• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

More affordable healthcare....

the more subsidies , the more welfare schemes, the more sick a society will be
the more abuses, the more unhappiness, the more the demands..
Which sane individual choose to be sick? Are sinkees nuts?
You keep harping the same tune ...give us the numbers to prove abuse!

healthcare cost is a bottomless pit
if there is no control
No control???? To qualify for any government assistance, you need to be very poor. The means test is a control ...you can't even understand that?
So, for most sinkees, they are paying for health care themselves. The 'subsidies' in the B and above wards are just pure bs. Like the HDB flat, the cost is inflated, then a fictional subsidy is provided. In reality the full cost and more is paid by the patient.

we will all fall into the trap of eternal ill health
unnecessary medications
over treatment to pamper to demanding patients
uneducated and demanding patients
And sinkees pay for it from their own money even if your wild accusations are true. But it is not true.

just because medisave is their money, they will maximize its use and abuse it with complete abandon
medisave has been liberalized to cater to very demanding patients - this is a very dangerous thing to do
You are a health economists ah?

many singaporeans do not even have sufficienit medisave savings to pay for their hospital bills ....
some of their medical insurance cover is also not sufficient....they have to top up with cash...or see the social worker for assistance...
Thank you for supporting my point - healthcare expense is too high. Why? Because the government is not providing any subsidy!

if you want your medisave and spend it at your own whims and fancy, good for you....but be prepared for the dire consequences...when you suddenly fall ill
or meet with an accident and admitted to hospital...you will thank medisave for coming to your aid....cheers!!!
Medisave is a scheme put in place so that the government can absolve itself from providing affordable healthcare.

easy to talk, easy to say, but come to reality, afraid to admit....
Your kopitiam talk is not fit for further discussion here. If you want to make accusation, then throw some figures to prove your point.

Re: Why the latest proposed 'affordable' medical charges make me sick

Ho say!

Sinkies being fucked of more billions to add to those hundreds of billions already screwed from them into smear of shit on sole of shoe LKY stinkapore sovereign funds and to make their obscene pay even more obscene

Sinkies taught the price of what it meant to vote for those walking bags of excrement called the PAP

Which sane individual choose to be sick? Are sinkees nuts?
You keep harping the same tune ...give us the numbers to prove abuse!

go ask your doctor friends...if you don't know, just shut up....the realities on the ground
are what you see not the statistics that are posted....patients get more sick with more subsidies

Agree.

It is OUR hard-earned money to begin with.:mad:

To save your time from reading.

What it is all about is that they want to squeeze yet more money from you monthly, despite the regular increase in medisave, medishield and whats not. :(

Singapore has an excellent health care system. It can only get better.

If all the measures being discussed are put into place, it will rank #1 or close.

I would like to take this opportunity to congratulate the PAP government for a job well done.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/World_Health_Organization_ranking_of_health_systems

Ranking[edit source | editbeta]

[TABLE="class: wikitable sortable jquery-tablesorter"]
<tbody>[TR]
[TH="class: headerSort, bgcolor: #F2F2F2, align: center"]Ranking[/TH]
[TH="class: headerSort, bgcolor: #F2F2F2, align: center"]Country[/TH]
[TH="class: headerSort, bgcolor: #F2F2F2, align: center"]Expenditure Per Capita[/TH]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD]1[/TD]
[TD] France[/TD]
[TD]4[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD]2[/TD]
[TD] Italy[/TD]
[TD]11[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD]3[/TD]
[TD] San Marino[/TD]
[TD]21[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD]4[/TD]
[TD]
22px-Flag_of_Andorra.svg.png
Andorra[/TD]
[TD]23[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD]5[/TD]
[TD]
23px-Flag_of_Malta.svg.png
Malta[/TD]
[TD]37[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD]6[/TD]
[TD] Singapore[/TD]
[TD]38[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD]7[/TD]
[TD] Spain[/TD]
[TD]24[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD]8[/TD]
[TD] Oman[/TD]
[TD]62[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD]9[/TD]
[TD]
23px-Flag_of_Austria.svg.png
Austria[/TD]
[TD]6[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD]10[/TD]
[TD] Japan[/TD]
[TD]13[/TD]
[/TR]
</tbody>[/TABLE]

Singapore[edit source | editbeta]

Main article: Health in Singapore

Health care in Singapore is mainly under the responsibility of the Singapore Government's Ministry of Health. Singapore generally has an efficient and widespread system of health care. It implements a universal health care system, and co-exists with private health care system. Infant mortality rate: in 2006 the crude birth rate stood at 10.1 per 1000, and the crude death rate was also one of the lowest in the world at 4.3 per 1000. In 2006, the total fertility rate was only 1.26 children per woman, the 3rd lowest in the world and well below the 2.10 needed to replace the population. Singapore was ranked 6th in the World Health Organization's ranking of the world's health systems in the year 2000.

