• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious LHL will not run for Prime Minister in the next General Election

hsienloong

The real reason is, Lee Hsien Loong won't be around for the next General Election.
LHL would be joining LKY soon.

@ Papsmearer

First, the title of your thread is misleading.

Second, the contents of your post are merely speculatively. There's no ounce of truth in it.

You will still have Chief Natural Aristocrat as your Prime Ministar after the next GE. Familee owns Sinkieland, the most expensive city in the world, according to Economist Intelligence Unit. Why should Familee give up the Jewel of Southeast Asia?

I am quoting Gay Loong himself. He has already said the next successor must be ready to take over from him soon after the next election. I am not making this up. What does soon after mean? If he remains as PM after the next election (lets say held in 2021) then the earliest his successor can take over is 2027 (the following election). That is not considered soon by any stretch of imagination. The only way that a successor can take over soon after the next election is for him not to run as PM, and let the successor take over 3 weeks after the next election.

Familee is not giving up the country. Don't be ridiculous. Did they give up the country to Wooden? I have tried to explain the concept of seat warmer. Perhaps u should read the post again.

The real reason is, Lee Hsien Loong won't be around for the next General Election.
LHL would be joining LKY soon.

I stated his health as one of the reason. Every month that he stays in power, he damages his father's reputation and legacy with Zika, crack trains, etc. He should go out on a high instead of slowly sinking into the morass.

I think you underestimate the greed of the Lees If they were satisfied with millions then why did they lock up people's CPF & increased the withdrawal age to 65?
Also must ask what Temasek is doing with all the billions & why they are so secretive that no one outside of the Lee family know how much & where the money is?

They have gotten so used to all that $ & power that they are not going to give it up.

No one is underestimating the greed of the Lees. I have already said he will control the CEC so that his wife can continue to plunder at Stomachsick and that his son will be worked into the leadership rotation down the road so that more money can be made.

'Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong has described his future successor as a person who is not only a "mobiliser and a communicator", but also "a doer, an analyst, an implementer, and a team builder".'

sounds like a 2-year googler intern to me. :p

Wunderfool

If the fainting spell was any indication, it is he badly needs a break. He is likely to hand over the rein of PM over to his successor by the next GE.

Wunderfool

HSK is supposed to be his successor, but given his health condition, he may be called to serve for a term or less. He will be assisted by 'co-pilots' . The 2 most likely copilots are LW and OKE. I won't be surprised that Hongyi will be fielded as a candidate in the next GE.

ckmpd

They will, by hook or by crook.

Yes, pap will by hook an by crook try to remain in power. Can pap afford to lose power when GCT and LHL are alive and an Alternative Govt comes into power and opens the cupboard and discovers skeletons? PAP must by hook or by crook stop the opening of the cupboard

Maybe not his sons. But the Son of LHY. I can see that the elder one has what it takes to unsurp the throne.

why arent the six prime ministerial candidates fighting for the throne?clearly the biggest bunch of balless pussies ever seen,they say the fastest way to get promoted in the military is to show your capacity for following orders and following protocols and saying "yes sir" and not rocking the boat.if all the six prime ministerial candidates came from the private sector u can be sure they would be trying to hostile takeover the others and Leverage Buyout and merger and acqusition the other companies.

take Putin for example,how he took out his political enemies one by one and even forced the president to abjudicate in favour of him.

gongkia

..... my guess....the missing Taiwanese liaison from 40 years back.....beh kia.....got it?:wink:

During imperial china the practice is very common, a ming dynasty princess was married off to a malay sultan. But between small taiwan and giant PRC, FAP will choose the big one. :biggrin:

Singapore is not Europe, where new parties can win seats by riding on the disenfranchisement of voters. Sinkie voters are notoriously rationale and conservative, and they will only vote for you if you have a track record. Morons like Chee and JBJ, for all their jabbering, have nothing to show at the end of their political career. All they will look at is their own bankruptcy and wasted years. People like Ong Teng Cheong and Tan Cheng Bock did more for Singapore by working with the PAP and reforming within the PAP than by openly combating PAP and being seen by most sinkies as anti-Singapore people.

People hold PAP dissidents like Ong Teng Cheong and Tan Cheng Bock in far higher regard than they do for the likes of Chiam, Chee and JBJ.

WP would not have been able to come so far to be seen a credible threat to PAP if not for Low Thia Khiang changing the political direction of WP, away from the self-destructive style of JBJ.

Satyr

'Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong has described his future successor as a person who is not only a "mobiliser and a communicator", but also "a doer, an analyst, an implementer, and a team builder".'

sounds like a 2-year googler intern to me. :p

We're doomed. He is describing a manager. Look at his cabinet ? Mobilize ? Hmm..Communicate ? Hmm.. Analysts, maybe, Implementer, maybe , team builder ? Hmm..
Frankly, we need a force of nature. Since Singaporeans have no personal freedom, the State needs to tell us how kids will go through the education streams, how they will make a living, get a roof, retire and die. People can opt for personal liberties and make their own decisions about their lives, like in the US. Singaporeans, though, have opted for giving up personal liberties by voting PAP. The PAP accepted the deal and then started to renege on it. Amazingly, the people allow them to get away with it.

Singapore is not Europe, where new parties can win seats by riding on the disenfranchisement of voters. Sinkie voters are notoriously rationale and conservative, and they will only vote for you if you have a track record.

People are all the same lah. Sinkees are brainwashed ...if the opposition can do better at messaging, the PAP will be gone. By the way, the WP is not opposition okay ...it is a branch of the PAP.

Morons like Chee and JBJ, for all their jabbering, have nothing to show at the end of their political career.
If JBJ was around longer, PAP would be gone by now.

All they will look at is their own bankruptcy and wasted years.
They are courageous and true heroes of our democracy.
People like Ong Teng Cheong and Tan Cheng Bock did more for Singapore by working with the PAP and reforming within the PAP
PAP has changed? They still control the media, still used security apparatus to intimidate and harass the critics, still sue critics, still have a stranglehold on the lives of sinkees, still secretive of the financials of sinkapore.
Wake up, John.

WP would not have been able to come so far to be seen a credible threat to PAP if not for Low Thia Khiang changing the political direction of WP, away from the self-destructive style of JBJ.
And what has Low done? Ziltch! Low made WP a branch of the PAP. He has done nothing to improve the lot of the opposition. In fact, he has shown sinkees that the opposition as represented by the WP is subsumed by the PAP.