• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Lucrative job offers from Sg Company

Queen Seok Duk

iffad.jpg

Before you start typing application letters, I regret to inform you that this advertisement was put up in Malaysian papers, i.e. it's a Singapore company recruiting Malaysians for PMETs.

Another FT Pro Company that looks down on Singaporeans!:oIo:

This company has foresight.

Sinkies, pls go to one corner and squeeze your own balls ( if you have any) and then reflect upon on why does this kind of thing happens to you.

And donch be surprised that they may be receiving EDeeB funding! Using Sporns' blood and coffin money to hire FTrash while Sporns are sent to serve NS and reserve service. Say is such a TRAITOR govt not justified to be overthrown and brought to justice?

<TABLE id=msgUN border=0 cellSpacing=3 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD id=msgUNsubj vAlign=top>
icon.aspx
Coffeeshop Chit Chat - MNC here Hiring Malaysian PMETs instead</TD><TD id=msgunetc noWrap align=right> </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE class=msgtable cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="96%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msg vAlign=top><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"> </TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>kojakbt_89 <NOBR></NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>10:10 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (1 of 2) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>31219.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>MNC Operating in Singapore Hiring Malaysian PMETs instead

April 6, 2010 by admin
Filed under Opinion

Leave a comment
http://www.temasekreview.com/2010/04/06/mnc-operating-in-singapore-hiring-malaysian-pmets-instead/

By Joe Street
I was on a vacation in Malaysia and was browsing through their newspaper and chance upon an international MNC looking to hire Malaysians for their plant in Singapore.
What comes as a shock was that the vacancies are not what Singaporeans will shun. They are (The Star, 2010) mid to senior management position as well as engineers:
iffad.jpg

These jobs are definitively those that the government claims that ‘Singaporeans will shun’ and by hiring Malaysians, it simply equates to the same amount of lost opportunity for Singaporeans whether in terms of continuation of unemployment or missed opportunities to move in their career. Given the high unemployment rates and the obfuscated data from MOM, it is likely the scenario in the former.
From the manner in which the hiring company advertises the vacancies, it appears that they are confident to secure work permits or passes of some form for the managerial position as well as the engineers while being confident that experienced Malaysian operators will be absorbed into the lower level positions from the available labour market pool in Singapore.
This is one fine example how the indiscriminate ‘foreign talent’ policies has created a win-lose situation for almost every Singaporean worker who are receiving the shorter end of the stick. Do we not have enough talents to fill these universal PMET jobs? What exactly is the driving force behind hiring Malaysians instead when there are alot of Singaporeans who will be readily qualified to fill in these posts?
If cost is the fundamental driver then the government’s primary defence that “foreign talent” create jobs for Singaporeans may be a sinister misrepresentation. I cannot see how does hiring of foreign PMETs and depriving Singaporeans of their livelihood will in the end “create jobs” for Singaporeans.
I also have the chance to visit the Resort World Sentosa (RWS) recently. According to the main stream media and the government, the integrated resort (IR) was suppose to create jobs for Singaporeans and boost the economy. However, during my visit there, my casual observation is that for every 10 employees, 7 were foreigners and 3 were Singaporeans. And out of the 3 Singaporeans, 2 are holding very low level jobs like security guard or cleaner. So where have the better paying or higher level positions went to? The foreigners!
I’m neither a straight forward supporter of the opposition parties or a blatant protester of PAP’s version of a government. But given so many times a let down in history from Suzhou, Temasek / GIC , “Foreign Talent” drives to high cost of living, depressed wages and unfair, volatile employment competition with foreigners, it appeared plainly to me that the PAP government has no interest in the average Singaporean making ends meet or trying to make a living- and we have not even start Singaporean in poverty.
The PAP government is only interested to creating a investor marketing hype, boost the GDP and then lock in all possible profits from the country’s earnings through obscene salaries, bonuses, claims and benefits (that may include leveraging one’s status for private gains) paid to themselves while hanging the ordinary citizenry out to dry.
It is simply inhumane of the PAP to do such things to Singaporeans- we are the children of this land. And furthermore to the great injustice done to its people, the PAP government was never of the people, by the people or for the people.
They are not of the people because most of them are born into well to do families or have assumed so much material wealth that they forgot who they truly are. They are currently born (natural) elitist or made (learned) elitist. Can they empathise with the middle class and poor Singaporeans?
They are not by the people because of their manipulation (lawsuits, bias history textbooks, gerrymandering the elections boundaries, opposition character smearing, propagandish main stream media), more than half of the Singaporeans never get to vote or choose who they wish to represent them, or in many cases the people are simply brainwashed into walking corpses when they get a chance to vote.
They are certainly not for the people when they help themselves to the country’s wealth in full grandiose even when the many citizens are suffering in unbearable measures and at the same time denying Singaporeans of aid with sarcasm laced speeches and oppressing criteria when a citizen approaches them for help.
It will not be a surprise when PAP loses its 2/3 majority if Singaporeans think ahead for themselves and their children and oppositions (alternative) political parties stop their bickering and learn to cooperate to make this coming election an event worthy of a chapter in Singapore history.
Reference:
The Star (2010), ‘IFF’, 2 April, p.29.
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