Singapore has a universal health care system where government ensures affordability, largely through compulsory savings and price controls, while the private sector provides most care. Overall spending on health care amounts to only 3% of annual GDP. Of that, 66% comes from private sources.[SUP][30][/SUP] Singapore currently has the lowest infant mortality rate in the world (equaled only by Iceland) and among the highest life expectancies from birth, according to the World Health Organization.[SUP][31][/SUP]

Singapore has "one of the most successful health care systems in the world, in terms of both efficiency in financing and the results achieved in community health outcomes," according to an analysis by global consulting firm Watson Wyatt.[SUP][32][/SUP]

Singapore's system uses a combination of compulsory savings from payroll deductions (funded by both employers and workers) a nationalized catastrophic health insurance plan, and government subsidies, as well as "actively regulating the supply and prices of health care services in the country" to keep costs in check; the specific features have been described as potentially a "very difficult system to replicate in many other countries." Many Singaporeans also have supplemental private health insurance (often provided by employers) for services not covered by the government's programs.[SUP][32]
[/SUP]

Singapore’s well-established health care system comprises a total of 13 private hospitals, 10 public (government) hospitals and several specialist clinics, each specializing in and catering to different patient needs, at varying costs.

Patients are free to choose the providers within the government or private health care delivery system and can walk in for a consultation at any private clinic or any government polyclinic. For emergency services, patients can go at any time to the 24-hour Accident & Emergency Departments located in the government hospitals.

Singapore's medical facilities are among the finest in the world, with well qualified doctors and dentists, many trained overseas.
Singapore has medical savings account system known as Medisave.

By the way, medisave minimum sum increased from $43,500 to $45,500 wef 1st July 2013.

healthcare cost is not an easy subject and it is a very sensitive political-economic-social issue. those who are really serious about this subject can dwell further by reading up ...not by casting emotional outbursts in this forum. health is not a simple issue. disease and ill health mean different things to different people. you find all sorts of nuts in the society. these crackpots and nutty people will drain resources, make unreasonable demands and abuse the system ( if it is not under control)...

I personally applaud the government for instituting this Medisave Scheme and I express misgivings if the Government cave in to liberalize the use of the Medisave.We are opening a Pandora's box to people who do not understand the bottomless pit of healthcare cost. The only worry I have here is the increase in the premium paid by members of Income Shield. The way the premium is going up will affect many Singaporeans,especially the retirees. Some of them are in the pink of health and who do not make any claims at all. Some are using the medical insurance as if it is a bottomless pit of medical subsidies. There are cases of wanton abuses and this makes people more sick and more hypochondriac...and even schizoid and paranoid. Self created illnesses just to make use of the medical subsidies available and to maximize the use of their medical insurance. This is very depressing and because of this, premiums will have to rise and rise .The healthy ones will have to share the cost of this nutty group. If you think healthcare management is so easy, give it a shot...haha

By the way, medisave minimum sum increased from $43,500 to $45,500 wef 1st July 2013.

Agree.

Medisave minimum sum increase together with Minimum sum of Retirement also increase. By the time we at age 55 and 65, what we can take back from CPF, semua habis !!:mad:

Agree.

Medisave minimum sum increase together with Minimum sum of Retirement also increase. By the time we at age 55 and 65, what we can take back from CPF, semua habis !!:mad:

When the government does not get involved in certain issues, they are accused of not lifting a finger to help the people.

When they get involved and come up with schemes to safeguard the finances needed for healthcare, they are accused of being overbearing and harboring hidden agendas.

You guys really are pathetic. :rolleyes:

Agree.

the more reason for you to work harder and earn more and save more....if you don't have the minimum sum when you reach 55 and if there is nothing for you to withdraw, it simply means that you have not been working hard enough and save enough. the cpfb is doing you a favour saving for you and giving you a good interest for your savings..we should thank the cpfb instead of condemning it....cheers.

if you retire at 55 and withdraw all your money at 55, who knows what can happen ??? not many have enough in their cpf to have any withdrawals at all...where got semua habis..the money is still safe with cpfb and it is still your money earning good interest: safe, secured and soaring...

When the government does not get involved in certain issues, they are accused of not lifting a finger to help the people.

When they get involved and come up with schemes to safeguard the finances needed for healthcare, they are accused of being overbearing and harboring hidden agendas.

You guys really are pathetic. :rolleyes:

Tuan,

You lagi pathetic as well as lethargic !

Our CPF is used for investments but they postponed our rightful withdrawal time and again !!!:mad:

Tuan,

Our CPF is used for investments but they postponed our rightful withdrawal time and again !!!:mad:

If you withdraw everything at 55, what are you going to use when you need $$$ for major open heart surgery at 65?

The government cares for you. That's why they have no choice but to prevent you from squandering your hard earned savings.

Tuan,

at 55, sir , why are you in such a hurry to withdraw at such a young age?

you should continue to work and contribute to the society and your money in cpfb continues to increase with interest...such a scheme is good for you.

If you withdraw everything at 55, what are you going to use when you need $$$ for major open heart surgery at 65?

The government cares for you. That's why they have no choice but to prevent you from squandering your hard earned savings.

absolutely true!!!

