• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

More affordable healthcare....

SINGAPORE: The Government Parliamentary Committee (GPC) for Health has submitted four recommendations to the government to make healthcare more affordable.

One is the right siting of care within the continuum of care.

The GPC said feedback from social workers indicates that they see regular cases of clients who choose to voluntarily admit themselves or extend their stay in hospital so that they can use their Medisave for treatment.

It said Medisave curbs that over-encourage the use of acute healthcare system should be reduced and minimised.

It also wants the current ElderShield payout to be revised.

The GPC said the current payout is not enough for Singaporeans to even cover nursing home fees.

The second recommendation is managing rising healthcare costs.

The GPC said the standard drug list should be expanded and regularly reviewed.

This will benefit the public as the cost of medication will be lowered and out-of-pocket cost minimised.

Enhancing the 3M framework is another recommendation.

The GPC said the scope of Medisave usage should be enhanced.

Medisave should be allowed to be used for health screening, essential dental procedures, physiotherapy and occupational therapy up to a certain cap to prevent excessive usage.

Medisave withdrawal limits should be regularly reviewed to ensure that the out-of-pocket expenditure for Singaporeans remains manageable.

It wants to make sure that Medisave is not depleted prematurely as people use it to support family members.

The GPC also wants the government to strengthen and expand the MediShield coverage to community and social care costs and remove the age ceiling on MediShield.

Finally the GPC said existing medical assistance schemes and frameworks should be reviewed and rationalised.

It wants the age criterion of Community Health Assist Scheme (CHAS) removed, the Chronic Disease Management Programme (CDMP) expanded and the Medisave limits on usage under CDMP raised.

The GPC also wants existing financial support schemes and their application processes reviewed and simplified to ensure accessibility to those who need them.

GPC chairman Lam Pin Min has submitted the recommendations to the Ministry of Health for its consideration.

He said: "We have received feedback that there are occasions that patients ran out of Medisave to pay their premiums and as a result their MediShield lapsed.

"In times of crisis when they need medical treatment or hospitalisation, they are unable to tap on Medishield to pay for their medical expenses and for such cases sometimes they have to apply to the medical social worker and the hospital for Medifund assistance...

"Instead of using Medifund to pay for their entire bill, wouldn't it be cheaper if someone could come along to assist these patients to pay for the premium - which will definitely cost much less than the total cost of the treatment itself?

"With that, we hope the government can look into some form of assistance scheme to prevent the MediShield coverage of these low-income Singaporeans to lapse."

He added: "I personally feel the current 3M framework is actually a good one. However, we need to tweak it, to make it even better, such as liberalising the use of Medisave and strengthening the coverage of MediShield so that eventually the out-of-pocket expenditure by Singaporeans will be left more manageable."

Health Minister Gan Kim Yong said the GPC's report is a thoughtful one, reflecting the concerns of many Singaporeans.

He agreed with the key thrusts such as care integration, managing healthcare costs, enhancing the healthcare financing framework and reviewing and rationalising existing medical assistance schemes.

Mr Gan said the ministry is studying the suggestions, adding that many of the current policy reviews are aligned to the recommendations.

- CNA/xq/ir

It is good for the government to review all the healthcare schemes and make medical care affordable. But it should be aware of patients abusing the system. The Medisave is very heavily used and it will not be a surprise if the Minimum Sum is raised again.

Abuse happens only when onerous restrictions are there.

Medisave should be allowed to be used for health screening, essential dental procedures, physiotherapy and occupational therapy up to a certain cap to prevent excessive usage.

opening another pandora's box....how not to deplete the medisave....

once the strict criteria and restrictions are removed, medisave will be abused and it will soon be depleted....many uncles and aunties on CHAS are already abusing the system....

and with the release of more uses of the medisave, the population will get " more sick, more sick people on medications, more paranoid and a more sickly society...."

once the strict criteria and restrictions are removed, medisave will be abused and it will soon be depleted....many uncles and aunties on CHAS are already abusing the system....

and with the release of more uses of the medisave, the population will get " more sick, more sick people on medications, more paranoid and a more sickly society...."

That's the problem with PAPpies ...they don't think. Medisave issue is NOT the problem. The problem is the HIGH cost of healthcare in sinkapore. Why is healthcare provided in government hospitals so high?????? The doctors are on salaries, the hospitals have economies of scale advantage, they are able to pay low wages to foreign nurses ....so who is pocketing the hidden profits?????

Healthcare cost is an escalating item world wide. Nothing unique about the Singapore system. Medisave is supposed to be used for in patient treatment.Now it is being liberalised and the patient can dip in for many purposes. It will be depleted very quickly. When the minimum sum is raised, patients make noise.

Who is pocketing the hidden profits? You got the statistics, please share.Otherwise, you can be in deep shit.

