• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Lee Kong Chian and the Bishan Hawker Centre Saga

Albeit it is a private enterprise, there are certain practices and customs that are norms. Surrounding the unoccupied tables and not allowing patrons to use it on a busy Sunday morning just shows how insensitive these people are. And they are no ordinary group but a group that are claiming to serve the community.

Nothing to do with coffeeshop owner or business 101. It does not reflect on the coffeeshop owner but certainly reflects poorly on these so called grassroots leaders.

The grass loot leader..oops! grass roots leaders, strut around like Peacocks so to speak... unless you have MONEY, power or connection, they would not want to know you. That is why, they jostle for position of sitting at the table & push peasants off for the table so that their masters can eat..the rest of us, can only see the rich crumbs that fall off those tables.

In other words, no money, no power, no connection...shove off!!

were you there? how do you know if the glasslooters did not order drinks while waiting? it didn't have to be zhi char or char kway teow. you mean to tell me someone has more rights to the table if heshe orders makan while i order drinks? what kind of stupid logic is that? kopi tiam owner sells drinks and sublet stalls to food vendors. he wants to sell drinks and an occasional kaya toast with eggs, and you think he cares whether you eat or not? i can sit there all day sipping kopi slowly, and they will leave me alone. that kind of customer behavior is built into their kind of business.

This scenario reminds one of what we often see in Chinese or Indian movies whereby the local ah siah or gangster to come into the shop, be it a road side stall or a fxxshop. His running dogs will be yapping at everyone else ...."ah siah is here to enjoy a screw...all of you silly peasants, get the fxxx off from here...before....."

You got it???

Nothing to do with coffeeshop owner or business 101. It does not reflect on the coffeeshop owner but certainly reflects poorly on these so called grassroots leaders.

community organizations, church groups, political grassrooters, bikers and union members do that every weekend in popular diners and cafes....in of all places....small towns in the bay area! and when each group swarm the only diner or cafe in the town, residents and regulars are deprived of their egg benedicts and coffee for hours. you mean to tell me it reflects poorly on these groups? we don't frown. we wait in line, take a number, and patiently wait for our tables and breakfast. and enjoy the crowd. or we balk. whether they are republicans, democrats, green, libertarians, harley wannabes, cyclists with cleats, church goers or firemen on their morning break.

only sinkies kpkb and whine about something so mundane and non-life threatening. :rolleyes:

The grass loot leader..oops! grass roots leaders, strut around like Peacocks so to speak... unless you have MONEY, power or connection, they would not want to know you. That is why, they jostle for position of sitting at the table & push peasants off for the table so that their masters can eat..the rest of us, can only see the rich crumbs that fall off those tables.

In other words, no money, no power, no connection...shove off!!

Who the fuck are those grass loot leaders?

Did we the 4th class citizens elect those grass loot to be leaders?
Or is that a fucking collective punishment visited on our heads becos 60% sinkies with no fucking balls voted for those maggots in white?
And maggots in white decided that those are the krass loot leaders?

Did you voted for those grass loot leaders?
Did you accept those balls carriers and choppers of hawker tables as your grass loot leaders?

Is that how the crumbs of 600++ billions of our money into LKY Stinkapore sovereign funds go to?
Buy coffee and tea for those grass loot leaders?

PTUI

Honest, we can never treat everyone at the table to be equal, that is what I meant by I have eaten with the best & the worse. We have to be humble, but this is not the trait of the "circus" that follow the MIW & the MIW themselves...they have allowed this to happen. Whatever they do, that perception of the them will never changed..only to be changed.

actually, a true AP supporter shd be happy papigs behave in such manner to piss off the peasants. in fact, i am happy papigs allow the 6.9m toilet paper to pass in parliment as singapore citizens really need, as lky once said, a spur up their arse before they wake up. after going thru what the papig dished out to us hougangites since 1991, i felt it about time the rest of the nation suffer together with us. only then can singapore get rid of the familee.

call me selfish or whatever but i am loving it.

This scenario reminds one of what we often see in Chinese or Indian movies whereby the local ah siah or gangster to come into the shop, be it a road side stall or a fxxshop. His running dogs will be yapping at everyone else ...."ah siah is here to enjoy a screw...all of you silly peasants, get the fxxx off from here...before....."

You got it???

you obviously watch too many stupid movies. cum visit diners here in the bay area on weekends, and it's usually packed with some groups out to show their solidarity for something. don't be a mountain tortoise or a frog in the well. :rolleyes:

People are upset because these people profess to be community leaders and claim to serve the community. The MP pay is the world's highest so we not talking about a volunteer.That is the reason for the angst.