Comments

<!-- You can start editing here. -->32 Comments on "MNC Operating in Singapore Hiring Malaysian PMETs instead"

1. senior citizen on Tue, 6th Apr 2010 4:26 pm
    54c32a9160be6e9253471df722c721df

And they find it mysterious that our men should leave their jobs by 50. What jobs when there is none!

2. LocalChineseGuy on Tue, 6th Apr 2010 4:33 pm
    1f25a28f526bee4ea63d5c69c7b6aa6c

Too bad…..
    Most Singaporeans are to daft to think for themselves, too cowardice to voice out their feelings and simply too bo chup make change happen…..
    Im a 27yr old, locally educated PMET….hopefully when Im done with my masters….I can seek a better environment elsewhere.
    Singapore is Sinkable…..as much as Teo tries to tell u otherwise.

3. LIONS ROAR on Tue, 6th Apr 2010 4:48 pm
    fbb4be18ce6537e041f218ff9cfaa1ed

Fellow singaporean workers/citizens
    Do you realise that our ELITES have ZERO INTEGRITY?
    why?..they EXTEND THE ETIREMENT AGE TO 62 and at the same time
    ENCOURAGE EMPLOYERS to kick us out of our jobs-some as young as early 40s-and give these SAME JOBS to YOUNGER foreigners.
    NTUC and its top officers SHOULD BE RETIRED,they are not doing an honest day’s work for such humongous pay when they simply let native workers be axed like falling mangosteens!

4. True Singaporean on Tue, 6th Apr 2010 4:49 pm
    54d80646d6ff38a2c04ab6e16b425f87

There is recruitment of Malaysians everyday for Singapore jobs.
    Just go to Kranji MRT station and observe right below the bridge ; immediately next to it;s bus station.
    No office,no appointment….how convenient for Malaysians…Take a bus from JB and on landing get a job.
    Ever observe,your town council has less Banglas and more young Indian girls as cleaners?…Don’t be fooled –they are all Malaysians.

5. KC on Tue, 6th Apr 2010 4:55 pm
    159a077afc901fbf2f8189fb5e46a5dd

My distance relative from Malaysia who was on one day tour to Sentosa mentioned the casino workers are foreingers and Malaysian.
    Even a foreinger could tell who were hired in Sentosa casino. Who is PAP trying to kid?

<LI id=comment-108381 class=alt>Skeptic on Tue, 6th Apr 2010 4:59 pm
33dc65fe0f7db16bd998da079fcaf695

Joe, some of the font is very strange in the “advertisement”. You need to touch up on those.

<LI id=comment-108391 class=alt>from_mon on Tue, 6th Apr 2010 5:11 pm
ed3b798f4160f8e5f3d008e8571defb2

the pigs are forcing locals to spend their savings in so doing.
while they don’t have to spend anything but earn the GST in the process.

<LI id=comment-108397 class=alt>Bobby Tan on Tue, 6th Apr 2010 5:21 pm
6f9a78cee2994534d3a4561aee14dc0e

The PAP will be voted out eventually…maybe not this coming GE….but the process have begun…PAP will be history soon.
Be not surprised to see LKY sitting in the Opposition Benches in Parliament in our lifetime.

<LI id=comment-108400 class=alt>busybody no. 1 on Tue, 6th Apr 2010 5:26 pm
e48cf6f05db210bb4b5afcdf0fd7a5d7

Now i know where to find job in singapore LOL

<LI id=comment-108403 class=alt>Lego on Tue, 6th Apr 2010 5:31 pm
6e0328a8ad0bf04fade872a769d4e488

Too many foreigner employees?? No problem because the very efficient ICA will issue S’pore PR status to them, so that they suddenly become “locals”.
S’pore work visa and PR status are cheaper than the toilet paper that Mas Selamat used to escape from the detention centre.

