• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

LKY Closed Nantah

.....People voted for PAP out of their own free will. No one pointed a gun at them. PAP also did not have the means or technology to spy on everyone to ensure that they voted for PAP. I understand that for many years, there was some fears about the serial numbers on the voting slips. But those who followed the counting of ballots, including opposition members, all agreed that the voting was secret and no one knew who you voted for.

People voted for PAP because PAP was able to figure out the secret of winning free elections - improving people's lives, meeting and improving on their basic needs such as jobs, food, homes, security, low crime rate. It's hard to lose elections if you can do all these. People are willing to forgive some of PAP member's past mistakes, which includes perceived elitism, working for the japs and even jailing of the Commies...

The pappies won the election over the years because of 2 factors: 1. GRC and 2. No credible oppo parties which together let the pappies dominate the Parliament by means of walkover.

After JBJ won the Anson single seat constituency, the GRC was introduced and after that, it became pau chiak for the pappies in every election. Is this democratic way of allowing people to choose their MPs?

If you said that the people voted the pappies of their own free will, it is true and yet it is not true.

The pappies won the election over the years because of 2 factors: 1. GRC and 2. No credible oppo parties which together let the pappies dominate the Parliament by means of walkover.

After JBJ won the Anson single seat constituency, the GRC was introduced and after that, it became pau chiak for the pappies in every election. Is this democratic way of allowing people to choose their MPs?

If you said that the people voted the pappies of their own free will, it is true and yet it is not true.

Hard to attract credible people to join the opposition because the forefathers of the opposition were mostly losers, commies and complain-kings.

GRCs are double-edged swords. If PAP loses, it means it loses a few candidates at a go, including cabinet ministers. GRCs are democratic because at the end of the day, people are still free to vote against PAP. If enough sinkies feel strongly against the GRCs, then please vote against PAP and vote out 20-30 of them at a single go! That would send a strong enough message that GRCs are unpopular.

But no, people still vote for PAP. Vote count for PAP in both SMCs and GRCs are fairly consistent. In the recent GE, SDP candidates in SMCs were roundly thrashed by PAP candidates despite playing up the arbitrary detentions issues. I thought that should send a strong enough message to opposition cocksuckers that most sinkies don't really care about these ISA cloak-and-dagger games.

Hard to attract credible people to join the opposition because the forefathers of the opposition were mostly losers, commies and complain-kings.

but at least they don't go PTUII .. PTUII .. on other people's tables

If Ah Gong didn't close down Nantah, Singapore wouldn't have NTU today. Be grateful! NTU is many times better than the old Nantah!

Your father didn't shut down Nantah for us ...he was just afraid of any opposition. Nantah was the hotbed of student activism and Old Fart was shitting scared of that.

You studied for years in the singapore school system for years. Yet here you are, cursing at the same PAP who paid for your education and built your school. Do you think you are trained and not educated then?

If what you said held water, we'll still be a british colony, and lky, a british subject trained in england to be a lawyer would be deemed a traitor...

That is total Bull Shit! The PAP made it that anyone who joins the opposition would lose it all - career, financials, friends and ostracise by all.
How many people are willing to give up so much to serve?

GRCs are double-edged swords. If PAP loses, it means it loses a few candidates at a go, including cabinet ministers. GRCs are democratic because at the end of the day, people are still free to vote against PAP. If enough sinkies feel strongly against the GRCs, then please vote against PAP and vote out 20-30 of them at a single go! That would send a strong enough message that GRCs are unpopular.
GRC wasn't set up for the good of the country. It was because the PAP had to reward cronies and these cronies could not get elected, thus came GRCs. Cronies could now get elected riding on the coattail of some well-known candidates.

PAP is a contradiction ...it cites economies of scale as the reason for GRC, yet it disposes the economies of scale argument when with the TC programme.
PAP doesn't have a clue what it is doing; it is just winging it. So, who is paying the price? Sinkees ....hundreds of millions in unnecessary extra expenses.

