• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Malay News say Singapore a lot of crime De woh

k1976

This compromises lives and lowers the level of trust and security in society. You have to be cautious with every phone call, SMS and email. Be on constant alert.

Not a single day goes by where I don’t get a call from an unknown number trying to glean my bank details by pretending to be my bank, the Inland Revenue, customer service from Amazon or some such.

Add to that the phishing emails, links and SMSes which also try to trick you into giving up your bank account details. You literally have to be on guard all the time. One wrong click and you can end up with a drained bank account.

k1976

The problem is that the attacks are increasing in sophistication all the time. Now there are SMS diversion scams/hacks. This means scammers are able to compromise phone networks and access your OTPs. There is not much you can do to defend yourself from such complex and technical schemes.

Another method is number generation. Scammers use algorithms to generate random combinations of numbers. By generating millions of combinations, they eventually generate working card numbers and CVC combinations that allow them to make transactions.

Typically, they start with micro transactions on known websites like Amazon or Apple, but once they know they have access to a working card, they quickly escalate the scale of their thefts.

k1976

Typically, they start with micro transactions on known websites like Amazon or Apple, but once they know they have access to a working card, they quickly escalate the scale of their thefts.

Number generation is virtually invisible — you have no idea someone has generated a copy of your credit card numbers. And they may generate numbers that allow them to access cards that you never use and never give much thought to.

Again, there is virtually no defence.

k1976

The problem is no longer trivial. There are signs in every housing area warning people of scams. The government has been active in setting up awareness campaigns, special police units, and creating websites that list and track scams.

But these initiatives have still proved to be insufficient as scammers strike on a daily basis. Everyone you speak to has been a victim, and while this may seem different to a physical crime wave it basically means everyone has been robbed or is in danger of being robbed all the time.

To some extent the modern digital world and prevalence of digital payments makes the profusion of scams and crimes inevitable.

k1976

Does it meam many jiuhu kia bring their mummy, ah mah, ah gong, Tau Jim money here to deposit, but kena cheated?

k1976

Or these jiuhu kia go huat big big with relative money, then go back kpkb say kena scam here

borom

The PAP is the one leading the relentless charge to computerise everything that can go digital and make almost every transactions paperless and go via the internet.
They have people roaming around esp in CC's trying to convince seniors ( the most vulnerable group to be scammed )to use internet and mobile banking apps and transactions.
Ask yourself, are they doing it for you or for their own agenda?

Willamshakespear

Scams are indeed a serious concern, as many fellow Humans had their life savings wiped out, that enriched scammers & their leaders to lead a high life with the billions they had unconscionably scammed from. Legislators worldwide may have to discuss & find pragmatic solutions to resolve this issue, even if Humanity have to go to the last resort to CAPITAL PUNISHMENT of scammers, for the great harm they had done to innocents, some whom may had committed suicide for their loss of life savings.... as well as better pragmatic ENFORCEMENT & practical EDUCATION to save innocents.

In the light of economic & tech advancements, where trade & finance had been greatly advanced whereby by a mere click, a product can be purchased half way across the world that would had taken months or years without such advancement. However, equally, there are the intelligent whom should had used their knowledge to save & progress Humanity, but sadly had chosen the path to destroy Humankind's progress for their OWN personal gains, even at a mere $50 to give up their soul for instant gratification...

There is MUCH to do, to help save Humanity. To beat the progressive scammer, is to THINK like a progressive scammer, & be a few steps ahead of their suppose abilities. They are the few but WE Humankind are the MANY, with many whom are Far more intelligent than them & can SHARE info to destroy them.

Perhaps, with our technological advancements, where much financial ease had been help by phone apps, innocents may consider getting TWO handphones instead of one.

a) One individual & personal Handphone with a Sim card whereby the only apps are for PURE phone use for communication-to loved ones & to DOUBLE confirm govt & banking agencies, used for financial transactions. ABSOLUTELY NO other apps will be downloaded on this phone.

b) A SECOND handphone with ANOTHER sim card from the various Telcos, either by monthly or annual subscriptions, costing less than $30/mth, will be for general use such as work & recreation. This manner, no matter how many apps are downloaded, scammers access to phones are only limited to info from surfed sites cookies & have no other means to gain any personal banking data.

c) ALWAYS DOUBLE CONFIRM from AUTHORIZED sources FROM OFFICIAL websites & telephone numbers should one is demanded action from such mere phone calls. Anyone can claimed to be anyone on the phone, even sounding like a authoritative finance or govt official, or a loved one. So do not be fooled. All it takes is often only a few mins to double confirm a call from official sites, than to panic, be fooled & lose all your hard earned money.

d) Do NOT be a fool. There is NOTHING that is free in this World coming from Biz enterprises. It would be against Free Market Principles. Any DISCOUNTS offered are either that the prices had been marked up, or they want something else from you - your particulars which may even be sold to 3rd parties, even to scammers. Thus be always wary of such apps.

True biz entities do have their own PAYNOW or bank account numbers which one can use a secure handphone to transact without asking for any particulars from innocent buyers.

blackmondy

More transactions, whether fraudulent or not, means higher KPI for bank employees. So why should they assist those customers who got scammed?

Hypocrite-The

More transactions, whether fraudulent or not, means higher KPI for bank employees. So why should they assist those customers who got scammed?
If the victims are smart, they should actually launch a class action suit against FB etc.. Give them bad press

k1976

The PAP is the one leading the relentless charge to computerise everything that can go digital and make almost every transactions paperless and go via the internet.
They have people roaming around esp in CC's trying to convince seniors ( the most vulnerable group to be scammed )to use internet and mobile banking apps and transactions.
Ask yourself, are they doing it for you or for their own agenda?
To help Ah Jek and Ah Mah to be savvy mah... But some becum too savvy liao