• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

My experience with new Immigrants in Japan

[h=2]My experience with new Immigrants in Japan[/h]
PostDateIcon.png
May 25th, 2012 |
PostAuthorIcon.png
Author: Contributions

images-37.jpg
Yokohama's Chinatown, a enclave for the Chinese immigrant community

Hello everyone,
I would like to share my thoughts on integration of new immigrants. I came back from Japan about 2 months ago after a two week business trip - mostly outside Tokyo.
Its not true that Japan does not have any immigrants. Its just that there are few and the new immigrants take pains to integrate and they do it so well that you can’t tell unless you pay attention.
I met 3 PRCs and 1 Indian during my work. Let me share my observations.
New Immigrant 1 : PRC
This is a waitress. She resembled Japanese down to the hairstyle and dressing. She speaks softly and bows like all other Japanese. She displayed none of the usual PRC traits like speaking loudly or pushy. She noticed that I was having problem ordering and she quickly asked if I could speak mandarin – much to my relief. She continued with mandarin in the same soft manner like most Japanese and waited patiently for me to decide. I found out that she is from Hebei and she came over to study Japanese and later took up a job as a waitress here. She genuinely like it in Japan and has a Japanese boyfriend. She speaks perfect Japanese. I would never has guess she is a PRC.
New immigrant 2 : PRC Engineer
I visited my supplier and he had a PRC engineer. Again, this engineer dress like a Japanese and speak perfect Japanese. In fact he even married a Japanese lady. He came over on a scholarship and had to spend 1 year studying Japanese first before starting on his Engineering course. Of course he started speaking to me in Mandarin. He again behave completely like a Japanese.
New immigrant 3 : Indian Engineer
This was at my customer’s factory. Of course he was obvious but listening to him speak to his colleagues, I was amazed that he spoke and behaved completely like the Japanese. His colleagues joke with him and was completely at ease with him.
He again came over on a scholarship, took 1 year to study Japanese. He had to go back to India after his studies to an arranged married (decided by his parents) and be brought his wife over. According to him, she had 2 years of Japanese studies but is finding it harder to integrate as she is a housewife and interactions are limited but she is making progress and is now involved in community work at a nearby school.
He shared with me over lunch that he will not go back to India because he feels totally integrated. As for number of recipients of Japanese scholarships, there are not many and he was the only Indian at that time in the Uni.
Lastly, he revealed to me that if you hire a foreigner, you have to pay the same as the locals. That’s why Japanese firms seldom hire foreigners as there is no advantage (likely to have disadvantage). He of course offer them an advantage as he is proficient in English too.
Last immigrant 4 : PRC
Train station executive. He sells Shinkansen tickets at Nagoya. Again, this guy looked and speak like any Japanese. He even has the hand gestures. Like the other PRCs mentioned above, he integrated so well. I didn’t have the time to interact with him to get any more details.
The 4 of them showed me that integration is definitely possible but must be done in such a way that they new immigrants have to adopt the new country’s way of life. You can’t really live comfortably if you don’t speak Japanese in Japan.
In Singapore, the new immigrants don’t even bother to learn English because there are so many of them that they create their own enclaves. That’s where PAP has screwed up big time. However, instead of learning from this, they think Singaporeans need to change and we need to embrace their way of life instead. Well, it just goes to show they don’t value Singapore’s way of life as much as their self serving interests.
I hope this sharing is useful. It certainly has opened my eyes about integration and what is possible and why PAP is full of bullshit.
Observer

Yes, I also feel that its a good write up. Now we just have to wait for Sam to wake up to disagree :D

The biggest irony of all is that our overpaid superstar government officials are always telling the locals to integrate with the
foreigners.
Has it ever occurred to them that they should be addressing the foreigners instead?
Again, I can't help thinking that those criticising sinkies for being stupid sheep have got a really good point.

人善被人欺, 马善被人骑。If only Sinkie sheep understood this eternal truth. :rolleyes:

Wah even the shit skins integrate and become japs. I really need to pay to see this. I want to see how a snake actually behaves like a decent human.

In any case don't expect this in singapore.

i already told you guys many times ...those FT in japan is not like those FT in singapore ;)

Yes, I also feel that its a good write up. Now we just have to wait for Sam to wake up to disagree :D

you don't have to wait for sam to give a succinct retort. here's mine. sinkie attitudes, mannerisms and behavior are so insane that it's better for foreigners not to emulate or attempt to integrate into the sinkie norm. if they try, they will all one day end up in imh. :p

