Man in Teck Ghee estate in Ang Mo Kio insinuates it's alright to park illegally during CNY
He said he would lodge a complaint against the parking warden.
Belmont Lay
February 19, 2026, 03:40 PM
A man filmed a parking warden issuing notices of offence to cars parked illegally at a road in between blocks of flats in the Teck Ghee estate in Ang Mo Kio.
The video was uploaded online on Feb. 18.
It was taken by a person who was accosting the parking enforcement officer.
Parked along double yellow lines
A voice off-camera could be heard saying in Mandarin: "It's the first day of Chinese New Year. This is Teck Ghee estate. He is here to issue summons. Everyone is here to visit their parents."
The clip showed at least two rows of cars parked illegally along double yellow lines in the area.
The voice off-camera then said: "Eh, New Year, he no give chance, you see. Hello? Hey, New Year, why you no give chance? Here is Teck Ghee leh."
The parking warden looked up at one point and replied: "Then why you ask me?"
The man continued to engage with the parking warden and added: "All the drivers kena. Don't worry, I will complain you!"
Responses
In response to the video, many commenters slammed the man behind the camera for insinuating that it is permissible to park illegally during Chinese New Year.
One commenter said the man's video inadvertently served as evidence of the vehicles parking illegally instead.
Another said the parking warden was just doing his job, while a commenter highlighted that the motorists could have just parked at the nearby multi-storey car park.
Top photos via
https://bit.Iy/3qgqzHg