But no, people still vote for PAP. Vote count for PAP in both SMCs and GRCs are fairly consistent. In the recent GE, SDP candidates in SMCs were roundly thrashed by PAP candidates despite playing up the arbitrary detentions issues. I thought that should send a strong enough message to opposition cocksuckers that most sinkies don't really care about these ISA cloak-and-dagger games.[/QUOTE]

1 am talking the time from 1959 to 1980 period where PAP wanted to destroy Chinese.

Your son was not born in baby boomer time (1946-1964) don't compare with no substance.

Your son is what age? A tuition kid to all subjects?

Chinese language in Singapore is not destroyed. There are many SAP and Chinese schools around - like Chinese High, SCGS, River Valley High. I understand these school are elite schools. My son also scored an 'A2' for his O-level Chinese exams. Mandarin-based local dramas are also much more popular in Singapore than English-based ones. Most of our local stars are from Mandarin-speaking Channel 8, not Channel 5. So, in what way is the Chinese language destroyed?

GRC was started by LKY for himself. He was kiasu and kiasi already in 1984.

In the 1984 GE, LKY saw NO ONE was interested to go to his PAP GE rally to hear him talk. He may lose his own seat in GE1989 or even if he garner 50% -60% was not good enough for him, malu lah and lose face.

I was at the PAP rally in Clementi Sport complex 1984 and see only his PAP government workers were there and he cannot attract big crowd like he used to back in his early days 1950s and '60s. At least uncle go there to see what he wants to say, suppork. But when he says never mind no one come to his PAP rally he was OK with it, they can see him talk on TV. Finish leow, never will I go to another PAP rally if he think ALL don't have to go to PAP rally and watch them talk on TV only? jiak leow bee PAP.

LKY is all for himself for fear of losing his own seat and started GRC in next 1989GE, what else.

GRC wasn't set up for the good of the country. It was because the PAP had to reward cronies and these cronies could not get elected, thus came GRCs. Cronies could now get elected riding on the coattail of some well-known candidates.
[/QUOTE]

Agree with you.

Opposition was caught off guard with GRC and don't know how to start one and besides cannot attract Malays and Indians race to join them. With LKY law suit on JBJ it makes matter worse to find Malays and Indian candidates to join oppos.

Then followed up of threats to Tang LH, Francis Seow and Nair make the oppo harder to find candidates.

LKY is a evil bastard and coward, a big bully SOB.

That is total Bull Shit! The PAP made it that anyone who joins the opposition would lose it all - career, financials, friends and ostracise by all.
How many people are willing to give up so much to serve?

Sylvia Lim didn't lose it all by joining the opposition.

Baseless accusation. Voters are always free to vote out the entire team, if they think a single candidate is being used as a piggyback by three to four other duds.

PAP is a contradiction ...it cites economies of scale as the reason for GRC, yet it disposes the economies of scale argument when with the TC programme.
PAP doesn't have a clue what it is doing; it is just winging it. So, who is paying the price? Sinkees ....hundreds of millions in unnecessary extra expenses.

Try living in a condo and comparing the monthly maintenance bills vs that of your HDB. You would then be glad your PAP is going a great job in keeping your estate clean for a low fee.

GRC was started by LKY for himself. He was kiasu and kiasi already in 1984.

In the 1984 GE, LKY saw NO ONE was interested to go to his PAP GE rally to hear him talk. He may lose his own seat in GE1989 or even if he garner 50% -60% was not good enough for him, malu lah and lose face.

I was at the PAP rally in Clementi Sport complex 1984 and see only his PAP government workers were there and he cannot attract big crowd like he used to back in his early days 1950s and '60s. At least uncle go there to see what he wants to say, suppork. But when he says never mind no one come to his PAP rally he was OK with it, they can see him talk on TV. Finish leow, never will I go to another PAP rally if he think ALL don't have to go to PAP rally and watch them talk on TV only? jiak leow bee PAP.

LKY is all for himself for fear of losing his own seat and started GRC in next 1989GE, what else.
[/QUOTE]

Most people don't bother to attend rallies for the past several GEs because they already know they are gonna vote for PAP. Those who attend opposition rallies are just there to let off some steam about minor grievances about PAP. But in the end, most of them will still vote for PAP.