LKY Closed Nantah

Reddog

In 1980, lky closed Nantah, which was then the only Chinese medium university outside China. His action caused thousands of Chinese educated Singaporeans their only chance for tertiary education and prospect.

Later, he eradicated Chinese dialects. Almost eradicated.

Interesting, how come the Wikipedia entry of Wang Gungwu did not mention the report bearing his name? Too ashamed? Why is an Australian commissioned to write a report on Sinkie education system?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wang_Gungwu

[video=youtube;K3JKM9fxlo0]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K3JKM9fxlo0[/video]

If Ah Gong didn't close down Nantah, Singapore wouldn't have NTU today. Be grateful! NTU is many times better than the old Nantah!

Ah Gong played around with the Sinkie education system in order to achieve political aims. To wit, the creation of a docile citizenry, never mind the sacrifices that have to be made in the inability to compete in terms of creativity and innovation in a knowledge based economy.

Thanks to Ah Gong's conceit, we have the anomaly of an Ah Neh miniSTAR who can't speak Mandarin lecturing about the drop in standard of Chinese language! This Ah Neh miniSTAR also have to cover his backside by stressing that his speech only reflects his PERSONAL views. What crap is this!

[video=youtube;rnVpOQg9VgI]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rnVpOQg9VgI[/video]

B4 it was shutdown, many nantah grads could not get jobs due to pappy discrimination,,,so being shut down or closed down was a matter of time,,,

Typical Sinkie - can't see beyond his nose.

From the FamiLee's point of view, Nantah is not simply a place of higher education. It represented communal spirit, it's foundation being resisted by the colonial authorities and without financial assistance from the Brits. Chinese from all walks of life and from various countries in Southeast Asia contributed and there were huge traffic jams at its opening. Its very existence is a threat to the PAP's grip on political power. In other words, it stands for People Power and has to be stifled in order for the Sinkification process to take root. For this, education must be replaced with training. Ang Moh Mister Littlewood was right - Sinkies are trained not educated.

Typical Sinkie - can't see beyond his nose.

From the FamiLee's point of view, Nantah is not simply a place of higher education. It represented communal spirit, it's foundation being resisted by the colonial authorities and without financial assistance from the Brits. Chinese from all walks of life and from various countries in Southeast Asia contributed and there were huge traffic jams at its opening. Its very existence is a threat to the PAP's grip on political power. In other words, it stands for People Power and has to be stifled in order for the Sinkification process to take root. For this, education must be replaced with training. Ang Moh Mister Littlewood was right - Sinkies are trained not educated.

You studied for years in the singapore school system for years. Yet here you are, cursing at the same PAP who paid for your education and built your school. Do you think you are trained and not educated then?

I was trained in the Sinkie school system but educated outside of it. Many factors outside of the Sinkie training system provided the much needed education. The training was paid for not by the PAP but by Sinkie taxpayers who funded it, of which my parents happen to be a part. Besides, without food and nurturing from my parents, all the training in this world would be to no avail. Therefore, I am educated enough to be eternally grateful to the right people - my parents; and curse those servants who forgot who they are supposed to be serving - the PAP politicians. My education would have taken a less twisted route if like in truly First World countries, the Sinkie school system performed its proper function regardless of party or political affiliation. You on the other hand appear to be a poorly trained and uneducated PAP dog!

I think you are upset that most people don't see things your way.

People voted for PAP out of their own free will. No one pointed a gun at them. PAP also did not have the means or technology to spy on everyone to ensure that they voted for PAP. I understand that for many years, there was some fears about the serial numbers on the voting slips. But those who followed the counting of ballots, including opposition members, all agreed that the voting was secret and no one knew who you voted for.

People voted for PAP because PAP was able to figure out the secret of winning free elections - improving people's lives, meeting and improving on their basic needs such as jobs, food, homes, security, low crime rate. It's hard to lose elections if you can do all these. People are willing to forgive some of PAP member's past mistakes, which includes perceived elitism, working for the japs and even jailing of the Commies.

