• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

More to be done for elderly, says Government

blindswordsman

SINGAPORE: From reviewing and improving on the CPF system to adding more hospital beds, steps are being taken to ensure that Singapore’s elderly are taken care of, the Government said today (May 20).

"We recognise that older Singaporeans are concerned over their retirement income and eldercare options," the Government said in an addenda statement to President Tony Tan Keng Yam’s address at the reopening of Parliament last Friday.

Elderly sinkies should be allowed to have free medical care. They should not be made to depend on children for financial assistance to pay for their hospitalisation and outpatient treatment. If Tony could give away millions $$$$ to Pinoy land and Indonesia like red packets, why did not the pappies use that kind of money to provide free medical services for the elderly?

yeah, how many old people must die before they wake up?

Elderly sinkies should be allowed to have free medical care. They should not be made to depend on children for financial assistance to pay for their hospitalisation and outpatient treatment. If Tony could give away millions $$$$ to Pinoy land and Indonesia like red packets, why did not the pappies use that kind of money to provide free medical services for the elderly?

If they are genuine about this, 65 years above, will pay no GST, that is 450,000 of them, when they use any medical facilities or anything that is medical including medicine, free rides on buses & trains, outside working hours, & bury them at trade prices by ants till you see, new unit....the 'AFTERLIFE CARE"...:biggrin:

hope they start Singapore as Asia 1st euthanasia Center and 450,000 don't have to suffer their old sin.

You cannot choose not to be born, but can choose how you like to die. Death is a god given gift, use at your own choice.

When small children can jump down and kill themselves over homework and stress their suffer are over and free to roam the streets in their soul.

See mommy! no more home work ...

If they are genuine about this, 65 years above, will pay no GST, that is 450,000 of them, when they use any medical facilities or anything that is medical including medicine, free rides on buses & trains, outside working hours, & bury them at trade prices by ants till you see, new unit....the 'AFTERLIFE CARE"...:biggrin:

There is no such thing as "FREE". Someone has to pay and it is invariably in the form of sky high taxes.

The low taxes in Singapore means that children can save money to pay for the medical expenses of their aged parents.

When my parents were still around, My siblings and I paid for all their medical bills. That's what filial children do. Thanks to the PAP, I had no problems saving money that I put aside to care for my loved ones.

There is no such thing as "FREE". Someone has to pay and it is invariably in the form of sky high taxes.

The low taxes in Singapore means that children can save money to pay for the medical expenses of their aged parents.

When my parents were still around, My siblings and I paid for all their medical bills. That's what filial children do. Thanks to the PAP, I had no problems saving money that I put aside to care for my loved ones.

u are full of shyt?what bills did u pay?their polyclinic visit?their dentist bill?fucking hell,if ur parents happen to tio cancer,which happen to my uncle,u would be selling ur hdb to foot the massive 5,6 figure bill and begging and kowtowing the government for mercy.

i still dont understand why we dont have socialised medicine yet,no individual should have to bear the cost of a major crippling illness,we can never predict whom it might strike,just $1400 taxed from each individual in the country per year is enough to ensure that everybody is covered even if u need like a half a million operation for some extremely rare aneurysm in ur brain or some rare nymph node disease.

u are full of shyt?what bills did u pay?their polyclinic visit?their dentist bill?fucking hell,if ur parents happen to tio cancer,which happen to my uncle,u would be selling ur hdb to foot the massive 5,6 figure bill and begging and kowtowing the government for mercy.

i still dont understand why we dont have socialised medicine yet,no individual should have to bear the cost of a major crippling illness,we can never predict whom it might strike,just $1400 taxed from each individual in the country per year is enough to ensure that everybody is covered even if u need like a half a million operation for some extremely rare aneurysm in ur brain or some rare nymph node disease.

No health system pays for everything under the sun. There are always exclusions for rare diseases simply because money is always limited and has to spent in a manner which benefits the majority. I am most familiar with the situation in NZ so I'll provide a link to illustrate what I'm talking about

http://www.stuff.co.nz/sunday-star-times/features/740504/A-bitter-pill-10-drugs-you-can-t-have

When it comes to cancer, families have to learn not to expect miracles. Stage 3 or stage 4 cancers have a very low chance of being cured. Spending $200,000 on drugs that do nothing more than add a few months to life expectancy is not a rational decision. It's an emotional one.

My mum died of cancer. The money we spent was on making her last days pain free and comfortable rather than trying to postpone the inevitable. She specifically instructed us not to waste our money.

blindswordsman

Pappies see PR as citizens too and grant them free travel in public transport. Collect the full fares from PR and use the collection to cover free medical support for the elderly sinkies.

blindswordsman

Whether the Govt is caring or not, they can choose how to treat the senior citizens. To tax sinkies like squeezing juice from dried sugar cane and then use the tax collection to give away to other countries, does it make sense?

Money saved by the children belongs to the children. Not all children are filial. Some of them are scumbags too.

I think the gahmens of the world need to band together and stop paying for treatment for stage 3 and 4 cancer, its a bloody waste of money paid for by tax payers and the only beneficiary is the medical companies,,,,death is part of life, deal with it,,,,

No health system pays for everything under the sun. There are always exclusions for rare diseases simply because money is always limited and has to spent in a manner which benefits the majority. I am most familiar with the situation in NZ so I'll provide a link to illustrate what I'm talking about

http://www.stuff.co.nz/sunday-star-times/features/740504/A-bitter-pill-10-drugs-you-can-t-have

When it comes to cancer, families have to learn not to expect miracles. Stage 3 or stage 4 cancers have a very low chance of being cured. Spending $200,000 on drugs that do nothing more than add a few months to life expectancy is not a rational decision. It's an emotional one.

My mum died of cancer. The money we spent was on making her last days pain free and comfortable rather than trying to postpone the inevitable. She specifically instructed us not to waste our money.

The MIWs' definition of elderly could be their own parents and grandparents and in some cases, themselves. :rolleyes:

You're a filial son........but my question is this.......elderly also need to have good sex what..........what the govt can do about this?

No like-minded SINgaporeans expect FREE, all we want is to FREE from all the skimming....

thats only 635 million for christsake,new zealand population is almost the same as us.....

what is 635 million when we can blow 4.3 billion on a highway and 13 billion every year on the military?

You're a filial son........but my question is this.......elderly also need to have good sex what..........what the govt can do about this?

$40 Geylang Thai whores are a good choice for the elderly.