• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Living in JB 2 (Johore)

Status
Not open for further replies.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Really a brilliant piece of work. He even added the pause and money buttons on the top left hand corner, resembling the picture on an iPhone screen. They don't miss any details, do they? :smile:

Thanks, it is. They are blessed, the parents are excellent individuals in their own right. Now their kids are getting there too. :smile:

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Re: Agents' commission

Thanks wuqi bro. I always mixed up due to many Giant outlets. This Giant is the same row and near to the Indian temple isnt it?

Hi Narmi, that is another Giant. The Giant i was referring to is another one.

IZOLA FURNITURE
Lot 65, Giant Hypermarket Skudai, MK Tebrau, 81200 Johor Bahru.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Re: HDB rental

You will feel 'raped' if you start looking down the list:

1. Price of medical fees versus specialist care in MY
2. Toyota Corolla costing more than a Benz
3. CPF returns versus EPF returns
4. Blood and sweat for NS and Reservist
5. What you are paying our Ministers

It is indeed sad. :(
Always reminded of these songs whenever i see the constant frown on peoples faces.
I see much more frowns than smiles.

http://youtu.be/4N3N1MlvVc4
http://youtu.be/1lyu1KKwC74

Narmi

Hi Narmi, that is another Giant. The Giant i was referring to is another one.

IZOLA FURNITURE
Lot 65, Giant Hypermarket Skudai, MK Tebrau, 81200 Johor Bahru.

Ok thanx i guess its not giant skudai but giant tampoi then. Thanks for clearing my confusion

whoami

Hi bro whoami,

There are a few factors to consider:

1. Banks will only lend based on the financial aspects of the buyer. As in one will still need to be able to pass the bank criteria, minimum monthly salary to qualify.
2. They are still strict with the loan quantum generally and the wage/salary restricts some buyers to only specific developments
3. Its only for the first property, subsequent one will get lesser and the third one at 70%.
4. There are other types of properties, low cost, medium cost around with which people of different financial background can consider.

Tats why I always told my Mrs. No need to look any further or ask anyone for JB answers. Chief Wuqi have all the answers!:biggrin:

cleyeo

Bro n sis.
My macs expire this July. I went to Jusco Bukit Indah to have it renewed. Unfortunately, Macs road show is no longer there. Other than Iskandar Immigration Centre, id there any other place at which I can renew my macs? Thanks.

Funds Transfer

Once again, this is an article from a fellow Singaporean that serves to remind what Brother Wuqi has told us so many times in this forum. Happy reading, everyone.

http://temasektimes.wordpress.com/2...lace-for-fts-to-earn-money-but-not-to-retire/

Singapore is a good place for ‘FTs’ to earn money, but not to retire

Posted by temasektimes on June 30, 2012

I did not lose my job to a FT, but I know of people who did. I have never said they were cheaper in any of the things I have written. The closest thing I ever written was ‘I was slightly better paid’ and please do not quote me out of context.

You are right about the FT having equal wages from places like Mumbai and Shanghai.

So why did they not stay back in their country and get equal wages?

It is because many of them are unable to find job back in their homeland because of various reason.

Many of my friends from Shanghai have also told me about their plight back in their homeland (No friends from Mumbai). They are not able to secure a job due competition, lack of ‘connections’ and some corrupted government officials. Shanghai have the same cost of living, but they have rural areas and the cost of living drop significantly and the quality of life is better than in Singapore.

They also pointed out to me that their government may be corrupted, but they protect their citizens should any foreigners say anything bad about them. They can migrate within their country to a place where housing and cost of living are cheaper. Water, electric, gas, internet and mobile services are all significantly cheaper. They only have 1 party, but they can protest and basically ‘force’ their government to listen to them. It is unlawful to protest in Singapore. Their elderly who live in rural area can have compensation when they grow old as they have contributed to the building of China. In Singapore, your money is locked up with a minimum sum of 131k and it was your money to begin with. Also, some people might not even have that much money in their CPF by the time they hit retirement age.

They have the option to buy lands and properties back in their homeland with whatever they earn here. They can retire and live a decent life with no worries after that. They can see the light at the end of the tunnel before they even hit 40, but are Singaporeans able to do that?

These are the basic framework of the plan 3/4 of my FT friends have.

Work and suffer until the end of the contract. Be thrifty and just save up what ever you have, buy a property in Singapore and make full use of CPF. End of contract, sell the property, withdraw all CPF funds, go back and enjoy life in a landed property. And by that I do not mean 20 or 30 years, I mean 10 years or so depending on where they come from.

