• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Living in JB 2 (Johore)

Status
Not open for further replies.

maxpark

Used to live overseas and was active in some of the expat forums, I find the ShanghaiExpat forum one of the better ones, www.shanghaiexpat.com... obviously living in JB is not about expats but I think the classification of sub-folders should be quite similar. Maybe moderator can find some inspirations from there! :smile:

DREAMorACTION

There are some durian orchards where u can have durian feast u know ... Free flow like buffet. I went to one (forgot the name of place) where my friends brought me too. If any one knows about these orchards, pls do share. ::smile:

Man, you sure you're an angmo? hehehe...

Yeah, msw is the best!
Where can you get them in JB???

ODYSSEY

I read the discussions out of curiosity & for knowledge, so I don't have any problems with the current format, but can understand that some people are looking for specific answers. This is probably why they direct their questions to Wuqi rather than going through the long, long,..long thread:smile:

I agree with you. Wuqi is like a walking encylopedia - he has everything at the tip of his fingers. And you can always trust his views and advice. Congrats Wuqi, on ur opening of ur Volume Two! Two thumbs UP!:wink:

arsenal

I also thought you were angmo. And so I was picturing you saying Mao San Wang the angmo way and eating the fruit at the same time..... Kind of funny, actually.

You are a real camera man.. You have framed a picture of myself eating durian and with the yellow stuff all over my beard.. Ho ho ho..

mathstub

Dear Bro Wuqi,

Thank you very much for starting one of the best and most inspiring thread I have ever seen in my life and now being the part 2 of the thread. Thank you very much for your sincerity and generosity in sharing your views, giving advice and many other helps you have provided to all of us here. Kudos to all the contributions of all the brothers and sisters here as well.

Your thread, your posts together all the posts contributed by all the Bros and Sisters make me more determined about my choice of moving to Nusajaya and exploring Iskandar Malaysia. I am so glad most of us are into this together. Regardless of how the whole Iskandar Malaysia development turns out to be, I will never regret the choice I have made. I think I am a lucky guy because my wife (I suppose my baby son too) has been very supportive of me right from the start and it is my great honor to have known all the bros, sis and you Bro Wuqi here.

mathstub

Dear Bro Wuqi, just saw a post you put in part I of "Living in JB" thread and tried to send you a pm. But your mailbox is full. I will wait until your mailbox is clear and send again.

Do you know what the size of the intermediate terrace in the Greens precinct is? I am trying to do psf calculation compared with the intermediate terrace in the Hills precinct. I remember some apartment buildings (fairway suites?) in the Greens are under construction.

mathstub

Seriously, I always think arsenal is not an angmo from the way he talks. Of course, there must be some underlying reason which led him to claim to be one.

Man, you sure you're an angmo? hehehe...

Yeah, msw is the best!
Where can you get them in JB???

crystal_tiong

Seriously, I always think arsenal is not an angmo from the way he talks. Of course, there must be some underlying reason which led him to claim to be one.

Perhaps he stay in sinkie land too long ? thats why adapted our way of speaking etc ....

crystal_tiong

wow , if reall HH The hills is so cheap , i will be very upset lor!!!
coz HH is my first choice ......
Wuqi , please pm me e info , i jio my friend to buy so that i can go n visit them .
Thanks !

arsenal

In England, literacy rate is 30-40% only. I serve Singapore national service and I don't like AngMo.. and I like to talk like Singkie..and like to huat-ah huat-ah and moreover, I have already said many time I am not angmo.. I am just a Arsenal.. with ammo... and aka "Tua Kee". Have lived in North London.. ta ta..and never aspire to be angmo, maybe want to be Satu Malaysia..

pasture8

From CameraMan: It seems like a reasonable price that your friend had paid for the system back then. Wonder how much it would be now. I am interested to find out more. However, the only reputable security system specialist that I know of is ADT. Definitely would like to consider other suppliers as well.

Me too, see their high profile advert every now and then, ADT. But my friend's system is not ADT. Will find out more and we can consider. He advise go for wireless system. He said when he opened the ceiling cover and see the roofing, all the wires are jumbled inside! The contractors just connect the system but did not make good and tidy up the wiring.

