• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

MDA questions Seelan over Francis Seow video

metalslug

http://yoursdp.org/index.php/news/singapore/3924-mda-questions-seelan-over-francis-seow-video

MDA questions Seelan over Francis Seow video
Wednesday, 01 September 2010
Singapore Democrats

francis%20seow.jpg

Filmmaker and human rights campaigner Mr Seelan Palay has submitted a video to the Media Development Authority (MDA) for rating as required under the law. The video is an interview of Singapore's former solicitor-general (SG) Mr Francis Seow.

Mr Seelan had submitted the film last year. The agency now wants to know the purpose of Mr Seelan producing the film and whether the video is accurate. Mr Seelan's replies are reproduced below.

Mr Seow was also the president of the Law Society of Singapore (LSS) in the mid-1980s. As president, Mr Seow indicated that the Society would play a greater role in keeping watch on the laws the PAP passed.

Of particular concern was the amendment of the Newspaper Printing and Presses Act which allowed the Government even greater control of the media in Singapore.

This enraged Mr Lee Kuan Yew who was then prime minister.

Mr Seow was subsequently arrested and detained under the Internal Security Act in 1987 together with those accused of being part of a Marxist conspiracy to overthrow the Government. He was removed as the LSS's president.

After his release from detention and after standing as a candidate in the 1988 general elections, Mr Seow left for the US. This video interview was recorded in the US where he now lives.

In the inerview the former SG spoke on a wide range of issues including the inner workings of the PAP Government and Madam Kwa Geok Choo's (Mrs Lee Kuan Yew) role.

Below are Mr Seelan's responses to the MDA's queries:

seelanp.jpg

Seelan Palay

What is your purpose in producing the Film?

Why is the MDA asking me this question? I am required to submit this video for rating which is exactly what I am doing. My purpose of producing this film has nothing to do with the rating process. But if you must know, I would like Singaporeans to hear what Mr Francis Seow has to say about our national affairs.

You have stated in your submission that the Film is a "documentary...and composed wholly of an accurate account depicting actual events, persons ... or situations..." What are your reasons and premises for indicating that the Film is such a documentary? Could you explain how the Film is "an accurate account"?

Can you explain which part of the film is not an accurate account and how it is not accurate? I will respond accordingly.

Your submission also states that the Film is for "Private film screening". Please elaborate on what you mean and intend by "Private film screening", and who the intended target audience is.

Private film screening is where I invite my friends to come to my place and watch the film.

Your submission further states the Film will be for "distribution". Please elaborate on the medium and platform for such distribution.

I would like to make copies of the film and pass it to my friends for their own viewing.

Have you informed the interviewee of your intention to have the Film privately screened and distributed in Singapore?

What has my communication with Mr Seow anything to do the rating of the film?

In step with a Producer's responsibility, have you exercised editorial oversight in parts of the interview which, on the face of it, can be regarded as defamatory?

You are the MDA, not the Supreme Court. Your job is to give me a rating, not decide on whether the content is defamatory or not.

In step with a Producer's responsibility, have you exercised editorial oversight and ascertained accuracy with regard to what was said by the interviewee about being driven out of the country?

If there is any inaccuracy, I am sure the relevant authorities will clarify it. You are not the proper authority to determine the accuracy or inaccuracy of Mr Francis Seow's claims because you do not know the facts. You do not have to be the gatekeeper of what the public watches or hears. Let Singaporeans watch and hear both sides of the story.

The film ends with the Producer's statement that, "Francis T. Seow currently lives in exile in the United States ...". Have you ascertained if this is factually correct?

I am amenable to removing this sentence.

Overall, have you exercised editorial oversight to enable viewers to develop an informed understanding?

The answer is yes. Perhaps you should more appropriately pose this question to Channel News Asia, the Straits Times, The New Paper, and all other local mainstream media outlets.

Very good. The MDA has been very active recently. It looks like they should do another music video instead of spending time asking questions which have nothing to do with their role in society.

Very good reply by Seelan. He is a potential leader.

Seelan's reply was very 'Sialan', but I like the last paragraph :D

From now on, he will be known as Sialan Palay.