Even it had been a bunch of bikers, nobody would have raised an eyebrow as they don't claim to be community leaders. And Bikers won't be silly to stand around the empty tables waiting for the chief biker to turn up and hold him in holy reverence at such a peak period.

You have never been the brightest in this forum and nothing can change that. Stick to sucking up to the well heeled and providing travel tips to the gullible.

community organizations, church groups, political grassrooters, bikers and union members do that every weekend in popular diners and cafes....in of all places....small towns in the bay area! and when each group swarm the only diner or cafe in the town, residents and regulars are deprived of their egg benedicts and coffee for hours. you mean to tell me it reflects poorly on these groups? we don't frown. we wait in line, take a number, and patiently wait for our tables and breakfast. and enjoy the crowd. or we balk. whether they are republicans, democrats, green, libertarians, harley wannabes, cyclists with cleats, church goers or firemen on their morning break.

only sinkies kpkb and whine about something so mundane and non-life threatening. :rolleyes:

you obviously watch too many stupid movies. cum visit diners here in the bay area on weekends, and it's usually packed with some groups out to show their solidarity for something. don't be a mountain tortoise or a frog in the well. :rolleyes:

You obviously did not watch too many movies....many movies depict and reflect real life...

On weekends if the eating places are swarmed with some groups, so be it, we can go elsewhere to eat. But, the groups do not behave the same way as what are depicted in the movies?..... ah siah is here to enjoy his screw, so fxxx off....? Obviously not and obviously you do not get my point. Let me elaborate...

Were you there? How would you like it if you and your family were really there and tucking into hot piping char kwaay teow or ban mian. Before you all could finish, all of a sudden some donkeys in red came in and chased you off and said from now on all these seats were reserved for the next two hours, because.... As an obedient citizen, you quickly told your family to finish off fast and fzzz off as the ampee was coming. You still stick around the place as you wanted a look at the ampee or went ntuc and came back half an hour later. Curiouser and curiousier....you saw the seats vacated by you and your family were still not occupied and two thirds of the other seats were condoned off...How would you feel...what did you think?

That is the point. Got it???

People are upset because these people profess to be community leaders and claim to serve the community. The MP pay is the world's highest so we not talking about a volunteer.That is the reason for the angst.

Even it had been a bunch of bikers, nobody would have raised an eyebrow as they don't claim to be community leaders. And Bikers won't be silly to stand around the empty tables waiting for the chief biker to turn up and hold him in holy reverence at such a peak period.

You have never been the brightest in this forum and nothing can change that. Stick to sucking up to the well heeled and providing travel tips to the gullible.

president obama, community organizer, often does that. he still does. he would organize a group and park themselves in a cafeteria or restaurant in chicago. as potus, he would swarm into a favorite eating joint with his secret servicemen and presidential entourage where ever he lands and dominate the place until he is fully served. inconvenience to regular customers? obviously. but do they get peeved? folks are actually thrilled to wait. i'm not just talking bikers. you obviously select the sound bytes you wish to hear. i also mentioned community and church groups who are pillars and leaders of their communities. also unions and their leaders. and you as usual only zoom in on the bikers.

me not the brightest? fine. i don't claim to be bright. for you to stoop so low to call others names only mean that you've lost the argument and can only resort to your usual name calling. :rolleyes:

look at how they reserve parking lots, reserve tables at hawker centre, how they knock on the doors to muster residents at door steps to welcome their pap masters during GE etc.
this is not a isolated case, this is all typical case of 狐假虎威. of cos, the pap masters also want that to show that they are the chosen ones and they are special. that is why they never stop those dogs from doing those porlumpar things. from here you can see those moral standards of pap mps. i remember GE 2006 GMS come knocking on the door himself than those wp volunteers, that is why i respect them.

president obama, community organizer, often does that. he still does. he would organize a group and park themselves in a cafeteria or restaurant in chicago. as potus, he would swarm into a favorite eating joint with his secret servicemen and presidential entourage where ever he lands and dominate the place until he is fully served. inconvenience to regular customers? obviously. but do they get peeved? folks are actually thrilled to wait. i'm not just talking bikers. you obviously select the sound bytes you wish to hear. i also mentioned community and church groups who are pillars and leaders of their communities. also unions and their leaders. and you as usual only zoom in on the bikers.

me not the brightest? fine. i don't claim to be bright. for you to stoop so low to call others names only mean that you've lost the argument and can only resort to your usual name calling. :rolleyes:

bro, obama just walk in pay and go or sometime dine in with secret service. they do seal off certain area for security reason, but customers still carry on to dine in the premises or take away food. anyway why compare pap dogs to US President Obama? they of different league. :rolleyes:

of course, that's the extreme case. otherwise, the screw gets fixated on bikers. as i've mentioned, there are public leadership groups including political grassrooters with campaigners and staff who would occupy whole cafes and restaurants. it's a normal occurrence. what's the big deal about that. by the way, when potus show up in eatery unannounced, the ss don't seal off any parts of the eatery. they have an advanced team to do a quick check, and potus would mingle with and surprise customers waiting in line. this is usually for to go food.