It seems that you are spending too much time with your idealistic books and not enough time talking to real people.

of cos have to curse. even pinkie's familee find that it is utterly disgusting to be associated with local and chose an international school.

if FAP supporters have any remorse, they should urge their leeders to close down all international school and not repeat the farce.

http://singabloodypore.blogspot.sg/2006/04/lky-breaks-moe-rule-to-enrol-lee-hsien.html

http://sgforums.com/forums/10/topics/76129

People voted for PAP out of their own free will. No one pointed a gun at them.

If there are only two brands of cars in this world - an ultra expensive BMW and a wholly unreliable Fiat - whilst it is true that no one pointed a gun at me to empty my wallet for the BMW which I need as walking and taking public transport are not viable options, then it would be fair to say that there was no choice.

While the PAP has always said that it is not their job to help the opposition get elected, that is only a slogan to deceive stupid Sinkies and make them forget that it is criminal for the dominant political party to use all manner of dirty tricks to stifle the development of other political parties and forces (like Nantah, free press, educated as opposed to trained citizens, etc).

PAP also did not have the means or technology to spy on everyone to ensure that they voted for PAP. I understand that for many years, there was some fears about the serial numbers on the voting slips. But those who followed the counting of ballots, including opposition members, all agreed that the voting was secret and no one knew who you voted for.

Over lunch at a Teochew restaurant in Straits Trading Building, a client of mine related how he voted for the opposition and when the election was over, he received invitations to join PAP grassloots activities. He checked with his friends living in the area and not all of them got such invitations. The timing was also suspicious. Whether they could identify you to the individual or simply to the block or series of blocks is besides the point.

To strike fear in the populace, it is not necessary to have the technology to spy on everyone. What happened to CSJ when he joined the SDP, to Roy Ngerg when he asked inconvenient questions about CPF, etc are the more important pyschological tools. The presence of the serial number itself will probably be useless as such a tool in a place like Hong Kong, but it is useful to strike fear in relatively timid Sinkies.

People are willing to forgive some of PAP member's past mistakes, which includes perceived elitism, working for the japs and even jailing of the Commies.

Question is are they willing to forgive the frequent train breakdowns, forever rising CPF minimum sum requirements, FT influx and what it means in terms of infrastructure overload, job opportunites, rising home prices, etc. The past does not excuse the present. The present offers an insight into the future if one continues to blindly vote for the PAP. On such material considerations alone, there are justifications aplenty for getting rid of Lightning. The young and educated will also aspire to intangibles such as freedom of speech and assembly, the ability to join Opposition parties without fear of being fixed, etc. Therefore, the future does not look bright for Lightning.

If there are only two brands of cars in this world - an ultra expensive BMW and a wholly unreliable Fiat - whilst it is true that no one pointed a gun at me to empty my wallet for the BMW which I need as walking and taking public transport are not viable options, then it would be fair to say that there was no choice.

Sinkies have WP, SDP, RP, SDA, PKMS, SJP and independent candidates to choose from.

While the PAP has always said that it is not their job to help the opposition get elected, that is only a slogan to deceive stupid Sinkies and make them forget that it is criminal for the dominant political party to use all manner of dirty tricks to stifle the development of other political parties and forces (like Nantah, free press, educated as opposed to trained citizens, etc).

PAP won largely because they brought Singapore from Third World to First in one generation. It's hard to lose when you helped improved the lives of so many people.

Over lunch at a Teochew restaurant in Straits Trading Building, a client of mine related how he voted for the opposition and when the election was over, he received invitations to join PAP grassloots activities. He checked with his friends living in the area and not all of them got such invitations. The timing was also suspicious. Whether they could identify you to the individual or simply to the block or series of blocks is besides the point.