Just a side note, they are horrified to see so many people working at their golden age in the hawker centers. It is rare to see people like that back in China and the elderly normally choose to work at his/her age volunteeringly. For Singaporean, there is no choice regarding that matter for many of the middle/lower income group.

To sum it up, many of them felt that Singapore is a good place to earn money, but not a good place to retire. It is also the main reason why they choose to remain PRs.

I am not expecting myself to live in a landed property in Singapore, but I wanted a home that I can live in comfortably and not to have to worry about medical fees or other unforseen events by the age of 65.

I have to work 9 hours a day for 6 1/2 days and more should it get busier. When I take the upgrade course, I have to go for it 3 times a week, and 5 hours each excluding travelling, will I be able to function at my 100% while I am at work? Will my mental status be adequate and not cause any errors while I work? When the company is busy, is my boss kind enough to let me go? The ‘bring home’ work and the course assignments had to be juggled as well. I had to go for resevice and IPPT and I had to literally beg my boss to let me go. Are these reasons good enough for you to understand my concerns about losing my job?

I do agree that there are people out there that have work ethic issues. I also agree that we need to constantly upgrade ourselves. However, I disagree that you tried to imply that Singaporeans are not willing to improve ourselves and also people who have work ethic issues do not apply to Singaporeans only. And also, do you have a family? Do you think you can be replaced easily? Do you save enough to withdraw your money from the CPF by 55?

SERAPHIM

* The above was first posted as a comment on The Temasek Times.

whoami

I am with the HR sector for no of years leow. But not a consultant. Whenever i came across green card holders, I would normally ask wat is their present pay. But must be discreet lah. Cos normally they would not reveal. To my surprise most of them, EP, especially, pay quite good. Again i keep asking myself...is it really true tat Sporeans fussy about pay and job?? Tats wat the garment always claimed. I dont tink so.

Again, garment always say when foreign companies invest in spore, its good for the economy. It CREATE JOBS! My question is does the jobs really go to the locals? I need not elaborate too much. Its all written on the wall.

Sanur

Bro n sis.
My macs expire this July. I went to Jusco Bukit Indah to have it renewed. Unfortunately, Macs road show is no longer there. Other than Iskandar Immigration Centre, id there any other place at which I can renew my macs? Thanks.

My family renewed ours at danga bay

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section

Hi bros FT and Whoami, sad to see things have turned out that way. Unfortunately, many are still unaware. :(

Cleyeo, you can either go to the CIQ or at Danga bay but will have to bring along photos to renew.

arsenal

Philippino friends said Singapore is a wonderful place because they feel homely because they see philippino everywhere..
China friends said Singapore is wonderful because they feel familiar because they see China Chinese everywhere..
Visitors from India gave the same compliment because they see their home grown friends everywhere..

Where are Singaporeans? They are living in a foreign land in their own home. It just make us feel living anywhere in the world is the same.. We are the foreigners in almost everywhere..

Hi bros FT and Whoami, sad to see things have turned out that way. Unfortunately, many are still unaware. :(

Cleyeo, you can either go to the CIQ or at Danga bay but will have to bring along photos to renew.

Funds Transfer

Philippino friends said Singapore is a wonderful place because they feel homely because they see philippino everywhere..
China friends said Singapore is wonderful because they feel familiar because they see China Chinese everywhere..
Visitors from India gave the same compliment because they see their home grown friends everywhere..

Where are Singaporeans? They are living in a foreign land in their own home. It just make us feel living anywhere in the world is the same.. We are the foreigners in almost everywhere..

As Singaporeans, we continue to be in the pot. No escape. Not unless we search for an alternative hinterland which I hope what Nusajaya will be for us.

Funds Transfer

Bro, how many photos will be required? I am due for renewal too. When I got it done in JUSCO last year, they scanned the entire passport page with the photo. It is a different arrangement now?

Grago

TUAS 2nd Link - 2 miles jam towards going to Malaysian CIQ.
15 mins jam going to Singapore CIQ

Narmi

Bro, how many photos will be required? I am due for renewal too. When I got it done in JUSCO last year, they scanned the entire passport page with the photo. It is a different arrangement now?

FT
1 photo is enough. There is a photo machine there at ciq. Or u can print your colored pic fr home printer like i did last yr. How long it takes depend on whether peak timing or not.

if it is a mobile kiosk they do not need your pic cos they will scan ur pasport pic. Usually they set up when sch hols.

Funds Transfer

FT
1 photo is enough. There is a photo machine there at ciq. Or u can print your colored pic fr home printer like i did last yr. How long it takes depend on whether peak timing or not.

if it is a mobile kiosk they do not need your pic cos they will scan ur pasport pic. Usually they set up when sch hols.

Thanks mate. Time to take a pic.

Status
Not open for further replies.