Healthcare cost is an escalating item world wide. Nothing unique about the Singapore system. Medisave is supposed to be used for in patient treatment.Now it is being liberalised and the patient can dip in for many purposes. It will be depleted very quickly. When the minimum sum is raised, patients make noise.
Alamak, why you keep comparing sinkapore with the world only when it is convenient? Compare minister salaries with other government, you say cannot. Now, you want to compare healthcare cost. You know ah, in Nordic countries, everyone can afford to be sick. Getting sick won't make a financial dent.
Controlling medisave is a red herring ...the problem is not with medisave. Control cost of healthcare ...government needs to truly subsidize healthcare instead of pretending to. Why should a person have to see his life goes into shambles just because of a serious medical condition?
Using public healthcare in sinkapore is more expensive than using the private system in Thailand or Malaysia. You tell me why is this so?

Who is pocketing the hidden profits? You got the statistics, please share.Otherwise, you can be in deep shit.
You ask the Dept of Statistics lah ...how would I know?

We need examples of the ridiculous charges from government hospitals to be posted here.

We are not bothered with world wide...everytime there will be comparison with this or that country..who the f$#$@k cares...we are interested only for the government to provide affordable medical services to the people...

The provision of such services had been shifted to focus on Money...public hospitals & healthcare service centres ( aka Polyclinics) had became COST CENTRES..they are ran with a view to minimize cost & maximize profits..of course, now they are 'trying' to refocus this..

The Medisave min sum had been raised so many times...& will still be raised...where do our medisave money go to?? say each person have an amount of say $30,000, 1 million people...that will be 30,000,000,000 count how many zeroes in it!!

Where does this money goes to?? MOH? to build & maintain the hospitals etc...or had it been given to MOF...so much money collected, yet costs keeps rising...medisave min sum keep rising...

What has this got to do with worldwide..?? whatever!??

The provision of such services had been shifted to focus on Money...public hospitals & healthcare service centres ( aka Polyclinics) had became COST CENTRES..they are ran with a view to minimize cost & maximize profits..of course, now they are 'trying' to refocus this..

They are PROFIT centres ...that's why public healthcare is so expensive despite being 'subsidized'.

They prefer to call them COST Centres, to manage healthcare costs!! but you already know...the costs is to us!!

Affordable or not depends on $$$ of patient or his family. But I always get to hear old people in hawker centres and kpts say it is better and cheaper to be dead in S'pore than kena major illness or long term treatment.

They prefer to call them COST Centres, to manage healthcare costs!! but you already know...the costs is to us!!

for your info the Polyclinics have been bleeding....and bleeding profusely with huge subsidies to patients.
the major problem is simply abuse of subsidized medical treatment thus draining the resources....
some patients are simply abusing the system and making unreasonable demands on the system.....the should be educated on healthcare

they should take responsibility for their own healthcare...
you cannot expect a government to wash your backside and jaga your health all the time....

if you cannot even take care of yourself and be responsible for your own health, you deserve no subsidies...you have to be taught a lesson: pay dearly for your own indulgences and poor and unhealthy life-styles. don't blame the government. don't blame medisave. don't blame the system. blame yourself for your miserable state of health. period.

Why the latest proposed 'affordable' medical charges make me sick

The steadfasly held policies on everything come tumbling down, the latest about making healthcare more affordable. It is a situation of someone beating you up and then offering to subsidise you medical fees to offset the damage he did to you. Note that it is the PAP MPs coming to the fore on this one, thus adding feathers to their cap about their contributions when 2016 comes around.

The money in Medisave etc belong to each of us, but being dispensed at the pleasure of the government, as though THEY are helping us. Remember, it is OUR own money which is being distributed back to us. It came from no one else!

=======================

SINGAPORE
— Calling for a fundamental shift in the healthcare system to make it more affordable, the Government Parliamentary Committee for Health yesterday added its weight behind earlier calls to tilt the healthcare financing framework — comprising Medisave, MediShield and Medifund — towards preventive healthcare and care in the community setting, away from the traditional focus on hospitalisation care.

Notably, it stressed the need to ensure the relevance of MediShield — a national catastrophic insurance scheme primarily for larger inpatient bills — citing feedback that some doctors are even advising their patients to allow their MediShield coverage to lapse because the premiums were too high. Instead, they recommend their patients to apply for Medifund — an endowment fund set up by the Government to help needy Singaporeans who cannot pay for their medical expenses.

The healthcare financing framework is currently under review.

Yesterday, the committee — chaired by Sengkang West Member of Parliament (MP) Lam Pin Min and comprising seven other MPs — released a report with a slew of recommendations aimed at improving healthcare affordability. In a letter to Dr Lam, Health Minister Gan Kim Yong said his ministry is studying the suggestions.

While the majority of the report focused on the 3M system, it also called for better integration of social care with medical care to reduce Singaporeans’ utilisation of hospitals. To serve as a check and balance and allow the public to make better-informed choices, it also recommended that the Health Ministry or Singapore Medical Council conduct annual surveys on professional fees and medical costs and make public the information.

General practitioners also have a greater role to play as part of the primary healthcare system, the report said, and medical assistance schemes should be expanded to cover all chronic diseases and people of all ages.