From Wuqi256: Bro, if I really need that much security in that House, I would probably not stay there in the first place. This thread will be closed but archived and more will start in its place.

Brother Wuqi, according to my friend, the system he got is very basic, i was surprise by the cost :smile: He is a 100% Malaysian. His taman is non-gated and non-guarded, according to him. So maybe he needs such security measures on top of the Military-grade-iron-man-steel sliding doors and window grilles :biggrin: (Very naugthie :wink: i hope brother you don't get offended by me, sometimes my postings a bit siow siow, but i mean no malice :p)

crystal_tiong

From Wuqi256: Bro, if I really need that much security in that House, I would probably not stay there in the first place. This thread will be closed but archived and more will start in its place.

Brother Wuqi, according to my friend, the system he got is very basic, i was surprise by the cost :smile: He is a 100% Malaysian. His taman is non-gated and non-guarded, according to him. So maybe he needs such security measures on top of the Military-grade-iron-man-steel sliding doors and window grilles :biggrin: (Very naugthie :wink: i hope brother you don't get offended by me, sometimes my postings a bit siow siow, but i mean no malice :p)[/QUOTE]

Bro Pasture
Hmm , i think our NI security a bit slack , so might be gd to install all this .
Coz i think i will move in asap once renovation complete , dun wan to wait till majority stay there .
Wanna enjoy e free 2 yrs security maintenace etc ...
Btw , do u remember signing the S&P , whether they stated developers will absorb all legal fees etc ? a bro asked me.
I dun rem seeing anything but i did check with the lawyer and she confirmed all aborbed by developers except state consent.

pasture8

Brother Wuqi, according to my friend, the system he got is very basic, i was surprise by the cost :smile: He is a 100% Malaysian. His taman is non-gated and non-guarded, according to him. So maybe he needs such security measures on top of the Military-grade-iron-man-steel sliding doors and window grilles :biggrin: (Very naugthie :wink: i hope brother you don't get offended by me, sometimes my postings a bit siow siow, but i mean no malice :p)

Bro Pasture
Hmm , i think our NI security a bit slack , so might be gd to install all this .
Coz i think i will move in asap once renovation complete , dun wan to wait till majority stay there .
Btw , do u remember signing the S&P , whether they stated developers will absorb all legal fees etc ? a bro asked me.
I dun rem seeing anything but i did check with the lawyer and she confirmed all aborbed by developers except state consent.[/QUOTE]

Hi Sister Tiong Tiong,

You are right. Security issue has always been the onus of the owner, from our house to our country :eek: At first the wifey and i thought we will just go for the basic iron-man grilles, (which i still prefer) but you hear stories and read forums of very chang kuang incidents and with young children, we take ownership of our own security. Even our HDB flats. for eg. Hardware + SOP (standard operating procedure) - Pad locks and grilles and peek hole in place. Before leaving house check all windows and grilles shut and locked, off all electrical appliance except fridge of cos and make sure cooking stove not boiling water, stuff like that - SOP. So when we move to M'sia, we must adopt a new SOP and get new hardware...

i still prefer the basic grilles and bbq becos, with electronic systems, you get incidences of false alarm and it may disturb the neighbours, very pai seh also.That's why my friend said they lower the sensitivity of the vibration sensor in case vibration is cause by thunder on a rainy day. There are alarm pad locks available from DIY shops and giant supermarket. Prefer to get those from SG though.

We got the same idea, i.e. to move in as soonest as we can get the reno and furniture ready :smile:

Part of the excitement of not only buying a house but the whole spectrum of it! Like a new project :smile: This "living in JB" rekindled a fire in me which has been snub for so long in Singapore... nowadays at my age, i find no meaning in life except this occasional MAJOR pet projects :smile:

pasture8

Bro Pasture
I dun rem seeing anything but i did check with the lawyer and she confirmed all aborbed by developers except state consent.[/QUOTE]

Oh forgot the most important question of your post, got carried away by my siowness :*:

You are right all absorbed except the legal (some call it consent fee woah) fee for the state levy.

Status
Not open for further replies.