• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

MSG: The REAL siLent kiLLer ?..

yes,msg is a health hazard. it should be banned!

i had a good look at my favourite bakkutteh stall, there are cans and cans of msg there! no wonder i always feel neck pain, body pain and dry throat after my favourite meal. after each chinese wedding dinner, i always feel sick!...i think msg is the culprit!

Yes.. i think MSG kills...if taken in huge doses...

We have heard of reports of diners dying after heavy meals..

I personally experienced it..I used to take my favourite mee at this stall..somehow on that day, i was unlucky..my left face suddenly goes numb..i believe that one of the meatballs contains excessive msg and i was unlucky that the msg was not properly mixed and coagulate in higher quantity in that meatball...

I stop taking noodles from that stall since...i cud have a heart siezure that day if more meat balls were done in the same manner...

So sometimes life is abt luck and chances..if the food vendor preparing the food unwittingly slag and mixed the wrong proportion of msg in yr food...u will go and meet yr maker much sooner...

Re: Balding Is A Real Problem Nowadays

Yes I am balding too and I'm not that old.What to do?

If you are young & balding, there must be external reasons for it e.g. stress & diet. When I was younger I had a bald spot.
My condition improved when my diet changed.

Nowadays If you want good health you have to work at it. Even if improving your diet doesn't improve your balding problem, it is an investment for the future.

Also look into detoxing especially if you don't exercise regularly. When you exercise the body purges the toxins from the body through sweat.

Yes.. i think MSG kills...if taken in huge doses...

We have heard of reports of diners dying after heavy meals..

You also have to be wary of taking something in low doses. Take for example arsenic. Did you know that exposure to low doses of arsenic for a prolonged period increases the incidence of of diabetes & cancer:eek:

We often hear that small amounts of chemicals in foods are safe, but never hear of about the long term effects. Nowadays many younger people in their 30's are getting seriously ill e.g. cancers. One has to wonder why:confused:

You also have to be wary of taking something in low doses. Take for example arsenic. Did you know that exposure to low doses of arsenic for a prolonged period increases the incidence of of diabetes & cancer:eek:

We often hear that small amounts of chemicals in foods are safe, but never hear of about the long term effects. Nowadays many younger people in their 30's are getting seriously ill e.g. cancers. One has to wonder why:confused:

thank you once again. yes chronic poisoning with low does of toxic substances can be very deceiving...i remember about the arsenic poisons found in some TCM anti asthma pills many years back. many patients of this doctor were affected...it was a big case!

I had a black (Malayan/Javan mynah) & a slightly larger brown (Common or Indian mynah), both reared from young fledglings abandoned. I agree with you, the brown common/Indian mynah was more kuai lan, always got attitude & didn't want to learn, even when i fed it chilli padi it was still kuai lan:eek: whereas the black Javan mynah was a better bird to train, mine could say Hello & Thank you & was confident enough to stay close to me when out of the cage. But occasionally both of them would escape but they would always come flying back & calling like little chicks even when they're fully grown becos they were hungry. Put your hand out for them to land but they always prefered to land on your head right? until my uncle told me to put my hand higher than your head & they'll land there, they always go for the highest part of your body to land. Those kampung days were great, these days kids where got experience these kind of fun & games.

if kids do these nowadays, parents will ask them to wash the hand and hair with dettol. then kpkb about bird flu. :D

By organic farming, what exactly is happening at the farm? Do you know most kampong chickens are actually not free range and eat commercially grown feeds?

I don't know what country you're quoting the above from but in other countries where rules are more strict, for a food producer/farmer to be certified as freerange or organic, they have to follow a set of rules & there's regular inspection. For the supermarkets to buy from such a producer & sell on the produce they have to make sure of this "compliance" or else they'll be fined & their reputation/brand & customer loyalty will be damaged & they'll be sued. Maybe in countries with less stringent rules or no such laws at all, unscrupulous people will sell caged battery hens fed with low grade commercial chicken feed as organic & freerange.

