• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Man in spitting incident video charged, remanded for psychiatric evaluation

SINGAPORE: The man who was caught on video spitting repeatedly at a woman at a bus interchange was charged in court on Friday.

47-year-old Juraimi Kamaludin faces four charges.

He is accused of committing a public nuisance with his aggressive behaviour at Woodlands Bus Interchange on Tuesday at about 9.30pm.

Juraimi is also accused of spitting in the face of two women - 41-year-old Teoh Lay Peng and 34-year-old Lee Kuan Eng - at the same place that same night.

He faces a fourth charge of behaving in a disorderly manner in public in September this year, at about 8am at a void deck at Bukit Batok Street 21.

If convicted of the disorderly behaviour offence, Juraimi could be jailed up to a month and fined S$1,000.

For using criminal force by spitting, he is looking at a maximum of three months' jail and a S$1,500 fine for each count.

For the maximum penalty for committing a public nuisance by behaving aggressively, Juraimi can be fined up to S$1,000.

The district judge has ordered him to be remanded at the Institute of Mental Health for psychiatric evaluation.

His case will be mentioned again on 8 November.

The video of the spitting incident went viral days ago.

- CNA/xq

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/man-in-spitting-incident/861236.html

What about molest charge for pressing boobs of one of the ladies?
This one can get rotan...

Is this kuku bird going to spit at the IMH doctors or nurses during his stay there? One of these days this mother fucker is going to spit at the wrong guy and kanna whack upside down.

Woodlands is a shitty town anyway. Other than the Causeway, it has absolutely nothing noteworthy, no good food, no landmarks, no attractions. It's just a barren piece of land littered with industrial parks.

He must be a pappy supporter, else he would have spitted on pappies dog :D

http://stanmed.stanford.edu/2012spring/article1.html

“Why should psychiatrists care about neuroscience?”

That’s the title of a talk that Etkin gives at the start of a new neuroscience course for third-year psychiatry residents at Stanford that he has developed with the support of department chair Laura Roberts, MD. The lecture begins with a blunt discussion of the state of the profession. “Turns out we’re not terribly good at treating psychiatric diseases (worse, likely, than we have thought),” reads one PowerPoint slide. Another bullet point notes, “We also don’t understand how our current therapies work, for whom are they likely to work, and why.” Next comes one word: “Yikes!”
Over the last half-century, other fields of medicine have experienced a decline in mortality and disability rates as new devices and treatments have been developed, but psychiatry has lagged behind, says Etkin, who is also an investigator at the Mental Illness Research, Education and Clinical Center at the Veterans Affairs Palo Alto Health Care System. For instance, while the number of drug classes for cardiovascular disease has increased since the 1950s from two to 16, the number for depression and schizophrenia has barely budged, increasing from four to five. To make matters worse, current psychiatric treatments aren’t terribly effective. A definitive study on schizophrenia treatment shows that people with this disease typically go off their medications after six to nine months because they were not sufficiently effective, and the side effects are dreadful. A major investigation into the efficacy of several antidepressants revealed that only 43 percent of the study participants got well and stayed well.

The comments Etkin received from residents after the lecture indicate that it was an eye-opener for many, with at least one finding it downright discouraging. (“This is a real downer,” read the comment on the feedback form.) “I try not to paint a horribly bleak vision,” Etkin says, “but this is reality; they need to be in touch with it.”
Etkin’s talk is based on a similar presentation given by National Institute of Mental Health director Thomas Insel, MD, who also does not mince words about the present state of affairs. “Current treatments are not effective enough,” he wrote last year on his blog. “Briefly stated: in many cases patients receiving the best of current care are not recovering.
This urgency to develop new treatments comes amid worries that psychiatry has become less appealing to many young doctors choosing a specialty. From 2000 to 2008, the number of psychiatry residency graduates declined from 1,142 to 985, according to a study last year in Academic Psychiatry. Over the last few years, the trend appears to be improving but nowhere near fast enough to keep pace with the need — or the increase in many other medical disciplines. From 2007 to 2011, for example, there was an increase of 40 first-year resident positions in psychiatry compared with 319 in emergency medicine.
The difficulties in attracting new talent can also be chalked up to other problems. For one, the financial rewards of psychiatry have diminished relative to many medical disciplines. While the field attracts young doctors excited about psychotherapy, they have fewer opportunities to be reimbursed for such work as less expensive practitioners, such as social workers and counselors, increasingly take the cases. And questions about the effectiveness of blockbuster psychotherapeutic drugs, once promoted as cures for all, have undermined the profession’s reputation and led to charges of undue influence by pharmaceutical companies.
“The profession,” says Insel on his blog, “is struggling with its identity.” Insel believes the way to resolve that is through a greater focus on neuroscience, which, he says, will draw a new generation of psychiatrists. A nationwide survey that Etkin helped conduct for the NIMH confirms its allure: Roughly nine of every 10 residents agree that there should be more neuroscience in their training.
In response, the NIMH is offering psychiatry residents the opportunity to enroll in its annual Brain Camp, which instructs them in the most recent findings from cognitive science, neuroscience and genetics. The Yale School of Medicine revamped its curriculum to emphasize neuroscience when studying psychiatric cases.

now we all know MMVPAP's real identity, it will a while more before he can go back to deliver pizza, poor guy

Dun feel sorry for him, he is staying happily in IMH with Tonychat....

Best Tonychat can communicate to him in Malay.. Abang and adek...

I don't thinl he is a criminal but someone who has "issues".:D

If they jail people like him. there wouldn't be any room for the real criminals.

It has me wondering about the "white papers" 7 million target. With so many more people in Spore, how are the prisons & the asylums going to cope:confused:

If they jail people like him. there wouldn't be any room for the real criminals.

It has me wondering about the "white papers" 7 million target. With so many more people in Spore, how are the prisons & the asylums going to cope:confused:

Assuming if he spat on your wife's face, what will you say?

approx 200,000/7m mentally ill, and we also have approx about 200,000/7m millionaires.

very nice! coincidence?

Assuming if he spat on your wife's face, what will you say?

You are missing my point. I see this as a health & safety issue. You should be asking the PAP why there are so many mental cases on the streets of Spore:confused:
We all should be worried because any bystanders is a potential victim.

It's quite common to see men & women behave strangely nowadays.

approx 200,000/7m mentally ill, and we also have approx about 200,000/7m millionaires.

very nice! coincidence?

The non-civil servants millionaires are those who made their $$$ from outside Spore.
While the mentally ill are homemade with the help of the PAP.

Is this kuku bird going to spit at the IMH doctors or nurses during his stay there? One of these days this mother fucker is going to spit at the wrong guy and kanna whack upside down.

Was told that 2 weeks in IMH is more Jialat than

being lock up at CID .

His IMH 2 weeks programs at IMH .

a) isolated in a room ( any one know why ? )

b) all is movements in the room video recorded ( for study ? )

c) if he spit again ; shout again ( outcome ? You Guess Lah ?)

d) medication also provided if deem necessary by doctor ( why leh ? )

Heard that this m&d is a former drug addict that just got released from jail.

Woodlands is a shitty town anyway. Other than the Causeway, it has absolutely nothing noteworthy, no good food, no landmarks, no attractions. It's just a barren piece of land littered with industrial parks.

It is a satellite city of Johor Baru, Malaysian accented Mandarin & English speakers a lot, a concentration of " guess which race", home of the famous cadaver water.

:D