits there now.

Bro, I honestly know little about Siglap, but would not want to deprive you of what you ought to know from my jaunts into these beautiful perfect picture post-card kampong.

Siglap in the 60's was a distant kampong from us. Yet we made it a point to penetrate it once a while.

We used to ride on Paya Lebar Bus Services No 1A till the end at the former Geylang Police Station (later torn down and became "Hippie Garden". This empty place is where the City Plaza now is.

From here we will take Katong-Bedok Buses or Changi Bus Service right up to Frankel Avenue where we will alight. Lots of bungalows left and right belonging to the "orang-kaya".

Then we would go to the OCEAN CINEMA and check on posters of "Coming Soon", "Now Showing", "Opening Tomorrow", "Coming Next Week". The show being screened then was, "THE BATTLE OF THE BULGE". Coming soon were movies like, "IS PARIS BURNING, "THE POPPY IS ALSO A FLOWER starring George Peppard and "COFFIN FOR A GUN-FIGHTER" starring Franco Nero and Sergio Corbucci.

After purchasing the cheapest tickets right at the fron close to the screen, we will enter by the right-side front door and settle into our seat. If we were lucky, we could find young school-girls who also "pon-teng sekolah" (played truant) like us. We strike a conversation and would after the show take a stroll towards the Malay kampong on the left-side of the road. There used to be little boats under the coconut-trees and also fishing nets drying in the sun. These were fisher-folks and lived a very contented life. There was a muscular Chinese man living among them and he later became a star for "Guiness Stout Is Good For You" adverts on televsion commercials.

Famous advertisement songs on radio from the Malay kampong were, "Toray Toray Cloth" and "Tonic Chop Gajah". These was the era of Indonesian songs by Annekke Gronloh famed for Burong Kakak Tua, O Begini Rasa Nya, Halo Halo Oh Papaja".

We would walk towards the end of the road where there was a beach beach where many young Malay men used to hang around with Minahs on their Lambretta scooters. These were the days when no helmets were used and their dames dressed in tigh sarong-kebaya used to tie their long hair in a scarf.

There also used to be many hawkers plying their food - without any fear of being caught, barang confiscated and then fined in court - triple whammy.

What little money we had we spent on us and the companions and then we dispersed home for school the next day - no more playing truant as exams were coming.

Hah hah hah. Hope you were not like me.........................

I used to live in Siglap and still love the place lots. Can you share some stories about Siglap history?

I'll start off by sharing one I heard from ex neighbours....the 2nd floor of the kopi tiam next to the drain from Siglap Centre used to be a brothel for the British soldiers. Not sure if this was common knowledge amongst their wives ! This must have been during the 1960s when there were lots of Ang Mohs living in Siglap.

Perhaps you could start up a separate thread as I'm sure many others will be keen.

not far away was where the japs executed thousands of sinkie men during the sook ching massacre. victoria jc sits there now.

The Japanese did massacre lots of Chinese but was around the Temasek JC area in Bedok South area (former chinese kampong)and not Victoria JC as VJC sits on reclaimed land.

ok, i stand corrected. will have to recon and research the area on the next trip. i stay in siglap everytime i visit sg. there are a few remaining ww2 malay survivors who still live there. they told me the story and showed me the place on my last visit. during the 60s, siglap was scouted by real estate agents helping shell foreign employees settle in as expats. it has remained a quiet idyllic area.

I doubt if they are the top 5 richest families. That list is populated by shiekhs from oil rich countries.

I hate to break your heart bro but even with a TOTAL change of govt, nothing substantial will really be recovered because the people in power are very good at covering their tracks..funds will be laudnered through layers and layers and layers of trusttees and proxies and cross holdings and walled out registeries where no information could ever be obtained..... people whose appointments within the government at that time who keep changing and changing..... so many people. .... so many pieces of the jigsaw....so many little bits of information.... so many forgotten memories...... people get paid off, soon the very people who are investigating wonder where the end will be ... people who are investigated all give their famous Pol Pot-esque cry :" But if I dont do what they say, then i will be in the line of fire and in jeopardy..."

What will happen in the end.... NOTHING... just like how the Marcos family made off with billions and still get to be in the ruling political elite of their country....

all that money will buy a lot of longevity in a small place like Singapore or heck...wtf they care...they just live in the lap of ultimate luxury in any country where our little useless country's laws will never reach them... which country is so free to help your little country's problems??

Just think about it........

I don't believe this. In fact, most days what drives me is the hope that some day, these fuckers will be kicked out, and investigated and jailed for their theft and corruption. The technology is such now that you can hire forensic accountants to go through eveything. Dispite what u say, there is always one person or a few selected persons who know where all the accounts are, how much is in them and how the funds were obtained. The job of the new govt. would be to locate these people and put pressure on them. Intelligence agencies from countries like the US monitor many accounts, and they will have some of the information, especially investments parked in the US by PAP and Familee elites. Why should they co-operate with us after Con You was so good to them? Well, if they don't, they will suddenly see their Pacific fleet denied use of Changi naval base. And that is just for starters. Also, after you arrest all the top PAP buggers and throw them in Whitney, than arrest their family members and do to them what they did to the so called marxist conspirators", these fuckers willl be giving you flash drives showing where all the money is.