Or so-called massages for japan cows are just marketing stunts?

I really don't know what Japanese massaged cows have to do with organic or freerange farming, they can massage it all they want but if they feed it shit & we eat it, we'll be in the shits too. People in Singapore were not adversely affected by Bovine Spongiform Encephalopathy (BSE), aka Mad Cow disease. The Beef cattle industry, dairy(milk & cheese) industry & all subsequent food chains below it were severely affected in the UK. BSE is now in Ireland, France, USA etc. last count over 40 countries! When you eat infected animals or when it goes into the food chain, you get variant CJD which has already killed 166 people by 2009 in the UK alone and these are the ones that doctors have identified, who knows how many more have died or not been identified.

Organic & Freerange farming is not just about the EX label, it's about animal or crop welfare, if you treat & rear the animal well or crop & it is healthy, you get to eat a good quality product without the fear of getting ill. This should be the basic standard by which all animal & food producers should adhere to but bviously it is not. When you start to take short cuts with your produce to save money, people further down the road or food chain will suffer. Without proper animal welfare, you'll also get more cases of swine & avian flu, this is not from eating the infected animals but the crossover of the virus from animal to human.

So many fake claims out there, all designed to bullshit and sell to the masses expensive and useless stuff and services. Anything with the words "traditional", "organic", "homemade" etc. are just keywords to trick feeble minds into thinking that they are buying superior products. The commies chinese, surprisingly are experts in this field. Just look at their claims on simple green tea, basically saying that the tea leaves are as good as god's pills. Not to mention many of the dubious TCM stuff.

Like i said above, unscrupulous people selling you unscrupulous products, bring in a strict laws & stringent policing unless you want more fake baby milk & more people dying. At the end of the day, there's only so much a consumer can do when lax laws allows bad produce into the market & foodchain, that's why the organic & freerange movement & industry have sprung up to counter these negatives.

if kids do these nowadays, parents will ask them to wash the hand and hair with dettol. then kpkb about bird flu. :D

If kids do these nowadays? i don't think they're even remotely interested, they'll probably say.. uncle you Siao ah, play with wild birds, wait i report you ah!:eek:

I don't know what country you're quoting the above from but in other countries where rules are more strict, for a food producer/farmer to be certified as freerange or organic, they have to follow a set of rules & there's regular inspection. For the supermarkets to buy from such a producer & sell on the produce they have to make sure of this "compliance" or else they'll be fined & their reputation/brand & customer loyalty will be damaged & they'll be sued. Maybe in countries with less stringent rules or no such laws at all, unscrupulous people will sell caged battery hens fed with low grade commercial chicken feed as organic & freerange.

sinkie land, of course. You don't know that this forum is largely about sinkieland, after hundreds of posts? :rolleyes:

The cow massage was just an illustration of the bullshit marketing by farmers to mark up their organic and better quality beef. Do some research.

Anyway from your long reply, I can see that you are deeply into all these health scares and virtues of eating organic. You should look at this whole issue objectively, and consider the real facts and statistics. Sinkies do have as long a lifespan as many other developed countries, and yet organic food does not have a significant following here.

There was a recent scientific study in the US that found that organic food is no more nutritious or safer than non-organic ones (adequately washed, of course).

Why you bring in the china fake milk into this discussion? There is a clear distinction between using approved fertilizers and pesticides, versus illegal/banned additives like those in China.

If you want to eat whatever is available, please do. If you want to go organic, non GMO, power to you.
It is individual choice.

I would not go around banning or legislating. The cheap soy and corn is a boon for poor people who would otherwise not be able to afford food.

What I would like to see more is increased awareness of what goes into our food, more transparency, more labelling, and more people reading labels, and making a choice.
So if you are against transfats or palm derivatives, go choose another brand. But there are others who don't mind. So power to all.

I would not go around banning or legislating. The cheap soy and corn is a boon for poor people who would otherwise not be able to afford food.

