• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

MAS loses $30.8 billion . Are you happy now ?

Any speculative losses like what malaysia did in the 90s?
At least mahatiar gambled and lost
Sg lose by doing nothing…..you believe?
Why never do hedging? Or is this like what SIA did only on a bigger scale?

Loofydralb

LW should take this opportunity to get the SGD included in the basket of currencies the BRICS will be forming to trade.

millim6868

Son exoect much when u pay monkeys Post as elite n created all these,lol,look at temasick a real.example ,but sg gone to the dogs,lol,most of them are jiuhu kias n tiongs n even hv one ceca ,wat u expect,look at ridout Rd, all for themselves ,lol

millim6868

Lol, think mp busy with ridout road thinking how to leech, n the rest thinking how to leech also ,Don expect much ,cos each for themselves, only hv sinkies to such thumb , cos in the end is 羊毛生在养身上,60% deserves it

while it loses $30b it attracts fdi of at least $300b. machiam like using taxpayers’ money to hedge foreign wealth to continue to roll in. but foreign billions are liquid and can easily vacate once the sgd becums weak and unattractive as a hedge currency for deposits and investment. so bo pian. has to constantly prop it up to appease the billionaire club elites and attract fdi like a ponzi scheme. as for low ses sinkies with barely thousands in their deposits, no one cares a hoot.

The loss was mostly due to negative currency translation effects on its official foreign reserves (OFR) as the local currency appreciated against the US dollar, euro, Japanese yen and British pound.

Good government by PAP cause our sing dollar to appreciate, which in turn causes MAS to lose $30 billion in forex. Even when sinkies win, they lose. It's a strange world.

aerobwala

The loss was mostly due to negative currency translation effects on its official foreign reserves (OFR) as the local currency appreciated against the US dollar, euro, Japanese yen and British pound. These effects, which amounted to $21.4 billion, coupled with high interest expenses of $9 billion from absorbing excess liquidity in the banking system, resulted in the record net loss.
So it was too much hot monies into banks and MAS has to pay $9B to lock up these monies?

Let pray that the beneficiaries are local banks.

mahjongking

just a book entry loss lah.....LPPL, lost 21 billion but foreign reserves benefit 21 billion, knn what agenda do they have for reporting this big 'loss'
the real pain is paying the 9 billion in sgs bonds and t bill interest

k1976

just a book entry loss lah.....LPPL, lost 21 billion but foreign reserves benefit 21 billion, knn what agenda do they have for reporting this big 'loss'
the real pain is paying the 9 billion in sgs bonds and t bill interest
Interest payment only mah

k1976

Logo

Logo

lg.php

lg.php

NEWS
FINANCIAL SERVICES
STAFF REPORTER
,SINGAPORE
PUBLISHED:
43 MINUTES AGO
mas_building_1.jpg

Central bank logs $30.8b net loss in FY22/23​

The Monetary Authority of Singapore (MAS) said there were higher interest expenses.

MAS said the recorded net loss reflects the impacts of tightening monetary policy due to inflation but it will not hinder the central bank from implementing its responsibilities.

MAS Managing Director Ravi Menon said it will also not change its processes in monetary policy.

Singapore’s central bank also highlighted the higher interest expenses due to large money market operations.

Despite this, the central bank said it recorded a yearly average investment gain of $11.7b in the last 15 years.
It also said the loss will not affect Government's ability to spend up to 50% of the expected long-term real returns on MAS' net assets.

“OFR position is healthy and MAS made substantial transfers of excess OFR of $191b to Government for longer-term management by GIC,” read the infographic.

However, the bank warned that investment performance will likely remain weak amidst a challenging environment.

k1976

Lol, think mp busy with ridout road thinking how to leech, n the rest thinking how to leech also ,Don expect much ,cos each for themselves, only hv sinkies to such thumb , cos in the end is 羊毛生在养身上,60% deserves it
Cannot say like that..... We always very inclusive De mah

mudhatter

peasants will remain peasants

these assets are beyond the reach of your average stinky peasants

your eunuch lords will continue to rule over you.

eunuch brigades

oRt61M1.jpg

so what does it matter to you lowly peasants if your eunuchs lost or made profit on THEIR assets?