• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Low ratings for local dramas

Must pay that $100+ so-called TV License to those suckers some more...

Worse - supposed to watch 60 minutes Taiwanese drama but end up watching 30 minutes advertisements or Mediacorps trailers again and again!

We should be paid to watch advertisments and trailers instead - like on the buses.

i find 爱 very boring, suits pple without much brawns or simply naive,like PAP supporters. if one enjoy seeing women bitching around,this is a good show. There was once while having makan, i heard the ringtone of an uncle's handphone also put the theme song. I laughed!:p:D

i take it you r not a hokkien. I find this drama very popular with hokkien ppl. As a cantonese, i find the plot very long winded and stupid. i also find that this formosa tv station had no money to hire extras as during the show, all the CEOs or Big Bosses homes had not even one servant available. All need to drive themselves, no money to hire ah mat, so farking unreal.
compare to HK drama, the CEOs have ah mat in big limos and have 2-3 maids in their mansion.
The reason i watch Ai was that my wife and i visit my MIL on weekend evening, so LL have to watch the stupid drama with them.

i take it you r not a hokkien. I find this drama very popular with hokkien ppl. As a cantonese, i find the plot very long winded and stupid. i also find that this formosa tv station had no money to hire extras as during the show, all the CEOs or Big Bosses homes had not even one servant available. All need to drive themselves, no money to hire ah mat, so farking unreal.
compare to HK drama, the CEOs have ah mat in big limos and have 2-3 maids in their mansion.
The reason i watch Ai was that my wife and i visit my MIL on weekend evening, so LL have to watch the stupid drama with them.

I like to watch HK drama serials, but I think its more costly to purchase by mediacorp. Actually watching TV is a good past time. And it doesn't cost much:o

I always wondered if the local movie industry will ever take off. The local english movie genre is dead and the mandarin one is dying a slow death. The original white paper on this was not to make money but to promote Mandarin. They kicked started it by bringing a HK producer and his family. The issue is lack of creativity, good natural actors and good producers.

Mediacorps have not really mature yet .....so as the viewers ...

taiwan vs hk?

Mediacorps have not really mature yet .....so as the viewers ...

As a GLC their agenda is propaganda, provide jobs to loyal party members, maybe make money,......, they just haven't around to entertainment yet :)

I always wondered if the local movie industry will ever take off. The local english movie genre is dead and the mandarin one is dying a slow death. The original white paper on this was not to make money but to promote Mandarin. They kicked started it by bringing a HK producer and his family. The issue is lack of creativity, good natural actors and good producers.

MDA who restricts language, dialects, all because Singaporeans love to complain. so the local tv scene is killed by MDA, masterminded by Singaporeans. Until Mediacorp dulan decide to go the easy way and buy foreign tv shows and dramas. :D

Agree. no need to show RA shows like what a bro suggest (though i agree it will help)......show dialect programmes (cantonese and hokkien) enough already.

I like to watch HK drama serials, but I think its more costly to purchase by mediacorp. Actually watching TV is a good past time. And it doesn't cost much:o

Wrong. According to someone i knew who once worked in mediacorpse's finance dept, it cheaper to buy oversea drama than produce a local drama. In their drive to cut cost, they cooperate with msia rtm to produce drama for both side of the causeway, filming in msia and use only a couple of sporean actors or actresses.
the only time i watch tv8 is when i go my mum home for dinner, once i reach my own home, it either history channel or BBC knowledge channel. The only channel that can make it from MC is otto channel for children. According to malay collegue, now tv5 show pinoy soap opera liao. what had singapore turn to? shake head....:(

Channel 8 local series, not world class as they are, beat Taiwanese series anytime for me. No Taiwanese series could hold my viewsight past one commercial break.

Channel 8 had some very good series that held me from start to end, episode by episode, e.g. The Awakening, Holland V. etc. However, they should refrain from ancient period dramas. Their version of Shendiao Xialu and others sucks to hell.

