• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

LTA Warn S'porean Drivers: Obey YOG Lane Rule Or We Use The Stick On You!

SNAblog

LTA Director Warns S'porean Drivers: Obey YOG Lane Rule Or We Use The Stick On You!

Arrogant civil servant threatening Singaporean drivers with the stick. Behaving like mini-LKY, this LTA director has forgotten who is paying his million dollar salary.

http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/Sport/Story/STIStory_562228.html

Aug 5, 2010
YOUTH OLYMPIC GAMES - Give way from today
By Jeff Ang

ST_16924550.jpg

STARTING today, motorists in Singapore will have to keep their eyes peeled for Youth Olympic Games (YOG) vehicles.

Although the Land Transport Authority (LTA) has warned that motorists who do not give way to these vehicles while on designated YOG lanes risk a fine of up to $130, it is still hopeful of not having to resort to the stick.

'We are confident that our motorists would show their support for the Games by being gracious,' said Dr Chin Kian Keong, LTA's group director for road operations and community partnership.

But Mr Goh Chun Nam, 51, a taxi driver of 15 years, lamented: 'There are already so many things to look out for when driving and we may not be able to notice these special vehicles easily.'

Which is why the YOG Organising Committee has made its vehicles hard to miss. They will all carry YOG licence plates, have white blinking lights at the front, and visible Olympic and YOG logos.

Buses will display pictures of YOG mascots Lyo and Merly on their sides. Cars and buses will have the Olympic rings displayed on the front, along with a sign that says: 'Give way'.

If recent experience is anything to go by, there are reasons to be hopeful that enforcement will not be necessary. According to the LTA, on-site observations during a three-week testing phase showed that motorists gave way to YOG vehicles.

YOG lanes have been designated along seven expressways and 15 other roads such as Lornie Road and Sengkang East Road. These roads are on key routes between the YOG venues. The Games begin on Saturday next week and end on Aug 26.

'For the people who may not be aware of the new scheme, we have been pushing out messages encouraging motorists to do their part, both on radio as well as on our road signs,' added Dr Chin.

>Dr Chin Kian Keong> parents gave him the wrong name, should be either, chin kian png or chin kan cheong:p They are not botheres if we are late for work, appointment, business due to the inavailabity of one LANE for traffic, all they are intersted is they are made to look good & you pay them $130 to make them look good..wtf is lTA for? collecting money?

cheebye

Re: LTA Director Warns S'porean Drivers: Obey YOG Lane Rule Or We Use The Stick On Yo

This chaochee bye government is a bloody idiot!

They dun give a damn about we singaporeans!

YOG vehicles only the one in the rush meh? we all also in the rush and why must force us to give way!

Bus stop oso the same, now bus can move very smoothly, how about those driving cars! Fucking idiot!

All they know is to tekan we singaporeans! Jam, then put ERP, CCB!

Why not now put all the GIVE WAY LANE ALL FOR YOG. Any one caught driving along that lane kena fine n fine! CCB!

This government must go DOWN! otherwise pls think of a way to leave this shithole before you dun have the ability to do it.!!!!

fuck pap to hell!

garlic

Re: LTA Director Warns S'porean Drivers: Obey YOG Lane Rule Or We Use The Stick On Yo

If i am willing to pay the fine, can i bo chup and road hog all the way?

You'll probably end up in Whitley Mas Selamat Suite (with Windows upgrade) and your car in Bukit Timah Car Care Complex (a.k.a. FTB for those who know).

garlic

You'll probably end up in Whitley Mas Selamat Suite (with Windows upgrade) and your car in Bukit Timah Car Care Complex (a.k.a. FTB for those who know).

You probably think that the PAP knows everyone's calls, sms, time and date, and they have "ears" at all coffeeshops and they are all everywhere and knows everything...