This shows that PAP doesn't know who you voted for. Your client voted for opposition, and yet he was invited to join PAP grassroots.The joke is on PAP, if they actually knew who he voted for. Besides, grassroots is non-partisan. Your friend is still free to vote for opposition even if he volunteered at the grassroots.

To strike fear in the populace, it is not necessary to have the technology to spy on everyone. What happened to CSJ when he joined the SDP, to Roy Ngerg when he asked inconvenient questions about CPF, etc are the more important pyschological tools. The presence of the serial number itself will probably be useless as such a tool in a place like Hong Kong, but it is useful to strike fear in relatively timid Sinkies.

Chee was found lying on a few occasions. Roy also made defamatory claims which he himself admitted were defamatory. With regards to HK, the Honkies are not free to elect their own leaders. They wanna act like they are a free country, but they are not. They are just a city in China. They will have to follow Peking's directions, regardless what they like.

If Sinkies are timid, then for goodness sake, grow some balls. Nobody is gonna put balls there for you.

Question is are they willing to forgive the frequent train breakdowns, forever rising CPF minimum sum requirements, FT influx and what it means in terms of infrastructure overload, job opportunites, rising home prices, etc. The past does not excuse the present. The present offers an insight into the future if one continues to blindly vote for the PAP. On such material considerations alone, there are justifications aplenty for getting rid of Lightning. The young and educated will also aspire to intangibles such as freedom of speech and assembly, the ability to join Opposition parties without fear of being fixed, etc. Therefore, the future does not look bright for Lightning.[/QUOTE]

Ungrateful old fart demolished Chinese language education though out the primary and secondary education.

He made us stand on the chair if we failed to read one paragraph of a page when our turn come. With no proper teaching method of the Chinese language writing and reading how can you read? Tell me. How can one know how to read a word if NOT properly taught?

When your turn returned and still Not how to read a paragraph you are made to stand outside the classroom door and exit the lesson. That's it. Hello Chinese paid school fees and Malays are free?

This was how he systematically destroy, torture, degrade, hurt and damage Chinese baby boomers group to fail their Chinese language.

You don't forgive a bastard like him with intention to destroy Chinese language in Singapore where 70% population are Chinese communities.

Your fucking SOB Old fart LKY has no moral in leading Chinese communities in Singapore and must condemned wholly.

Now you know why people don't like this LKY?

John Tan, like Wang Yin (your fellow grassloot leeder), you are just after money. What do you understand about education.

NTU better than Nantah ? You are exposing your stupidity and lack of proper schooling. Perhaps being a pap IB is all you can achieve in life. Better make sure you are recording all your posts here properly and submit them in time for payment. Unlike zerooo (aka Davis Koh Han Rong), you are beneath him when it comes to writing in the English Language.

Sinkies have WP, SDP, RP, SDA, PKMS, SJP and independent candidates to choose from.

But these parties are deprived of talent because they are afraid to be fixed. I remember a small fry in NTUC joined the Opposition as a candidate and he was immediately fired. One MP justified the dismissal on the ground that the NTUC is part of the government and that MP had a son who was studying law at NUS. What a bunch of morons Sinkies are to believe such bullshit! Even George Yeo gave this trick away, when during the 2011 elections, he expressed genuine surprise at why Chen Show Mao joined the Opposition (and be ready to expect a lifetime of being fixed) instead of the PAP.

PAP won largely because they brought Singapore from Third World to First in one generation.

Singapore was on a GDP per capita basis, the 2nd richest country in Asia at independence, behind only Japan, albeit the wealth was unevenly distributed.

This shows that PAP doesn't know who you voted for. Your client voted for opposition, and yet he was invited to join PAP grassroots.The joke is on PAP, if they actually knew who he voted for. Besides, grassroots is non-partisan. Your friend is still free to vote for opposition even if he volunteered at the grassroots.

