• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

My heart breaks when I look around to see what has happened to my beloved country

Today 08:06 AM #1
TopSage
  • profile.png
    View Profile
  • forum.png
    View Forum Posts
  • message.png
    Private Message
user-offline.png

<DL class=userinfo_extra><DT>Join Date <DD>Nov 2007 </DD><DT>Posts <DD>2,598 </DD></DL>

[h=2]Singapore, my home, my country....[/h]
My heart breaks when I look around to see what has happened to my beloved country.
The moral decay, overcrowding, increasing poverty and hardship, materialistic greed, ...oh what has it been transformed to? A tax-haven playground for the rich, but what is it like if you're poor?

Mercedes Benz are a best seller along with the Lambos and Ferraris...fancy cars for the rich and train break downs for the others. Keep the streets uncongested for the Mercs, you have the common folk trains....packed like cattle to take the masses to their underpaid jobs.

It is now a society driven by greed, selfish desires...a cauldron of sin, money, greed, immorality. Scandalous rich, suffering poor and the struggle of the majority. We have become the animals of capitalism, a free market of humans no sense of community, no sense of humanity. Entrepreneur peddles women, rich men buy them like toys at Toys-R-us - poor man's daughter sold to the highest bidder. We transact away soul - it is all business and the only thing that moves us is money.

We burn away our ideals. The belief of equality, the pledge of unity, the care for our fellow men. We learn to look only after ourselves not to be devoured by the wild animals of capitalism...not to be the cattle but the ferocious tiger the devour the cattle and spit out the bones. We learn to exploit, to take, to steal without getting caught. Such is a system symbolized by 2 casinos whose architecture dwarfs all the churches, temples and mosques on the island. This is the new Singapore an unfamiliar place compared with the family-friendly island I grew up in. Today people don't even bother to get married, avoid having children ...we look backwards for better days and it is the yester-years we yearn....​

<!-- edit note -->
<!--
edit_40b.png
-->Last edited by TopSage; Today at 08:31 AM.​

It is now a society driven by greed, selfish desires...a cauldron of sin, money, greed, immorality. Scandalous rich, suffering poor and the struggle of the majority. We have become the animals of capitalism,​

Karl Marx had a solution to this problem and North Korea is the result.

Give me the immoral South Korea anytime along with the greed, scandals, sleaze and depravity. :wink:

Marx's theories about society, economics and politics—collectively known as Marxism—hold that all societies progress through the dialectic ofclass struggle: a conflict between a capital class which owns the means of production and a lower class which labours to generate its wealth. Heavily critical of the current socio-economic form of society, capitalism, he called it the "dictatorship of the bourgeoisie", believing it to be run by the wealthy classes purely for their own benefit while instituting wage slavery, and predicted that, like previous socioeconomic systems, it would inevitably produce internal tensions which would lead to its self-destruction and replacement by a new system, socialism.[SUP][5][/SUP] He argued that under socialism society would be governed by the working class in what he called the "dictatorship of the proletariat", the "workers state" or "workers' democracy".[SUP][6][/SUP][SUP][7][/SUP] He believed that socialism would, in its turn, eventually be replaced by a stateless, classless society calledcommunism. Along with believing in the inevitability of socialism and communism, Marx actively fought for the former's implementation, arguing that both social theorists and underprivileged people should carry out organised revolutionary action to topple capitalism and bring about socio-economic change.[SUP][8][/SUP][SUP][9][/SUP]

Meltdown

Give me the immoral South Korea anytime along with the greed, scandals, sleaze and depravity. :wink:

I agree.

Give me the modern day greedy, scandalous, materialistic, sleazy, immoral and deprived China rather than under Mao Tse Tung who killed millions of Chinese.

Kudos to the PAP!

ZorrorroZ

Sadly, all he will bring all the greatness to the grave with him. Then we'll turn out to be another North Korea... but, hey, look on the bright side, we can soon have website with Lee Hsien Loong looking at things...

sammyboi

More Underage sinkie girls willing to spread their legs to earn easy $$$, competing with FTs...

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/health/h...le-genetically-programmed-to-be-negative.html

Born miserable – some people genetically programmed to be negative

Some people cannot help being pessimistic, suggests a new study that found the amount of a chemical in the brain affects how we view the world.

Researchers discovered that levels of a molecule called neuropeptide Y (NPY) directly relates to whether we have a "glass half empty" or "glass half full" attitude towards life.

Those with lower levels of the substance are much more negative and find it more difficult to deal with stressful situations.

They are also more susceptible to depression.

The team at University of Michigan believe the amount of NPY in the brain is genetically programmed and hope the discovery could lead to early diagnosis of and prevention of psychiatric illness.

Using functional magnetic resonance imaging (fMRI), the scientists scanned the brain activity of a number of volunteers as they viewed neutral words (such as "material") negatively charged words (like "murderer"), and positively charge words (like "hopeful").