He's been looking for Locke Liberal. He wants to beat Locke up (no pun intended).

Please keep your homosexual fetishes confined to the other sammyboy forum. And this is for your own good ... if seelan wants to beat YOU, trust me it will not be masturbation.

Very good. The MDA has been very active recently. It looks like they should do another music video instead of spending time asking questions which have nothing to do with their role in society.

It is a good response to MDA, that much I agree, but I felt some parts were too curt.

For example: "Can you explain which part of the film is not an accurate account and how it is not accurate? I will respond accordingly" was not a good response.

Seelan should have stated why he thought he had portrayed the truth, and THEN challenged MDA accordingly only AFTER he has demonstrated he has done his homework properly.

By throwing MDA's question back without any elaboration, Seelan failed to convince me he has exercised his due diligence, and he is actually given MDA ammo to fire him back.

I know some pple might disagree with me, but that's my view.

You have stated in your submission that the Film is a "documentary...and composed wholly of an accurate account depicting actual events, persons ... or situations..." What are your reasons and premises for indicating that the Film is such a documentary? Could you explain how the Film is "an accurate account"?

Can you explain which part of the film is not an accurate account and how it is not accurate? I will respond accordingly.

I thought that was a good reply. If they feel something is inaccurate, they should point out which part and then Seelan will explain.

I like the part where Seelan said your job is to rate the film, and not to decide on whether the content is defamatory or not.

I don't find Seelan's response confrontational but certainly not submissive [to MDA], in fact Seelan demonstrated he is a fair person by the "I am amenable to removing this sentence" for the Producer's final statement.

The entire SDP contingent have, over the years, undergone intensive training under the auspices of the Subordinate Courts and Supreme Court of Singapore.

I believe CSJ is more familiar with court procedures than most lawyers in Singapore.

Well done, Seelan! Well done SDP!

This is absurd. I salute the say Seelan counter question the MDA.

If all Singaporeans jsut have 10% of Seelan's guts, the PAP will chicken out.

Way to go Seelan....let people judge whether the info or video is true or false. After 45 years ...of independent, you mean the population is not mautre enough to discern....then that is not nation building, it is nation searching...searching in the dark. That's one of the main reason why so many Singaporeans like me immigrated....most of us have degrees or higher degrees from overseas.bec. we know how to think and not like most of the local graduates which are trained to follow the model answers...."LKY is god and he cannot do no wrong".

If a producer needs to clearify that what he captured in the films or video is correct and 100% accurate, then who dares to be producer in Singapore? Can the Singapore TV news station do so?

If Francis Seow lies about his treatment from the ISD, then go after Francis Seow why goes after someone who took time to produce and air such films. He is only a massenger to make the film availiable.

It is up to the viewers to discern.

It is like what LKY's daughter contantly writes about the suffering of her mamma. Is all she said are accurate? What is her purposes of writing...to gain sympathy to her family or to show that her family is humans after all? Is there a political agenda or motive for her to write...to gain sympathy votes?

Enough! Why should we care about all these questions. Let her write what she wants. We can choose to read or not to read and do believe and not to believe. We can be sad tht her mother is suffering or be happy because this is a good way to get back to LKY. Is the govt going to control the people's emotion and judgement then.

If not, why then is Seelan treated to" lim kopi"?

One thing you will notice that most of those persecuted by the PAP regime have one way or another belong to the SDP?

Two ways to look at it.

The SDPs are out-of-line, they are confrontational, thye do not fit into Singapore type of consultative politics etc.

On the other hand, it shows the PAP and LKY in particular is very afraid of the SDP. He knows from the bottom of his heart, these young people have the guts and have the brains.

Honestly I have been in the PAP Youth Wing and I did suggest a few things and you know what they are implemented...like Sing Singapore, later under the pressure of SDP they rethink my idea of Speaker's Corner, and a few more. However when come to the core of transparency and accountability, there is no way I can find any giveaways from the PAP.

You look at SDP, all they are fighting for is Transparency and Accountabilty...what's wrong with that?

Their matter of matching on the streets might be abit out of wack in Singapore culture (i.e. culture of fear) but deep inside Singaporeans don't they think it is a good show of guts?