Tuan, don't be anaemic !

When it is time for us to withdraw at age 65, but increase withdrawal age to 75, you will still say at age 75 you have surgery, you need money.

This is ridiculous !:mad:

Tuan, don't be anaemic !

When it is time for us to withdraw at age 65, but increase withdrawal age to 75, you will still say at age 75 you have surgery, you need money.

This is ridiculous !:mad:

Life expectancies are increasing so it is only logical that the withdrawal age be adjusted accordingly.

SINGAPORE: The Government Parliamentary Committee (GPC) for Health has submitted four recommendations to the government to make healthcare more affordable.

One is the right siting of care within the continuum of care.

The GPC said feedback from social workers indicates that they see regular cases of clients who choose to voluntarily admit themselves or extend their stay in hospital so that they can use their Medisave for treatment.

It said Medisave curbs that over-encourage the use of acute healthcare system should be reduced and minimised.

It also wants the current ElderShield payout to be revised.

The GPC said the current payout is not enough for Singaporeans to even cover nursing home fees.

The second recommendation is managing rising healthcare costs.

The GPC said the standard drug list should be expanded and regularly reviewed.

This will benefit the public as the cost of medication will be lowered and out-of-pocket cost minimised.

Enhancing the 3M framework is another recommendation.

The GPC said the scope of Medisave usage should be enhanced.

Medisave should be allowed to be used for health screening, essential dental procedures, physiotherapy and occupational therapy up to a certain cap to prevent excessive usage.

Medisave withdrawal limits should be regularly reviewed to ensure that the out-of-pocket expenditure for Singaporeans remains manageable.

It wants to make sure that Medisave is not depleted prematurely as people use it to support family members.

The GPC also wants the government to strengthen and expand the MediShield coverage to community and social care costs and remove the age ceiling on MediShield.

Finally the GPC said existing medical assistance schemes and frameworks should be reviewed and rationalised.

It wants the age criterion of Community Health Assist Scheme (CHAS) removed, the Chronic Disease Management Programme (CDMP) expanded and the Medisave limits on usage under CDMP raised.

The GPC also wants existing financial support schemes and their application processes reviewed and simplified to ensure accessibility to those who need them.

GPC chairman Lam Pin Min has submitted the recommendations to the Ministry of Health for its consideration.

He said: "We have received feedback that there are occasions that patients ran out of Medisave to pay their premiums and as a result their MediShield lapsed.

"In times of crisis when they need medical treatment or hospitalisation, they are unable to tap on Medishield to pay for their medical expenses and for such cases sometimes they have to apply to the medical social worker and the hospital for Medifund assistance...

"Instead of using Medifund to pay for their entire bill, wouldn't it be cheaper if someone could come along to assist these patients to pay for the premium - which will definitely cost much less than the total cost of the treatment itself?

"With that, we hope the government can look into some form of assistance scheme to prevent the MediShield coverage of these low-income Singaporeans to lapse."

He added: "I personally feel the current 3M framework is actually a good one. However, we need to tweak it, to make it even better, such as liberalising the use of Medisave and strengthening the coverage of MediShield so that eventually the out-of-pocket expenditure by Singaporeans will be left more manageable."

Health Minister Gan Kim Yong said the GPC's report is a thoughtful one, reflecting the concerns of many Singaporeans.

He agreed with the key thrusts such as care integration, managing healthcare costs, enhancing the healthcare financing framework and reviewing and rationalising existing medical assistance schemes.

Mr Gan said the ministry is studying the suggestions, adding that many of the current policy reviews are aligned to the recommendations.

- CNA/xq/ir

The biggest cost to healthcare is the salaries of the specialists, the high end equipments and the cost of drugs. So try cutting down all the so-called "Susan Lims", and negotiated (really negotiate!) for the equipments and try to bring more generics drugs to the scene. U will find huge savings in your medical bills!!

go ask your doctor friends...if you don't know, just shut up....the realities on the ground
are what you see not the statistics that are posted....patients get more sick with more subsidies

WTF subsidies, I for one...avoid the doctors, unless I have something in which I can not cure with OTC ( over the counter medication)...what sub..!?? All I want is that we can but certain patented OTC medicines, which we can buy from the pharmacies, without having to see a doctor & get a prescription.

For example...a certain common drug for certain condition 90% of us have... we have to see a doc to obtain that, for a strip of 10 tabs x 3 = the charge plus doc fees comes to $35. A strip of that drug, branded from Government pharmacies is 0.13cts per tab...same brand, some OTHER places...0.03 per tab, generic is even cheaper. I go see my private doc for a refill of 30 tabs ( 3 x 10), he wanted to charge me for $30... that is $1 a tab, I declined...

What I am saying is there are certain patented drug, that the general public takes for long term can be bought cheaply over the counter, these are not class C drugs under the Poison Act, we are made to buy them from the doctors, who sell them at a profit!!.

Is this the subsidies you are mumbling above..we abused subsidies...who want to be sick!