Loansharks - Police Powerless?

Organised loansharking involving vandalism first appeared in mid 1980s. 25 years, despite the numerous changes in laws and ratcheting up the penalties, it continues unabated.

Anyone has a clue why this seems to gone awry unlike the creation of CNB which had a significant impact on the drugs trade.

Organised loansharking involving vandalism first appeared in mid 1980s. 25 years, despite the numerous changes in laws and ratcheting up the penalties, it continues unabated.

Anyone has a clue why this seems to gone awry unlike the creation of CNB which had a significant impact on the drugs trade.

Mata very busy nowadays
:p :p

070722_ss_policeofficer.jpg

If the loansharks are political dissidents such as CSJ, you can be sure the problem will be solved overnight.

Anyway, moneylending businesses are going to thrive, especially when there are two casinos.

There is no difference between a loanshark and a bank. In fact, a bank is scarier as it can confiscate your property.

The offenders are the borrowers, not the lenders. Nobody held a gun on their heads to make them agree to the loans and interests. They came themselves on bended knees to ask for help when they're down. The term loanshark is also misleading. Shark eats people, not lend money to people in financial distress.

If you cannot repay what you owed and promised to repay, face it up the lender and see what he wants to do with your pathetic life. Pathetic, but at least honorable.

The offenders are the borrowers, not the lenders. Nobody held a gun on their heads to make them agree to the loans and interests. They came themselves on bended knees to ask for help when they're down. The term loanshark is also misleading. Shark eats people, not lend money to people in financial distress.

If you cannot repay what you owed and promised to repay, face it up the lender and see what he wants to do with your pathetic life. Pathetic, but at least honorable.

well said ...

There are 2 parts to this problem.

1) Why must others such as neighbours have to bear the brunt of the harassment - doors painted, burnt, cars damaged etc. Most people seem to miss this out.

2) The amount borrowed is usually small but the interest is tremendous. Common will tell you that the loansharks are expecting a default as they are targeting the HDB home. They are targeting the desperate, the uneducated and the vulnerable.

There are 2 parts to this problem.

1) Why must others such as neighbours have to bear the brunt of the harassment - doors painted, burnt, cars damaged etc. Most people seem to miss this out.

2) The amount borrowed is usually small but the interest is tremendous. Common will tell you that the loansharks are expecting a default as they are targeting the HDB home. They are targeting the desperate, the uneducated and the vulnerable.

1) its does not matter ...as long as you get back your rightful money ....if you do not wish those harassment or you dont want your neighbours to kena paint ...simple pay up ...you think if those ppl pay up their debts ah long will be so free to buy paint ( buying paint and hired ppl to throw paint also need money ...as a biz man do you think ah long dont want to cut cost ? )

2) as what ah ram had said ...nobody use guns to point at them to borrow money ...you know the interest already before borrowing . bank also target the desperate somemore bank dont lend money to any ah kow ..so if ppl like ah kow needed money and really can pay up when times up ...then how ? whose goin to lend money to those ppl ? the above punishment is for ppl who dont pay up ..

What has this got to do with the neighbours? I am sure they did not interview the borrower when they apply for the flat.

1) its does not matter ...as long as you get back your rightful money ....if you do not wish those harassment or you dont want your neighbours to kena paint ...simple pay up ...you think if those ppl pay up their debts ah long will be so free to buy paint ( buying paint and hired ppl to throw paint also need money ...as a biz man do you think ah long dont want to cut cost ? )

2) as what ah had said ...nobody use guns to point at them to borrow money ...you know the interest already before borrowing . bank also target the desperate ...

of course must charge high interest..cause money lending is a risky business ..

What has this got to do with the neighbours? I am sure they did not interview the borrower when they apply for the flat.

who cares about the neighbour ..the objective is to get back your money ...same like selling cigars if you want to buy and smoke in front of your neighbour house ..is it the tabacco company fault ?

i read that ah long san could easily make half a million a month.

ah long san have many biz not only money lending ...last time M karaoke and a few karaoke belongs to him ...not forgetting he also have 4D , toto biz ..

ah i see no wonder he could make that much. The report made it seem like he made all that money from loan sharking.

I can think of several reasons.

Firstly, it involves numbers. How many drug addicts compared to borrowers? More involved, more problems.

Secondly, access. Any Ah Beng with some money can open a 'stall' and become ah long. How many has the connections to deal in drugs?

Thirdly, punishment meted out. For CNB cases, long jail terms and even death penalty. It was only recently that ah long offences received draconian sentences - fine, jail, rottan.

Fourthly, education and publicity. When young, we were educated on consequences of drug trafficking and addiction. Hardly on ah longs.

Fifthly, response to problems (family, personal etc). When confronted with $$$ problems, we seek assistance from ah longs, not drug traffickers.
And there are many who need $$$ urgently, resulting from gambling habits.

Sixthly, nature of biz. Its COD for drug biz most of the time. No harassment needed. Ah long biz differs.

And Gov give them legal license to those loansharks to do businesses..... sigh...

why cant the gov give them the license ? at least those ah long got license cannot do alot of things for example splash paints ...ect if the borrower cannot pay up . ...i think its good ... since many ppl cannot get loan from the bank ;)

Yes. Govt tell you problem solved liao.
Another symptom solution, for blocks of flats with many debtors, the town councils install CCTVs at lift lobbies and/or residents fork out money to install security gates (only possible for certain HDB flats ie. point blocks).
Town councils also lazy to keep repainting the walls so come up with these stop gap measures.

Our police is selectively powerful. See how many turn up for CSJ and her sister's public events. C what happens when there is a bangla or PRC strike. There are not powerless, maybe selectively powerless.

yeah i also find it so weird. loansharks are blatant. their runners get caught. sure can lead back to the big chiefs. unless they are not in sg?