Bro, I honestly know little about Siglap, but would not want to deprive you of what you ought to know from my jaunts into these beautiful perfect picture post-card kampong.

Siglap in the 60's was a distant kampong from us. Yet we made it a point to penetrate it once a while.

We used to ride on Paya Lebar Bus Services No 1A till the end at the former Geylang Police Station (later torn down and became "Hippie Garden". This empty place is where the City Plaza now is.

From here we will take Katong-Bedok Buses or Changi Bus Service right up to Frankel Avenue where we will alight. Lots of bungalows left and right belonging to the "orang-kaya".

Then we would go to the OCEAN CINEMA and check on posters of "Coming Soon", "Now Showing", "Opening Tomorrow", "Coming Next Week". The show being screened then was, "THE BATTLE OF THE BULGE". Coming soon were movies like, "IS PARIS BURNING, "THE POPPY IS ALSO A FLOWER starring George Peppard and "COFFIN FOR A GUN-FIGHTER" starring Franco Nero and Sergio Corbucci.

After purchasing the cheapest tickets right at the fron close to the screen, we will enter by the right-side front door and settle into our seat. If we were lucky, we could find young school-girls who also "pon-teng sekolah" (played truant) like us. We strike a conversation and would after the show take a stroll towards the Malay kampong on the left-side of the road. There used to be little boats under the coconut-trees and also fishing nets drying in the sun. These were fisher-folks and lived a very contented life. There was a muscular Chinese man living among them and he later became a star for "Guiness Stout Is Good For You" adverts on televsion commercials.

Famous advertisement songs on radio from the Malay kampong were, "Toray Toray Cloth" and "Tonic Chop Gajah". These was the era of Indonesian songs by Annekke Gronloh famed for Burong Kakak Tua, O Begini Rasa Nya, Halo Halo Oh Papaja".

We would walk towards the end of the road where there was a beach beach where many young Malay men used to hang around with Minahs on their Lambretta scooters. These were the days when no helmets were used and their dames dressed in tigh sarong-kebaya used to tie their long hair in a scarf.

There also used to be many hawkers plying their food - without any fear of being caught, barang confiscated and then fined in court - triple whammy.

What little money we had we spent on us and the companions and then we dispersed home for school the next day - no more playing truant as exams were coming.

Hah hah hah. Hope you were not like me.........................

Let me share what I can remember:

I was born in the 'orang-kaya' estate called Frankel. The 4 bedroom single storey bungalow standing on 8100 sq ft of freehold land cost my old-man $9800 nia nia.

For the first 5 years after we occupied the bungalow, there was no sewerage for sanitation and we had to put up with the bucket system and the roads in the whole
estate were just dirt tracks, and every time it rained puddles of water would form on the roads. This I remember vividly because when LKY came to campaign in the
1959 GE rally, he pointed out that these roads were not 'beh chia lor' but 'gu chia lor' and he promised to convert all the 'gu chia lor' to metal roads and immediately
connect sewerage to all the houses in Frankel Estate which he did.

The first PAP MP for Siglap was a fat Malay lady and her salary was $500 pm.

The beach you mentioned was the Chinese fishing village called 'Lim Chu Kamkong' and next to it there was a huge Malay kampong and we co-existed peacefully.

Ocean cinema was developed much later, probably in the late 60's.

Those were the idyllic days my friend.

I used to live in Siglap and still love the place lots. Can you share some stories about Siglap history?

I'll start off by sharing one I heard from ex neighbours....the 2nd floor of the kopi tiam next to the drain from Siglap Centre used to be a brothel for the British soldiers. Not sure if this was common knowledge amongst their wives ! This must have been during the 1960s when there were lots of Ang Mohs living in Siglap.

Perhaps you could start up a separate thread as I'm sure many others will be keen.

The kopi tiam was called Tong Ah and on top of Tong Ah kopi tiam the brothel was not to cater to Ang Mohs, but locals.

Next to Tong Ah kopi tiam there was this 'orang kaya' grocery shop which catered to the Ang Moh servicemen working in Changi airbase and most of them were residing in Frankel and Opera Estates.

..... Frankel and Opera Estates.

omg merl! we might be neighbors and didn't know it. your (dad's) house in the frankel neighborhood is now upgraded, i think, into something very "opiang". mine vacation spot is over at opera estate, near fidelio, that wierd triangular downhill ingress and egress driveway.

Let me share what I can remember:

The first PAP MP for Siglap was a fat Malay lady and her salary was $500 pm.

The beach you mentioned was the Chinese fishing village called 'Lim Chu Kamkong' and next to it there was a huge Malay kampong and we co-existed peacefully.

Ocean cinema was developed much later, probably in the late 60's.

Those were the idyllic days my friend.

WOW, such a FAT salary for a FAT PAP MP during those LEAN days when a scrawny night-soil carrier was only paid about $80/- pm

LKY must have been paid at least$3000/- pm.

WOW, such a FAT salary for a FAT PAP MP during those LEAN days when a scrawny night-soil carrier was only paid about $80/- pm

LKY must have been paid at least$3000/- pm.

the people who have to clean up after our s h i t are usually the worse paid