Lee Kong Chian = son-in-law of Tan Kah Kee

Tan Chin Tuan = father of Tony Tan and maternal/external uncle of LKY.

Families are linked by OCBC.

Old families, old money. Nothing new.

http://www.asiaone.com/print/News/The+Straits+Times/Story/A1Story20080211-48963.html

Mon, Feb 11, 2008
The Straits Times

Two old S'pore families compete for Straits Trading

TWO of Singapore's most famous corporate families - the Lees and the Tans, which have been linked for decades through OCBC Bank, now find themselves on opposite sides of the fence.

The Lee family, the largest shareholder of OCBC, and the Tan family, that of the late Mr Tan Chin Tuan, a long-standing chairman of OCBC are now vying for control of The Straits Trading Company, an equally venerable company with tin mining and property interests.

On Jan 6, the Tan family made an offer of $5.70-a-share for the company. On Jan 24, the Lee family, made a counterbid of $5.76-a- share. The Tans swiftly responded on Jan 28 by raising their offer to $6.50 per share.

The Tans own about 22.4 per cent of Straits Trading.

The Lee family owns only about 6 per cent. But as it is a key shareholder in OCBC and Great Eastern Holdings, which also own Straits Trading shares, it is seen to represent about 32 per cent of the company.

The apparent clash between the two families - and the direct involvement of the usually reticent Lees - has set tongues wagging in corporate Singapore.

Just how far back do their links go? And what does today's tussle for Straits Trading say about a decades-old relationship?

The Lee Family

THE Lee family is the largest shareholder of OCBC and a regular fixture on the Forbes rich list with a fortune previously estimated at US$3 billion (S$4.3 billion).

The foundations of the family's fortune were laid with Mr Lee Kong Chian, the father of current OCBC director Lee Seng Wee.

Mr Lee Kong Chian hailed from Fujian province, China, arriving here in 1903 at the age of 10.

He was talent-spotted by famous rubber tycoon Tan Kah Kee. One of the richest men in Asia,

Mr Tan wanted to expand his rubber business overseas and hired Mr Lee as his manager, mainly because of his grasp of the English language.

Not only did Mr Lee land the job, he also eventually married Mr Tan's daughter, Ai Lay.

The Great Depression gave the financially conservative Mr Lee the chance to buy acres of rubber land at rock-bottom prices.

With the wealth he made from rubber, he expanded into pineapples, coconut oil, saw mills and biscuits.

But other than being the 'Rubber and Pineapple King', he was behind the creation of what is now known as OCBC.

Facing a banking crisis, three banks - Oversea-Chinese Bank, Ho Hong Bank and Chinese Commercial Bank - merged to form the Oversea-Chinese Banking Corporation, the largest bank in Singapore then.

Mr Lee was seen as the merger's chief architect. He became OCBC's vice-chairman, then chairman in 1938 - a post he held until just before his death in 1967.

But while he was a banker and a rich businessman, he gave back generously to society.

In 1952, he founded the Lee Foundation, leaving it as much as half his fortune. Mr Lee had three sons and three daughters. His youngest son Seng Wee, 77, is a director at OCBC. Second son Seng Tee handles the rubber businesses while eldest son Seng Gee, 86, is chairman of the Lee Foundation.

The three daughters are Siok Kheng, Siok Tin and Siok Chee.

The Tan Family

IF MR Lee is associated with the birth of the bank, then Mr Tan, who spent half a century at OCBC, is hailed as the man who expanded its empire.

Born in 1908, he was the son of a general manager of the Oversea-Chinese Bank.

After his father died when he was a teenager, a family friend offered him a job at Chinese Commercial Bank.

He helped in the merger and in 1933, was promoted to be the manager of OCBC Properties and a new subsidiary Eastern Realty Company. He attended property auctions and was on the lookout for bargains for the bank.

As joint managing director of OCBC's overseas operations, he ran the bank's operations from India until the end of World War II.

Over the next couple of decades, Mr Tan was to spearhead the bank's investments into a variety of non-banking businesses, many of which are household names today.

