• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Like that how to relax and retire in Sinkapore!!

Dont waste time thinking about how to retire. Save some money, apply for immigration out of peesai. There is no hope. Resistance is futile.

Tuayapeh welcomes any sinkie who wants to move here....

many nice condos here with pools of boiling oil......

:D

It's already quite silly: the notion of retiring in Singapore. What are you going to do? Casino? Karaoke? Golf? Mahjong? Taichi?

Utterly boring.

Come to SBF & be entertained... & informed & educated...never repent!

All those in their forties and fifties all kana played out!! How to retire and enjoy their retirement years in this kind of high cost high pressure economy!! Fcuk U PAP.

My friend told me, he need $10m to retire in Sg.

In Malaysia only S$5m.

In China S$2m.

Etc etc. so sad.......sinkie.

if i were to retire in sg, i would at most spend not more than 4 weeks per year on the island, mostly strolling around bedok reservoir and watching the constant mass of inhumanity struggle to get on mrt trains. :D there would be more time for road trips to jb, melaka, kl and penang, and flights to thailand, bali and vietnam. would be on cruises more often. due to this consideration, would rather get a retirement home in johor and pop by sg whenever i feel like having true sg laksa.

U work till your last breathe before you closed your eyes in that square box in sillypore, relax and retired ki lan la:oIo:

Not say I want to say, come siam-lo la, not bad la

What is not say I want to say, so say or not say?:*:
by 2030, how many more Kwai Liao in siam-lo will there be?

For your information the Thai government and people are very stingy in giving PR or citizenship. Each year they set a quota for each country's citizen to get citizenship and of course this person would have already passed certain criteria including their contribution to society. I've been here 7 years and only end of this year I qualified to apply for PR and don't know how many more years qualify for citizenship not that I am say I will but my point is they don't care how much one had invested here rules are rules. Good news for Singaporeans is there is usually enough quota (don't know hoe many) each year for sinkies to be Thais as not many want to be.

With all this biking here, are you really talking of retirement or just going on sabbatical leave? Anyway since you have allocated time in the afternoon for Sammyboy nonsense, what is this Internet crap you plan for morning 10am to noon?

It depends how you define "retirement". My definition of retirement is a situation whereby financial independence has been achieved and I no longer need a regular job to fund my lifestyle.

The interent stuff I do in the morning is the behind the scenes stuff eg web development, updating or refining server scripts, installing mods etc. There is always work to be done. You can't upload a website and forget about it especially if it involves PHP/MySQL. You need to keep things up and running and as databases get larger, the work gets more and more complex.

It depends how you define "retirement". My definition of retirement is a situation whereby financial independence has been achieved and I no longer need a regular job to fund my lifestyle.

I must congratulate you for attaining financial independence to be able to retire this way and the only form of "retirement work" is web development.

Most people, however, would have to retire with at least a part-time job, as all their past incomes had gone to paying for a flat and towards the high cost of living and their CPFs are released too slow to be of much use.

It is for reason that I have repeated, ad nauseum, over the years that a job is not the way to go. The best way of achieving financial independence is to create wealth rather than earn a salary. You do this by identifying your own strengths and talents and then using them to create an income stream.

The larger the stream, the more valuable will be the enterprise you create and the more money you'll get for it when you sell it.

You don't have to be more talented than other sinkies. All you have to do is to be more willing to turn thoughts into action. Everyone has grand ideas regarding how to make money. However, only a very small percentage actually act upon such ideas and see them through to fruition. Make sure you're in that category and you'll be able to retire before 40.

A good example is the sister forum. I can recall the day I came up with the idea in crystal clarity. 5 of us were sitting around talking about how useful a Singapore "cheonging" guide would be. One of the guys was actually a computer nerd and knew exactly what needed to be done.

I told him to go for it. His response "sure to get caught". My response was "What if you do it from outside Singapore's borders where Sinkie laws did not apply?". His response... "Why don't you try lor!" so I did. None of the others ever took the next step despite the fact that they were far more computer literate than I was. That left me with a virtual monopoly for more than half a decade.