In response to negative words, subjects with low levels of NPY showed strong activation in the prefrontal cortex, which is involved with processing emotion, while subjects with high NPY demonstrated a much smaller response.

In a second test, healthy subjects reported their emotional experiences during a stressful challenge.

Saline solution was injected into the jaw muscle, which produces moderate pain for 20 minutes, but no lasting harm.

The level of pain was adjusted for each person until it was, for them, a four on a scale of one to 10.

These subjects rated the positivity or negativity of their feelings both before and after the pain challenge.

Those with low NPY were more negative both before and after the pain – meaning they were more emotionally affected while anticipating the pain and while reflecting on their experience immediately afterward.

Lastly, scientists compared NPY levels with major depressive disorders to see if there was an association between the condition and low expression of NPY.

Subjects with low-expression of NPY were more likely to suffer depression, it was found.

Dr Brian Mickey, a psychiatrist and lead author, said: "We hope they can guide us toward assessing an individual's risk for developing depression and anxiety."

The findings are published in the Archives of General Psychiatry.

Born miserable – some people genetically programmed to be negative

The question I need to ask is why this negativity gene is so prevalent in Singapore. Is it caused by something in the water? Shit and pee pee come to mind.

god_zeus

dont worry
if the mayan prophecy about 2012 were to come true
it means that all this trash will be taken out
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/g5ePktB_V9k" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

T

TuaTeetu

If you place your hopes on men or things created by men, in this case a country call singapore, the end result is always a big disappointment.

Last edited by a moderator:

groober2011

The question I need to ask is why this negativity gene is so prevalent in Singapore. Is it caused by something in the water? Shit and pee pee come to mind.

Singaporeans are one of the unhappiest nationalities on earth. The stuff that makes people happy in other countries, bigger residents, freedom, a healthy lifestyle are all out of reach unless they have the mullahs. Unfortunately this most essential item is not within reach of the majority, hence the negativity.

besotted

My heart breaks when I see the sad state of my country now and what it can be - the potential for growth and happiness

There are some who point the finger at FT as the cause of their problems but thankfully these are a minority. The majority know that wonderful FTs like the PRCs help to fill labour gap and keep our economy growing

However the government has been quite clueless in planning. We need the extra 1.4 million PRCs to reach the population target of 6.5 million but they have yet to build up proper infrastructure

Places like Bukit Brown, Jurong West should be opened up quickly - don't waste time with groups like Singapore Paranormal Investigators! Tan Chuan Jin is a real clown to engage SPI - no wonder no one takes him seriously anymore

Char_Azn

Don't know where the joker got the idea that SG got increase poverty. Go look at the number of pple taking overseas vacation, increasing every year. Look at the number with the latest gadgets, Smart Phones Tablets, etc. I see more and more pple using them on the street. Look at every IT fair, record takings every time. More malls and restaurant opening, more private apartments getted erected, all this means that pple can now afford to spend more. That joker need to get his brains checked if he really believe in the bullshit that Singaporeans are getting poorer. The only ones who are worse off are the bottom 10%, then again, when was the bottom 10% ever well off, if they were they wont be at the bottom

freedalas

That's ludicrous reasoning. The solution is not automatically the other extreme. There are always alternatives in between. The question is how to calibrate the alternative to achieve the right balance which varies from country to country. With the failure of the Soviet Empire and the Eastern Bloc, almost every country overweighted itself rather heavily towards capitalism. And in the short term, it seemed to be working very finely. But its failings are for all to see now, most evident in the Occupy Wall Street movement and its equivalent across the world. Hence, these countries now realised their follies towards extreme capitalism are so are now intervening more and more with socialist policies. But there are nowhere a Marxist theory nor it is necessary to be so in order to redistribute wealth across society.

Those who think that a country can only be at either extreme end of the spectrum are one-track minded people, the best example of which is Leongsam, with eatshitndie a close second and latest wannabe Kinana.

Unrepented

Population from 3mil to 5mil within a short few years. More and more ppl, one wonders who they are:rolleyes:

Don't know where the joker got the idea that SG got increase poverty. Go look at the number of pple taking overseas vacation, increasing every year. Look at the number with the latest gadgets, Smart Phones Tablets, etc. I see more and more pple using them on the street. Look at every IT fair, record takings every time. More malls and restaurant opening, more private apartments getted erected, all this means that pple can now afford to spend more. That joker need to get his brains checked if he really believe in the bullshit that Singaporeans are getting poorer. The only ones who are worse off are the bottom 10%, then again, when was the bottom 10% ever well off, if they were they wont be at the bottom

xebay11

As long as there are fish and other creatures in the water, shit and pee are always present in the water :p

He really did that? TCJ is weak lah.

Places like Bukit Brown, Jurong West should be opened up quickly - don't waste time with groups like Singapore Paranormal Investigators! Tan Chuan Jin is a real clown to engage SPI - no wonder no one takes him seriously anymore

bryanlim1972

north korea's problems have nothing to do with marx, its their misguided dictators who got them into the mess. all praise to the lehman jews.