• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Let CPF Members decide when to start payout instead of the mandatory 70 years old

PAP

https://www.straitstimes.com/forum/...ing-70-an-option-to-further-defer-cpf-payouts

Give those turning 70 an option to further defer CPF payouts

The Central Provident Fund Board should allow members turning 70 this year to continue to defer the start of monthly payouts if they choose to do so.

The CPF Retirement Sum Scheme allows CPF members to voluntarily defer the start of their payouts up to a maximum of age 70.

That is of concern to me. I have a friend who turned 70 last year and was allowed to defer her monthly payout only on appeal.

The Central Provident Fund Board should allow members turning 70 this year to continue to defer the start of monthly payouts if they choose to do so, until such time when they need the money.

It makes no financial sense to make it mandatory for such members to have to accept the monthly payouts, only for them to redeposit the money into a bank. In a bank, the funds would be earning a much lower interest rate, compared with the CPF interest of 4 per cent to 6 per cent.

Incidentally, I have appealed to the CPF Board to allow me to continue deferring my monthly payouts when I turn 70 in two months' time, but have not received a reply.

Basically, the CPF Board is the casino, and you oldies are the gamblers. The gambling chips are your (projected) lifespan.

That's my opinion of the situation.

bobby

“And I say without the slightest remorse, that we wouldn't be here, we would not have made economic progress, if we had not intervened on very personal matters — who your neighbor is, how you live, the noise you make, how you spit ... or what language you use.

We decide what is right. Never mind what the people think.”

— April 20, 1987, LKY quoted in the The Straits Times newspaper.

Leepotism

“And I say without the slightest remorse, that we wouldn't be here, we would not have made economic progress, if we had not intervened on very personal matters — who your neighbor is, how you live, the noise you make, how you spit ... or what language you use.

We decide what is right. Never mind what the people think.”

— April 20, 1987, LKY quoted in the The Straits Times newspaper.

Government of the PAP, by the PAP and for the PAP shall perish from Earth.

bobby

In any other democracy....the holding back of the members' CPF monies by the gahmen can be a matter to be heard in a court.

But alas...this is Singapore.

Wunderfool

This is a rarity that one wants to defer payout beyond 70... how Long is she expecting to live up to? 140 years old...you want to die rich ? Go get a life.

Annunaki

E6E8AC28-2A5A-4D55-99E0-DB2C96EE69F3.jpeg
FB0514D8-E8F6-4CEB-A247-45A37E23919A.gif

Hypocrite-The

https://www.straitstimes.com/forum/...ing-70-an-option-to-further-defer-cpf-payouts

Give those turning 70 an option to further defer CPF payouts

The Central Provident Fund Board should allow members turning 70 this year to continue to defer the start of monthly payouts if they choose to do so.

The CPF Retirement Sum Scheme allows CPF members to voluntarily defer the start of their payouts up to a maximum of age 70.

That is of concern to me. I have a friend who turned 70 last year and was allowed to defer her monthly payout only on appeal.

The Central Provident Fund Board should allow members turning 70 this year to continue to defer the start of monthly payouts if they choose to do so, until such time when they need the money.

It makes no financial sense to make it mandatory for such members to have to accept the monthly payouts, only for them to redeposit the money into a bank. In a bank, the funds would be earning a much lower interest rate, compared with the CPF interest of 4 per cent to 6 per cent.

Incidentally, I have appealed to the CPF Board to allow me to continue deferring my monthly payouts when I turn 70 in two months' time, but have not received a reply.
I find it funny tat the CPF does not allowed deferred payment. The objective of the CPF is too ensure the contributors never get the money. Now tat got ppl say keep the money n CPF insists on giving to them? Wat sort of logic is tat?

Wunderfool

Wouldn't be surprised to hear one tells the government one day ... they can keep his money forever... after all the interest rates are better than outside.

This shows how good CPF is to sinkies. I don't understand why oppies keep demonizing CPF for offering sinkies a much higher interest rate for safekeeping their monies.

Reactions: PAP

KNN if this is true news most likely they have gone to a fortune teller and predicted they will live till very ripe old age KNN

maybe i should write to Straits Times................ask PAP to FORFEIT all CPF funds...............Sinkies got no brains and guts so no need the money too........