<LI id=comment-108405 class=alt>eric on Tue, 6th Apr 2010 5:38 pm
40dc473bb6cf87bce192ca4dbabc0ae5

pap no longer bother about the welfare of singaporeans. they are doing lip service when they claim to ‘taken care’ of the poor. flee while you can. if not, vote out pap.

<LI id=comment-108409 class=alt>gm on Tue, 6th Apr 2010 5:48 pm
25fec107813d7a192c573bdf9492c140

These bad companies are unapologetic about using offensive tactic for anything, or abuse by hr manager/ personnel who think too highly of PR/ foreigner, or gain more popularity through distasteful publicity stunt
Without any sense in corporate social responsibility, these companies will never be able to sustain long term presence in any competitive market, and bad image will be despised by more people as day pass by
Government related body will only just give nice reminder to these companies for deviating from fair practice, and fallacy of PAP strange believe in PR/ foreigner dependency will continue to be abused in Singapore

<LI id=comment-108411 class=alt>Papsmear on Tue, 6th Apr 2010 5:52 pm
a375fb215eb9ea97e6fccfb1cd3185b7

Oldman and Gang are after Power and Money lah !
Let your Vote do the walking .Vote them out !

<LI id=comment-108418 class=alt>CruEL on Tue, 6th Apr 2010 6:06 pm
44e5b89a1c9745271ee8b2c59a517c21

Hi Joe Street,
Unfortunately with your article, the Ypap (bootlickers n sycophants) and PAP members will take you as a outright opposition supporter. As long as you find problem with their system, you are a bad hat. Accept it.
I disagree with you using ‘elites’ whether natural or made. What the F*** is an elite? You mean you actually believe those that are rich are your better? You actually been brainwashed that PAP people are ‘elites’?
Wake up! Wake up! they are mere man. They were given power in the hope that they will do good, but they didn’t. They call themselves elites (Ypap say elite of the elites), they give themselves transparent titles. Talk down to you and its citizens.
But Joe street not too late to wake up. But you have to stop using their terminology, that way you can slowly have your brains back.

<LI id=comment-108428 class=alt>Viva Democracy on Tue, 6th Apr 2010 6:26 pm
4adcca49b3b1e5a08ac202f5d5a9e688

I guess the Blue IC or the green piece of paper sure looks more attractive than a pink IC!
NS & LOW PAY FOR SINGAPOREANS; JOBS & SCHOLARSHIPS FOR FOREIGNERS!

<LI id=comment-108444 class=alt>Skeptic on Tue, 6th Apr 2010 7:13 pm
33dc65fe0f7db16bd998da079fcaf695

The bullets are not aligned. The line spacing is not uniform.
Joe, you need to work on those also.

<LI id=comment-108449 class=alt>Singtruth on Tue, 6th Apr 2010 7:32 pm
a7d2e3dc239ab6e1b35ee77850f57f70

I had applied for an IT Executive job in Singapore and went for an interview. The interviewer said ” The previous candidate is from India with a Masters Degree and 6 years experience and willing to accept $2000/month salary, please tell me why I should I employ you?”
I walked out!
(NB : I am a Degree holder with more than 10 years experience and I am asking for $4000/month)

<LI id=comment-108451 class=alt>Political SalesMaN on Tue, 6th Apr 2010 7:42 pm
d99c9093443e7bfc295ac857adcfa11f

@ Bobby Tan–LKY won’t be sititng inthe opposition Benches in Paliament anymore—He is waiting immgration to “Hell”. He is in ward 7 SGH waiting for a Heart Pacer Part.Made in China

<LI id=comment-108452 class=alt>Chee-Bye Man on Tue, 6th Apr 2010 7:46 pm
d99c9093443e7bfc295ac857adcfa11f

PaP has call on Public Listed Co. Not to Hire Singaporean for any job.Ho Chin from Malaysia bringing her Kampong Fellas to conquer Singapore!!! Be careful. Idiot Singaporean not to vote for PaP anymore. Even Cat or dogs vote them in to Paliament. Unseat the PaP.Kan Chin Sar Chea. Leave no Prison.