Channel 8 local series, not world class as they are, beat Taiwanese series anytime for me. No Taiwanese series could hold my viewsight past one commercial break.

You should watch those gossipy Taiwanese talk shows, esp those with adult themes. Hilarious and strangely addictive. Singapore talk shows on the other hand never evolved significantly beyond Liang Po Po.

Channel 8 had some very good series that held me from start to end, episode by episode, e.g. The Awakening, Holland V. etc. However, they should refrain from ancient period dramas. Their version of Shendiao Xialu and others sucks to hell.

出路still ok. holland v sucks!!! screaming and yelling all the way! 神雕侠侣 really cannot make it. SBC 古装剧and武侠剧 very good!!!

<object width="480" height="385"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/ZaQ4tL-7PsI?fs=1&amp;hl=en_US"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/ZaQ4tL-7PsI?fs=1&amp;hl=en_US" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="480" height="385"></embed></object>

<object width="480" height="385"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/Xnuc9xoty7U?fs=1&amp;hl=en_US"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/Xnuc9xoty7U?fs=1&amp;hl=en_US" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="480" height="385"></embed></object>

<object width="480" height="385"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/X7VxcJSw72M?fs=1&amp;hl=en_US"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/X7VxcJSw72M?fs=1&amp;hl=en_US" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="480" height="385"></embed></object>

ramseth you trying to act young? i dont think you younger than me. :D you never watch all these before meh? all these really show what is creativity!!!
i think you will love this show. :D

<object width="480" height="385"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/p3jPwoORKl4?fs=1&amp;hl=en_US"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/p3jPwoORKl4?fs=1&amp;hl=en_US" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="480" height="385"></embed></object>

This Taiwanese show is even more watchable than ALL mediacorp dramas combined...

It is mediacorp's decision to air this drama almost everyday, if you are not happy with the show, don't watch lor...

i really really hate dat fucking song...every evening hear dat fucking song 7pm sharp at coffeeshop or foodcourt...fucking irrating....KNNBPCB...:mad::oIo:

<object width="480" height="385"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/Yk40MHby3bQ?fs=1&amp;hl=en_US"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/Yk40MHby3bQ?fs=1&amp;hl=en_US" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="480" height="385"></embed></object>

Don't even need to complain, you can still catch-up even if you have missed it!! Don't need to say thanks ok!!

http://video.xin.msn.com/browse/catch-up-tv

:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

The other time my friend told me this funny article he read in papers.

People complain to Mediacorp about this taiwan drama serial "Ai Love".

They complain every week only on Sat and Sun and so few hours. By the time drama serial haven't finish, they also have to submit IC.
I supposed the writer must be in the elderly group.

So Mediacorp start to put it on Monday to Sunday. Extra hours on Saturday, Sunday. Then another group of writers complain again. They complain, every day put "Ai", they cannot go out with friends, must go home chase drama.

This is the dilemma:D No matter do how good also will have people complain

This Taiwanese show is even more watchable than ALL mediacorp dramas combined...

It is mediacorp's decision to air this drama almost everyday, if you are not happy with the show, don't watch lor...

I actually don't mind this show. Pretty nice. xie ming ming getting slapped by yang zhengjie. Dolly is pretty chio. Now a bunch of new characters like wuji and family have appeared. Did that gal crashing in her car really die?

Bloody show is damn long i seen some faces in the credits that i have never seen before.

Despite the recent spate of poor ratings, Channel 8 dramas still have their regular supporters.

Retiree Wee Siew Eng, 60, says she enjoyed Ann Kok's portrayal of an abused wife in The Family Court, which aired just before The Score.

LOL!... I find this so funny! Only old auntie like watching silly Channel * local dramas now.

But seriously, if you want creativity, get the gov invisible hands out of the local media and you will have creative production coming out immediately. Too much gov control and regulations stifled creativity.

I only like Ai for Xie Mingming. Pretty and not a bad-looking body. Did not notice her name though.