Grassloots organisations are non-partisan? What have you been smoking and where have you been hiding all these years? If these organisations are truly non-partisan then Opposition MPs should have no problem in using PA facilities in their wards, but they were prevented from doing precisely that. People join grassloots organisations in order to get privileges like choice HDB flats. An estate agent told me that HDB penthouses in a certain estate were all allocated to PAP grassloots activities and these are very rarely put up for resale. The invitation was sent to my client precisely to tell him what he had missed out on by voting for the Opposition.

Chee was found lying on a few occasions. Roy also made defamatory claims which he himself admitted were defamatory.

Making defamatory claims against the PM is no justification to fire Roy from his job. A job which he can do continue to do well even if he is of the opinion and states publicly that Obama or whoever is a moron. These are 2 separate issues.

Chee's punishment was disproportionate to the offence, if any, committed. He was dealt with severely by NUS precisely to strike fear in the hearts of other like minded individuals who may want to follow the path he has chosen.

With regards to HK, the Honkies are not free to elect their own leaders. They wanna act like they are a free country, but they are not. They are just a city in China. They will have to follow Peking's directions, regardless what they like.

The Hongkies may not be free to elect the Chief Executive (note: a significant portion of Legislative Counsellers are freely elected and that is precisely why the electoral reform process for CE may not pass), but because of the temperament of the populace, the leaders are also not free to do as Sinkie leaders have done. There is a free press, people are not forced to lend a significant portion of their salaries to the Gahbrament through CPF, the Law Society can comment on legislation even if the Gahbrament never asked for its opinion, Gahbrament officials try to fix opposition figures but end up being fixed themselves due to free press and the internet, etc. Beijing directed that national education be introduced into schools in Hong Kong, but this was not done due to fierce local opposition. There is a limit to what Beijing can dictate.

But these parties are deprived of talent because they are afraid to be fixed. I remember a small fry in NTUC joined the Opposition as a candidate and he was immediately fired. One MP justified the dismissal on the ground that the NTUC is part of the government and that MP had a son who was studying law at NUS. What a bunch of morons Sinkies are to believe such bullshit! Even George Yeo gave this trick away, when during the 2011 elections, he expressed genuine surprise at why Chen Show Mao joined the Opposition (and be ready to expect a lifetime of being fixed) instead of the PAP.

How are they fixed? Tan Jee Say said he voted opposition several times. RP and SPP have attracted former government scholars too.

I don't blame George Yeo for being surprised. The opposition has been famous for their infighting since forever. Why would any sane person risk losing their credibility by joining a bunch of rabble rousers like Slipper Man or Zeng Guoyuan or JBJ?

Singapore was on a GDP per capita basis, the 2nd richest country in Asia at independence, behind only Japan, albeit the wealth was unevenly distributed.

My folks were not wealthy. We lived in a kampung and earned little. Within a generation, we have gone from that to living in large home serviced by MRT, bus interchange and shopping malls. Our incomes also rose several fold and I could now put my kids through elite schools. That alone will secure PAP votes from my family for several GEs to come. And this same story is repeated in majority of households in Singapore.

You do realize that many of the WP voters themselves support PAP? They only switched votes to WP because Low had the sense to jettison the mad dog JBJ and revamp WP to look like PAP, but wearing blue instead of white. I know of many WP supporters personally who voted either for Tony Tan or Tan Cheng Bock. They won't even consider jerkoffs like Tan Kin Lian or Tan Jee Say.

Grassloots organisations are non-partisan? What have you been smoking and where have you been hiding all these years? If these organisations are truly non-partisan then Opposition MPs should have no problem in using PA facilities in their wards, but they were prevented from doing precisely that. People join grassloots organisations in order to get privileges like choice HDB flats. An estate agent told me that HDB penthouses in a certain estate were all allocated to PAP grassloots activities and these are very rarely put up for resale. The invitation was sent to my client precisely to tell him what he had missed out on by voting for the Opposition.