<LI id=comment-108456 class=alt>To @LocalChinese guy, 27 year old... on Tue, 6th Apr 2010 8:05 pm
44d97400338fb74fc8ee01fc810e8c1f

Indeed you are right that Singapore is sinkable. But let me complete this for you… “…. and ONLY BY hairy and his cronies. Oso hairs can’t sink as they float… but ultimate they flow along with the tide and water flow along gravity lines and OSO finally end up SUNK BY DEBRIS it mingle with… plus in A BLOODY MESS TOO!!!…
And Dear LocalChineseGuy… remember your root, your family and fellowmen haw!!! Don’t desert and return to give those who destroyed your Heritage a GOOD SMASHING UP BEATING!!!… Because… they took HIGH Monies FOR HIGH SCHEMES AND BETRAYED YOU AND YOUR FAMILY TOO. YOU MUST AVENGE FOR YOUR GOOD AND HARD WORKING PARENTS KIND… WHO WERE Short-Changed FOR listening to hairy lili too much. And who SNARE TRAPPED YOU TOO!!!… Remember YOUR ROOTS AND the PUBLIC ENEMY NO.1 from now on is hairy pappy and hairyism puppies… NOT harry porter or potter or even hairy porter/potter… WHO BETRAYED US “HOOK LINE AND SINKER”!!!…
The Winds OF CHANGE… MUST NOW… HOWL LOUD AND DEAFENING SCREAMING… INTO… their hairy hair EARS TILL they go DEAF For their SINS… IN DESTROYING OUR NATIONHOOD WITH… The TRUST YOUR PRECIOUS PARENTS gave them BONELESS ones who talk BIG… but BeHave tinny winy!!!!!!… BETRAYERS MUST BE SLAUGHTERED… AND BY WHOM THEY HAVE BETRAYED AND DESTROYED FOR TRUST THEY GAVE!!!………. CHAAAAARGE!!!… And FORWARD MARCH!!!

<LI id=comment-108459 class=alt>Kerith Ravine on Tue, 6th Apr 2010 8:10 pm
37f5b07e66d1fd8737cae95a08439094

This really sux isn’t it?
No more white-collar jobs, want to drive bus also cannot. White-collar jobs going to Malaysians, bus driver jobs going to China men.
Can TR write to IFF to clarify why they are not offering jobs to Singaporeans instead?

<LI id=comment-108483 class=alt>trueblue on Tue, 6th Apr 2010 9:01 pm
f29afee583065c25909be780ea63b80c

I work for an MNC and i can tell you that there are literally
hundreds of jobs that singaporeans would gladly do in my company alone.Not matter what anyone says, i see this with my own eyes everyday.those from the 1.4k till 5 or 6k salary range.
Not CEOs, MDs or labourers.
recruitment companies like to get these foreigner’s because
they are cheaper.and they can make a better profit out of it.
At least this is what i can see happening.

<LI id=comment-108499 class=alt>jerry on Tue, 6th Apr 2010 9:27 pm
880c2dd204d4894015d986427c7c91b3

Kerith Ravine,
When white collar and blue collar jobs went to foreigners, what does it tells you?
The PAP govt are telling us to leave. There are lots of potential “new citizens” on the waiting list.
That’s why LKY did said that PAP will rule Singapore for the next 5 or 10 more years. New citizens more likely to be obedient to the master. Just like our older generations.
What do you think IFF answer to TR?
Definitely IFF get all the approval from our govt to bring as many foreigners as possible.

<LI id=comment-108517 class=alt>kill_them_all on Tue, 6th Apr 2010 9:52 pm
c419b5591cf563369890c04f1214ae99

Instead of waiting for the day that gahman await to kill us all. Let’s vote the PM out from the office.
Let him be the 1st PM in Singapore to be voted out.
Good job to all the 6 candidates. We will vote for you for sure.
Lousy PM tactics of winning votes by converting immigrants to Singaporeans thinking that they will vote for u.
Good luck. Violent will struck one day.

<LI id=comment-108528 class=alt>small fry on Tue, 6th Apr 2010 10:04 pm
22d32f07d24d8098652123ff71cd609a

Malaysians asking pay could be 50% of what Singaporeans are expecting for the same type of job, even higher foreign levies would impose.
it may be better for IFF to employ some foreigners here than it moves out and employ all foreigners. – copyright. (PAP pls refrain from using this excuse).

<LI id=comment-108544 class=alt>Stony Sia on Tue, 6th Apr 2010 10:20 pm
536379220fa401b67b75e570a45b1404

Even town council like Premas hire Malaysian PR for their senior management ranks. I am sure many Singaporeans can fill the job.
eg. Lee – Director, Facility Management
eg. Chen – Senior Managing Director, Marketing
eg. Tony – Managing Director, Oerations

<LI id=comment-108545 class=alt>x12831 on Tue, 6th Apr 2010 10:26 pm
0dc96ba574793083d2f3c2c4c1c8879c

@trueblue on Tue, 6th Apr 2010 9:01 pm
What you described happened way back in the 90s mate! To be exact in 1993 when I was employed by an American MNC.