Who is more confrontational...walking with a group of families with kids in the Tak Bolen Tahan or at 2am 5 to 7 plain cloths policemen and policewomen knock at your home front door?

Singaporeans always complain about people have not guts to go against PAP and not we see a group of true-blue Singaporeans OPENLY stand up against god LKY and yet so many start to condemn the SDP.

Goodness just go to the store and buy the book "A nation cheated" or go to SDP HD to buy it or buy some magazines or look out when the SDP will be selling the magazines in the public place....go there with a few friends, yea if they charge $2 per magazine, just give them $5 or $10 and tell them to keep the change. Is that asking too much for a party whose members are prepared to go to jail and be bankrupted Singapore....yes for YOU.

Just imagine if each time they sell their magazines there are 1,000 people giving them $10 each! Can the police arrest all the 2,000! Just imagine they sell 10 times or 50 times before the election. They can even pay off Dr. Chee bankrupcy charge and he contest again.

What blood nonsese that a bankrupt cannot contest in an election?

OK OK what if the whole SDP group gets so tired and gaive up...they call it a day. Just imagine the becon of lights is off ..... would you be a happier person?

The questions that MDA raised hints that there are a number of inaccuracies and that he is liable to be sued. He needs to be careful.

Not many peeople are aware of Francis Seow's past. Chia Thye Poh would know Francis very well. He prosecuted him.

Francis was detained by ISD not for his role with the Law Society nor his legal representation of marxist detainees. He was detained for his involvement in taking funds and a guarantee from the Americans (Hank Erickson Affair) for contesting the elections. One of the marxist detainees who is a lawyer broke down and implicated Francis. Francis was not the only lawyer approached. ISD and the Govt did not reveal how he was implicated to protect the lawyer. It was revealed much later.

Those questions are clearly hinting as the pattern is obvious.

It is a good response to MDA, that much I agree, but I felt some parts were too curt.

For example: "Can you explain which part of the film is not an accurate account and how it is not accurate? I will respond accordingly" was not a good response.

Seelan should have stated why he thought he had portrayed the truth, and THEN challenged MDA accordingly only AFTER he has demonstrated he has done his homework properly.

By throwing MDA's question back without any elaboration, Seelan failed to convince me he has exercised his due diligence, and he is actually given MDA ammo to fire him back.

I know some pple might disagree with me, but that's my view.

First off, Seelan has used MDA's strength's to become their weakness. By making the film grading an issue, they have made it well known even before it has been seen. This is better publicity than money can buy.

Secondly, Sellan is merely asking MDA to do their job. MDA is asking a really ridiculous question, Could you explain how the Film is "an accurate account"? It's as though Seelan intended to make an untrue film. Further, the question is so broad based that it defies any purpose at all.

If MDA has any issues, they should point out those issues clearly instead of making ridiculous questions. It's just a lazy civil servant trying to shun their job and duty.

All in all, this is a great publicity stunt for the film. And it shows to a large extent the frivolity of MDA in conniving to stifle alternative democratic political thoughts and views in and about Singapore.

Those questions never came from the MDA. Something interesting is going on. I am intrigued.

First off, Seelan has used MDA's strength's to become their weakness. By making the film grading an issue, they have made it well known even before it has been seen. This is better publicity than money can buy.

Secondly, Sellan is merely asking MDA to do their job. MDA is asking a really ridiculous question, Could you explain how the Film is "an accurate account"? It's as though Seelan intended to make an untrue film. Further, the question is so broad based that it defies any purpose at all.

If MDA has any issues, they should point out those issues clearly instead of making ridiculous questions. It's just a lazy civil servant trying to shun their job and duty.

All in all, this is a great publicity stunt for the film. And it shows to a large extent the frivolity of MDA in conniving to stifle alternative democratic political thoughts and views in and about Singapore.

MDA = meddlesome department always

they're suppose to rate the video, not tng-kor-pang-pui (take off pants to fart)

Very good reply by Seelan. He is a potential leader.

I thought Seelan did well. Telling the emperor's henchmen to go fly kite was really damn cute.

I am looking forward to watching it when it comes out...? Wonder when that will be. Or will it ever...?