Grassroots are non-partisan!! If the opposition came into power, the PA will serve the new ruling party. PA is not part of PAP. If WP can form the next government, we welcome Low TH or Chee SJ to be our next chairman. And by that extension, we would be willing to work with non-PAP MPs.

But for now, PAP is the government. So, the grassroots, being a government organization, works with PAP.

Not happy, gather enough supporters to vote out PAP!

Making defamatory claims against the PM is no justification to fire Roy from his job. A job which he can do continue to do well even if he is of the opinion and states publicly that Obama or whoever is a moron. These are 2 separate issues.

It actually is, considering that the allegations went into public domain and is widely circulated. Few organizations wish to be associated with a known liar, especially if the liar insists on stepping on a lion's tail and expects to get away with it simply by playing the underdog card.

Chee's punishment was disproportionate to the offence, if any, committed. He was dealt with severely by NUS precisely to strike fear in the hearts of other like minded individuals who may want to follow the path he has chosen.

Chee was caught cheating in his claims. In any organization, cheating on money matters leads to termination. Chee was not fired because of his SDP ties. Sylvia Lim was a lecturer in the poly. She was never terminated from the poly for her activities in the WP, let alone unseating the PAP minister there.

Ungrateful old fart demolished Chinese language education though out the primary and secondary education.

He made us stand on the chair if we failed to read one paragraph of a page when our turn come. With no proper teaching method of the Chinese language writing and reading how can you read? Tell me. How can one know how to read a word if NOT properly taught?

When your turn returned and still Not how to read a paragraph you are made to stand outside the classroom door and exit the lesson. That's it. Hello Chinese paid school fees and Malays are free?

This was how he systematically destroy, torture, degrade, hurt and damage Chinese baby boomers group to fail their Chinese language.

You don't forgive a bastard like him with intention to destroy Chinese language in Singapore where 70% population are Chinese communities.

Your fucking SOB Old fart LKY has no moral in leading Chinese communities in Singapore and must condemned wholly.

Now you know why people don't like this LKY?

Most Chinese educated folks would have trouble surviving in a Singapore that requires people to be English educated, the medium for conducting business with the world. We are not Taipei or Hong Kong or Shanghai.

Chinese language in Singapore is not destroyed. There are many SAP and Chinese schools around - like Chinese High, SCGS, River Valley High. I understand these school are elite schools. My son also scored an 'A2' for his O-level Chinese exams. Mandarin-based local dramas are also much more popular in Singapore than English-based ones. Most of our local stars are from Mandarin-speaking Channel 8, not Channel 5. So, in what way is the Chinese language destroyed?

Most people support LKY because he giveth more than he taketh. If you think you are paying too much taxes, then ask yourself how can you first pay too much tax unless you earn enough money? If people are underpaid and overtaxed, the people would have long ago staged a revolution!

In 1980, lky closed Nantah, which was then the only Chinese medium university outside China. His action caused thousands of Chinese educated Singaporeans their only chance for tertiary education and prospect.

Later, he eradicated Chinese dialects. Almost eradicated.

LKY was terrified about the educated Chinese streamed students. They are more street smarts and aggressive than those English educated domesticated students.

Nah, LKY is just a man without scruples. Back in the day when the British were in charge, he was the pro-colonialism dog of the British Empire. When there was an uprising against colonialism, he became the anti-colonialist firebrand. When he wanted power, he backstabbed his Barisan Socialis mates. When the Chinese-educated folks were perceived to be a threat to his rule, he oppressed them. When China became an economic superpower, he called for more Singaporeans to be 'bi-lingual' and 'bi-cultural'.

Along the way, he had also screwed over those who would stand up to him. I'm sure you all know who they were.

LOL... what a sorry excuse for a human being! Shame on you all who prayed for him and offered flowers and cards at SGH. :rolleyes:

May your beloved ah gong die a horrible, slow death, and may his dynasty implode within one generation. :oIo:

P.S: Oh, and don't forget his lil' career during the Japanese Occupation. ;)