• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Lee Hsien Loong Shall Hold National Referendum on CPF Issue

blindswordsman

......Minimum sum is to finance your retirement....

Are you sure the whole min sum is withdrawable upon retirement or is it locked up until you are on death bed?

Why not let sinkies have the choice to withdraw all at 55 or let sinkies decide on keeping a certain portion or all of it with the Govt at prevailing interest rate + a premium to make it attractive? Forcing the current policy of min sum down the throat of sinkies is undemocratic.

blindswordsman

In 1960s, Singapore seldom had referendum because according to Lee Kuan Yew, Singapore was a fishing kampung.

Since Singaporeans are so educated and NUS is the world number 1 university, why government does not want to hold referendum and let us decide?

If pappies allowed referendum, two of their policies surely kena koyak, the White Paper on Population and CPF Min Sum.

Leepotism

When was the last time a referendum held in Singapore? This CPF issue concern the lives of every Singaporean. Hope they hold one this time.

Referendums are a stupid way to run an Asian country. The population isn't intelligent enough to vote wisely.

Thanks goodness Singapore has achieved a Swiss standard of living rather than the Swiss method of governing.

Wait so ur acknowledging that there are some countries that are more truly democratic than us?just that Singaporeans are too stupid to see it they rather choose to be slaves?

Referendums are a stupid way to run an Asian country. The population isn't intelligent enough to vote wisely.

Thanks goodness Singapore has achieved a Swiss standard of living rather than the Swiss method of governing.

Exactly, that's why PAP is still in power due to these unwise votes.

wMulew

Why let Govt keep the money for us and the pappies keep on changing the rules to ensure sinkies can see but cannot touch the money when needed it desperately?

Aren't we able to look after our own money? Why are PRs allowed to withdraw all CPF money and return to work again in SG? Why are these PR returnees not banned from working in SG? Seems the foreigners have better privileges than sinkies.

Clear example of why U cannot manage your own money

Those who claim need money urgently how? That's classic example of people who cannot manage their own retirement. If U need money now and not reach retirement, U can still work. Rather than allow U to squander the money now U can work your way out of the problem. Or U still want to work after U reach 70?

Are you sure the whole min sum is withdrawable upon retirement or is it locked up until you are on death bed?

Why not let sinkies have the choice to withdraw all at 55 or let sinkies decide on keeping a certain portion or all of it with the Govt at prevailing interest rate + a premium to make it attractive? Forcing the current policy of min sum down the throat of sinkies is undemocratic.

I dislike the CPF Life annuity plan, especially the big fat lie that we'll all live till 85 and above. This is a lie that leads to the excuse of starting the payout only at age 62 or 65 or 67 (depending on their moving goal posts again). By the time you reach age 65, you're already one foot in your grave. The life expectancy of 85 is a big fat lie, applicable for those that are born in 2013. But everyone complaining about CPF now are born in 1950,1960,1970,1980 era. This is the group that is shortchanged by all these moving goal posts and it originates from the broken promise of allowing people to withdraw their CPF at age 55. The rest of the other issues are not applicable to this group, and this group is the MAJORITY.

So, I dare say PAP is in deep shit regarding this CPF matter.

No one in this group is interested in demanding for higher interest on their CPF beyond 2.5%, because it's already game over for them. People like Roy is interested in this because he is only 33 years old.

Just return our CPF and scrap the CPF Life annuity plan. Many people do not like to buy insurance and annuity plan is an insurance plan and it clearly shortchanges everyone, especially this group, since MAJORITY of this gorup will not live till 85 and beyond. This is the hard truth.