But these parties are deprived of talent because they are afraid to be fixed. I remember a small fry in NTUC joined the Opposition as a candidate and he was immediately fired. One MP justified the dismissal on the ground that the NTUC is part of the government and that MP had a son who was studying law at NUS. What a bunch of morons Sinkies are to believe such bullshit! Even George Yeo gave this trick away, when during the 2011 elections, he expressed genuine surprise at why Chen Show Mao joined the Opposition (and be ready to expect a lifetime of being fixed) instead of the PAP.
How are they fixed? Tan Jee Say said he voted opposition several times. RP and SPP have attracted former government scholars too.
I don't blame George Yeo for being surprised. The opposition has been famous for their infighting since forever. Why would any sane person risk losing their credibility by joining a bunch of rabble rousers like Slipper Man or Zeng Guoyuan or JBJ?
Singapore was on a GDP per capita basis, the 2nd richest country in Asia at independence, behind only Japan, albeit the wealth was unevenly distributed.
My folks were not wealthy. We lived in a kampung and earned little. Within a generation, we have gone from that to living in large home serviced by MRT, bus interchange and shopping malls. Our incomes also rose several fold and I could now put my kids through elite schools. That alone will secure PAP votes from my family for several GEs to come. And this same story is repeated in majority of households in Singapore.
You do realize that many of the WP voters themselves support PAP? They only switched votes to WP because Low had the sense to jettison the mad dog JBJ and revamp WP to look like PAP, but wearing blue instead of white. I know of many WP supporters personally who voted either for Tony Tan or Tan Cheng Bock. They won't even consider jerkoffs like Tan Kin Lian or Tan Jee Say.
Grassloots organisations are non-partisan? What have you been smoking and where have you been hiding all these years? If these organisations are truly non-partisan then Opposition MPs should have no problem in using PA facilities in their wards, but they were prevented from doing precisely that. People join grassloots organisations in order to get privileges like choice HDB flats. An estate agent told me that HDB penthouses in a certain estate were all allocated to PAP grassloots activities and these are very rarely put up for resale. The invitation was sent to my client precisely to tell him what he had missed out on by voting for the Opposition.
Grassroots are non-partisan!! If the opposition came into power, the PA will serve the new ruling party. PA is not part of PAP. If WP can form the next government, we welcome Low TH or Chee SJ to be our next chairman. And by that extension, we would be willing to work with non-PAP MPs.
But for now, PAP is the government. So, the grassroots, being a government organization, works with PAP.
Not happy, gather enough supporters to vote out PAP!
Making defamatory claims against the PM is no justification to fire Roy from his job. A job which he can do continue to do well even if he is of the opinion and states publicly that Obama or whoever is a moron. These are 2 separate issues.
It actually is, considering that the allegations went into public domain and is widely circulated. Few organizations wish to be associated with a known liar, especially if the liar insists on stepping on a lion's tail and expects to get away with it simply by playing the underdog card.
Chee's punishment was disproportionate to the offence, if any, committed. He was dealt with severely by NUS precisely to strike fear in the hearts of other like minded individuals who may want to follow the path he has chosen.
Chee was caught cheating in his claims. In any organization, cheating on money matters leads to termination. Chee was not fired because of his SDP ties. Sylvia Lim was a lecturer in the poly. She was never terminated from the poly for her activities in the WP, let alone unseating the PAP minister there.