• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

LTA's half-baked policies on Taxi Availability - good piece by Old Taxi Driver

Firstly, to taxi drivers who depend on their "money-making" machine for a livelihood, clocking 250km per day is "chicken feed". A driver needs only 3 hrs speeding at 80kmh to clock 240km. (albeit cruising empty at expressways).

Presently, most night shift taxi drivers doing a 10hrs shift are logging in at least 250km/shift and the day shift drivers too are logging in similar mileage. In total, a taxi with 2 drivers would easily does 500km/day or more.

All big taxi operators can testify that a vast majority of their drivers already surpassed the mandated 250kg/day standard. So, why get a child to take PSLE when he already got his "O" level?.

Secondly, all cab companies have no direct incentives to press for more mileages on their taxis, as doing so would increase their maintenance costs and bottom line. They are more interested to collect rental from cabbies with as big a fleet as they can muster and at minimum usage.

Thirdly, an extra 900 more cabs out of 28,000 (3.2%) on the road resulting from the new rule is like a drop in an ocean. Only the uninitiated public will be hook winked to believe it will increase taxi availability. Maybe, the minute minority of drivers who use their taxis for personal transport might have to change their driving schedules.

Finally, the new rule will mean more vehicles on the road with a corresponding environmental cost, but with no guarantee that the extra mileage will be occupied mileage. Cabby can always cruise empty.

Now, what measures do I think will increase taxi availability? Please allow me, an ordinary old taxi driver, to present my humble suggestions based on my seven years of observation and taxi driving experiences. I stand to be corrected and I welcome your comments.

- http://cabby65.blogspot.sg/2012/11/lta-half-baked-policies-on-taxi.html

Firstly, to taxi drivers who depend on their "money-making" machine for a livelihood, clocking 250km per day is "chicken feed". A driver needs only 3 hrs speeding at 80kmh to clock 240km. (albeit cruising empty at expressways).

Does that mean krafty was lying? Perhaps he isn't a taxi driver after all?

Using a cab cannot be a luxury for sinkees. Your proposal of increasing fares to levels like that in other world class cities is not tenable in sinkapore because car ownership is out of reach for the majority of sinkees. If sinkees have to pay world-class cab farse as well, the subway and bus will be their only viable mode of transportation. And many cab drivers will have to quit due to lack of demand.

The government just want to show the public that they are doing something, but in fact, what they are doing is as good as nothing.

The new ruling is targeted at the laggards among the taxi drivers who do clock below 250.
This old taxi driver not using his head.

The new ruling is targeted at the laggards among the taxi drivers who do clock below 250.

for the like of you , if your master tell you to piss 50 times a day
you will accept it without question.

why do you want to interfere with other's life.
they are driving taxi for a living, you don't need to tell them
what to do.

You are starting to piss me off! Trying writing more than one and a half lines, can? Hold the PAP flag higher mah! Leh loh mo hai!

for the like of you , if your master tell you to piss 50 times a day
you will accept it without question.

why do you want to interfere with other's life.
they are driving taxi for a living, you don't need to tell them
what to do.

Ok, then dont complain when taxi drivers relaks while you have no taxi la.

This cabby uncle better not come to this forum and post. Taxi drivers are not supposed to be so articulate. The resident egoist will not stand for the competition. Look at what happened to the highly educated and learned cabby Prommtheaues something.........I fucking can't bother to look for that post! Fucking Indian shithole!

Comfort Group got 20,000 cabbie x $1k forfeited due to accident

Insurance company iii makan S$20m per year !!!

Using a cab cannot be a luxury for sinkees. Your proposal of increasing fares to levels like that in other world class cities is not tenable in sinkapore because car ownership is out of reach for the majority of sinkees. If sinkees have to pay world-class cab farse as well, the subway and bus will be their only viable mode of transportation. And many cab drivers will have to quit due to lack of demand.

Wat the gahmen is doing is worse,,they are distorting things further,,,i rather they dont do anything.,..less damage

The government just want to show the public that they are doing something, but in fact, what they are doing is as good as nothing.