On the 3M system, the committee suggested that Medisave usage be liberalised to include, for instance, health screening, essential dental procedures, physiotherapy and occupational therapy.

The limits on Medisave usage should be reviewed regularly to be “in line” with rising medical costs and be tiered according to age groups, the committee said. At the same time, the Government should look into creating safeguards to prevent individuals from depleting their Medisave accounts to pay for their family members’ medical expenses. And when this happens despite the safeguards, the Government should provide financial support.

Similarly, for MediShield, the Government should step in to “guarantee” coverage for Singaporeans who cannot afford to pay the premiums.

Citing a TODAY report last month which surveyed 50 young working adults and found an overwhelming majority were willing to pay higher premiums to reduce the burden on the elderly, the committee also proposed a “reversed premium structure” where an individual pays a lower premium as he gets older.

A Singaporean or permanent resident aged between 21 and 30 currently pays an annual premium of S$66. At the other end of the spectrum, a Singaporean or PR aged between 86 and 90 pays S$1,190 a year.

While the policy intent of MediShield is clear, the committee said that “realities pale in comparison with its actual intent”. It added that some Singaporeans have allowed their coverage to lapse because premiums “have risen so high during their old age, it has become impossible for (them) to maintain their coverage”.

The committee said: “Even periodic top-ups by the Government to the Medisave meant as payment for MediShield premiums were in vain as these were utilised for hospital bill payments.” It also suggested removing the age limit of 90 years and extending MediShield coverage to social and community care.

Welcoming the committee’s suggestions, healthcare financing experts TODAY spoke to felt that the proposed changes were overdue.

Professor Phua Kai Hong of the Lee Kuan Yew School of Public Policy said it was crucial to align the healthcare financing system to support step-down care. “Now we are moving to different levels of care ... the financing mechanism should support that,” he said.

Dr Jeremy Lim, Principal Consultant at Insights Health Associates, said by asking the Government to step in to guarantee MediShield coverage for those who cannot afford premiums, the committee was “in essence asking for (the scheme) to be nationalised”. “This is a good thing. Every Singaporean should have the ‘peace of mind’ that health insurance can provide,” he said.

Dr Lim noted that an “important thrust” of healthcare reforms is how they can change the way the system delivers care. For example, because of the way some insurance policies are structured, a patient might prefer to stay overnight in hospital instead of seeking outpatient treatment, hence unnecessarily taking up bed space.

PAP Gan talk cock. Even if abuse medisave so what? Mediasave is the patient's own money ok.

Exactly, everyone needs to be reminded that it is our own money to start with, kept by the govt to be 'given' to us at their whim and fancy, and when they need to win elections.

Affordable or not depends on $$$ of patient or his family. But I always get to hear old people in hawker centres and kpts say it is better and cheaper to be dead in S'pore than kena major illness or long term treatment.

The old folks are correct. If you get sick, you could deplete your life savings and also end up in debt. You may be cured but a miserable life of frugality is ahead. What's the point?

for your info the Polyclinics have been bleeding....and bleeding profusely with huge subsidies to patients.
the major problem is simply abuse of subsidized medical treatment thus draining the resources....
some patients are simply abusing the system and making unreasonable demands on the system.....the should be educated on healthcare

What crap are you spewing???? Polyclinics are bleeding financially from abuse? Most sinkees use private doctors, not polyclinics. Those who go to polyclinics can't afford private clinics. Is that abuse?
What is 'unreasonable' demands?

they should take responsibility for their own healthcare...
you cannot expect a government to wash your backside and jaga your health all the time....
If the PAP can't do that, then quit.

if you cannot even take care of yourself and be responsible for your own health, you deserve no subsidies...you have to be taught a lesson: pay dearly for your own indulgences and poor and unhealthy life-styles. don't blame the government. don't blame medisave. don't blame the system. blame yourself for your miserable state of health. period.
You accuse us of deliberately choosing to be sick? You think we are stupid ah? You think we want to give our money away ah? Alamak, you starting to sound like Old Fart. Please lah ...think before you shoot.

the more subsidies , the more welfare schemes, the more sick a society will be
the more abuses, the more unhappiness, the more the demands..
healthcare cost is a bottomless pit
if there is no control
we will all fall into the trap of eternal ill health
unnecessary medications
over treatment to pamper to demanding patients
uneducated and demanding patients

just because medisave is their money, they will maximize its use and abuse it with complete abandon
medisave has been liberalized to cater to very demanding patients - this is a very dangerous thing to do

many singaporeans do not even have sufficienit medisave savings to pay for their hospital bills ....
some of their medical insurance cover is also not sufficient....they have to top up with cash...or see the social worker for assistance...

if you want your medisave and spend it at your own whims and fancy, good for you....but be prepared for the dire consequences...when you suddenly fall ill
or meet with an accident and admitted to hospital...you will thank medisave for coming to your aid....cheers!!!

easy to talk, easy to say, but come to reality, afraid to admit....