[h=2]my experience with new immigrants in japan[/h]
postdateicon.png
may 25th, 2012 |
postauthoricon.png
author: contributions

images-37.jpg
yokohama's chinatown, a enclave for the chinese immigrant community

hello everyone,
i would like to share my thoughts on integration of new immigrants. I came back from japan about 2 months ago after a two week business trip - mostly outside tokyo.
Its not true that japan does not have any immigrants. Its just that there are few and the new immigrants take pains to integrate and they do it so well that you can’t tell unless you pay attention.
I met 3 prcs and 1 indian during my work. Let me share my observations.
new immigrant 1 : Prc
this is a waitress. She resembled japanese down to the hairstyle and dressing. She speaks softly and bows like all other japanese. She displayed none of the usual prc traits like speaking loudly or pushy. She noticed that i was having problem ordering and she quickly asked if i could speak mandarin – much to my relief. She continued with mandarin in the same soft manner like most japanese and waited patiently for me to decide. I found out that she is from hebei and she came over to study japanese and later took up a job as a waitress here. She genuinely like it in japan and has a japanese boyfriend. She speaks perfect japanese. I would never has guess she is a prc.
new immigrant 2 : Prc engineer
i visited my supplier and he had a prc engineer. Again, this engineer dress like a japanese and speak perfect japanese. In fact he even married a japanese lady. He came over on a scholarship and had to spend 1 year studying japanese first before starting on his engineering course. Of course he started speaking to me in mandarin. He again behave completely like a japanese.
new immigrant 3 : Indian engineer
this was at my customer’s factory. Of course he was obvious but listening to him speak to his colleagues, i was amazed that he spoke and behaved completely like the japanese. His colleagues joke with him and was completely at ease with him.
He again came over on a scholarship, took 1 year to study japanese. He had to go back to india after his studies to an arranged married (decided by his parents) and be brought his wife over. According to him, she had 2 years of japanese studies but is finding it harder to integrate as she is a housewife and interactions are limited but she is making progress and is now involved in community work at a nearby school.
He shared with me over lunch that he will not go back to india because he feels totally integrated. As for number of recipients of japanese scholarships, there are not many and he was the only indian at that time in the uni.
Lastly, he revealed to me that if you hire a foreigner, you have to pay the same as the locals. That’s why japanese firms seldom hire foreigners as there is no advantage (likely to have disadvantage). He of course offer them an advantage as he is proficient in english too.
last immigrant 4 : Prc
train station executive. He sells shinkansen tickets at nagoya. Again, this guy looked and speak like any japanese. He even has the hand gestures. Like the other prcs mentioned above, he integrated so well. I didn’t have the time to interact with him to get any more details.
The 4 of them showed me that integration is definitely possible but must be done in such a way that they new immigrants have to adopt the new country’s way of life. You can’t really live comfortably if you don’t speak japanese in japan.
In singapore, the new immigrants don’t even bother to learn english because there are so many of them that they create their own enclaves. That’s where pap has screwed up big time. However, instead of learning from this, they think singaporeans need to change and we need to embrace their way of life instead. Well, it just goes to show they don’t value singapore’s way of life as much as their self serving interests.
I hope this sharing is useful. It certainly has opened my eyes about integration and what is possible and why pap is full of bullshit.
observer

in rome do as romen do.
IN SINGAPORE WE ARE SUPPOSE TO ACCEPT WHAT FT DO

What that guy didn't mention is the Japanese help those pple to integrate(the very thing that the government have encourage everyone to do) unlike us who blame every freaking thing on the FTs and take every opportunity to shun them. Don't believe me, just go search every thread on FT in this forum

Many of these foreigners are already getting financial support e.g. scholarships. Many who graduate here are given work permits, offered jobs, etc. Don't believe me just have to "go search every thread on FT in this forum":rolleyes: By the way I do know some Malaysians who studied in Spore & they told me how easy things were made for them:rolleyes:

Sporeans on the hand are expected to pay for their own way. Do NS at the expense of their families.

It's bad enough that the PAP expects Sporeans to subsidise their lavish life style. Now we are told that we have to accept "wage dumping". Sporeans must remember who is causing all these problems, the PAP.

I don't really care if they get 60% vote.

What they are doing now is treason.

hi 007 , [ :D:D:D ]
people overlok the fact that he mentioned the number of immigrants is beri small.
here , it is huge.
in the 4 cases given , all of them integrated well , embracing the nihon ji manner beri welll.

sinkies allso overlok the fact that actually all the FT , immigrants here have integrated successfoolly too.
look at their ill manner and behavior all typical sinkie traits. :(:(:(
it is like a kettle calling a pot black. :mad::mad::mad:

The biggest irony of all is that our overpaid superstar government officials are always telling the locals to integrate with the
foreigners.
Has it ever occurred to them that they should be addressing the foreigners instead?
Again, I can't help thinking that those criticising sinkies for being stupid sheep have got a really good point.

I fully agree wth you, our highly overpaid ministers are alway talking rubbish, asking Singaporean ti integrate with Foreign Trash?
I have been to Japan and also agreed to the writer Makapaaa. PRC serving us expect us to speak Mandarin to them?? I spoke to
them in Hokkien..knn..

What Japan gets are foreign talents. what sg gets are foreign trash. All are FTs.

The FTs here integrate lagi better here, just that there are so many that it puts a strain on infrastructure.

It's the same everywhere.
You go HK you see angmos, bayis and indians all speaking fluent Cantonese.
You go Thailand, korea, makaysia also the same.
Only uniquely Sinkieland is other way around

It's the same everywhere.
You go HK you see angmos, bayis and indians all speaking fluent Cantonese.
You go Thailand, korea, makaysia also the same.
Only uniquely Sinkieland is other way around

Even some Ang mo speaks thai to me in Thai kok, I asked him why, they said its the farang that needs to respect and accustom to other countries culture, not other countries culture accustom to farang. For that, Arjan me respect them.