These included Straits Trading, Raffles Hotel, department store Robinson & Co, beverage giant Fraser & Neave, Malayan Breweries (now known as Asia Pacific Breweries), Wearnes and others.

One of the earliest deals he was involved in was taking a stake in Raffles Hotel.

It had rankled OCBC that whenever it wanted to book a dining suite to entertain its clients, Raffles Hotel always turned the bank down. Eventually, Mr Tan helped OCBC secure the shares of one of the directors who died and he eventually became the first Asian on the board.

As the British and other foreigners exited Singapore, Mr Tan thought it was a good opportunity for the locals to take over such non-banking businesses. This was how OCBC came to own shares in Straits Trading, which was set up by a German entrepreneur to smelt tin late in the 19th century.

What laid behind his investment philosophy was a belief in growing the OCBC group, with the bank at its core. The companies in the 'OCBC stable' could support each other, with each other's services.

From 1966, he was chairman and managing director of OCBC until 1983 when he retired and was made life president.

He died in 2005.

As OCBC invested in other companies, Mr Tan did likewise personally. A shrewd investor, he was a very wealthy man in his own right.

He had three children - son Keng Siong and daughters Kheng Choo and Kheng Lian. The latter of the two daughters is the mother of Ms Chew Gek Khim.

Ms Chew, 46, runs a group of family investment vehicles headed by Tecity. Word has it that she was groomed from an early age by her grandfather to take over.

Mr Tan's nephew, Dr Tony Tan, was also general manager at the bank before entering politics in 1979. He went on to become its chairman and chief executive between 1992 and 1995.

The winds of change

BOUND inextricably by the pivotal roles they played in the history of one of Singapore's largest banks, the two families have had close ties for decades.

president obama, community organizer, often does that. he still does. he would organize a group and park themselves in a cafeteria or restaurant in chicago. as potus, he would swarm into a favorite eating joint with his secret servicemen and presidential entourage where ever he lands and dominate the place until he is fully served.

Hello, we cannot compare Singapore with USA lah. How much Obama gets annually comparing to our pink underwear freak?
If our president or PM goes to hawker centre hor all the roads leading to it will be blocked also.
By the way, are you a foreigner? If you are, please leave our domestic affair alone otherwise come back to Singapore and feel the heat which you had missed dearly

Bro jw5.. A couple of months ago I have also posted that I've heard from my own sources about a conspiracy for WP to "inherit" some seats. I can usually gauge how accurate my sources are. But I can't validate the truth of what they say (apparently they've heard it from someone in the inner circle).

The fact is we can't trust any politicians. Singaporeans are politically naive like that. Pap, wp, sdp, rp etc etc -- all of them are self serving fuckers which a hidden agenda. All of them are after your vote to perpetuate power. We as voters must play the check and balance role against all these bastards.

I don't agree with scroobal about many of his posts but to hail someone as a "server of the people" in this complicated world is a bit rich.

I agree that politicians are self serving and never believe that they are purely altruistic and only keen on serving the people.

You may not have realised the following:

1. People who play both sides or have an agenda to manipulate or thinks that his annonymous internet moniker is sacred and infallible are utterly disgusting and repulsive.
Try explaining all the anti-establishment posts and then the allegations about CSM before GE 2011 and the allegations that both CSJ and LTK are pap agents.
At least be consistent in the allegations and not praise LTK one minute for his leadership and the capture of seats, and then made an allegation against him the next. Even if manipulative cunt Scroobal is not "playing both sides", the absurd credibility of his internet moniker is obviously more important than any regard for the ordinary Singaporean citizen, and I don't mean political parties or politicians.

2. Have you noticed the bullying and manipulation over the years? If not, it doesn't matter, because there are many who don't either, because perhaps it didn't happen to them.

1. PAP is self serving
2. WP etc is self serving
3. People voting for PAP have their own selfish reasons and hence are self serving
4. People voting for WP etc hoping WP to check PAP = have their own selfish reasons = self serving

Conclusion : Everyone is self serving

opposition oppose for the sake of opposing?

kopitiam can say until hawker centre. even the article in the link wrote as coffeeshop yet got ppl twist into hawker centre.

when some point out the mistake, still can twist and turn to justify their rants.

sigh... this thread just to make opposition look stupid.

as for those elite school howlians, you can stuff your former school badges up your arse.

btw, if the kopitiam towkay allow the crasslooters to chase away potential customers, then it is stupidity on his/her part. who know, he/she also a crasslooter. ppl who dont like pap can start boycott that kopitaim lah.

Kopitiam owner worry if they don't obey to PAP sikali PAP tulan and make the coffeeshop into carpark ;)