• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

More Local Muslims moving back to Malaysia, where their heart really is...

So if war breakout between the 2 countries, you think they will press the button to hit where their home is? Even if they dun stay in Malaysia, their relatives do.

For many of us, Home = Country you love. I wonder which is the country that these Muslims love?

Now you know why they cannot be in sensitive units? Many retired Mats all has gone back to Malaysia...

famirais.jpg

SINGAPORE - Singaporean Fahmi Rais lives in a semi-detached house with six rooms, each with an en-suite bathroom, a garden only slightly smaller than a two-room Housing Board flat, and a garage that can hold nine cars.

He bought the Johor Baru (JB) mansion for just RM550,000 (S$211,602), the average price of a two-room flat in Singapore, in 2010.

The 46-year-old is one of a growing number of middle-aged Singaporeans living across the Causeway and working here.

Mr Fahmi, an entertainment-production-company owner who is also vice-president of the Johor-Singapore Community Care Association, estimated that Singaporeans in their 40s with school-going children make up 30 per cent of the roughly 5,000 Singaporean families living in JB.

This is a stark increase from the 5 per cent to 10 per cent about four years ago, he said.

"That percentage is increasing as more young parents in their 30s follow suit. It is no longer just people wanting to retire in JB," he added.

His association seeks to cater for the long-term needs and welfare of Singaporeans living in Johor and Johoreans working in Singapore.

But why the move?

For Mr Fahmi, who used to live in a condominium in the east, it was not just the cost of living. It was also the space and the feeling of being part of a developing area, he said.

He has four children - aged four, 12, 13 and 17 - and they each have their own room now. The three older ones study in Singapore and get to their schools by car - a two-hour daily drive for Mr Fahmi.

"Outside the confines of our gates, there is nothing much to do. But we are enjoying the space, freedom and family activities together," he said, adding that his children enjoy the privacy of having a room each.

After dropping them off, it is another 20-minute drive to his workplace in Joo Chiat.

But the hassle of the long commute has faded into a quirk of living in JB.

"We are used to it. The jam is bearable, if you know what time to go and which lanes to take," he told MyPaper, adding that his wife helps him in his business.

Other Singaporeans who have jumped on the bandwagon are Mr David Ng, and his Singapore permanent resident wife.

Mr Ng, a 40-year-old car dealer, was frustrated after he was unable to get a home in Singapore, despite balloting for a Build-To-Order flat twice. He also found that he could not afford a resale flat.

The move to JB in 2009, he told MyPaper, was one of the best decisions he has made in his life.

His 3,909 sq ft corner terrace house - a 45-minute drive from the Tuas Checkpoint - cost RM296,000, roughly the price of an HDB flat one third the size.

Mr Ng has thought it all out.

"I want my children to grow up as children, with time to play, and less stress than in Singapore. As far as their future is concerned, there are many overseas universities opening here," he said.

Security in JB - which has been painted in a bad light for some time now - is not an issue, he added.

"There's a kampung spirit here. When I am on holiday, my neighbours message me if they see anything suspicious happening."

[email protected]

topspin

They have been doing this since the mid 90s . Some of them were the older ones who retired and moved there, some were the younger ones who upped stakes and migrated. Almost all of them got relatives there to provide some kind of backup and support. This movement picked up momentum a few years ago and many of our Malays now have properties there.
Where their allegiances will lie if trouble does happen its hard to say. Some will side Malaysia but some will speak out for Singapore.

It is not hard to say...they have planted their families there.

How to attack when needed? It is family for God sake.

They have been doing this since the mid 90s . Some of them were the older ones who retired and moved there, some were the younger ones who upped stakes and migrated. Almost all of them got relatives there to provide some kind of backup and support. This movement picked up momentum a few years ago and many of our Malays now have properties there.
Where their allegiances will lie if trouble does happen its hard to say. Some will side Malaysia but some will speak out for Singapore.

I think it's more about the high cost in Spore than a question of loyalty that is driving them towards Malaysia. Just look at the number of chinese Sporeans moving to JB where prices are cheaper.

gingerlyn

more sinkie muslim and malay moves to Malaysia only after PAP regime masive imports of foreign talents into Singapore.
Malay moves to Malaysia only after PAP damaged the fabric of Singapore.
please be fair to muslim community.

if chinese migrated to Australia and New Zealand (like samleong) is ok,
why such an hoo haa for malay to migrate to Malaysia

topspin

Yes, to be fair many of us here in Singapore are affected by the push and pull factors regardless of race. Its just whether we want to do anything about it and move on to where we think is a better place.

more sinkie muslim and malay moves to Malaysia only after PAP regime masive imports of foreign talents into Singapore.
Malay moves to Malaysia only after PAP damaged the fabric of Singapore.
please be fair to muslim community.

if chinese migrated to Australia and New Zealand (like samleong) is ok,
why such an hoo haa for malay to migrate to Malaysia

Okay to move but dun make noise about being not in certain military unit when your loyalty is questionable.

gingerlyn

Ah Bui
to be fair, do you notice little india incidents?
those police officers that runaway from the scene like dogs are chinese, not Malay.

Okay to move but dun make noise about being not in certain military unit when your loyalty is questionable.

Yes, to be fair many of us here in Singapore are affected by the push and pull factors regardless of race. Its just whether we want to do anything about it and move on to where we think is a better place.

interracial sexual intercourse?

oratedar

Average folks (and some slightly below average ones) moving across to the other side of causeway are plenty. Everyone seemed to know someone doing that.

Rich folks ditching Singapore for Malaysia are much harder to find.

What does that tell you.

smiling

there are plenty of non-malays, particularly Chinese that bought properties in JB recently esp in the iskandar region.
probably they thought it is an investment thingy
wonder if that is the right move

The quality of life is so much better in Malaysia. It's not so crowded, and you won't see malls and condos everywhere.

Singapore is very fake, very 'plastic' and touristy. You can't even properly see the stars at night with all the super-tall buildings producing light pollution.

Annunaki

The quality of life is so much better in Malaysia. It's not so crowded, and you won't see malls and condos everywhere.

Singapore is very fake, very 'plastic' and touristy. You can't even properly see the stars at night with all the super-tall buildings producing light pollution.

Size matters.... We are just a fucking dot and with no control over influx of foreigners how not to be crowded.