<LI id=comment-108549 class=alt>True Singaporean on Tue, 6th Apr 2010 10:30 pm
54d80646d6ff38a2c04ab6e16b425f87

Actually the real problem has not began yet.
Let me tell you why?
Because all these blue-collar foreigners will reach the supervisory position in say 5 to 7 years time.
And let’s assume PAP by then would shut the gate for foreign workers since it would already have achieved it’s goal ; whatever that may be only MM knows.
But new Singaporeans having served NS and with a diploma or IT education would feel very uncomfortable working under a foreigner as their boss…and foreign supervisors or managers would feel most comfortable with local subordinates.They would avoid hiring locals at the slightest excuse.
By than the entry level to US,Australia,Canada and etc would also have been raised too and thus shut to lesser qualified locals….trapping locals who do not have the paper qualifications to migrate.
I had seen this at play in countries such as the Middle-East & Brunei which has a large floating population aka foreigners ; more than it’s citizens….which ends up as a big burden to their governments …Hence they have to create jobs for their citizens albeit doing nothing to keep them fed ….it’s a vicious cycle these countries got themselves into because they chose quickie solutions instead of biting the bullet.
Some of the said countries were almost at a brink of bankruptcy ..But the break came when the oil prices sky rocketed last few years and they can still afford such a haemorrhage on their coffers…At least they care for their people as citizens.
But in Singapore there is no such safety net since our government deems welfare as a dirty word…So in 5 to 10 years time we are going to have a large educated locals unemployed because foreign bosses or managers would rather not employ them .Locals to be stranded without a safety net.
We can than expect people taking to the streets ..But by than I do not expect PAP to be in power too.Most probably in Perth or Canada .

<LI id=comment-108551 class=alt>David on Tue, 6th Apr 2010 10:39 pm
ebbb00008e6af1e591f3caa43dbd6ace

PAP should by know see what kind of foreigners that Singaporeans don’t want them to come. The above are example of jobs that can be given to Singaporeans and not those blue collar jobs like the construction workers. We welcome contruction foreigners but not those white collar S & employment passes. These are the group Singaporeans have been screaming in PAP ears. Unfortunately PAP hit the wrong target by raising employment levy.

<LI id=comment-108565 class=alt>Kerith Ravine on Tue, 6th Apr 2010 10:50 pm
37f5b07e66d1fd8737cae95a08439094

To Jerry:
You said “That’s why LKY did said that PAP will rule Singapore for the next 5 or 10 more years. New citizens more likely to be obedient to the master. Just like our older generations.”
Ah…. thanks for bringing this up. This is what I predict. New citizens are harder to deal with.
These people are more demanding and they may have backups from outside Singapore. Their inner core values are different from original Singaporeans hence when the PAP offend them, they will fight back.
I also predict that they will set up their own political parties and human rights groups to fight for their rights. Whenever I speak to them, I told them to vote for oppositions because they will have to face foreign talents’ threats too now that they are Spore citizens. Does that make sense? Their sons also have to serve NS and that is a waste of time! Also they are exposing their precious sons to danger and physical/ mental injuries during the NS.
In any case, I support your view on PAP pushing Sporeans out.

<LI id=comment-108584 class=alt>kickatadpole on Tue, 6th Apr 2010 11:23 pm
4bb49821145ee8a4bc2c2f49e94f72b2

Its one way for our gahmen to reduce singapore unemployment rate. Employ these ppl from their own country at a low low price, bring them into singapore and award them our cheap and abundance pr status so our elites can start masturbating each other and claim credit for their brilliance in reducing singapore unemployment rate.

<LI id=comment-108588 class=alt>kickatadpole on Tue, 6th Apr 2010 11:29 pm
4bb49821145ee8a4bc2c2f49e94f72b2

Our gov will be very happy as these coy helps to reduce singapore unemployment rate after these employees receive their pr status. And u can call them as better cheaper and faster locals.

u register the nick 'char_aznII' to standby in case of a ban is it:cool:

No I didn't create it in case of a ban. I WAS banned(for spamming of all things, apparantly, < 20 post in 1 month = spamming) for a few days, not sure how long but I registered that nick after I got banned so that I can use the search function(U can check the date the account was created).

I was in Thailand for the better part of last week so I didn't come in here anyway and ended up using that account only for 1 day. I just realize after coming back to SG that my old account worked again so I used this again.

The reason why I use Char_AznII instead of any other nick because I didn't want to hide my identity. In which case I didn't use that account for more then a day, the admins can delete it for all I care. I'll be traveling again soon so if I get banned again, I probably wouldn't care too much