What I would like to see more is increased awareness of what goes into our food, more transparency, more labelling, and more people reading labels, and making a choice.
So if you are against transfats or palm derivatives, go choose another brand. But there are others who don't mind. So power to all.

The problem is that the food manufactures are trying to hide what goes into their products & the problems that their foods represent. If you go to NTUC & read some of the labels of frozen foods e.g. fish ball, breaded fish, breaded chicken, meat pies, pizzas.... you'll find the word "Enhancers" . It's just another word for MSG:rolleyes:

The same with trans fats. Plenty of people don't want foods that contain this. It is already banned in some places in the US because trans fats are very, very damaging to ones health. Unfortunately people only find out about the dangers of trans fats after they are affected by health problems:(

Without legislation how can you "regulate" the food manufacturers from behaving irresponsibly :confused:
There are many people who are ignorant about the dangers of msg, trans fats,......
They are your busy mom, pop, ah lians,......I certainly didn't know about the dangers until I developed health issue:(

I'm sure poor people also care about their health. If companies are regulated would it really increase the price of food:confused: In the old days we didn't have these dangerous ingredient & yet the prices of food was not sky high.

sinkie land, of course. You don't know that this forum is largely about sinkieland, after hundreds of posts? :rolleyes:

Singapore does not produce all of the food it consumes, it imports a lot, what guarantees the food coming in is "clean"? that's my point.

The cow massage was just an illustration of the bullshit marketing by farmers to mark up their organic and better quality beef. Do some research.

Like i said before i don't care about massaging cows & their marketing campaigns, what they feed the cows & how they rear them is more important. Do you actually know what Organic certification means? Massaging cows does not make it Organic! And on the topic of beef, does Singapore import beef from the UK which in the past is known to be infected with BSE? NO it does not. Singapore might not have a Organic meat association or guidelines for it but Gahmen already does it's bit by not importing beef from the UK just in case. My point is about controlling & policing food quality, the lack of it in some countries have resulted in the Organic & Freerange(animal welfare) movements being set up in those countries. Singapore does not produce a lot of it's own food & thus is not aware of unscrupulous practices in these countries, you're just the end of line consumer without seeing how badly food is being made in those countries.

Anyway from your long reply, I can see that you are deeply into all these health scares and virtues of eating organic. You should look at this whole issue objectively, and consider the real facts and statistics. Sinkies do have as long a lifespan as many other developed countries, and yet organic food does not have a significant following here.

I try & eat as best as i can, i cannot afford organic most of the time, i shop with what i can afford but having seen how badly food can be produced in other countries & the very fact that Singapore imports a lot of food, you have to ask & not just be totally blind. Singapore does not have a significant following of Organic becos it does not produce or farm much, therefore you don't see the negatives of modern farming or unscrupulous farmers at work. I spend a lot of my time travelling & working outside of Singapore, i'm just telling you what i know & see.

There was a recent scientific study in the US that found that organic food is no more nutritious or safer than non-organic ones (adequately washed, of course).

Organic producers in other countries like the US have guidelines to adhere to, the food that comes from them are certified, you know the food/produce is "clean" as opposed to not knowing what goes into the others who have minimal regulation. Organic producers make an extra effort to have good quality produce, other producers might not even though they are suppose to follow US FDA rules. Same thing applies in other Angmo countries like OZ & UK. That's why people pay pay extra $$ for organic knowing that the produce is as safe & quality as best as it can be.

Why you bring in the china fake milk into this discussion? There is a clear distinction between using approved fertilizers and pesticides, versus illegal/banned additives like those in China.

I brought it up becos of what i mentioned before, the lack of control & policing over food production, suka suka cut corner in milk powder production until people die, is that what we want? where we only find out about it when someone dies, is that the kind of quality control we want for the food we eat?

Having organic certification is like an extra check on the food quality becos unscrupulous producers will continue to break rules for the sake of profit. Anyway you seem determined in your beliefs & i'm just giving you my 2cts opinion, we all have a choice.:)