• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

"More charges against Chinese national in Budget Terminal death - Channel NewsAsia"

Zatoichi

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/1190786/1/.html
(Posted: 23 March 2012 1205 hrs)

SINGAPORE: The Chinese national who allegedly hijacked a taxi and caused the death of a cleaner at the Departure Hall of Budget Terminal on March 17 now faces three more charges.

Thirty-year-old Yuan Zhenghua was charged in court on Friday with dangerous driving causing death, driving without a valid licence and driving the cab without valid insurance policy shortly before 7am last Saturday.

For dangerous driving, Yuan could face up to five years in jail.

If convicted of illegal driving, he could be fined up to S$1,000 or jailed up to three months.

As for driving without valid insurance, Yuan could be fined up to S$1,000 or jailed a maximum of three months and disqualified from driving for a year.

Last Sunday, Yuan was charged with causing hurt to CitiCab taxi driver Yeow Chuwee Lam, by punching and strangling him when trying to steal his vehicle.

For voluntarily causing hurt in committing robbery, Yuan faces up to 20 years in jail and at least 12 strokes of the cane.

Re: "More charges against Chinese national in Budget Terminal death - Channel NewsAsi

No problem. Just go to Chinese Embassy and repent, then stir up the nationalistic feeling of the PRCs in Singapore, im sure he will get lesser than 3 years.

Re: "More charges against Chinese national in Budget Terminal death - Channel NewsAsi

Man behind taxi hijack at airport gets 25 months' jail

A China national -- who hijacked a taxi, crashed it into the then-Budget Terminal, and caused the death of an airport staff -- has been sentenced to 25 months' jail.

budget-terminal-crash.jpg

Aftermath of the Budget Terminal crash in March 2012 that killed one man. (Photo/CNA)Aftermath of the Budget Terminal crash in March 2012 that killed one man. (Photo/CNA)

SINGAPORE: A China national -- who hijacked a taxi, crashed it into the then-Budget Terminal, and caused the death of an airport staff -- has been sentenced to 25 months' jail.

31-year-old Yuan Zhenghua was on his way to the airport on March 17, 2012, when he demanded that his cab driver stop near the terminal.

Yuan, who was on his way to catch a flight to return to China for good, accused the cabby, Mr Yeow Chuwee Lam, of keeping his belongings. He punched Mr Yeow and forced him out of his seat.

Yuan later got into Mr Yeow's seat and sped off at 105 kilometres per hour, crashing into Mr Chandra Mogan Panjanathan, who was cleaning the pedestrian walkway at the terminal. The cleaner died on the spot.

Yuan was sentenced on five charges. They are: stealing a motor vehicle, dangerous driving and causing death, voluntarily causing hurt, driving without a license as well as driving without valid insurance.

In mitigation, Yuan's lawyers said he was suffering from paranoid schizophrenia at the time of the offence. However, they added that the disorder did not excuse or justify Yuan's actions.

His lawyers, who are defending him pro-bono, said Yuan is "extremely remorseful" for the tragic consequences resulting from the events.

In his judgement, District Judge Chay Yuen Fatt said many were horrified with the incident.

Judge Chay said it was understandable that there was much outpouring of public grief and condolences, following Mr Chandra's death.

He added that under these circumstances, the sentencing principle of retribution -- in addition to that of general deterrence -- is "a very material consideration".

Judge Chay also took Yuan's mental disorder into consideration. He said Yuan's psychiatric report concluded that he was legally sane, although his actions were influenced by the active symptoms of his disorder.

"I considered that the accused's mental disorder at the time of the offences would lessen his moral culpability to some degree. Nonetheless, he was aware of his actions and he has to account for them accordingly," he said.

Yuan's 25-month jail term would be backdated to March 18, 2012.

His lawyers said they have not been instructed to appeal against the sentence.

- CNA/ac

Another FT that got off lightly on the basis as a foreigner and medical condition. I wonder which laywer so free to defend him for free.

The person who died is a Malaysian?

No problem. Just go to Chinese Embassy and repent, then stir up the nationalistic feeling of the PRCs in Singapore, im sure he will get lesser than 3 years.

There, I made a prediction and I was right. 25 months. Not even two years. Puiiiiiiiiiii :oIo:

made a prediction and I was right. 25 months. Not even two years. Puiiiiiiiiiii
Oi, can count your fingers ..extra +1 month over 2 years. Or fingering someone else?;)
eErotica69 said:
who died is a Malaysian?
Yo, ah neh cleaner who commuted daily with his wife (also cleaner) on motorsai across border

Oi, can count your fingers ..extra +1 month over 2 years. Or fingering someone else?;)

Yo, ah neh cleaner who commuted daily with his wife (also cleaner) on motorsai across border

I only have 9 fingers. The 10th is in Tonychat's nose :D

Another FT that got off lightly on the basis as a foreigner and medical condition. I wonder which laywer so free to defend him for free.

WTF....... One human life for 25 months of jail term......... Kelong!!!!!

There, I made a prediction and I was right. 25 months. Not even two years. Puiiiiiiiiiii :oIo:

not exactly right lah. normally got discount of 1/4 to 1/3 of sentence write off due to good conduct and holidays deducted. spore govt dun like to give free lodging and free orh tau bern to prisoners. since sentence backdated to march 2012, there a very high chance the ah tiong will be back in ahtiongland for national day celebration.

peasant life very cheap one.:oIo:

25 months minus 13 months in detention since March 2012. That another 12 months left. Take away 1/3 early release for good conduct. All he needs is another 4 months in Changi chalet and he is a free man. What more no rotan for violent crime. He got a good deal.

He got a good deal.

better find out this pro-bono lawyer in case you need to use one

u ah tiong meh? ...

After his sentence will he be kicked out of Spore or will this dangerous FT still be wandering around somewhere in Spore:confused:

2daa4527-8ab1-422a-8ec6-17dbea56b701_630afp_silviuionescu.jpg

Hehe... I diplomat big fuck can chabot to Romania and receive three years jail sentence after such a long time.

After deduction is even less then 25months ;)

How come no one start a protest in hong leong park why FT always get special treatment ? ;)

If Ma Chi was alive he probably get the same lor....

too bad sinkies.... you voted to have these bastards to run your fucking country aND THIS IS THE SHIT YOU GET......

Seems like some facebook sites were served a threatening letter by AGC because they were uncomfortable with the public upcry against actions deemed unfair.